Rocklin, CA 
Rocklin DGC Share
Uploaded By: Skwirly Hole #10 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Millertime @ Rocklin

1    8/12/2019   8/12/2019
Review By: Scott Miller
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large Oak Trees. Manicured Fairways. Fast Ground Play. Challenging Distances. Easy to find Each Tee Pad and Most Baskets visible from Tee Pad. Good Signage. Plenty of Shade. Water Features. I Really Enjoyed it. Also Dog Friendly. Brought the leashes but they were hardly necessary.
Cons: Hole 17 didnt have much of a line. But here i am searching for a con. Very Nice Park !
Other Thoughts: Go Play it ! Yes it may be hot in the summer so bring Water. Lots of shade though. I played a solo round and finished in an hour and 30 minutes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course

1    8/4/2019   8/4/2019
Review By: mwolff
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - mix of hole lengths - nice use of the stream that runs through the course - concrete tees and discraft baskets - clear and professional tee signs
Cons: - relatively open - very exposed to sun during summer season - dusty
Other Thoughts: Come for the disc golf stay for the giant bullfrogs

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/2/2017   9/9/2017
Review By: the_bird
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A real challenge! Much better than most of the community courses I've ever seen.
-Old oak trees, big meandering holes, creek beds, great integration of natural obstacles (trees, creeks), well designed fun, fun, fun course.
-As a novice, I felt like I was challenged throughout the round. Every disc in my bag was used and I got to throw a wide variety of shots. Even though I was challenged I never felt like I was in over my head or overmatched by the course. It was a fair test and a course that I am looking forward to continue playing as I improve.

-I love that there's a disc golf shop on site. After a round of throwing the frisbee I love being ablate get a cold gatorade in a nice AC'd shop while I look at all the nice discs that I wish could make me a better player.
Other Thoughts: I've played it three times. Once was a weekend afternoon (around 2pm) during the most recent heat-wave. It was an easy 108 degrees out and I was one of the few people on the course. One there time was a super hot weekday afternoon and there were some people out, but it wasn't what I'd call crowded at all. The other time I played was on a normal (weather wise) weekend day, and the course was absolutely packed. I played with a local and he said it was nothing, that it gets way busier. So, I guess there is that.

It's a great course though, so I would gladly put up with some crowds to spend an afternoon under the oaks at Rocklin DGC.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, open course.

5+    9/8/2016   9/26/2016
Review By: stussyjoker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun layout
Nice tee boxes
Baskets are nice
Good mix of long drives and technical holes
Cons: Can get very busy
Often encounter the wanna-be pros looking down their noses
Other Thoughts: Another really fun course in the Sac. area. Definitely worth checking out if you're in the area. Pro shop is not quite as stocked as OV, but it's a great one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good overall course

5+    9/10/2015   9/12/2015
Review By: Tomac2112
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice balance of open and trees.
-Quite a bit of shade on a hot day.
-Good use of water hazzards.
-Some natural right hand as well as left hand drives.
-Nice baskets in good condition.
-Final 9 pro shop on site.
-Washer indicators on the Tee signs to tell you where the basket is.
-All of the Tee signs are in good shape.
-Bathrooms on site.
-Not one but TWO practive baskets to get some putts in while you're waiting to Tee off on one (and you typically will be waiting)
Cons: -You almost always will have to wait for a while to Tee off on #1
-Gets a bit crowded, especially on weekends. If you're a slower player/group you'll need to let people play through (if you're considerate).
-They put extensions on some of the baskets, putting them way up in the air (supposedly to prevent skip aces).
-Relatively flat, but that's not something they could really change, the park just doesn't really have much in the way of hills.
-5,6,7 are kind of side-by side-by side, and there's always a good chance of getting hit with a stray drive.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this course plays fair and I enjoy playing it. Play #3 smart or throw something that floats, the water is so murky you will literally have to drag your feet along the bottom and "feel" your disc, because you'll NEVER see it in that "water". Be cool and let people play through, some days it will be you behind a group. There's a very diverse mix of casual beginner players and very serious competitive players out there on any given day. When I take my kids they always enjoy watching the more advance players drive (as we let them play through).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice technical course

