Fort Worth, TX 
Greenbriar Community Center Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #13 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: Throw straight ahead all the way down and the basket is located to the left down in the creek



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Not the Greatest but Not the Worst

5+    8/20/2018   10/24/2018
Review By: LeftyPower
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 29.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A few holes with some good elevation changes
Pond in play on last hole
Usually not very busy
Mostly decent tees
Cons: Difficult to navigate in places to find the next tee
Some of the baskets to throw at can be confusing
Not a lot of trees on several of the holes, fairly generic holes in several places
Other park users from playgrounds, walking path, and fishing can an will likely get in the way at times.
Other Thoughts: I have played here several times and find there are a few fun holes that stand out from the others which can be a bit generic. Several of the holes are mostly in an open field and there is one that is supposed to play like an island green but is not marked properly as such. It usually is not busy here and is OK for something different to try. It isn't the best course but it is not downright awful either, a few of the tees do require quite a long throw to get anywhere close to the basket. The last basket is over a pond which is a decent hole but does usually have a lot of fisherman on the bank so you will probably have to warn them to watch out before you throw. Not a destination course but if you are a local and have played everything else, it is worth a try. There is a ball golf driving range here, a playground and a fishing pond so there are other things to do for the family here as well other than disc golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A little rough, but surprisingly engaging

1    2/2/2018   2/17/2018
Review By: PCheesy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has some surprising variety in its holes, while also being mostly beginner friendly (some open bombs, some technical shots, elevation changes, throwing through or across a creek for multiple holes, though the creek is not very deep)

-concrete tee pads

- even though it is at a public park/community center, you aren't likely to run into people along the course.

-The course offers multiple pads for beginners and more advanced players
Cons: -the course has definitely shown some wear and tear.

-2 baskets are missing (possibly due to some construction that happened sometime in the past.

-You absolutely need to have the map with you in order to play the course, as the path is not particularly obvious

-markers for tee pads are inconsistent

-some holes require you to forge your own path across the creek (no bridges)

-it looks like the course would be especially muddy at some parts if it rained, and some holes next to the creek may be in danger of flooding due to rain.
Other Thoughts: -We played there on an especially windy day, which ended up making our throws very interesting. I could see that as being a positive or a negative for others

-it is obvious that the disc golf course is not the main attraction of this park, but I still ended up having a good time with the challenges and variety

-I wouldn't call it a go-to course, but it would be nice to go every once in a while for a change of pace


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

1    9/12/2015   9/14/2015
Review By: mavsfan0434
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained course at a nice community park
-Pedestrians don't come into play much despite being at a multi use center
-Great use of elevation and trees available
-Fun course for beginner, challenging enough lines for advanced
Cons: -Tee pads are a little short
-Lack of shade would make this a beating in mid summer
Other Thoughts: First time playing Greenbriar and I enjoyed it quite a bit. Had some fun open holes, great elevation changes, and wraps up with some more challenging wooded holes. Park was very clean when I played, but trash cans would make it even better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun small park course

1    8/1/2015   8/1/2015
Review By: Piker
Played: 72  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
Pros: The course has multiple tee pads, but they are small. Thought overall it was pretty easy to get around only playing it the one time. The basket positions were superb. Nearly every hole had some sort of challenge (basket on the side of the hill, near the creek, guardian trees)
Cons: Small tee boxes, no signage at the tees. It was easy enough to navigate (got confused once but was easy to figure out just looking.)
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed the course. Playing with a friend that was new to the game, he was able to enjoy it, and there was enough challenge there to keep me entertained as well. I was really surprised that on a Saturday morning around 9:00am we were the only ones out there, besides a few people fishing.

