Carthage, NC 
Hillcrest Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #10
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Work in Progress

1    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 8.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded course with some challenging technical holes. New, visible baskets. Natural tee pads seem to be level and are holding up OK.
Cons: Looks like a newer course that is still in progress. Most holes don't have signs. You need to walk up the fairway to find the basket, and then go back and throw. A few holes have what I would call WTF fairways. If they take down a couple more trees it will make those holes play fair. Not any holes that are real fun to play, or unique. A few long walks between holes, and some poor course layout.
Other Thoughts: This is a newer course so I assume it will improve over time. Right now it's not great, but is playable if you somehow find yourself in Carthage. There is a kennel of some kind next door, and people were walking dogs along several of the holes. There is also a walking trail that doubles as the fairway on some shots.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 will improve in time

2-4    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: chainmonkey
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with great amenities, Discatcher pro baskets, and decent length, the Next Tee signs helped a lot
Cons: In order to please the Base B fans several holes were redistributed 1-3 are pretty much as they started Standing on #4 tee you will see baskets 6,7,and 8 but not 4 #4 is straight down the wood line about 300 feet then go right. hole 5 is a little 119 footer through a tight gap. Then you get the bombs of 6 and 7. Hole 8 runs right beside a fence between 2 rows of Crepe Myrtle trees the center of the fairway is about 12 feet from the fence to your right. 7 & 9 share the same tee area but there are no tees on the course only a 4X4 in the area of the teeing ground and the course is played so little you cannot tell were others have been teeing of on the field holes. The redesign seems to be take the baskets and dump them out in the field. Dumpster/recycle center, holes 13, 14, &15. More signage would be nice, at least distances. Holes 17 & 18 are not very friendly to the beginner that 17 basket is on just too narrow a strip of grass. Some holes need some thinning of trees and mowing of that tall grass. Long walk from 17 basket to 18 tee. Number 18 is a hole that only a thumber could love
Other Thoughts: This course it is not a course to introduce new players to the sport. But for those that like to let it air it has something for them. The Crepe Myrtles on holes 8, 17, and 18 have a good potential of becoming a real obstacle in the near future. It does not appear that the county plans to invest many resources in the course so it is a good thing that Pine Cone Crush and Wild Pine are just down the road. It is a shame to let these good baskets go more or less unused

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice pines

1    2/20/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 385  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 38.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Many holes have very nice pine trees with a carpet of pine needles underfoot and very little undergrowth.
*The fairway shapes are perfectly balanced. 6 Straight/ 6 Left/ 6 Right
*Baskets are new double chain Discatchers.
Cons: -The course is mostly flat, with some slight elevation changes. 7 Flat/ 7 Up/ 4 Down. The biggest change is a drop of 16 ft. on hole 10.
-The hole length variety isn't the greatest; the majority are 200-299 ft. (2<199/ 11 of 200-299/ 4<399/ 1 of 500) The 500 ft hole 8 is a nice change of pace, though.
-A few of the holes are still just a little too tight and could be cleared a bit more.
-The tee signs are good, with a basic map, when they have them, but they're only on 5 holes (1-4 & 17). They need to finish them on the rest the course.
-There's a really long walk from the 17th basket to the 18th tee.
-In a few places there were piles of tree limbs and brush that need to be cleared away more.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)

You be the judge-
My favorite hole- 10 is a short, dogleg left, downhill ace run to a guarded basket.

With quite a few very tight fairways this course rewards accuracy over power. Even though there a few scenic holes (7, 10, 13) I found the course beauty to be nice, but just a little below average. The natural tees work, but they're only average. Also, there are good restrooms and score cards available in the park office, but no maps, warm up basket, or message board.

This course is like an attractive girl in your 6th grade class-- flat and needs more development but is kind of pretty and has some potential.

