Mesquite, TX 
Paschall Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #3 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 296ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 

2-4    1/10/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course. A lot of fun because there are many short holes to try to ace. There is one long hole on the front nine that will test your power a bit. There is also a driving range near by so you can see how far you can chunk a disc.
Cons: No cons.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great tournament location, me thinks.

1    2/15/2011   2/15/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Overall a great course. I will play here again as soon as I am back here to do so. see complete review in other box. Played again 2/2012. Played all 18. This is a truly great course. Plays like 3 separate courses... First 6 holes play through trees and creeks. Good basket placements and use of terrain. 6 is a nice tree tunnel. % plays to a drop off basket wedged between the creek and the puddle. These first six are overall great holes.8 through 16 play through the woodsiness. A nice combination of lefts and rights. 7, 17 and 18 are just wide open pints and shoots along the creek. I played the perfect small bag of discs for this course. I played them all. I had what I needed when I reached in. No disc was unplayed. I brought a stable and understable driver. A stable, an understable and an overstable middie and a preferred putter. 1 through 6 and 8 through 16 could be played just with the set of 3 middies, perfectly Park is clean, trash free and enjoyable. Locals were quite friendly. Great spot for tourneys and events.
Cons: I did not find any other than the mud on the back side... but that is seasonal and will be gone soon. Back almost exactly 1 year later and the muddy parts are right where they were last time. Again, likely seasonal. Some info on some of the white tee posts is missing... but except wanting to know the difference, not really needed. Easy to navigate as long as you are aware of the 6 to 7 transition and the 16 to 17 jump across the creek.
Other Thoughts: This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth disc for a total of 10, disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat... even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Paschall park, Mesquite, TX

1. Yes. Good tee pads. 2 for each hole. I played the white (shorter) course.
2. Yes. Good signage on posts. Nice main map. Next tee indicators on baskets. Easy to navigate course.
3. Yes. Park amenities are good, some but few golf specific amenities are present. Nice driving range with distance signs but course specific amenities are few.
4. Yes. Very nice clean multi use park
5. Yes. Quite well done here. Nice use of the creek like areas on the early holes. Nice use of woodsines in the tens/teens.
6. Yes. Some elevation on first few holes... back portion is mostly flat. What is avail. is well used.
7. Yes. Good assortment even when I played just the short tees... 7 is a long big-arm bomb. Early holes are short and technical. Woodsy holes are fun and well done.
8. Yes. 2 sets of tees on all holes. I did not see pin options, though. Mando markers on early holes, too.
9. No. I can not say there was a sign hole... no one hole stood out as a memorable experience in uniqueness... but entire course is just GREAT. If I was here another day I would play here again.
10. Yes. Great fun. Excellent course. I can see great tournaments held here. Big fun.

Rating = 9 yes, 1 no = 4.5 disc rating

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    12/21/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: loki
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the first 2 holes make getting through trees a big challenge hole 7 is wide open so you can really air out some long drives and the back 9 otherwise known as "birdie alley" lets you make up for all the tree love you will get on the first few holes.

restrooms on site werent bad at all playground close by and all the locals seem to really be helpful and friendly
Cons: hole 17 and 18 can eat a disc fast if mis thrown so be prepared to go swimming hole 1 should be listed as a par 3 instead of a par 4 even from the short tee
the back 9 can turn into swamp lands after a good rain but it looks like they are trying to fix that
on weekends this place is packed and weekday afternoons get busy as well
Other Thoughts: all in all this is a course that while it might not be the premier course in the dallas area it is a course that everyone should try at least once very fun course and have a blast everytime i play there you can easily make this a 36 hole course just by playing from both sets of tees
i consider this course to be my home course

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mudfest

1    11/13/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: chalos13
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Mesquite uses these bright yellow poles with a red ball on top to mark their baskets, and it's great. Easy to see from a distance, makes courses flow really well. They put a sticker with par, distance, which tee your at and a general arrow pointing to the hole. Tees were all the bright yellow Innova baskets so easy to fine. Baskets are in great shape, couldn't be too old with very little graffiti. Great course flow, Good shot variety.
Cons: Poor drainage, we played after a rain the day before and we had more mud on our shoes than we could handle. A couple tee pads are in low spots, so mud flowed up over them and made them extremely slick, but according to a local the mud is common for Mesquite. A few holes around 15-16 got really close to some houses next to the park.
Other Thoughts: Great course, lots of variety in the shots needed, poor drainage. If it rained recently, pick another place to play, a local told me Lake Lewisville is usually really good after a rain (and it's a great course as well)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just Plain Fun

