Mason, OH 
Mason Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
4 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
One change, big impact

5+    7/18/2020   7/18/2020
Review By: remraf
Played: 41  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Baskets in reasonable condition
Typically well kept (mowing, etc)
Cons: They have moved the tee pad of 8 down the hill just in front of the creek. I get why this happened. The old tee would require a throw over a bike/walk path that gets heavy use now that there are a ton of houses behind 8. If no one had gotten smacked with a disc yet, it's probably a small miracle. So I get it from a safety standpoint. I do. But from a disc golf standpoint - they have taken the crown jewel of the 9 holes and crippled it so bad it is now the worst hole. And whereas 8 once elevated the whole course previously, now that it has been changed none of the remaining holes really step up and elevate the entire course. Also with 8, they lined the pad right into a giant tree trunk literally right in front of the pad. There might be 10 feet between the end of pad and said tree. This was done, I would guess, to retain some challenge on the hole. But if you're a righty, look up and right and you'll see the hyzer bomb line. I'd rather have been able to try to hit the hole somehow on the other side with a clear shot. From my point of view, you can't really do that because of the angle of the tee right into the tree.
Other Thoughts: Look, the change on 8 is an understandable move. It's also a shame. As I left today, I thought to myself I wouldn't be in a hurry to return. And I live within an 18 minutes drive. This course used to be a shining example of how a 9 could be great. But literally one simple sounding change has really had a huge impact on the entire course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nine Hole Courses are Cool Too!

1    12/12/2019   1/28/2020
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 167  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mason Sports Park DGC is a fantastic nine-hole course in the Cincinnati suburb of Mason, Ohio. Set in a very nice multi-use park with many different sports to be played here. I have a sneaky suspicion that there is a reason this is dubbed a Sports Park.

The course has a lot of different types of golf for being nine holes. Holes to throw full drives on, and holes to shape shots through the woods on. Holes that require a full shot, and holes that require finesse. Uphill, downhill and flat holes. I've seen less variety on a full 18!

Decent tee signs with adequate information, tee pads that get the job done, and slightly older Discatchers that catch well. Nothing to complain about, but nothing to write home about either.

Hole 8 is a great downhill tunnel shot with a wide creek to cross near the basket. Getting all the way down the tunnel and crossing the creek in one shot requires great accuracy and a decent amount of power, and is very satisfying when done.
Cons: Holes 3 and 4 are wooded shots that require shot shapes to reach the pin that might or might not exist, and if they do I really would like someone to teach me. I was scrambling on both those holes, even though they are both reachable.

Hole 2 plays close to the parking lot, and on a busy day, a car might find itself with a nice dent from a poorly thrown shot. However, on a day with no cars in the lot, it is fun to play.

One tee and one pin position to play, so if you want to play twice to get a full 18 in, it will be the same both times.

A few holes that play in the tweener range, where a 3 feels pretty good, but a 4 feels really bad. They are more than likely par 3s by scoring average as a two is possible, but really only reachable with a stronger arm than mine.

The rough off of the fairway is thick in a lot of places, and getting slightly off the line might force you to pitch out. In nine holes, I did it a few times so take my word for it.
Other Thoughts: I always have a hard time rating 9 hole courses, but I settled on a 3. If I had 18 of these holes, I would frequent the place, but being only 9, it most likely won't see a return trip with so many other great courses in the area. Mason Sports Park is often forgotten about when listing the courses worth playing when in the area, but if you are North of the city, it's a nice 45 minute stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/24/2017   4/19/2019
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 172  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing around a large multi-use park, the course takes you through vastly different types of land - some holes playing around a parking lot, while others feel like they're in the middle of a forest. One of the main reasons this is a highly regarded 9-holer in the region is its variety. Most 18 courses in a park like this don't have nearly as much variety.

The course makes great use of the elevation present, opening with a steep uphill blind shot to the pin, and then following with a fun downhill bomb with a reasonable chance at an ace run. The creek is used in different ways on 5 and 8, and is really picturesque. 8 is definitely the highlight hole here, and stood out to me even after bagging most of the Cincy area courses. It combines so many fun aspects: downhill bomb, blind tee shot, tight tunnel out the gate and then opens up, creek at a perfectly dangerous position, cooler stocked with beer near the pin (ok, well I guess it doesn't have EVERYTHING).

