Jefferson City, TN 
Carson-Newman College DGC Share
Uploaded By: wesford Hole #8 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8/#17 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Hell-no Newman!

1    6/10/2018   6/14/2018
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 314  Reviewed: 308  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2018
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carson Newman is a pleasant small-town college. You can take a nice stroll through campus. And if you're lucky, you may even find some of the holes.
- There are nine baskets. Each one is in pretty good shape.
- You get to walk by many nice campus buildings. Six to be exact. You also cross two streets and walk under one walkway.
- The course can be alright if you settle for a general area for your tee pads and/or just create your own tee pads. The baskets are spread out that one can create some excellent safari golf layouts. If you're more about exacts and structure, you'll be frustrated.
- I'm not sure whether it's genius or idiocy. Hole #5's tunnel fairway is either a great layout, or an extreme gimmick. I nearly aced it after having my tee shot skip off the wall and land three feet from the basket.
- Hole #3 was also a fun layout, teeing off next to one building, crossing several paths and an open area, and past another building. At 367 feet, it's one of the longer layouts.
Cons: Navigation is a disaster. Even with the course map, trying to find tee markers was a fruitless challenge. I only spotted two my entire round and one of those wasn't close to where it's located on the map.
- Dual tee locations for each basket. Why make it twice as frustrating? I ended up saving time and frustration by throwing from each location at the same time.
- Without a map, you're not going to be able to play here. With the map, you're at least on the right track. Consider the map more of a passive suggestion.
- The hole numbers on the map and the distances listed on this site don't match. It seems every listing is one hole off. For example, hole #3 on this site is listed at 290 feet. I could tell by throwing it was closer to 350 - 375 feet. Quickly discovered the hole listings were off.
- Course really isn't fun. Even if navigation were a breeze, the layout is too simple. Some of the layouts are also dangerous. #10 has you throwing a dogleg right around the entire front of a building. One hit student or one smashed window would probably be most people's first awareness there's a course on the campus.
- The course would virtually be unplayable when school is in session. During the summer, the campus was virtually a ghost town. During the year, good luck trying to play.
Other Thoughts: This course leaves a lot to be desired. There are glimpses of hope to turn around Carson Newman's course. That said, the reviews since day one highlighted the problems, so I'm not expecting anyone to step up.
- The argument can be made this course should just be yanked. Use the nine baskets at one of the local courses. Or find another park and drop them there. This layout just leaves a bad taste in everyone's mouth.
- At least #9 & 18 were pleasant layouts. This was one of the few layouts that gave you two different looks for each tee location. Contrast that to #2/11, which were seemingly only a couple steps apart on the map. And yet, neither tee marker was located.
- I probably spent as much time searching for tee markers as I did playing. Both tasks were a waste of time.
- It wouldn't take much time for some local disc golfers (local club or intermural players) to team up and get the tee marker situation squared away. Even the simple blue disc markers in the ground would be enough to solve the problem.
- If you're looking for disc golf, you're 15 minutes from an elite course, Panther Creek Park. Play there.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't try to play without a local

1    6/4/2017   6/7/2017
Review By: eric_vdberg
Played: 762  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 36.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some interesting shots, variety of distances, beautiful campus, most of the baskets are in good shape.
Good practice area.
Cons: Tees are mostly very hard to find, or no longer exist. Tees are just numbers on stones with no distances marked.
Fairways are over paths or very close to buildings.
Other Thoughts: Most of the back 9 were so similar to the front that it seemed redundant for them to even be there.
I probably would have spent a very long time looking and eventually given up, if I had not had the fortuity to run into a long time local player just as I was about to start. He showed me around the course, and told me that the grounds crew have removed tees that interfered with their mowing,
Take the map and if you can't find a marker within a minute then just make up your own hole (deduct one from each hole number on map).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Luck!

1    5/4/2013   4/5/2014
Review By: Baysinger
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best part about the course is holes #4 and #2. Reason I say this is because of the obsticles in place. On hole #2 there are some kind of concrete structures (columns) to the right side of your drive. Just kind of neat to throw along outside of the norm obsticles I think. On hole #4 there is a tunnel/bridge that you can choose to throw either through or over the top. Of course the funnest way to do it is to throw through! Check it out in the pictures its actually pretty neat! Besides that the only other pro I can think of is that it would be a fun way for college students to get some outdoors activity after class. And it is also great to put courses on college courses to get people who have never heard of disc golf to gain interest! The more courses on college grounds the more people will hear about it and more interest means more courses! So you gotta commend this course for that at the least!
Cons: No tee pads and no signs! Markers are VERY hard to find... even with the "course map" located on here. They are basically just a brick with a mailbox number. My suggestion is to print the map out so you can at least have a basic idea where to throw from. Definitely could be a saftey hazard of a course as the holes weave their ways in and out of the different buildings on campus.
Other Thoughts: When we played this course, we had the map and ended up pulling out a sharpee and marking on it with the propper driving paths that lined up with the markers/baskets in case we ever played this course again. It is about 25 minutes from my house and I haven't went back... it has been close to a year. Hope this gives you an idea of my desire to play this course again. Although I am sure I will evently give it another try it's not a desire. We spent most of our time looking for the tee markers than we did playing disc golf. We looked for the marker for hole #10 for about 15 minutes and never found it so we left and didn't finish the course. I had put pictures of holes 1-9 from down on the ground where the tee markers were looking up towards the baskets to try and help better chances of people finding the markers but DGCR took them off. The addition of above ground level markers would be a huge plus. Tee pads and signs are not 100% necessary on a course but you gotta know where to tee of or there is no use in even trying it out. Until they make some changes to make the markers easier to find I wouldnt waste your time on this course. I'm sure it's fun for college students who frequent it and know exactly where each tee position is but its a nightmare for first time players. Oh and it's been close to a year since I have played it so i'm not 100% sure but I think the whole #2 marker is in a completely different position than what the map shows.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  To hard to find tees

