Hendersonville, TN 
Sanders Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 390ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Definatly worth checking out!

1    4/11/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 115  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 9.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course in a great park. You can enjoy the views of the large Old Hickory Lake on most of these fairly open holes. Mature trees are peppered in and around the fairways that range anywhere from about 210'-550'. You'll find alternate tees and pin placements on a few holes which is great to change things around a bit. The two holes where you throw over water are a nice addition and they help keep things changed up in an already fairly good variety of hole types. Some "let um rip" shots and some that will take a little accuracy are found throughout. Rolling hills also play in on this course and were taken in to account by the designers pretty well. Even with some of the longer holes this course is relatively easy. With that said if you are having an off day you can rack up the strokes. But overall if you are looking for a relaxing round on a great course with minimal frustration this is perfect.

You'll find concrete tee pads, good signs, and newer Innova baskets. There's even a practice basket near hole one to brush up on some pre-round putting. Bathrooms, convenient parking, and covered terraces with picnic tables all add to the amenities as well. I understand the course itself is maintained well with the grass frequently mowed during growing season. It is a very clean park and feels very safe.

Cons: It can be little crowded in some areas. The pavilions near hole one could create a problem if it is being used by large groups. I happened to play when there was an Easter egg hunt going on. Granted that is not going to happen very often but if a lot of kids are running around just be careful. The water shot on hole number fourteen was a little tricky. The bank between me and the baskets had fisherman standing around. Depending on the personalities of some of these guys it could get a little tricky to convince them to move. After all you are in the south. You might just look like a couple of guys throwing a Frisbee (if you know what I mean). Again, be careful.

The course flows well except for the fifteen/sixteen/seventeen transition. It involves a little backtracking but no big deal.
Other Thoughts: Over all I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Even with a lengthy drive it is well worth the trip. Numerous other activities in the park could round off a nice family day if you were so inclined. Several other nice courses are in the area too if you wanted to go that route. Enjoy!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Open course worth playing

1    3/23/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 50  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course to air your discs out; plenty of shots in open fields with no hazards to worry about. A couple of holes along or over water to play with your nerves. I was told by a guy I joined up with that the course is well maintained in the summer (grass kept short, etc.).
Cons: Unfortunately the open nature of this course means that it does not provide much of a challenge. Most holes are fairly straight and there aren't any tight shots to fret over. In the end it is very beginner friendly and is worth playing occasionally for the better players. A few holes were missing signs to let you know the hole layout and they did not mark the next tee location. This isn't too much of a problem, the course flows from one hole to the next fairly well, with only a couple holes where you have to walk back up the one you just played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/29/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: branden14
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Best course I have played yet!
Gorgeous scenery! Each hole was different and unique. The back 9 were the best. I especially loved the water shots; I have never been so nervous about a shot!
Cons: I really cannot think of any!
Other Thoughts: If you are passing through Nashville, definitely stop and play this course. It was a great place to just get out of the car a relax as well.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Length & Accuracy with a Lakeview

1    6/6/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 83  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sanders Ferry park is a well kept park on the edge of the lake in Hendersonville, TN.

This course requires distance and accuracy to score well. Many of the holes have multiple basket and teepad options. This is a huge asset, as there are some very challenging layout possibilities. Some pins have 4 or 5 locations, with the longer positions playing between 400 and 500 feet. Playing from the pro pads with the long placements will add up to scores in the 60's.

The course uses fairly new Discatcher baskets, with a practice basket located 30 feet from the parking lot. There is a map of the front 9 located at the first teepad. Alternatively, there is another 9 hole map located on the 10th teepad. The grass is consistently kept very short, making it perfect for throwing rollers. OB comes into play on 7 or 8 holes, with a road meandering through the course and the lake coming into play on the back 9.
Cons: I don't have any real problems with this park, except that it can get very crowded in the summer. There is a playground/picnic area and several pavillions throughout that can attract a crowd.

Hole 8 and Hole 9 feel a little open with no real obstacles. Although they require good distance, the wind is the only thing to take into account.

The wind at this course can be brutal, with gusts up to 25 or 30 mph near the lake. Accuracy is important on the water holes if you want to stay dry.
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable course that will test many areas of your game. The course requires length, accuracy and the ability to hold your line in strong winds. The front 9 is nice, but the back 9 is phenomenal, with more elevation and more technical shots. 4 of the holes on the back 9 play around or over water.

This course is on par with Cedar Hill in terms of challenge. I would say this course is in the top 3 or 4 courses in the greater Nashville area. It is a nice change from the other courses, as it plays very long and across gently rolling hills.

I would recommend this course to players of all levels. If you are coming to Nashville and can play only 1 course, go to Cedar Hill. If you have anything left after that one, this is a nice change of pace.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Course On The Lake!

