Mason, OH 
Mason Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 411ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Hidden 9 Hole Gem

5+    4/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: tbird888
Played: 214  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2015
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Mason Sports Park Disc Golf Course is a very well-manicured course that favors neither righties nor lefties. You will find a rock-solid nine holes where 18 could have been crammed. Distances north of 300 feet, as well as elevation changes are abundant while still emphasizing accuracy and intelligent play. Of particular note is hole 8, with its tunnel shot across a creek placed at a score punishing 325-350 feet.
Cons: The rough is very thick and can swallow discs. If you're not careful with your shots, you could spend more time looking for your discs than you do playing your round.
Other Thoughts: With so many wonderful choices of 18 hole courses available in the Greater Cincinnati area, it's hard to schedule driving/playing time for a nine hole course. This course does not disappoint if you're looking for something besides the Big Cincinnati 3.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 Hole in Cincy

5+    7/3/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -large open field to warmup/practice in. Even has field goal posts to aim. Big enough for monster arms.
-This course will challenge all levels and reward them aswell.
-Plays to both RH/LH and forces Int-Adv players to really work a disc to get a 2.
-Played as a par 3 this is very fun, if your new play it with listed pars to build confidence.
-This course is very well maintained.
-Long concrete tee pads
-Cold water fountains
*others have been covered
Cons: -This frustrates me more than anything else on this course. The tee pads on several of the holes make no sense. They are aligned in very weird directions.
-Hole 2 can lead to car damage.
*others covered
Other Thoughts: Ok im going to be very descriptive in my posts of cincy courses. So if you dont want hole by hole then stop reading now.

-Hole 1. Short shot but adds some difficulty with a steep incline and a blind shot with trees to the right. LH's will have a decent mid range shot. RH's will have to force a turnover shot uphill which can be hard. *A great shot to try for anyone is a thumber/tomahawk. If thrown right it parks..
Hole 2. Amazing layout. This hole is on a hillside and makes LH's throw a dead straight shot between two big trees. Rh's can throw a straight light fading shot or a big hyzer to park.
Hole 3. A big hyzer for rightys and a difficult turnover of LH's. This seems like a simple hyzer but requires good line shaping and can be more difficult than you imagine because the fairway slopes downhill.
Hole 4. Great layout. S shot for both LH/RH, plays downhill and through a tunnel. Very challenging hole for all levels.
Hole 5. Easy shot for LH. RH's this hole can harm you. This requires some big turnover or creativity and watch out for the creek.
*The next 4 holes seperate the wannabe's from the true players.
Hole 6. Long uphill hole bending to the right with a scary fence to watchout for. LH's can throw a bomb driver, RH's have to work a long controlled turnover line.
Hole 7. Tight fairway bending to the right and long. This shot builds confidence for the next hole one of the best in cincy. Long hyzer line for RH and long tough turnover for LH. Trees down the fairway make approaches for 3's very tough.
Hole 8. In my opinion the best in Cincy. A beautiful shot downhill and over a wide creek. If you park this hole you will remember it and fall in love with this course. This hole really plays with your head and its relatively short.
Hole 9. A very tight fairway and lots of length. LH's will love it for controlled bomb shots and RH's can get creative. real players must call the cart path OB.


8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hardest 9 hole course around Cincy

1    6/11/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: CincyDiscGolf
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Almost every hole doglegs right: This will force you to work on bending your throws right. (tilting the disc or sidearm)

- Nice elevation Changes: There are several holes that either go up hill or have a drop off somewhere along the way.

- Creek: There is a creek that is pretty deep in spots (even more so after a rain). Most creeks on the courses around cincy don't have much water in them, but this thing is like a mini river. Its probably around 20 feet wide and even when its low you can actually hear the water flowing.

Cons: - Only 9 holes: If this were 18 it would be excellent.

- There are so many dogleg rights that its almost unfair. My dad has a mean side arm and he always beats me and my cousin there because we mostly toss backhanded. It will make your right curving throws better. It will force you to find a way.
Other Thoughts: One of the best 9 hole courses around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    6/2/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Concrete tees. Pretty easy and partially open course. Easy access and seem to be family friendly. Lots of parking and wide open feeling
Cons: It is what it is. Not too challenging even for a beginner.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course, but Only 9 Holes :-(

1    5/9/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers nice scenery, a variety of holes, and a decent challenge.

It is located in a new, clean park with lots of other activites (i.e. lacrosse, soccer, brand-new baseball fields, sweet playgrounds for the kids, etc.). The city of Mason obviously intends for the park to see heavy traffic from everyone in the community, which should motivate them to keep it clean and manicured. Also, Mason is an affluent area in general, so the course shouldn't suffer from dilapidation.

As far as play/challenge, I would rate the course a 3.5 out of 5. The holes are mixed between 215 ft. birdies to 400+ ft. "testers". Also, shifts from tighter wooded holes to more open fairways require you to break out all of your shots.

