Hendersonville, TN 
Sanders Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Well maintained course in a nice park

1    10/6/2018   10/6/2018
Review By: billcoke
Played: 174  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice signage
- Grass well cut
- Clean park (minimal trash)
- Good use of the space and available obstacles
Cons: On the back 9 there are some walks between holes that take a bit of looking to follow.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course for getting in a practice round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course for Beginners

5+    5/21/2018   6/2/2018
Review By: Nigel_Tufnel
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This a great course for beginners as well as advanced players. Lots of long holes make up for the lack of wooded shots. Back nine definitely has some holes that can break your round if not careful. Very nice park along the lake.

*Holes 10, 14 & 15 are the highlights IMO

*Places to sit a most holes

*Hooks to hang your bag

*Very well kept
Cons: *Portions of the Front nine can get flooded after a big rain

*Pins can go a while without being moved

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I Hope You Like Wind...

2-4    4/3/2018   4/3/2018
Review By: njgrosser
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin Placements: Even though they aren't great (see below), there are multiple pin placements on most holes to add some variety to regulars of this park.

Concrete Tee Pads and Signs: The tee pads are big and in good shape, and the signs for each hole do a good job of showing where the baskets are if you can't explicitly see them from the tee.

Scenic: The park itself is pretty scenic. The lake views are nice. We even saw some wildlife on the edges of the lake.
Cons: Hole Design: This is one of the least imaginative course designs I've played, especially in the Nashville area. Over half the holes, especially in the front 9, are extremely open throws with no real difficulty to them. There are several times where holes are playing into each other; in other cases, park shelters, walking paths, and a basketball court come into play. This is inexcusable with the amount of open land remaining in this park. The park has some trees and wooded areas, but they also were poorly utilized in the course design.

Wind: The park is situated on a peninsula of the lake, meaning it. is. always. windy. A little wind is not usually a problem; however, the winds here range from a challenge to a huge frustration. It makes approaches and putts especially difficult, and will have a negative effect on your score during gustier days.

Baskets: The baskets are pretty old, and the chains could use some work. There were a couple times where I had a chainbanger that would have caught in a newer basket, but bounced off of these chains and not into the basket.

Water Holes: This is a personal con and not a universal opinion, but I do not understand the allure of a 200' throw over a lake, especially with the unpredictable winds you see at this park. That being said, for this course, it feels odd having an extremely basic, easy layout for the majority of the course, only to be thrown two bombs over the lake for #14 and #15. They do have alternate tees where the water is less in play, which is nice.

The "Lake" Between #5 and #6: I'm not sure why this happens, but there is a ton of standing water between the fairways of #5 and #6. We actually ended up teeing off from about 30' to the left of #5 to avoid the water. Based on the mud in the area, it looks like it was significantly bigger recently than it was today, and today it was borderline problematic. I'm not sure how this looks in the summer, but in the wettest parts of spring it may make these holes unplayable.

Poop: There was poop everywhere. I think most of it was from geese, but some of it may have been from pets. Just be careful when you're out there.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely not one of the "destination courses" in Nashville. It is on the end of a peninsula in Hendersonville, making it tough to get to from anywhere south of the lake/river. I would consider it a "beginner" course based on the overall course design, but the wind and the two water throws can increase the difficulty substantially.

To me, it just doesn't match up to the quality of several other courses in the area, and if you are not near Hendersonville, it's not really worth playing often. If you are looking for a beginner-friendly course, there are better courses more easily accessible from the downtown Nashville area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    2/11/2018   2/23/2018
Review By: jeffreydrybones
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Open Course
-Multiple Pins
-Great Teepads
-Awesome Location
Cons: -Challenging if Windy
-Watch for pet droppings
-Tee Signs are sometimes incorrect
Other Thoughts: This would have been an AMAZING course to play if the weather had been a little better. It was very windy that day, which caused me to lose two discs in a water hazard that is normally not there. I know I have no control over the weather so that did not take away from the review I am leaving. The overall design is one of the best I have ever played. The hills make for challenging runs at baskets. While the course is mostly wide open, there are a few holes on the back 9 that make you play around trees and the lake. One hole (I believe it is number 11) where the teepad is actually a part of the sidewalk. Me and my buddy almost missed it. Watch for pet droppings around the park, some people don't pick up after their pets which is not fun to have your disc land on top of. This was so far one of my favorite courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

golf

5+    10/23/2017   10/23/2017
Review By: kidkirby
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some beautiful views of old hickory lake and is a very family friendly environment. Sanders is a very good beginner course on the front 9 but then becomes more challenging on the back 9. There are 2 awesome water shots on the back 9 with one being alot longer and harder than the other. Great signage and the parks dept keeps it mowed nicely.
Cons: Can be an easy course for advanced players. After big rains can hold water on hole 5 and 6. there are multiple pin placements but they do not get moved enough.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I love this course!

5+    7/19/2015   4/29/2016
Review By: JBrew012
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners, but presents some challenges as well for those looking to get better.
Cons: Water shots are tough, but fun.
Other Thoughts: Sanders Ferry is a go-to course for me. I love getting to just sling a frisbee on multiple holes. I am not a beginner, but I mostly play for fun. This course is just right for me. Great for bringing some friends to play together, even beginners. It's just a fun course!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great all-round Course

1    9/29/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: TN Transplant
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Open course, Water to throw over was nice, Both short and long holes really helped me work on my game. Easy to get around with good signs.
Cons: Grass was tall, older baskets, non golfers could get into play
Other Thoughts: As others have said, it is a great course to work on your game.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

2-4    7/16/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: Fleet
Played: 35  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mainly wide open, any trees on a hole will come into play mainly as you get closer to the pin, with a couple of exceptions.

