Hendersonville, TN 
Sanders Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Fun in a scenic setting

5+    2/26/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 393  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout for Sanders Ferry makes good with the elevation changes and scenic views of Old Hickory Lake and other parts of the park. This mostly open course rolls back and forth across a large, well manicured field for the front nine and then stays close to the lakeside along the back nine. None of the holes are tricky in that if you throw a good shot you will be rewarded with a good lie for the next. Even bad shots won't be overly punished except on the water holes where you have a good chance of losing a disc. The existing trees come into play sparingly on the front nine but more so on the back. Many of the holes have multiple pin placements though sometimes the tee signs don't indicate it. Two of the holes on the back directly cross over the lake with four more coming close to water's edge. The tee pads are nicely sized and grippy for a good run up. The tee signs show both pin placements and distances. There are seasoned Innova baskets used that catch well and are easy to spot from the tees. Most tees also have nice benches and trash cans.
Cons: There are several spots in the layout that could be potential hazardous. Looking from 3's tee to the basket, you are looking almost directly at 4's tee area in between. This can be a big concern with groups on each hole. The same with 4's tee to basket. You can't see the basket but you're looking directly at 5's tee and if you go straight instead of turning right, you'll be on or past the next tee. Multiple holes play along the road entering the park (11, 18) with others (11, 12) playing along a frequently used walking path. Number 12 is actually a blind shot over the hill along the walking path that could be hazardous. This is a popular park and not just for disc golf. People oblivious to disc golf can be found throughout the course, especially on the water holes, on good weather days. So just be patient with them and be sure they know you're throwing. Several of the tee signs are missing (6, 7, 8 that I can remember) and others have been vandalized with spray paint and other gibberish. With the multiple pin placements, the tee signs make no indication of which sleeve the basket is in but since practically every basket can be seen from the tee, this isn't that big a problem.
Other Thoughts: Sanders can be a lot of fun for players of all skill levels. Less skilled players may get frustrated with the length and prospect of throwing over water but its all good practice. More skilled players won't find a lot of challenge in the layout but may use this course to fine tune long accurate driving. The course can be very popular on nice weather days. Personally, I'd like to see some more water shots here and wooded shot shaping holes but that would require extensive redesign of the course and moving of other park features (model airplane field and several picnic pavilions). This is one of the two best open courses in the Nashville area with Crockett Park in Brentwood being the other. Its definitely worth the time to play it but don't expect to be blown away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesomeness

1    10/24/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: alvis.randal
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: *Course was wide open. This was our first time ever playing.
Cons: *Course was very long...did not see alternate tee boxes (dad)
Other Thoughts: *Extremely windy that day; made the course extra long / hard (dad).

8-yr old son rated this course.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ler 'er rip!

1    11/11/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 9.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good concrete tee pads for every hole. Signs that show multiple basket positions and hole lengths. Take distances on signs with a grain of salt. Navigation is easy. A few walks are a little long, but in a big open park that is going to happen. Nothing that will get you lost though.

Good use of available elevation, and the wide open fairways. Not many obstacles on most holes, so the ups and downs offer something to challenge you.

Two nice water holes. Both are not really trouble, but do add some nice scenery and risk. The Cumberland River and Hickory Lake provide a nice background for a round here. Bathrooms and gazebos are also on site.
Cons: Very open. If you have a good arm and can throw semi-controlled shots around 400' this course will offer little challenge. Only a couple true shot-shaping opportunities.

Some tee signs are missing, and the distances are definitely off a little.

In a couple spots roads and/or sidewalks come into play. In one case, #11, you throw uphill, and the walking path is out of sight. Could be dangerous for bikers or pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 is a nice uphill shots into some woods. Takes a couple nice shots to get to par. Hole 10 is a nice long downhill, over a small drain/creek and back up into some woods. Another nicely designed hole.

Also make sure you stop by the Cloud 9 Disc Golf Shop at 111 Sanders Ferry Road. It is about 3 miles down the road from the course. Please support your
local shop. They have a great selection of Innova, Discraft, Discmamia and Gateway putters. Buy a disc so they are thief next time you visit.

All in all, this is a decent course worthy of a round. It could get dull if it was your only option, but being the most open course in the Nashville area, it provides a good change of pace. It would also be a good place to practice or bring newer players. Accuracy is not a necessary skill on this course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

2-4    8/1/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JBrew04
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginners like myself. Most holes are very open, so you won't have to worry about losing discs, except for the water holes (get it across or it's gone... not too difficult though). And there are many long holes that allow you to rip it off the tees. This was my first real course (I've played a bunch on an easy homemade 9-hole course) and it was a great 1st course for me.
Cons: I've played it twice now, and the first time it wasn't very crowded (on a Friday evening around 5:00). The second time though (on a Sunday afternoon around 2:00), the course was very crowded. I was by myself, so groups let me go ahead of them, but there were about 3 or 4 groups that let me pass. I had to wait on the first 3 or 4 holes. Also, some of the tee positions have changed and aren't marked very well. I questioned some of the pars based on where the baskets were.
Other Thoughts: Fun first course. Again, very open, long holes. Watch out for the water! Nice touch. :)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course!

5+    8/13/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Front and back 9 separated by bathrooms and one very warm but delicious water fountain. Nice signage w/ distance and pars listed. Nice place off of hole 11 by the water to take a smoke break. Hole 14 is a sweet over the water shot that makes me feel good. Nice concrete tee pads.
Cons: D-bags park on the fairway for hole 13/14/15/16/17.
Tee Signs missing for 7 & 8 after flood in April. (bummer)
Kids play in Hole 18 fairway on nice days.
Hole 16 doesn't flow right in the course design.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a lot as Cloud 9 pro shop is located conveniently nearby. Great course!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course on the lake

5+    3/27/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: vibe
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Front 9 is very basic, laid out in a circular pattern. Great place for beginners. Several open holes, not too many places to lose your disc.

Back 9 hugs the beautiful lake for a relaxing round.
Some difficult options with water hazards at tee shots, and narrow fairways with road on one side and lake on the other.

Very picturesque setting, and a disc golf store is just down the road from this course.
Cons: First and last hole border picnic areas and playground that often overflow into course.
Other similar overlaps also, including roads and basketball court.
Can be very muddy in some areas.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners and intermediate players.
Excellent place to practice.
Wonderful place to introduce others to the sport.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Round in a Clean Park

1    3/20/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 14.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sanders Ferry Park sits on a beautiful piece of land on Old Hickory Lake. The views are very nice and the course (and park) is very well maintained. Tee pads are adequate for any style of driving. Most tees provide the opportunity for a solid run-up, if that is your preferred method of driving. Baskets are all in excellent condition. While the course is predominantly open, there are some well-placed trees to add certain elements of design. The length of the holes varies pretty well. Water shots; I love them even though some people, inexplicably, would call this a "con".
Cons: Challenge; it's really not here. This is not a difficult course. While there are some tricky pin placements, the open design of the course really lends itself to an absence of true challenge. In my opinion, distance does not make a challenging hole. Obstacles requiring adept shot-making, make a challenging hole. I can think of at least 2 holes on the course right now, that are nothing more than ace runs in an open field. Throw-away holes drastically diminish the design of the course. Hole #2 also plays over a basketball court which wasn't a problem on Saturday, but could be a major problem if there are people playing there. My last complaint I will label as "Weekend". Do NOT try to play this course on a nice weekend. It might sound like a good idea. However, this past Saturday there were old men fishing off the TEE PAD on 1 hole, and the "greens" for 2 others. Plus there cars were parked in play. There were probably about 16-18 people fishing on the course during our round....and they don't move...and they don't understand what a tee pad is...and they don't comprehend that a polymer of hard plastic flying at them from afar will hurt.
Other Thoughts: Sanders Ferry is a really nice park and has a very nice course. There are a few design flaws. Add that to the inconsiderate other users of the park, and I think it sits as a "Good" course. There is just not enough of a challenging aspect to give it a better rating. I base my ratings on the course being both fun and challenging. Sanders Ferry is fun...but not challenging. If anyone is looking for a comparison, I played Cedar Hill in Nashville on Saturday morning and played Sanders Ferry after eating lunch. I shot 13 strokes better at Sanders Ferry. It is true that Cedar Hill is hard, but Sanders Ferry really is not. It is a fun round, however, and if you are in the area, definitely give the course a shot. I think you'll enjoy it, and I hope the fishermen are not out in full force.

Also, On Sanders Ferry road is a new disc golf store in Nashville called Cloud 9. We got to stop by and they have the best selection of discs I have seen in the Nashville area. They sell all brands and have some pretty cool stuff, so check them out if you're on your way to play Sanders Ferry.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 They have messed this course up...

5+    8/23/2012   11/7/2009
Review By: UKfan
Played: 68  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine allows you to practice your drives and still has challenging approach shots. The back nine is much more difficult with bushes, trees, or water as hazards. The course is kept in good shape. It is mowed and several holes are even mowed around them to show you the putting area. The water holes have alternate tee boxes.
Cons: They have mucked with the pen placements and the pars. I understand that really long throwers may want a more challenging course...but there has to be a course for the average or beginner player. This course use to be a great course for a an average or beginner. On August 23, 2012, the basket placements were once again in horrible positions. Many of the "new" placements were not in the original design and are horrible. The long placements on 3, 4, 7, 11, 15, and 17 are just poorly designed. They have also changed all of the pars to par 3's even though most of the holes are par 4 or greater according to PDGA guidelines. A good example is hole #11. The long placement cannot possible be approached for an ace or even a likely easy 2. This is an example of good players trying to make a course harder for their amusement. If you discourage beginners, then you kill the sport. Good players can go to Cedar Hills or a number of other courses if this course was not challenging enough for them. Another unrelated problem is that the tee boxes refer to alternate basket placements and you cannot tell which placement is correct on that given day on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This course use to be listed among my favorites. Not anymore. It use to be fun and a different type course from the usual technical courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two courses.

1    9/1/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The first half of the course is great with logical flow, shot selection, maintenance, and comfort. Our groups lefty was very happy to have an advantage on a couple holes at our skill level. Not crowded, safe and scenic drive.
Cons: The second half of the course is a lot of criss cross walking with no pay off. The water holes are an interesting twist, but not worth the effort in the end.
Other Thoughts: Play the first 9 twice and skip the other side of the tracks! Signs were updated with paper inserts which greatly helps when they match the course.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 More fun than challenging

2-4    7/22/2001   6/22/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 124  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 23.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful course is a state-park-like area, with rolling well-mown grassy hills surrounded by a lake.

A fair number of chances to grip-n-rip, and with some pretty open areas, you're not likely to spend time looking for discs.

The 2 holes over water give you the chance to decide how much water you want to try to carry; a short safe route, or a longer, more dangerous throw to reach the pin.

Players with a wide range of skills can find something to enjoy here.
Cons: There aren't any real great holes here; just a lot of good ones.

Other Thoughts: I played here Am Worlds 2001, so didn't have to deal with the non-playing public along the lake.

Not as challenging as some other Nashville-area courses, but a fine place for a less-intense round of throwing discs.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.