Minneapolis, MN 
Wabun Picnic Area (Minnehaha Park) Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #2 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Putters only

5+    7/7/2017   8/3/2017
Review By: Flanakookn
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short. Great for working on accuracy. Good course for newer players.
Cons: It's RIGHT in the way. If you're there on a nice summer day there will be people in the park and surries from the nearby Minnehaha Falls rental pavilion. There is even a tee box (hole #8) where you literally shot into the park's picnic pavilion (to be fair it's just to the left of the fairway, but discs naturally go to the left)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent course for beginners or casual players.

5+    6/17/2017   6/19/2017
Review By: PATROVSKI
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 9/1/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course for beginners or casual players.

The course is crammed into a relatively small area and it's difficult to imagine it being much better given the constraints. I've never found the course to be in poor condition. The concrete pads are solid and the baskets in decent shape.
Cons: All of the holes are similar, with the scattered trees providing the only challenges.

As part of a huge urban park, other park users are almost always in the vicinity. Pedestrian/cycle paths line all edges of the course. In spite of the proximity to other activities, I have seen only a few non-players enter the actual course, though with children nearby one must always be wary.

Other Thoughts: While there are usually other players, this course has never been what I would call overcrowded.

We've been able to park our vehicle in the modest lot nearest the course every visit except one, although from chatting with others I wonder if we may have been fortunate in that.

There is a swimming pool to the south of the course and the washrooms there are usually open. If these washrooms are closed and you are in dire need, you can probably impose at the veteran's home.

The ground is flat and even, which is a plus if you're prone to tripping and stumbling, but a minus if you're looking for variety.

While not heavily wooded, there are trees, which provide scenery, shade, and a hint of challenge. Most markings are in place; notable issues being the missing sign for the #3 pad and the missing label on the important side of the #8 basket.

Pad #2 is across the pedestrian/cycle path from the rest of the course; this is the only instance where you must throw across an area routinely used by other park patrons; though on a few other holes you throw parallel to the pedestrian/cycle path.

Holes 2 through 5 are designed so that you throw away from the busy Ford Parkway just north of the course. This means you must zig-zag back and forth from basket to pad, and the nearest pad to the basket may not be the next pad. I've gone from the second basket to the fourth pad at least once.

Hole 6 is by far the longest of the course. Basket #6 is obscured a bit by trees; if you walk a bit to the left of the pad, you should be able to locate it easily enough.

Basket #8 is not as obvious a target as it could be from the pad, which faces a bit left of target and toward basket #3.

It would be difficult to lose a disc here, but there is a slim chance when playing #5 along the eastern edge where a wayward shot could disappear over the fence to the left.



1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

great for newbies

1    5/23/2017   5/30/2017
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 269  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set up in a very busy park right along the Mississippi river. Nine holes, nine solid concrete tees. These serve their purpose just fine on a short course like this. The baskets are chainstars which are in fine shape and caught nicely. The flow of the course is very easy to follow. This is an excellent course for newer or lesser experienced players and is a great warm up course for some of the bigger badder courses nearby. Also a good place to try and get a few aces at. The park seemed well maintained and had a number of other things to do here too. The course is free and is permanent. This would definitely be a fun little spot to play in the winter too.
Cons: For more experienced players there isn't much to offer here. I played it just to check off another course. With that being said it is still a fun little course. It was nice to get some birds after getting clobbered by Kaposia. The distances are very similar. Almost exactly the same on everything except 7 I believe it was which was like 20 ft. longer.
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course by any means but a fun, quick round if that's what you're looking for. Or if you just want to bag this it'll take you about 15 to 20 minutes if it's not too busy. Nice little niner though, just nothing too special. It is what it is.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Really Fun Course

1    7/4/2015   7/4/2015
Review By: bukosknr
Played: 50  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Teepads are concrete
-Course is easy to follow
-Marked baskets and they are in excellent shape
-Great for beginners and people learning how to play.
-Fun Location with lots of activity.
-Ace opportunities.
Cons: -Its short (could be viewed as a pro)
-With the traffic (4th of July) some people seem wander through the course, so be careful before you throw.
Other Thoughts: The top review of this nailed it perfectly. I happened to have played Blue Ribbon Pine yesterday, while its an amazing course and very challenging but it wasn't a lot of fun. Holes were far past my skill level (Same with the newer group I was playing with) and risk losing a disc every other hole it felt like wasn't helping the fun factor.

I had a ton more fun at this little course and yes I played better, I actually played the best I ever have and I know playing more difficult courses set up for that, but still its nice to feel like you aren't going to be throwing triple bogies every hole.

