North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Canyon Course Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #3
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

2-4    9/14/2019   9/15/2019
Review By: Nate32
Played: 61  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Canyon Course at Horning's Hideout is tucked away in North Plains, Oregon. This course rests on a hilly terrain as well as some wooded holes in there as well. The hardware is pretty good with some homemade baskets. Gravel tee pads and tee sings as well. The canyon course offers spectacular views as well as some fun shots.

The views to the trails in between holes make it a course I want to come back to. