Antioch, IL 
Tim Osmond Sports Complex Share
Uploaded By: juanbond Hole #6 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Newly cleaned up

2-4    8/15/2017   8/15/2017
Review By: Ryphoria
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Newly cut as of August 13th 2017. Holes 1 through 13 or now much more playable compared to previous years.
Cons: Holes 13 through 17 are still in playable in my opinion. No tee marker for these 4 and almost impossible to get in 3
Other Thoughts: I live close to this course, so I know first hand that it was underkept and sub par. With the newly trimmed rough and overall clean up of the course, it is an average course that is fun to play on.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tick session

1    4/23/2017   4/23/2017
Review By: KptMkKamble
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First sign is a map. Take a picture
I did enjoy the course
Tee signs include hole map, semi accurate yet a few missing. However this course follows an intuitive layout. 18 Holes start with some open right handed fairways. And finishes with very technical narrow shrub maze.

Cons: A few missing signs make it look sloppy.
13-17 are tricky in narrow wooded overgrown areas. None of the local regulars tend to play this section as it is narrow winding and blind thick shrubbery. The shrub maze will frustrate players of all skill levels.
Other Thoughts: Tick repellent and regular Tick checks required. April through late fall.

A decent to good course would become great if the Shrub Maze 14-17 was double wide the current fairways; signage replaced in a few places would keep it classy.


0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Odd, kinda fun.

1    3/27/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 337  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located around the edges of Tim Osmond Sports Complex in Antioch, IL. The park also has some baseball diamonds, full restrooms and other activities.

Discatcher baskets, all in relatively good shape, and caught well. One position per hole, no real issues here. There are some nice tucked in basket placements, as well as some rollaway opportunities.

Nice tee signs with distance and topography, even if it didn't always seem to completely match up. Hole 13, I'm looking at you, buddy. Navigation is pretty easy, for the most part and the course flow is relatively solid.

Decent use of some of the woods and hills here. Hole 10 has nice water hazard (when the retaining pond is full, at least) that adds some nice pucker factor. Personally, I liked the back 9, even 13-17. They're absolutely brutal, but at least they're challenging. The fairways are crazy tight, and turns what (distance-wise) would be par 3's into holes that you need to hit super precise short landing zones. While this isn't for everyone, on this day, I found it to be at least interesting if nothing else. Beware the hidden pond past and to the right of 18's basket!
Cons: Natural tee pads. Rutted, not in good shape, and horrible when wet. One tee per hole. Concrete tees would go a LONG way here.

The first 6 holes here are boring. Similar distance, RHBH hyzer shots playing along the edge of the woods. The next few holes after that aren't much better.

While I didn't mind them, the back 9's super tight fairways aren't for everybody.

Other Thoughts: While this certainly isn't a destination course, it IS a relatively fun and odd course. Definitely a tale of two 9's, as the front is boring as boring can be, and the back is tough. A better mix of the holes would have been great, but the property doesn't really lend itself to better design.

Not worth going out of your way for, but a decent spin if you're nearby.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth overlooking

1    9/19/2015   9/21/2015
Review By: Badger45
Played: 102  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Most holes had decent teesigns for direction.
- Easy navigation for the first 12 holes.
- Holes 1-9 were fine. I'd have given that half of the course 2-2.5 rating.
- The park itself is a nice multiuse park with bathrooms and a permanent bags setup that we played.
Cons: - Sign distances were not very accurate for most holes.
- Natural teepads are no longer level and mostly not usable. We teed from the side.
- After hole 12, we might as well have quit. Even 10 was completely flooded and barely playable.
- 13 plays around some trees and then back, so you basically have to play it like a u-turn. This was the first indication that something odd was going on.
- 14 - 17 have very little if any fairway and the paths for 14-15 are not playable, other than going over and hoping you find your disc or throwing 30-50' putter shots as far as you can see.
- 17 and 18 had no teesign and we couldn't find the tee areas for them.