This was course is very fun and yet has some challenge on a few holes, I highly recommend playing it, I hope to make it back over there. I am also interested in trying this course in the winter.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

2-4    6/19/2015   6/19/2015
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 209  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think most people are in agreement that we need short, nine hole courses that are suitable for beginners; if every player started at a course like Blue Ribbon Pine, we would not have as many people.

Wabun Picnic Area may be the best course that introduces newer players to the game that I have ever played. First of all, the course sits in Minnehaha Park, which is a park with hundreds of visitors a day; all of them are potentially new players. Even though the park is busy, the course itself has little interference from the rest of the park minus one walking trail that passes directly in front of hole 2.

The course has concrete tees, tee signs and solid baskets, which is everything you would want to see in any course. The course had an easy flow to it; no hole is longer than 250', but a few of the holes need a bit of shot shaping for a chance at the deuce.
Cons: For any player that isn't a beginner, there is little need to bring more than a stable midrange or putter. It is definitely a pitch and putt course, which can be a pro and a con depending on what you like.

For an experienced player, there is little challenge. For someone who is bagging course, this is an easy one to do.

On hole 8, it is easy to think you are throwing to the wrong basket. The tee sign is turned towards the fifth basket and the eighth basket is a bit off to the right of that.
Other Thoughts: Looking at this course from a strictly utilization aspect, this course is perfect in every way when introducting new players to the sport. Good location, easy course, concrete tees, easy navigation.

Like mentioned previously, this course is not going to wow an experienced player, but bringing your girlfriend or child out here or just a bag a course will be a great day in the park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course at Nice Park

5+    12/30/2013   1/20/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 365  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of aces to be had here!
-Great place to bring the family, other parts of the park contain hiking trails, Minnehaha Falls, picnic areas, playgrounds, bike trails, etc.
-This course is great for a casual and quick lunch 9, for beginners, to teach new people or young people the game, etc
-A clean and safe park. The course is near major roads and there are not thick woods so no worries about getting mugged or anything here.
-Baskets are in decent condition
-Very easy to follow, good tee signs.
-Concrete pads
-Nearby views of the Mississippi river
Cons: -This course is quite short and there is not a lot of variation in hole length. As others have stated, there isnt much need for drivers on this course.
-This park is in a large city and disc golf is not the main priority here, there will be other park users here at most times and they probably won't watch out for you.
-There are trees but they don't usually force any certain type of shot, you can often throw over or through them. Again, this is a knock against the challenge of the course for those looking for something a little more difficult.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be pretty fun. It is a good place to take the kids and have a fun, cheap afternoon or if you insist on having a disc golf date, this is the place to go. This course isn't a must play by any means but you won't be dissapointed if you stop and have the mindset that this is a nice little pitch and putt in a nice park. If you are looking for more challenge then go to BRP or Kaposia or one of the TC area's many other options.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Warm Up

5+    8/4/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: Jhill420
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good starter course
-Short course
-No chance of loosing disc
-Birdie chance for every hole
Cons: -Finding the right basket can be difficult
-People walking through the course
-Same elevation throughout entire course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First course I ever played

5+    7/9/2011   9/9/2012
Review By: smalcome
Played: 42  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to park, cement tee pads, solid baskets in good shape, nice park with places to sit and eat, good for kids
A very good disc golf park for introducing people to the game.
Cons: Navigation is a little hard if you don't know the layout. Signs weren't great last time I was there but it could've changed.
Other Thoughts: This was my first ever exposure to disc golf and I loved it. I've been playing for 5 years strong now. Something about going out there and growing ace runs on your first day is pretty important in terms of "getting hooked" on the game. I really wish his was a block away from my house just for casual days- that'd be so ideal! I really like this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Beginner's course

5+    8/27/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: mcrow
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short
Straight
Right in Minneapolis
Good Baskets
Cons: Too short for experienced players
There can be a lot of traffic and a lot of newbies who don't know the rules.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think it's a decent course for what it was made for. I don't think the intent of this course was to challenge anyone more than a beginner.

There are no long holes on the course and just about anyone who has been playing for a while should be able to put for birdie on most holes. Most of the holes are potential aces for better players.

I gave it a 2.5 because it is a good beginner's course and I think having easier courses to bring in new players are a good thing. If you are a pro or experienced player you'll probably want to go elsewhere unless you want to work on the short game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/10/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: marshd87
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Nicely marked course
*Positive atmosphere
*Well maintained
*Cement tees
*Beginner friendly
*Great practice for approach and putting
*Great for beginners or introduction to disc golf
Cons: *Short course
*Pitch and Putt (Leave your driver at home)
*Flat course, no elevation change
*Baskets could be marked better, can get confusing what basket to shoot at
Other Thoughts: The course feels like it was just stuck in a picnic area, with no real design to it. Great for beginners and practicing approaching, putting. Need to go elsewhere for a challenge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.