North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Canyon Course Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #16 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
 

5+    12/6/2018   12/19/2018
Review By: MNDiscgolfTransplant
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well kept course. Have played it during the summer and in the winter. There's maps for a 3 courses. Good mix of left and right doglegs.
Cons: Don't know if they move baskets on a schedule, but there are a few holes that have alternate positions. (5,11,12)
Other Thoughts: Homemade baskets are on the Meadow Ridge(Has homemade and actual baskets so you can play alternate holes without having to have the baskets moved) and Highland course (Only homemade baskets on this par 3 course)

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Happy Canyon Camper

1    8/30/2018   11/20/2018
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 424  Reviewed: 321  Exp: 16.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Canyon course begins with a hole that is less than impressive, the tee right beside the course maps and pay station. It is open, and plays next to the road that enters the grounds. There is a slight dip between the tee and pin, which are roughly at the same elevation. It is a good warmup toss and chance to grab an early birdie. As you progress towards the wooded areas that are home to the bulk of the layout, quality of the holes increases rapidly.

Hole 2 is a fun drive that is left to right downhill, and is longer than most of the holes on the course. There is a mando early and plenty of room to fly once you clear it. 3 is similar in shape to hole 2, but short and protected by a stand of trees in front of the pin. At the fourth tee you get the first fairway that is pinched to a narrow gap in the trees about halfway to the basket. As long as you get through, a nice shot with a midrange can get you near the pin that sits slightly downhill and left of center.

Hole 5 is framed beautifully by trees, and funnels to a pin that has more trees around it as you approach. 6 will require a pretty tight line to split trees and slide past a couple standing right in front of the target. Several holes in the middle portion of the course are fairly short distance, and mix doglegs left or right, uphill or down, with pins tucked into very woodsy locations. 9 is an exaggeration of this, longer and having a big arc to the left through many trees.

The trends break at hole 13, which is the first of two par four holes. It is open, and climbs a steep, grassy hill out of the tee box. There's a hard left corner around the edge of the woods as you reach the crest of the hill. and flat stretch approaching the bucket. 14 gives you one more dive into the shadows, with a fairly flat hole that has a strong left to right with dense trees defining the line. 15 is a nice downhiller, slightly right to left with the trees allowing more airspace.

16 and 17 are nice holes that emerge from the forrest using the trees on the fringe nicely to shape throws that use grassy areas before diving into nice pockets that nestle the basket amongst the trees. 16 turns left, and 17 turns right. Hole 17 does have more length and the trees form a tougher barrier. Hole 18 is a long par 4 to finish it off. 700' long to be exact. Two mature trees in front of the tee create a mando that you have to go left of. Just past the mando elevation falls downhill quickly, with a big right to left bend around the woods lining the left side. A pretty good final hole, that will steal a stroke or two if you're not careful.

The equipment here is all good. Concrete pads, and nice tee signs. The bright yellow homemade baskets are consistently good quality, and treated me well all day long. Bathrooms near the first tee are nice and clean. I think I remember seeing vending machines and a source for drinking water.
Cons: The layout is kind of kinky, so pay attention to the hole sequence. I turned the wrong direction after hole 11, and nearly played hole 8 a second time.

There are a few patches of heavy rough and low areas you want to avoid throwing a disc into. Course was dry at the time of my visit, but could be messy in areas after rainfall.
Other Thoughts: I loved the Canyon course at Horning's Hideout. It has all of the magnificent forrest tranquility of the Meadow Ridge course, but the layout is scaled back slightly. Not quite as much elevation, shorter holes, and the gnomes and pixies only move your disc closer to the pin while you're not watching.

Still, it is one of the best courses I played on my road trip, and I earned my best score on this one. At the end of the round I was 4 under (52), and only took 1 bogey at hole 4. Had chances at more birdies, I would love to get in a few more rounds on this one to see if I could go a little lower.