5+    1/19/2015   2/7/2015
Review By: sumo21
Played: 34  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1) Bathroom(s) on site
2) Pro shop on site
3) Practice area
4) Benches/seats at every hole
5) Trash bins at most holes, if not all
Cons:
1) Water plays into half of the holes, although most of it has greenery in it so spotting your disc is a little easier
2) Disc fisherman on hole 3 trying to retrieve everyone's lost disc on the first hole where water comes into play unless you shank a hyzer on 2.
3) Parking can be a pain if there is a big event going on at the park
Other Thoughts: Love the way course meanders about. There are some challenging holes as well as ones that require rocket arms to get to on certain pin locations. It's a very nice manicured and kept course, hardly will you find anything littering the course. They have a dog park, skate park and a wide open field bby the skate park if you wanna drop some ballistic bombs with your distance drivers. And the Parks/Rec office is right next to the pro shop.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Watery Disc Grave

2-4    1/11/2015   1/19/2015
Review By: BirdMan15
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of Tricky Holes
Great combination of Long and Short drives
During the rainy season, many little lakes form to create water hazards - don't throw in the water!
People bring their dogs with, but beware of dogcatchers...
Cons: Relatively Flat
Can be crowded since there aren't many courses in the area
Lots of groups play, so it's easy to get stuck behind someone...
Other Thoughts: Also would be a fun course to play in the summer when all the trees have leaves...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 After a Rain, Still A Great Course

2-4    2/10/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: tenayaguevara
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Almost all tees have good tee signs as of 2/10, and if they don't (17, one other I can't remember) they are pretty straightforward shots
- For as flat as it seems, there's a fair amount of fun elevation (hole 2, 6, 10, 17)
- Came after the rains this past weekend, and had my fair share of water hazards which was actually a lot of fun, without impeding the walking around the course
Cons: - This course is getting crowded. I showed up on a forecasted rainy weekday at 8:45 AM (was a monday), and by the time I left the course was pretty much filled.
- The creek environment has sure taken a beaten from everyone fetching their discs. People who say disc golf is green and doesn't have any environmental damage should check out this course
- There's some spots where you can get turned around if there's no one in front of you, from 10-11, 12-13. It would've been great to have had a map at the start that I could've snapped a photo of.
Other Thoughts: This is the town I grew up in, and it's kind of cool to see how this course has become a destination spot. There's a disc golf store in the old library study room - that's awesome! I should've bought something just to support that cause. I also am a beginner, but felt like there were a bunch of holes that were still fun and where I could still feel successful.

However, disc golf is rough when a course is totally filled, which I think happens fairly frequently out here. I wish there were a way to relieve the pressure on this course and the ecosystem.

Notes on the rain: There were a few tees that were mushy or wet at the front or the back, but nothing that was too prohibitive. The creek was full, but even with two discs falling in it, I was able to retrieve both easily. The course had a bunch of puddles which as I said before, added to the fun.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the Sacramento Area

5+    3/8/2013   2/7/2014
Review By: elvenschool
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 37.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent challenges on every hole make this a course that never leads to boredom. Trees come into play on most every hole, but the design is fair, leaving you with shot options every time.
Cons: The creek could feature greater play, but the great hole lengths and overall design overshadow this one design fault.
Other Thoughts: The best course in the Sacramento area, without question. Besting this place requires a trip to Kirkwood or Napa County.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable course for sure

2-4    9/16/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 62  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Friendly people, great location, good technical basket placement. First three holes play wide open. 4-8 holes play through trees for more technical placement of your shots. Wide open #9 before 10-16 back into trees. #17 is a great hole. #18 can be short or long, depends on basket placement. Great wide open soccer field for tossing around the disc for fun before or after your round. Benches & garbage cans at each hole for convenience.
Cons: Can be busy at times. Playing with a large group (5 or more) can back up the holes a little bit, but not too bad. Water near many holes. Losing your disc is a high possibility, be prepared to "fish it out" of some murky mucky "water".
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great place to play after work or on the weekends. Teaching my kids to play here has been great. Never gets boring playing this course. Picnic area to rest at after #9. Bring your snacks, pack some water on those warmer days. Need gear? Final 9 shop on the walk in. Snacks and gear at good prices.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.