Good mix of short and long holes. Just enough of a mix between right-to-left and left-to-right to keep it interesting.

Practice basket near the parking lot.

Course is split between holes 1-9 and holes 10-18, so you can pick/choose where to start.

Two water shots to spice it up a little bit. The first one can be a bit of a challenge, the next one is a good "starter" water hole. Both holes have alternate tee pads if you don't feel like risking it.

Not uncommon to see a deer or two and lots of geese... if you're in to that stuff...
Cons: Even if you want to go over the water holes, you may not be able to since both of them play around a popular fishing area in the park. Lots of people park their cars on the course here. You may have to play hole #14 from the alternate since everyone is clear on the opposite side from you, near the basket. Hole #15 is a bit easier to ask people to watch out since they're fishing on the teepad - everyone I've asked to move has been friendly, so don't be scared.

Hole #2 plays *REALLY* close to a basketball court, though whenever I go there it's not in use. Could be a problem on very busy park days.

Goose poop. Everywhere. Specifically holes 14-17.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course overall, though if you're looking for a difficult/technical course to play then this may not be for you.

Not a bad course to bring a beginner/date. Front nine is really good to get some fundamentals down and have a good time, I think.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fields...with baskets...

1    10/20/2010   11/20/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a somewhat crowded county park. Plays mostly in open fields near a big lake.
- Easy to find, adequate parking, pavillions, bathrooms, water fountains, mowed grass, etc. - all things you'd want from a nice, used, family-friendly county park
- Good course for beginners - plays mostly through open fields, with some obstacles and unique aspects on certain holes
- Course map for front 9 located near a practice basket and tee #1 - course map for the back 9 located near tee #10
- Uses elevation fairly well - there are a few hills here and a handful of the holes go up down or diagonal across the inclines
- Concrete tee pads on all holes (2 tees on a couple holes - see below)
- Multiple basket locations on most (I think) of the holes that presumably get changed every so often
- Tee signs with hole map, all basket locations, distances, par - most were in pretty good shape
- Front 9 has almost all open holes around the fields (no real shot shaping needed), with maybe 2 holes having trees come into play
- Back 9 has a few more open holes, but some holes introduce a bit more variety with trees, water and the necessity to throw a certain line
- Holes 14 and 15 are nice challenging drives over water (coves in the lake), but offer alternate tee pads that avoid throwing over the water - I also liked hole 11 (I think), which was downhill through some trees, then a right hand turn with the basket at the end of a tree-lined chute with the lake as a treacherous backdrop for approaches gone long
Cons: - While good for beginners, this course is probably too open for most regular players - there is some unused wooded area on the front nine that could be better utilized
- I thought a couple holes (6 and 7 in particular, I think) had tee pads that were very askew from the required flight path, almost like they weren't aimed at the basket - After I made my drive into the opening in the trees on #7, this was somewhat explained when I got back to the course map and found that their suggested flight path had you go way out and around the trees to the left, instead of a more direct line at the basket through the reasonable tree openings
- A bunch of the distances on the tee signs were suspect - I probably came up 50 feet short on hole #3 (I think) and the sign was listed at 210 feet - I don't have the longest arm, but definitely longer than 160 feet (although the hole listed at 310 feet on this site, which would make more sense) - On the flip side, hole #15 is listed at 358 feet on the sign (330 feet on this site) and I sent my drive 20 feet past the basket - I wish I had this long of a drive, but I don't yet
- I got lucky I saw the course map near the pee pad for hole #10 as I drove in, or else I might have been hunting for it, since the course map for the front nine doesn't show where hole #10 is
- No "next tee" signs that I remember
- First few holes play near benches, basketball court, etc. and could be hazardous on crowded days - even the holes around there themselves kind of run into each other a bit so you need to keep an eye out
- The drive over the water on #14 could be hazardous as well, if there are a lot of people parked there for fishing (which there were while I was there)
Other Thoughts: - Current basket position was not marked on the tee signs in any way, but luckily the course is open enough that you can see exactly where you're shooting
- Benches and trash cans available near some holes
- As mentioned, there is some unused wooded area, as well as more open land "behind" the font 9 that maybe could be explored for more course/hole options

Certainly not a bad course by any means, but I found more challenging and enjoyable alternatives around Nashville. Since I'm only in town once a year, I probably won't make a point to return, but if you live nearby, this is a good option for a relaxed, casual round or a place to teach a new player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: Spinefarm
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super easy to follow layout, great signage.

Front 9 are fairly easy but super fun.
Back 9 are harder but still a lot of fun with water options.

Great place for starters and experienced players alike.

Lake access for arriving/leaving on boat, fishing and swimming.

Pavilions with cooking stations, great bathrooms and a good water fountain.

Nice practice basket with trees to putt around if you choose. Also can hop over to hole 10 and practice mid-range and putts if the practice hole is congested.

Easy to play the front 9 twice through without blowing your arm out.

Front 9 offers a 0.03% chance to lose a disc.
Cons: Front 9 although fun, poses little challenge for seasoned players.

Park can be crowded at times which most non-dedicated courses can be.

Some of the alternate pin locations take the great away from the holes.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite places to play. Fun course even though the newer drivers have outgrown it. Great for casual play since you can have a cookout, go swimming/boating/fishing or fly model airplanes in between play. I highly recommend this course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.