The Hideout is a disc golf destination that you should absolutely add to the wish list. I only played 2 of the 3 courses, and they were both fantastic. The fee is only $4 per day, and the facility is incredible.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    11/10/2018   11/10/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super fun course, hornings is a destination disc golf place without question. From the peacocks you see around and the deer. There's arguably no better place for disc golf in Oregon. Canyon is the middle difficulty course. It has a great variety of backhand/forehand with fun elevation shots. There's some birdies to be had for sure but a couple par 4s and holes that can test advance players as well. Great tee signs and not to bad navigation. Some holes that have cliffs behind them really make you think about drive placement.
Cons: Some may say the homemade baskets are cons, and you can defiantly get dead center putts to pole kick out but I didn't have much of a problem with them. Honestly not to many cons besides the baskets, and might not super test open players.
Other Thoughts: The road here could get sketchy in bad weather conditions as you go down the gravel road turnoff for around a half mile. This is a must visit site for all disc golf and thanks bob for this amazing place of land

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great mix of short and long

2-4    8/12/2017   8/14/2017
Review By: handwasher
Played: 63  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You get a mixture of short shots you can probably throw a putter or mid on, and big bomber holes where you can really cut loose.
Cons: If you don't like trees, the trees are everywhere. Also lots of natural OOB with thick woods and drop-offs in several places.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    10/1/2016   10/9/2016
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 56  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2018
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Horning's Hideout is a beautiful 54 hole disc golf complex located way off the beaten path near North Plains, Oregon. In addition to this course, the original one (medium difficulty), there is also the Highland course, with short throws <250 feet, and the monster Meadow Ridge championship level course. There's something for everyone.

-To reach this place, you have to drive 25 minutes along a pretty country road, before making the turnoff to Horning's Hideout. It's another five minutes on the narrow, twisty gravel road that takes you down through the woods and to the main area. A very friendly woman came up to us, collected our fee, and told us where each of the three disc golf courses were, where to park, and where the course map signs are.

-The woods that most of the course plays through are absolutely stunning and serene. There are plenty of hills to add to the beauty.

-The bathrooms at the start are really nice. Make sure to use them. There are some port-a-potties on the course but they look old and they stink.

-The tee signs were made by John Houck design(!) They were the best I'd ever seen. They are in full color, and show every tree in the fairway, plus the elevation for the hole. Also they show all the possible routes you can take and the route to the next tee.

-My favorite holes:
3, 5, 6, 8, 14, were all fun downhill shots through the woods. There are a lot of trees but always a line.
Hole 18 is a 700 foot par four demanding a long left-to-right drive to get around the mando tree, then a long downhill crush hyzer to the basket.
Cons: -The baskets aren't the greatest. The chains are too close to the cage, so if you throw one low or weak side, it'll likely skip out. Bounce outs off the center pole are also common. If you hit one off the solid iron cage, it sounds like you just rang the Liberty Bell. On the flip side, they are bright yellow and easy to spot.

-There were a few silly holes. Hole 2 is such a hard dogleg right, it's next to impossible to reach the pin. Hole 13 is a 450 foot par four with a 90 degree dogleg right. The tee shot on this hole is unbelievably uphill.

-It is the Canyon course, and there most definitely is a canyon. Make sure not to overshoot the basket on holes 6, 8, and 10. There's a pretty steep drop off.

-There's a drop off immediately in front of some of the teepads (5 and 6 especially). If it's raining, make sure not to slip.
Other Thoughts: -It costs $4 per person to enter Horning's Hideout. I think this is completely worth it. This course is one of the best I've played. I can't wait to go back, hopefully when it isn't raining, and play the other two courses here.

-It is quite the drive, about half an hour from highway 26. Being an hour away from Portland, this is a place to come only if you have all day.

-The sheer beauty of this course is not something you find every day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course

2-4    5/20/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: JerichoBronco
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2018
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenery
Great signage
Cons: LOTS of brush and undergrowth. You are going to be looking for a disc or two before you are done. Lots of stinging nettles, pants are a plus!
Other Thoughts: 2018
I left my original review on here to show as a comparison. I had been playing for 1 year when I first went here. Now in year 4 my thoughts are very different. I agree with my first statement that the course does have a mix of shots, non of them overly challenging, just lots of little trees to miss. The first time I played this I used my driver... a lot. Now, I used my putter on the majority of the holes off the tee. There is a lot of elevation changes on the course and I had one of those days where I hit the cage and would have LONG roll-aways due to the terrain. I didn't find the course very challenging, I would have been several strokes under par if it weren't for the bad luck and one bag hole. There were at least 2-3 holes that just felt very poorly laid out to me too. The course was ok, but it didn't feel like it was professionally laid out if that makes sense. The scenery is nice (except for the nettle), but you wouldn't want to be there on a wet day, footing is nuts in certain spots. This course is good for a Nov or Rec player, maybe and Intermediate player (my rating is that of an int). I have to say I was disappointed in the course, I guess I remember it being longer and harder. This isn't a course I plan on playing again very soon, once a year would be sufficient.