For 9 holes, it also does a nice job of providing variety in distances. There are plenty of chances to air out a disc as well as hit multiple finesse shots.
Cons: Even only being 9 holes, there are many times where a spotter would be helpful.

I particularly did not like 3 and 4. They're both blind shots with very narrow fairways bordered by thick rough. This is my least favorite kind of hole.

Hole 2 is fun, but dangerously close to the parking lot. You can easily hit parked cars.

Somehow, the same guy played through my round twice, and nearly hit me each time before I saw him. No fault of the course, unless he's been planted there meticulously. Maybe, I accidentally wore my Steelers shirt.
Other Thoughts: After raving about hole 8, my rating might seem a little low. I wavered on giving it a 3.5. Mason has about 3-4 holes that I really enjoyed, but also a few that were average, and then a couple that I really didn't like. Those ones might be more of a personal preference. I can see people really enjoying this course. It's still one of the best 9 hole courses I've played.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beat expectations

5+    5/22/2016   5/22/2016
Review By: conkygotshot
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 5/31/2016
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of lines, really enjoyable play
Baskets and tees in good shape
Hole 8 is the signature hole downhill over a wide stream
Hole 5 is also an interesting hole over the stream left to right
Well kept fairways
Distances are more like you would see at higher level courses even though it is 9 holes only
Cons: Wish there were 9 more holes
Better to go during off times when soccer is not going on in the park, I have found Sunday evening to be a nice time with little activity in the park


Other Thoughts: If you miss fairway you are the junk -- course has grown over a lot since photos on here were taken, there is a huge premium on accuracy right now
Walk back on road you came in on to 1
Walk toward giant bridge across field for hole 5
Don't park your car in the closest spots on the left side, errant shots on hole 2 could easily hit cars.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole course

1    5/21/2015   6/23/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 680  Reviewed: 214  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course that works around other park activities, but stays separate. It's a great use of the land.

Concrete tee pads, that could have stood to be a touch longer, but nothing too serious. The ground was quite level around the tee pads. One tee per hole.

Discatcher baskets, all in decent enough repair. One pin position per hole.

Now that we're past that, let's talk about the actual holes. Every hole is pretty damn fantastic. Lots of elevation, lots of distance, and lots of trees. You'll need to be accurate and long to score well here.

The elevation is especially used well here. Almost every hole has at least a little up or down, with many have severe changes. Very well done.

The river comes into play on a couple holes, although the only one it SHOULD come into play is 8.
Cons: One tee/one pin position. As great as this is for a 9 hole course, it would be even better with more options.

You'll want/need a spotter on many holes, as you'll be throwing big shots around blind corners on several holes, and the rough is pretty thick. If you're playing solo and really going for it, there's a BIG chance of losing discs here.
Other Thoughts: Even with the cons above, there's really not much bad that can be said about this course, other than it would be awesome with 9 more similar holes.

This is NOT a course for beginners, although I imagine it gets a decent amount of chucker traffic with being a 9 holer. All other skill levels should have a lot of fun here, especially if you're capable of 350' drives.

Overall, this is a great addition to the Cincy area, and definitely a must hit if you're in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best 9 Hole courses

1    2/7/2015   2/8/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 304  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 18.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees
2) Elevation changes
3) Good mix of lefty/righty holes
4) Challenging
5) Excellent signage
6) Highlight holes: 5, 8
Cons: 1) Long walk to hole 1
2) Hole 2 plays dangerously close to parking lot
2) Navigation to holes 3 and 5
Other Thoughts: Scenery: 3/5
Difficulty v. Fun factor (5/5 is best mix): 3.75
Tees: 4/5
Signage: 4/5
Navigation: 2.5/5

This is one of the best 9 hole courses that I've played to date. Some good land to work with and great design.