1    9/21/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: JRick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The only pro i found is that it would be hard to loose a disc.
Cons: Tees are hard to find i had a map that i found online and it did not help at all. Even when i did finally find a tee spot i walked over it because its one little brick in the ground with a number on it. Could not finsh just got tired of walking around aimlessly.
Other Thoughts: Maybe find a student that might help. They could just out a pole in the ground with a number that would help alot.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/21/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: DiscGolfFreak
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with some fun and unique shots, such as throwing through a tunnel, which I believe to be the signature hole. Dual tees increases it from 9 to 18. Many obstacles such as trees and buildings making some holes a little more technical.
Cons: Very difficult to find markers in the ground as the tee stations. Could use signs to identify holes. Had it not been for joining up with some locals I would never have found my way through the course. Several holes throwing over walkways, must be very careful as not to hit anyone. Buildings also come into play on several holes. No long holes to air it out.
Other Thoughts: They have done a good job with what they had to work with. Not too many options as far as course layout on such a small campus.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Play during the summer

1    7/3/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: GRHE
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A quaint course that was a lot of fun if just for the atmosphere of a small college campus. Granted I did play during the summer so foot and car traffic was all but absent. A fun course with a variety of holes.
Cons: As so many have mentioned, the hole markers were difficult to find but if you don't mind winging it on a couple of holes the map posted on the site can be a great aid in finding the others.
Other Thoughts: I've heard rumors that the students are attempting to develop the course further. The map is currently out of date and a few of the hole markers are not in the space indicated or were switched. A fun course to play overall as long as you're not too tied to formalities and having well indicated tees. Just remember that the whole sport used to be improvised object golf :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wish I Hadn't Hit THAT

1    4/22/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 580  Reviewed: 378  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Throwing through a tunnel created by a pedestrian overpass was kinda unique.
Cons:
Many obstacles man-made, or mankind itself
Other Thoughts:
Course plays throughout the sparsely tree-populated green spaces separating red-brick buildings of a small college campus. While the trees vary greatly in size (large, majestic hardwoods, small flowering trees), all the buildings are huge. The corner or length of a building will potentially come into play on many holes. Pedestrian walkways will be thrown over on practically every hole - and a couple holes are blind from the tee. Streets, benches, lampposts also nearby on a few holes.

Despite the mis-numbering, the on-line map was quite useful in navigating the two-tee/single-basket course. Managed to find about half the actual in-ground tee markers, and was able to roughly determine the other tee locations.

There was actually a decent amount of variety in distance, up/down/cross slope or flat, and turn-types needed from the tee locations. Definite glow/safari possibilties. Don't plan on playing when any students are milling about the open spaces.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course Designer's Insights

5+    5/8/2008   5/16/2010
Review By: pascal
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: I originally designed the course. Though it has been two years since I have been able to play it, I hope my insights still have some value since some have had trouble locating the tees, and the course has not changed since then.

For those of you who would like a map, I uploaded one to the files on this page. This map is correct except that the hole numbers are all off by one. The hole in front of the library is actually #1 instead of #2 as the map says, and so forth. But it should still be helpful when looking for the tees.

Two official course rules you might not otherwise know:

1. Roads are out of bounds.

2. On tees 4 and 13 there is a mandatory fairway. One is required to throw the disc under the walkway that leads into the Dougherty building at street level. Failure to use the fairway is a one-stroke penalty.

I installed the tees myself. Though I wish they were easier to find, the ability of the course to be invisible during homecoming (the baskets can be removed) was essential to getting original approval. I hope the map helps for those of you who were frustrated.

Enjoy.

btw, the Course's actual name as approved by the student government association is "Mossy Links DGC"

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/23/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: jacu2003
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners and intermediate players. I have been playing for a year and am still consistently challenged.
A good blend of short and longer holes.
Opportunity for aces (but not too easy)
A blend of technical and more open holes that demand both accuracy and distance.
Elevation changes and foliage make unique holes.
Cons: Probably pretty short for more experienced players.
At times the course has a lot of traffic. (evenings are usually have minimal traffic.
If you overshoot or shank really hard on a couple of holes there is a potential for dominating cars.
Other Thoughts: Excellent for students.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  none

5+    10/25/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: cncsax11
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of Technical shots and open shots, Campus is well taken care of and the baskets are in good condition, Very hard to lose a disc
Cons: Tee Boxes can be hard to find, especially hole 4, people tend to get in the way a lot, some buildings are in risk of being damaged by discs, back 9 is too similar to front. (9 holes double teed to make 18)
Other Thoughts: This course was designed and is mostly used by the students of Carson-Newman College but has the potential to hold its own as a solid 9 hole course. There are quite a few things in the works to make the course flow better and make the tee boxes (which are marked by bricks in the ground) more noticable to those who don't play the course regularly. Sometimes variables are thrown into the holes such a people or even vehicles. Some people may see this is a pro, some people may see this as a con. Overall it can be a fun course. Just don't expect many of the students to know that a disc Golf course exists here...or even know what disc Golf is for that matter.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.