5/20/15 This course has a great mix of being challenging but not overly frustrating. You are going to use most of your discs by the time you are done here, do to the variety of shots needed and that's one of the positives of this course. Every hole feels very different.

This is one of my favorite courses. I don't know what they could do to make it better other than eliminate some of the brush and those darn stinging nettles, I always seem to find those.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet!!!

1    10/10/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: Scott64a
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is fantastic. Lots of grassy fairways to bomb down, and many lefts and rights to work out your shot repertoire. The setting is gorgeous as well. Lots of tall conifers and some rather stunning landscape to play in and on. Bob's disc catchers are groovy... they make a gong sound when you hit them right. Then again, if you REALLY make them gong, you've missed the chains! Doh!
Cons: Not many, except in the middle of the course, (holes 9 -14 I think,) get sort of repetitive. Back and forth through a piece of woods. I guess this is inevitable when planning a course though, as space can be limited and this has to happen sometimes. It's not a deal breaker.
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course to finish a 54 hole run on.

Play all three: Highlands, the Meadow Ridge and Canyon. You'll love it. I met Bob Horning and he's a great guy. Cheers, Bob!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great intermediate course

1    8/2/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: volklaero
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2015
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great signage, tees and fun hole design
Difficult shots, with some tricky basket locations.
Challenging but satisfying.
Nice drive out/scenary
Mix of long and short holes, open and wooded.
Cons: 4 Bucks (I dont mind paying for this, but its not a pro)
Closed for tournaments at times.
Other Thoughts: Bring a flick shot.

The intermediate course out of the three, canyon is my favorite. Its a course I can play through twice in a day and love every hole. Meadow is a one and done course and Highlands is just too short for my liking. Canyon is the Goldilocks course IMO.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    7/29/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Christofu_xc
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: -Variety of shots throughout the course
-Baskets are yellow so are visible
-Shaded
-Not many people
-Nice teepads
Cons: Where to begin...
-Barely any signage inbetween holes. Very easy to get lost and can take 5-10 min to find the next hole
-Homemade baskets seem inconsistent and are not PDGA approved.
-Parking fee is $4 PER PERSON?! ..how? How is parking a per person type fee? Plus the teller guy to collect it is a total asshole.
-There is a canyon that runs along the backside of many of the baskets. Very easy to lose discs.
-Many blind shots, takes a while to locate the basket even if it is bright yellow from some teepads.
Other Thoughts: If your traveling from portland or farther, honestly this course is not worth it. Considering this is the best out of the 3, dont bother. Its not worth the $4 per person fee to lose discs and get lost throughout the course.

ALSO: the 6 mile road leading up to the park, for some reason has been smothered with gravel, which is completely unnecessary. I was driving up to the course, when someone sped by me and flung a rock into my windshield. SO on top of a mediocre experience, I have to purchase a replacement windshield.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Perfect

5+    8/12/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 62  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- This course has a lot of variety! Righty holes, Lefty holes, tunnel shots, open shots, short and long holes, par fours, blind holes, mandos, water hazards, OB, elevation changes. This course has it all!

- This course has great signage. The signs are very detailed with all of the distances and elevation changes right there on the sign. Steep drop-offs and mandos are all on the sign. They even tell you the direction to the next tee after you're done with the hole.

- Clean bathrooms right next to hole one. Also there are usually a bunch of porta-potties near hole 14/17

- This is a pretty clean course, not much trash gets piled up or if it does, it get's cleaned up pretty frequently.

- Sweet custom made and PDGA approved baskets made by Bob Horning - They make a really nice sound when you hit them too.
Cons:
- Some of the trashcans can get pretty bug infested, bring bug-spray if you got it.

- It's very rough down in the creek. I have left a few discs down there, not wanting to even try to find them. That's how rough it is.

Other Thoughts: I think maybe the only thing this course is missing is more benches - there are some places to sit but there are more holes that don't have seats than do.

Also I'm shocked that they don't have a pro-shop on the property - with three courses and plenty of space, it seems like a no brainer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.