Elgin, TX 
Thomas Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Typical Small town course

1    11/28/2017   11/29/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has baskets, most are still in decent shape
Has a tee box for a couple of the holes (1,2,4,9)
Cons: Not a good use of the tree's in the park
no tee signs at all, don't read the map, you will be totally lost
Longer walks for a short course between some of the holes
Other Thoughts: This is a small community park in a small town. The park is used for everything under the sun. The course attempts to use some of the unused areas of the park.

Hole 1 has a tee box, it is a short little shot with a short fence along the fairway. Pitbull warning on the other side of the fence. He ignored me, but I bet if I tried to hop the fence he would not have been very happy about me invading his domain.

Hole 2, just tee off from the sidewalk, I could not find any marking so I just threw from the end of the bridge to get a little distance.

Hole 3 is a nice shot hole on the side of a small hill under a large tree.

Hole 4, Walk all the way to the other side of the ballfield, I played from a cement pad on the walk/roadway.

Hole 5 Walk past basket 8 and throw back down with the park boundary on the right hand side of the fairway.

Hole 6 is not what is shows on the map, it looks like someone moved the basket so you throw over "field 2" not the best idea if the park is being used by others. It did create some distance.

Hole 7 would now play back across the field instead of though the biggest set of tree's in the park

Hole 8 is just a little shot up the hill.

Hole 9 is throwing from the path by the concession stand down to the basket at the edge of the ball field. (I smashed chains, closest shot to an ace in a year)

In general, this is a good beginner course, but without tee signs and directions, how are they suppose to know where to go.

IF it where up to me, I would redo several of the holes. Leave 1 to 3 the same, have 4 be from just past 3's tee down to the edge of the park. Then 5 would be backwards 6. I would use the tree's and last were 4,5,8 are now for 6, 7 and have 8 throw up and have the basket behind the concession stand (close to the park boundary, not near the stand) Then probably leave 9 as it is. This gives you better flow and some better holes. I would also at least put in 4x4 posts with numbers on them for tee signs.

Would I play here again? no, 10 miles away you have much better courses. If I lived in this small town, I would try to work with the city to make the course better and probably make up safari holes to make it interesting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Less Than Stellar Course In Less Than Stellar Neighborhood!

1    10/1/2017   10/1/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's the only course within 10 miles so if you lived here, you would probably rack up some rounds. The little city park has ballfields, soccer fields, a play area and a grey building that might be a concession stand. The course starts off to the left of the ballfield near the play area. There are some concrete tee pads and DGA baskets with the number.

# 1 hysers around the neighbor's fence. I bet this guy occasionally collect's a disc in his yard, if anyone actually plays here, that is. # 1 is just 125' and a fun little Ace Run. # 2 then plays from the sidewalk in the corner to down there somewhere. # 3 is a cool little hole with the basket set up in the trees above wall. From here, I don't know what happened? I wrongly assumed that the next basket was # 4 but's no, it's # 6. To get to # 4, walk around to the right field corner and play # 4 as a little, short anhyser around the fence. Then 5-6-7-8 all play in this small lawn. Finally, walk around the field and play # 9 down the left field foul line.
Cons: The designer missed out on a couple of opportunities here. Between the area with holes 4-8 and the grey building, there is another section of lawn which easily could have held two of those holes. Then the area behind the grey building is interesting and would have been a cool place for a basket.

Pitch and putt distances on most holes.

The course is not exactly Mr. Excitement!

Sketchy people hanging around. The only other people in the park were a couple in the picnic pavilion. I think I must have interrupted their interlude because they didn't seem overly happy to see me.
Other Thoughts: This is just another course to bag. It's not half bad but I'm not convinced that it's half good, either. It probably not going to make much of an impression on most players. It's pretty vanilla and not worth the stop for most of you

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Thomas Memorial Park

1    5/8/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Mr. Yuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good course to take a 12 year old for their 1st round. SHORT holes. Not many trees to get in the way. Pretty open course. A picnic table and grill are obstacles on a hole.
Cons: SHORT!!! Who laid this course out? Not 1 hole over 300 ft. Tee signs were missing on half of the boxes. Had to worry about beginner throw going into a backyard on hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This could be a good pitch and putt course with just a little work. Played on a Sunday morning and did not see a single person in the park. Played a round with 2 beginners and 2 ams in about an hour.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  my back yard

2-4    3/18/2010   3/18/2010
Review By: liamcagle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: no one is ever there,if you want a basket to throw at this is it, if your a lazy disc golfer very little walking is involved
Cons: this course i s crammed together not sure who came up with the layout but they dont play disc golf, also the hood that it is in becareful, lockup and dont be suprised if your approached to buy things you dont need
Other Thoughts: pulled into elgin memorial park and thought this is it and this is going to be a great course /come to find out I was in the wrong park , the disc golf course was in a smaller park about a 1/3 the size of elgin memorial after playing the course i could help but think if this course was moved to elgin memorial it would be a nice course to go out and play around on but until then dont waste your time or gas coming out to play this course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/24/2009   11/24/2009
Review By: AlexBradford
Played: 84  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well, for a pro, if you happen to be stuck in Elgin Texas for a day or so, you can at least have baskets to throw at.
Cons: The holes are way too short to challenge any one. Also, if there happens to be any other people in the park, you will likely have to skip a hole or two.

Hole 1 is also difficult to find the tee box. I figure you just start at the big sign between the play ground and the softball field.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, it at least gives you a place to play in Elgin. But if you have any additional time whatsoever, go to Metro East or Austin.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/29/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 13.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a couple of posted mandatories that are unusual and interesting. One creates a dogleg and takes away a wideopen 130' ace run hole. One creates a dogleg through a picnic area and has a warning not to follow the mandatory if someone is using the picnic area. There is one hole (#6) that is pretty technical with low canopies and OB on right. The other 6 holes are very short and open.
Cons: I never found Tee Pad #1 which is not a way to start a course. I found #3 and then backtracked to #2 but never found #1. There are no signs or maps posted anywhere to help and since noone plays this course you can't look for the usual warn spots.

The flow of the course is very confusing. It's basically three triangles with the 2nd two triangles overlapping. After the first triangle (hole 1-3) you have to walk around a baseball field to get to #4. After #8 you have to walk around the other side of the baseball field to get to #9.

The pin for hole 9 was right up by a playscape. Since there were kids playing and it was windy I had to skip #9.

The distances are super short. The longest is 235'. Most are 135'-175'.

This park is in a bad neighborhood. There were a couple of groups of local thugs sitting on the picnic tables smoking and drinking and listening to loud music. They actually yelled obsinaties at me as I was leaving.
Other Thoughts: I will never go back to this course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  small town course

6/16/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: sdrawkcabssa
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very clean park, well marked holes, alot of parking.
Cons: the course had short holes, not very many obsticals to play around, no tee box on most of the holes.
Other Thoughts: easy to play and great for new comers to the sport.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.