The course is set in a metro park-type setting. It looks very clean and well manicured.

The course has awesome elevation changes combined with sloping fairways on some holes, shot shaping, and obstacles (brush, trees, a flowing creek), that combine to create a challenging and fun experience.

The fairways are well defined and manicured, and most are lined on either side with thick brush/woods. Some of the fairways have a few trees in the fairway, but there are no "poke and hope" holes. If you go off of the fairway, be prepared for a pitch out and a bogey (at least).

Some of the more notable holes: Hole 5 is a huge right dog leg that plays over a creek. Hole 8 is a 500'+ hole that is straight ahead, but has a substantial drop off after the tee and a 50' wide creek that runs across the fairway about 80-100' before the target.

Unlike most 9 hole courses, this course has legitimate distances that rival a full 18 hole course. Most of the holes are over 300'. The tees are more than adequate to get a full run up, which is needed for a beefy course such as this one.

The signs are excellent, full color metal signs. They have a map of the hole and distance on each one.

I only have a few complaints about this course and they revolve around navigation and safety. First, hole 2's flight path and basket take your disc right by people's cars. Second, the parking lot is right by hole 2's target. It turns out that you have to walk back through hole 2 and hole 1 to get to the start of the course and if you don't have a map, you would have to look around to even know which way to go to find hole 1's tee. They could solve the latter problem by maybe having a sign directing you how to get to hole 1's tee.

Third is the navigation to hole 3. After holing out on 2, you have to walk up the hill and to the right to get to 3's tee. There are no signs directing to 3's tee and the tee is not visible at all from 2's target.

The fourth problem is the navigation from 4 to 5. You have to walk a cross a field and 5's tee is right in front of a creek. Once you get across the field, don't make the mistake of going the tee to the right, because that is 9's tee.

Bottom line...if you bring a course map you will save some time.

All in all, this course is a great addition to the disc golf community and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a challenging, fun course to play. I think it's even worth a little road trip...maybe combine this with Monroe or Turtlecreek?

This course is a solid 3.5 and if the navigation issues are fixed, would be rated higher.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better than your average niner

1    11/15/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 331  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 16.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, reasonably challenging course wraps around a multi-sport park featuring a nice creek and some decent elevation changes.
Variety: Nice mix of hole lengths, fairway shapes and elevation changes featuring uphill, downhill and flat fairways, left/right/straight fairways, short/med/long holes (including a 585' hole on level ground), and semi-open to somewhat wooded, brush-lined holes. Hard to believe all the shot variety they packed into 9 holes. No two holes feel the same and I genuinely liked every hole on the course - each has its own appeal.
Property Use: makes good use of the land's features to create challenge, ambience and eye appeal. Additionally, the first 4 holes make good use of small (perhaps otherwise useless) parcels around the park to fit holes in nicely around other park activities while minimizing the chance of interference (except for Hole 2).
Fairways felt natural, as if they presented themselves amid the trees and brush, requiring little clearing and fairly little maintenance compared to some courses. All were well-defined and nicely groomed with obvious routes to follow (although a few holes offer multiple ways to reach the pin, so some decision making is called for).
Holes 5, 8 and 9 play over and along a clear running stream which adds to the ambience and aesthetics (and can also come into play).
Signature Hole 8 plays 360' down a pretty good hill and across the creek to a large flat green. Big arms should carry the water without worry, but for many rec players, the downhill will add just enough distance to bring the creek within reach. Can you carry the water or should you play it safe and lay it up?
Equipment: Yellow Discatchers were older but easy to see and caught fine. Concrete tees were in good shape. Tee signs were graffiti free (if I recall correctly), an effective aid to navigation with distances that seemed accurate.
Routing/Nav: Course layout isn't exactly compact and efficient, but routing and signage was good enough to allow two first-timers to get a late start in mid fall and finish all 9 before daylight was gone.
Cons:
Hole 2: I love hole itself, and could have fun throwing disc after disc running the pin from the tee, but the placement is close enough to the parking lot that hitting cars and people is a more than just a possibility, especially if a headwind kicks up. Plus, I hate the possibility of my discs hitting asphalt (also possible on 9's OB walking/bike path).
Tee signs were a little too close to the tee boxes. Maybe I'm strange (OK, so get rid of the "maybe"), but sometimes I like to start my run-up from the side of the tee box (particularly when throwing a big annie), and felt the tee signs were in my way a few times during the round.
More of an FYI than a true "con," because I happen to think they got this right: course flow is a bit disjointed and hard to follow in spots, but I think they opted to create the best holes available while avoiding filler holes and most safety issues. Nonetheless, there are a couple of long, non-intuitive walks (from parking to hole 1, then again between holes 4 and 5), plus a fairly long trot from 9 back to parking. The real shame is that this results in a really long walk from 9 to the 1st tee, which kind of discourages playing multiple rounds. First timers: PRINT THE MAP - you'll be glad you did.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best niner I've played to this point. I tip my cap to whoever had the vision to see this would make a great nine-hole course and resisted the temptation to shoe horn in more holes to make a "more complete" piece of meh.