Other Thoughts: What started out as an ok experience just ended up leaving us frustrated that we even bothered to stop and play there, rather than driving a little further for something that was designed well. My advice would be to skip the course entirely. If you have to "bag" it to add it to your played list, take the chew toy disc and run through it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Move along, nothing to see here

1    9/19/2015   9/19/2015
Review By: MalsTheBeast66137
Played: 136  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee signs had direction on where the next hole was.

Cons: When overgrown, the natural grass tees and elsewhere was thick and not easy to play in.

Most shots were tucked right at the edge of the forest and like others have said, very thick stuff.

After hole 12, the course is just unplayable.. It was so thick you would literally be just pitching down the fairway with a putter and not for a 3 either..

The actual fairways for these holes are almost not even fairways but more like a walking path.
Other Thoughts: Just trying to add an extra course to my belt.. Really wish we would have played two 9 hole courses or any other course in the area again instead of this one..

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than most say it is

1    8/10/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 269  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a pretty nice multiuse park. The baskets are discatchers that catch pretty good, not great. The flow of the course is pretty easy to follow. You have to cross the road after 12 then back across for 18, not a big deal though. There's a little bit of elevation that's used nicely in a few spots. The signs have a basic hole diagram with par, distance and a next hole arrow. The course does a great job of staying away from other activities. The wind is a big factor on the open section of the course. They also do a good job tucking some of the pins into the trees on the otherwise boring, wide open holes. It wouldn't seem to be too busy most of the time. We were the only group there on a warm sunday afternoon. The course is permanent and also free to play. There's a restroom at the parking lot too. The course was pretty clean and taken care of. They have a nice large map of the course before hole 1 which is great if you're playing for the first time.
Cons: The tees are just natural, and most are pretty rutted and uneven. I'd imagine they'd get muddy in wetter months. Holes 14 through 17 are kind of ridiculous with there being no decent lines to the pin. The rough is also brutal on these holes. If you end up off the fairway you'll be searching for a while. Even the rough on first section is kind of insane. The prairie can gobble up discs too. A few of the tee signs are missing, though it's pretty easy to figure out where you're throwing to.
Other Thoughts: This course really gets a bad rap. It's not great by any means but I've played way, way worse. Still, I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play this but if you're in the area it's a decent round. If you have time though go play the grey fox in Silver Lake WI, it's way better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Just not fun at all

1    6/15/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: Unzbuzzled
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice if you want to work on only throwing RHBH hyzers.
Cons: Either you are throwing at boring baskets put out in the middle of a prairie, or you are throwing at baskets shoved into thickets of trees against dense woods.

If you disc even goes remotely off the fairway, you will look for 15 minutes for your disc. It is so stupidly designed that I will never, ever be coming back. What a joke. It's like the course designer just completely phoned it in.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time. Fairfield and Grey Fox are each about 20 minutes from this course, and they are amazing courses by most standards, and they are downright impeccable compared to the Tim Osmond Sports Complex

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Tim Osmond Sports Complex DGC

5+    10/7/2013   2/6/2014
Review By: Tom Schodtler
Played: 115  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The land that is available to the disc golf course is good. It has woods, rolling terrain, good elevation changes, and some water.
Cons: The course design is very poor. It's too bad because the land has so much potential for a good disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: A course redesign and some tee pads could take this course from zero to hero!!!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Poor Design

5+    7/25/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: kevinmeves
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice front 9, good length, bathrooms nearby, no wait
Cons: Back nine is very poorly designed, expect to be torn to pieces by thorn bushes should your disc veer off of the fairway, couple of holes on back nine have multiple (10 yard wide) dog leg fairways.
Other Thoughts: Could be a nice course with some brush cleaning, doesn't get much traffic in current state

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 TOSCDGC Pretty Good

5+    6/13/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: tmcoyote
Played: 91  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: beautiful park, virtually private, nice new targets, some great golf shots, wind can be challenging yet fun
Cons: gets thick in the back during summer months, mosquitoes can get vicious
Other Thoughts: I like this course for a change of pace

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center