2-4    8/29/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: razorsmith.com
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate even for the 1st timers, and from either teepad.
Well marked concrete teepads for both blue and white tees.
Water comes into play, however during dry summer not really an issue.
Holes 8-14 is in woods, however they are pretty open and easy to drop your score on these holes.
Nice pavillion with lots of tables.
Nice small playground for kiddos.
Lots of shade.
Driving range is a cool touch.
Cons: Not sure all of the measurements are correct. I normally throw max 315-330, and on 8 it states 375 from the white tee. I overthrew the basket on both rounds. Some of the others seem off by a bit, but I was not walking around with a measuring device either.
Parking was fine, however I can see how this could be an issue on busy days.
Scary to wonder how bad this place can flood during rains. There is a flood gauge between 4-5 that shows 6 feet depth.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. I played pushing my kids in a double jogger and flew through the course. Played for 30 min at playground, then played another round.
Easy to get to, great park, and some really friendly players there. Fun times

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Time @ Paschall

1    3/10/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 86  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean concrete tee pads with dual locations
Nice quality signs
Clean park
Quiet and not crowded
Mix of trees and open shots
Water on several holes
Restrooms and water fountain
Plenty of parking
Discatcher Baskets
Cons: Bad drainage in many areas
No elevation changes throughout course
Some holes lack challenge, especially from the short
Other Thoughts: Hole one is labeled as a par 4, even from the short pad. It should definitely be a par 3.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 a pretty fun course

5+    12/10/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: Geraldo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a clean and safe park that is well maintained by the city parks dept.Every hole is complete with short and long tees along with discatcher baskets and good signage as well.

There are plenty of good ace opportunities if you can throw it straight

The course flows easily enough,but there is a map located on the bulletin board near the parking lot.
Restrooms and water fountain are located at the picnic pavilion between the parking and hole #1( you will pass these and the bulletin board on the way to the first tee)
The driving range next to #7 is a great and unique feature that makes this course stand out a little
Cons: Almost every hole can be reached with a straight flat shot, the longs change this a little but mostly add just length.
If it has rained recently forget about it.At least 75% of the course turns to mud and puddles.

In the summer and fall the mosquitoes are terrible due to all the standing water around the trees along the back nine,
Other Thoughts: Holes 4,5,7,17,18 all border the creek. It can get pretty windy on the more open front nine but the trees keep it calm on the back

There are two large parking lots(and a few spaces near the first holes) parking can get bad due to the popularity of this course by DGers and non-golfers alike.

#2's basket doubles as a practice basket

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another great course in DFW

1    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 42  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice message board with score cards
-Ace friendly
-Nice multiple concrete tee pads
-Nice baskets
-Nice signage with all hole info
-Trash cans on most holes
-Nice mixture of short and long shots
-Nice parking
-Very cleaned and well maintained
-Water fountains
Cons: -Can get very muddy after a good rain
-No practice basket
-Lots of mosquitos
-No restrooms
Other Thoughts: This is another great course in the DFW area. I drove from Fort Worth to play this course and it was well worth the drive. I will be back to play it again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Paschall Park

2-4    10/3/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: zflog
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging holes. Nice clean park. Great location. Lots of ace runs. Plenty of parking around the course.
Cons: Not a good place when people want to have a picinic lunch right in the fairway. Some of the park visitors have no clue of what is going on.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 How Far Can You Sling One?

1    8/17/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course with lots of tunnel type drives and accuracy shots. The woods were used to perfection. The course is not overly challenging but fun just the same. They have put in a excellent baskets and cement tee pads. The signs are excellent and the layout of the entire course is challenging. This course even boasts a rarity, a driving range. It is well marked and logically placed next to the parking lot. The course is so well maintained that wood chips have even been dispersed to help control the mud after a rain.
Cons: There is little to complain about at this place. There was no sign of a restroom. There is very little elevation on the course.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor was great. The holes were fun and the course was a blast even as most of the course was flat. I will most certainly be going back there. It was a real treat to play.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.