Not super challenging, but a lot of fun. Suitable for skill levels ranging from beginner to advanced, particilarly recreational and intermediate players.

Mason really had me thinking about ratings, especially since I haven't awarded anything higher than a 3.0 to a nine basket course - and both of those have dual tees offering different looks at the pin... Mason doesn't. If Mason had another nine holes as good as the ones it already has, I'd give it a 4.0... but it doesn't.

IMHO, Mason's definitely better than "good." I say that because walking back to the car, I realized I'd rather play two rounds at Mason than one round at most 3.0 courses, but don't think I'd choose it over a truly excellent course... that's how I arrived at 3.5.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, hard to find tees

2-4    9/15/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: JerryW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 40.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed. Challenging shots. Even if a shot goes in the woods, it was fairly easy to get in after it. I liked the par 4 and par 5 holes. Nice change from the typical par 3 courses I've played. There was a creek in play, but it was shallow and had flagstones. You could step on stones to navigate your way to your disc in most areas without getting too wet.
Cons: Finding the tees 1,3 and 5 was a challenge, as someone mentioned in earlier reviews. I would have never found them if not for another player telling me and he told me he also had to ask another player when he played it for the first time. As I was leaving I found myself telling yet another new player where to find the tees. As you drive in and take the right fork to the lower parking lot you will see Tee 1 on your left, next to the road. Tee 3 is up the hill and to the right of the pavilion. There is an alley cut through the trees for the hole. Tee 5 is 100 yards from hole 4 next to the bridge. Tee 9 is along the edge of the trees as you go back toward the parking lot past tee 5. The rest of the tees are close to the previous hole. It would be nice if they had a pointer showing the next hole.

I tried finding the course with my iPhone and the street names on the signs didn't match the names on the map. For example Cincinnati Street was Main Street.
Other Thoughts: Lots of elevation change shots. More than half the shots are blind either due to elevation or dogleg. The wide open shots hug the tree line around the park. The alleys cut through the woods are about 15-20 feet wide. well groomed grass with thick woods on either side. Almost impossible to play out of the woods, but getting in to find your disc is not that bad. The ground was pretty bare because of the shade from the trees. In the wooded areas I went into there was no grass and the sticker bushes were sparse. Lots of vines.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First Timer

1    8/22/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: RlemontW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Each hole presented a diferent challenge. Both left and right hand doglegs. Two holes has a creek you need to cross over which adds to the beauty of this course. Seems like a good course to learn and practice the game.
Cons: Long walk to first and fifth hole.
Other Thoughts: I am brand new to this game. In fact yesterday was my first time out. So this is my first course this review may not help much but I can say that as a newbie this course has showed me the different types of shots I must learn.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mason 9

2-4    10/13/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 79  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2012
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: scenic, incredibly well made 9 hole course in mason, enough room to make it an 18.
Cons: 2 pond shots, over a bridge can be a doozy, bugs can be a problem at night, otherwise a great experience if you go in the day, wish they would add more in the field and woods.
Other Thoughts: has room for more holes i think, so well done though.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.