 

1    6/14/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: jlh900
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this has a good mix of short approach shots long bombs elevation changes and water that runs along most of the course. this is a good beginner course it is mostly open with little chances of loosing discs
Cons: two unplayable holes due to grass and plants growing up chest/head tall and one basket completely taken out. makes the flow of baskets pretty upsetting there

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty average course

1    7/7/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 123  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 15.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course did offer multiple tee pads and nice Innova baskets. The course didn't have to traffic you had to fight to play. The course was mostly open but there are a few times on the course that if you make the wrong throw, it will make you pay. I lost 2 disc just in the brush. The grass on the course has been well maintained.
Cons: The course has no signage for where the holes start and where the baskets are for each hole. With no signage I had to walk half of the holes before I could come back to the teebox and throw my drive. Course is set on a community park, but there are no trash cans out on the course. The park wasn't that clean, I think if they place trash cans out on the course it would take alot of the trash off the course.
Other Thoughts: The course is good for a "get me by" if you live close to the course it would be good for practice. If you don't live close to the course there are many other "must plays" before this course in my own opinion.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Adding to list of played courses

1    8/2/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 59  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained mostly. Good baskets, Some elevation. Some use of water and mostly dry creek bed. Not very busy (except around pond).
Cons: No tee signs. No direction arrows. A little tough to figure out which tee pad goes with which basket. Lots of non Disc golf traffic around pond.
Other Thoughts: This is an average course that is good to add to your course count. Nothing spectacular. Two holes (13 and 14) run inside the creek bed. It is probably mostly dry so it works but 13 was being replaced or wasn't there when I played. Water can come into play on 15 and 18 depending on pin position.
There seem to always be people fishing around the pond which can cause some problems on 15 and 18.
I would say if you are in the area, play the course to add to your course count. Bring a new friend to play all but the water. But I would not go out of my way to play this course. Obviously, the fishing is good, so bring a pole and fish after you play a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Greenbriar

1    8/27/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: multiple pin positions
good baskets
uses elevation well
uses existing trees and creek well
map available at first tee
fairly decently manicured park
Cons: short tees
lacking in signage
navigation/layout is tricky
I went in the summer when it was dry, but I could potentially see how creek crossings could be hairy with recent precipitation

This doesn't have anything to do with the course itself, but when I was there I had someone from the neighboring community center inform me that I couldn't have my dog running around off the leash (in all fairness, this is posted on a sign at the parking lot) at the risk of being cited.
Other Thoughts: This really could be a great course with a little love. Some signage and longer teepads would make a world of difference. Definitely take a picture of the map with your phone or something if you play here by yourself the first time. Or bring someone who knows the layout. I got lost the first time I played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 not so bad

1    12/16/2012   2/17/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 322  Reviewed: 258  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -some good elevation
-creek and pond come into play on half the holes
-concrete pads (2 on most holes but they're a little small)
-nice discatchers
-convenient parking
-clean and maintained
Cons: -few trees, little shade, many open holes
-no signs, navigation can be tricky
-frequently crossing the creek but there are no bridges
-always people around the lake, use caution
-holes 13 & 14 are pretty overgrown
-fences around park border federal property. call the number on the signs to get discs over the fence. they actually come over pretty quickly.
Other Thoughts: This city park course has a pretty decent flow and uses the terrain well (elevation and water hazards). The baskets and tees are nice but the lack of signs makes it tricky for the first timer. The park is usually clean, mowed, and well-maintained.

There are many looks at a duece out here but there is also plenty that can go wrong. There are many challenging pin positions; many are located near the water or on hillsides.

Seems to get little traffic and for good reason: there are such better courses nearby here. That said, it is always great to have another course and this is a decent place to bring beginners, apart from the pond.

I wouldn't be disappointed if this were the closest course to my house. The course is definitely worth playing to see what it is like but most of the time I'd rather go to Zboaz, Saddle Hills, or Gateway if I'm looking for 18 holes in Ft. Worth.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Nice

1    8/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 76  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good use of trees. Uses elevation well, and puts the creek and lake into play. Several holes where your tee drive has to go through and under trees (5 being a good example). 13 and 14 are very unique and in interesting places around the creek. A number of the baskets are elevated, making them a bit more unique.
Cons: The layout can be very difficult to navigate, you absolutely need to bring a map with you. There is no signage outside of 1 and the course sign (I cannot understand why they go to the trouble to make a nice course with nice tee pads and don't throw in the extra few $ to put in signs). The western edge of the property borders some part of town that's not the best. I was half-way scared that someone was living under the bridge that's near hole 8. There isn't a whole lot of shade during the summer, so be prepared.
Other Thoughts: There are some fences you can throw over. Some of them border FWPD property, but others (around holes 14 -17) border a FEMA depot, which is federal property. This should be common sense, but going onto the fed property is big time bad news. They've got a phone # posted on the fence to call, please just do that.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.