1    8/13/2008   8/17/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1236  Reviewed: 1184  Exp: 40 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The setting is flat out beautiful with Lake Hickory often in view. Gently rolling hills are great for some big air throws. The course is very well signed. It has these clever little A-B-C buttons on the poles to tell you which position the baskets are in. Saves times walking up the fairway trying to find out yourself. The teepads are good, there's restroom facitlities. I played early in the morning so there were only a few people in the park. You're playing on mowed grass which is always nice. There are throws over water and both have alternate pads if you don't want to risk splashing your favorite. I like having that option.
Cons: There were two designs flaws which I wasn't exactly thrilled with. # 11 throws down a fairly narrow fairway with rough on the right side and the incoming park traffic on the left. Hopefully, there isn't really enough traffic to make that a problem. And # 16 throws 400' towards the lake, which is fine. But then you have to walk back up the same fairway to get to # 17. With all the room available here, it seems this could be fixed.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly easy at times, open with many holes birdable. But even professional golfers sometimes shoot 12 under par. I'd love to have this course in my area. But then, I'd just love to take these gently, rolling Tennessee hills home. They're perfect for disc golf courses!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 DG on the lake

2-4    7/12/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 278  Reviewed: 268  Exp: 21.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course as the park is surrounded by water. There are views of the lake from almost every hole, and water comes into play on a few of them, including 2 that require over-the-water shots.

Good signs. Picnic shelter near the parking area and restrooms.
Cons: People often fish and picnic on the landing areas of the 2 over-the-water holes. (Locals don't seem to realize they are in the way and are about to be hit in the head with a hard fast projectile!)

The bad thing about throwing over the water is the long walks around the inlets to get to the basket. #16 and #17 teepads are next to each other, meaning you have to walk back up 16 after you play 16 to get to 17.

I believe this is a course that started out as 9 and later became 18. 18 holes is great but the flow is just not the same as it would have been if all 18 were planned from the beginning.
Other Thoughts: Pretty course. Not too difficult.

The course as a whole is not too thrilling for me to play, but it is not a bad course either.

Others are rating it very high, but I don't see this course nearly on the same level as others close by like Cedar Hill.

Keep in mind a 2.5 rating is still a good course to play, just not a "must play in the US" type course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

5/9/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 10 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintaned course that has a few multiple pin locations as well a 2 forced carries over water and a few hole beside water. The back nine is has a few really great holes. holes #11, #13, #14, #15, #17 are all very nice with #11 and #13 really being great holes if the pins are in the back locations.
Cons: This course is way to open with many shot were you are just throwing in an open field. Often the best holes on the back nine are unplayable due to people fishing everywhere on the banks blocking the holes. This course in very easy and a good play can easily shoot in the 40's even though the sign list several holes a par fives and par fores.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to play in the winter when noboby is out fishing. It is also very beginner friendly with pretty much no woods.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  nice,clean park

4/12/2008   4/12/2008
Review By: thomasa93
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: *Very well maintained
*nice mix of holes (both water and land)
*some long holes
*some short holes
*restrooms/water available
*nice launch pads


Cons: It can be a little crowded; but certainly not bad enough to stop me from playing there.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very nice course. I especially like the variety of holes.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 -

3/14/2008   3/14/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 169  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 17 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Excellent Teepads
-Excellent Signage
-Decent baskets (eventhough I don't care for Disccatchers, personally)
-Tee shots are very fun with nice mix of distance and elevation
-Park is maintained very well
-Multiple pin placements add variety
-Just beautiful
-Restrooms available onsite
-Never crowded (at least when I've played it)
-Course design is planned well to use the trees appropriately, rather than haphazardly.
Cons:
-None really, my only complaint was that I played it in mid spring, and didn't bring any bug spray. Huge mosquitoes swarmed me pretty badly for about 5 holes!
Other Thoughts:
Sander's Ferry is a beautiful course. It's got some great "big arm" pumps, as well as a few, more technical shots, with OBs coming into play on a few holes. There is one shot where you shoot directly over the water, and that's always a blast!
I love going to Sander's Ferry and playing a few rounds when I'm in the area, which is about once a year. I'd suggest anyone passing through Nashville to take the 15-20 minutes and drive up to Hendersonville and shoot a round or two at Sander's Ferry, you won't be disappointed.

P.S. The course bears an odd resemblance to La Mirada. Most likely with the slight rolling hills and such, but it reminds me of LaMa quite a bit when I play it.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A favorite

3/7/2007   2/7/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Other Thoughts: May be my favorite course. Beautiful scenery and challenging holes including one over water. Mostly open but good use of trees.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.