Look in the Files section for my Overall Rating notes and Hole-by-hole ratings.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Love this course

5+    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: girevoy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There are hardly ever any other players on the course.
- A truly tough course that really challenges your shot selection and shot shaping capabilities.
- Really beautiful if you like pine trees.
Cons: - VERY narrow fairways.
- Not many chances to air it out.
- Grass on number 9 can get (and currently is) out of control.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love this course. Every time I play here, at least one hole will hand my backside to me, but when you pull off the impossible shots throught the thick woods, you fall in love again. This course definitely prizes accuracy over power, with some gaps on the drive (number 13 for example) only 4-5 feet wide 100' down the fairway. Not fun when you catch a tree, but exhilarating when you pull it off. To be a nice as this course is, I have played here 10+ times and have only seen another player out here once. This course is a seldom seen standout in an area with little to no disc golf resources.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

1    5/31/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good piece of land, in an area that needs disc golf (not necessarily Carthage, but Moore County).
-Baskets are Discatchers I believe, great condition.
-Course layout (walk from hole to hole) is reasonable.
-Great course for recovery shots and inventive putting
-Has potential to be a quality course
Cons: -Many holes do not have a discernible fairway (seven springs to mind)
-Many holes "fairways" are extremely tight, with luck being the deciding factor off the tee.
-Although not a problem for me per se, crushed gravel tees.
-Where's the next hole? It will come with time, but a simple wooden arrow with a "7" would do the trick.
-Four signs in total on my count, that will be resolved with sponsorship.
-Road on 17 and 18, fence on some holes.
Other Thoughts: First of all, I'm glad that Moore County has a dg course. Kudos to all the hard work and effort that went into the course, the design, and the whole process. Although the course was somewhat enjoyable, it does have some problems. The design seems forced, as in they placed the tee somewhere and figured out the best place to put the teepad without having to cut down any trees or maintain some kind of fairway. I understand that one of the allures of dg is not clearcutting forests, you have to remove some trees to make the course playable. Considering Moore County's amount of ball golf courses (and all the side effects that result) I'm sure cutting down a few trees won't hurt. Hole 9 has a gap probably 4 discs wide off the tee. Take down those small trees that make the hole unplayable and voila, you have yourself a nice hole. I understand that it takes time, work, and resources to achieve this, however, it is possible and it will be done in time I'm sure.

Overall, I would recommend this course to those in the area as a show of support. If you live in the area and enjoy dg, then get out and help. Make some calls and see what can be done to improve this course that could be much better than it is currently. Since its the only course in Moore County, I'm sure it will receive the right amount of attention in the coming years.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It'll only get better.

2-4    12/29/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: turkey33
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A variety of types of shots needed from teeboxes. I think it's challenging for course designers to get this variety with pine forests but they've done it here.
- the gravel teeboxes while not concrete are flat and clear of roots or rocks.
- some signs and at least some folks have tied ribbon on trees near the teeboxes so without a map I was able to find the next tee without too much problems.
- good length for intermediate players that want to work on their precision shots.
- again, I'll mention good variety of shots because they also got some elevation changes in there.
Cons: - beginners or players that just don't like trees may think they're just way too many trees on some of the "fairways".
- advanced players or at least those with great arms may be disappointed they don't get to rip it.
Other Thoughts: I occasionally visit family in this area but am not a ball golfer so I'm excited to see this course and some others spring up. As an intermediate player I'll enjoy this course again and look forward to getting back here. It's a nice setting and I like pine forests courses but I'd bring newbies somewhere else where they're not going to hit so many trees. I expect and hope this course will only get better. I think it has great potentional. I think advanced players could really warm up to it when some additional longer tees are offered. Know that could be years but here's hoping.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An Instant Classic

5+    12/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Sling Moore
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hillcrest Park has evolved into a very fine course in such a short period of time. A lot of work has been put into it and it is starting to show. The course has a great variety of unique holes and no two holes are even remotely the same. Navigation is easy as there are arrows placed on the holes where they are needed. Plus, the routing of the holes through the walking trail and around the baseball fields ease course navigation as well. To be a new course, the tee pads(gravel) are level and free of ruts, the fairways are well defined, and the greens are cleared of debris.
Cons: The rough on holes 5, 7, & 8 are littered with fallen trees and needs to be cleared. The tee pad on hole 14 needs to be moved to the left to fit the fairway better. There are only five tee signs thus far. More will be added when sponsorship is obtained. As of now there is no information board nor a practice basket. All of these issues will be addressed and fixed in the near future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: Recdrumz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: They have brand new baskets.
Cons: There are no fairways in the wooded areas, this means more than half the course is just covered in woods. With no path to follow. about a thousand trees need to be knock down.
Other Thoughts: Ive played a lot of courses in NC and this one for being in a park and having great baskets for 18 holes is no were near being finished. frustrating

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    9/20/2009   9/25/2008
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Disc golf in area that needs more courses.
-Great facilities, bathrooms, water fountain, playground for kids.
-No crowds, secluded and beautiful eastern NC forest.
-Tight technical mostly wooded course, for those like me that like these type courses.
-Maps in the park office, arrows pointing to most tees.
-I like the layout here, even the first time I played it when it had no arrows it seemed easy for me to follow. The designers used all available land.
Cons: -Hole 9 could use some serious weedwhacking, the parks and rec folks don't help keep this fairway clear.
-Not all holes have tee signs, but this is a temp problem that should be solved with sponsorship.
-The fences along 1, behind 2, along 3, and up the fairway on 18. I don't like the thought of losing a disc to a fence, it makes me pull up a bit on my drive. Not a huge problem, just mental.
-The walk from 17 basket to 18 tee. I really don't see an alternative, and part of why I play is the walk in a park.
Other Thoughts: I like this course, but I prefer tight courses that make you shoot accurate. (Even if I'm not that accurate). I've notice that the loose gravel tee boxes have started to pack in. I'm not the biggest fan of these type, but with a little time and rain it washes the loose stuff away and starts to pack down. I assume with time concrete will be put in place. This course will get worked in with more play, and hopefully more courses for this area will follow.

Update-As of Sept 09, most of the fairway on #9 had been whacked down. The rest of the course looked the same as when this review was first written.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Like a fine wine getting better with time

5+    8/10/2008   8/17/2008
Review By: slingmoore2
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course makes you think before you throw. Disc selection is important as well as the type of throw you will use. The average player will use many throwing techniques during a round here. There is balance where some holes can ruin your round and others give you a chance for redemption. A few holes have the appearance of not having a fairway, but they are there. You need to play the course a few times to learn where they are. Tee signs are very nice and more will be added as sponsorship is obtained. Hole # 17 has a green surrounded by OB on three sides. It has a high risk vs. reward factor.(Note- the tee pad shows you the direction that you need to throw for this hole. Do not throw over the road. If you do, then you are the only silly thing about this hole.) The tee pads are in great shape (screenings) but golfers need to repair any damage that they do to the pad on their drives. As with most courses the pads will be updated when funding allows.
Cons: The course has a few holes that need some grooming. Flow is disrupted between holes # 9 - #10, and # 17 - # 18. Can be hard to go from hole to hole due to the lack of signage but this problem is being resolved. Some people may consider holes # 12, 17, 18 to be dangerous to park patrons. These holes are only dangerous if you play them in a dangerous manner. Remember, you need to think before you tee off. Holes # 5, 7, 8, maybe 9, and 13 are considered by some to have the need for a logging crew to come in and have their way. If you like tight wooded holes then these are for you. (Hint) There are several obtainable flight paths for most of these holes. Once again, think (and look) before you throw. Can be hard to play during baseball season due to the amount of people attending the ball games. These games are normally played from 6:00 p.m. on. Any other time you are lucky to see more than 3 or 4 people at the park. Course needs play to keep underbrush down.
Other Thoughts: This is a new course that is still being tweaked. It is not, nor was it intended to be a championship caliber course. It is a course that will make you learn how to throw types of shots. If you are looking for wide open spaces where you can bomb a driver off of every tee thoughtlessly, then this course is not for you. You will need to play the course a few times to understand what the course is all about. This course is worth the drive as it is today but will get better with time!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.