Finally, as previously mentioned, hole #8 is about 300ft., with a babbling brook crossing at about the 225 ft. mark. My friend had a killer drive on this one which was cruising over the water when it hit a tree squarely, reversed direction, and spiraled into the creek. Needless to say, we all lost it...ha ha ha...
Cons: My only gripe is that the course is only 9 holes. Because much of the space is already occupied by other activites/ball fields, I don't see expansion as a possibility.
Other Thoughts: This course is nearby several other courses including Turtlecreek, Gulley, and the brand new Countryside YMCA course in Lebanon. (Countryside YMCA just opened on 5/5/09 and isn't yet listed in this website, but I plan to take pictures and add it soon). We drove from Cincinnati up to Mason Sports Park (30 minutes) on 5/9/09 and also played Countryside YMCA's 9 holes (twice). I could have driven over to Gulley (5 miles away) and played 18 more if not for prior obligations.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Feel of an 18

2-4    7/28/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: CincyRocs
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Concrete teepads
-Low player traffic
-Located at a sports park
-Water fountains
-Beauty scenery
-Creek w/ great bridge
-Two shots across water
-Elevation changes
-Decent distances
-Some doglegs
-Course is well kept
-Fairways are wooded
Cons:
-Only 9 holes
-Walk to the first tee
-Ending point isn't the same as beginning
-#4 runs alongside a football field
-Fairways are wide
-Doesn't test too many shots
-#9 needs a mando to prevent from throwing into the football field
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great 9 hole course. Not too challenging, however, it is one of the more challenging 9 hole courses. Fairways are wide but still wooded.

Signature Hole:
-#8 is a 360ft blind throw over a creek, with a good elevation drop.

Final Verdict:
One of the best 9 hole courses in Cincinnati. Beautiful scenery and well kept. Not an easy course but also not a difficult one either. If coming out to play it, definitely play Monroe or Turtlecreek along with it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wish it was 18

5+    11/1/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: SigmaChris
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 22.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean park, with 9 fun holes that are well laid out. Two holes (#5 and #8) have obvious water hazard with a creek running through the hole. It is slow and shallow so you can find the errant disc. Hole #9 the same creek can come into play if your shot goes high and left.

#8 is a fun hole being a downhill short par 5. You don't see the creek at the bottom of the hill from the tee box so have a spotter. I look forward to next year when it warms up...then I will attempt to cross the river from the tee box. Now it is a lay up shot and an easy birdie if your lay up goes straight and lands short of the water.
Cons: The first tee is way too far away from the parking lot, not a big deal but still a con.

There is a water treatment plant next to the course, so there can be an odor around #6 sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Hole #4 kicks my butt every time...the best I have is a 5 but I need to master my Annie or buy a sidewinder.

I would also like to see a mandatory on #9 keeping the discs left of the line of trees...or make the bike path to the right OB. It will make this closing par 5 much better if you can't use the football field as a bailout / short cut.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I Concur

1    10/26/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: Nivek9
Played: 126  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not your average nine-hole course. This course has design features that evoke thoughts of a serious disc golf course. Too bad it's only nine. I completely agree with positive comments from others.
Cons: Some long walks from hole to hole and an odd walk required to get to #1. If you take each hole on it's own merits these walks can be forgiven as a necessary evil to get what they wanted out of the land they had.
Other Thoughts: If you avoid playing nine-hole course because they don't usually stack up, don't avoid this one. You will be pleasantly surprised. I wish I would have had time to play it again. Maybe next time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great quickie...

2-4    5/23/2009   10/27/2008
Review By: adam423
Played: 29  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent hole variety with some sharp dog legs, sweeping hyzer/anhyzer shots, and straight holes. Long concrete tees and beautiful, wide fairways with no erosion and very little chance of losing a disc in the woods. The water hazards on 4* and 8 were well placed. Nice elevation changes to keep things from getting too boring.
Cons: The #1 tee was placed a little far from the parking lot and the #5 tee was a little confusing to find, but other than that the course flowed very well. #2's basket is somewhat close to the parking lot, and is very reachable from the tee, so watch out for cars. Also, the #4 basket is next to the endzone on a football field, and could be hard to play in football season, unless that team sucks. :-P #6 is next to a water treatment plant, and during a hot summer day it can be odorific.
Other Thoughts: One thing that stood out to me was that because of the elevation changes on some holes (2, esp. 4, & 8) they play much shorter than what the signs say. Not really a pro or con, just something I noticed.

The fairways were very well cleared for such a new course. All of the holes except 9 run through the fairly dense woods, but you can't tell it when you're in the middle of the fairway, there are no stumps or roots to trip over and no saplings to knock down your disc.

*4's water hazard is in the form of a storm basin, so if it rains, it will be there, but if not, its dry.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 holer

1    8/31/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 349  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 18.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course with nice concrete tee pads, good signage and a little elevation thrown in for good measure. The course was also easy to follow without a map for the most part.
Cons: As the previous review stated, some holes play around a football field and if a game is going on I'd guess you might have to skip them or be very careful with your drive.

Also, hole #1 starts far away from the parking lot off the road you use to get to the football area. I had to back track from the #2 basket (which is by the lot) to find the first tee. Otherwise, the course flows well.

Speaking of the #2 basket, it is a little too close to the parking lot. A poor shot has a very good chance of hitting a car.
Other Thoughts: I was expecting a basic pitch-and-putt course going in but was pleasantly surprised by what I found. All the holes were of decent length and each one was fairly unique. A lot of them were placed in wide alleys in the woods and you didn't have to worry much about losing a disc as the rough wasn't too thick. I can't comment on the traffic or other park amenities as I played later in the evening (7:30ish) and the whole place was deserted.

Hole #8 stood out in my mind as the "signature hole". You start farther back on the top of a hill and have to throw over a wooded and wide creek. You can lay up but if you decide to go for it, the creek is very shallow so retrieving a shot that doesn't make it isn't a big deal. It's one of those holes that you'll want to try until you "make it".

The course itself wasn't terribly challenging but it was definitely fun. A good player will have the potential for a lot of deuce opportunities here but it will take some decent drives to pull it off. I could see playing here regularly if I was a local and would recommend stopping by Mason if you're in the area and looking to get a quick 9 holes in.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.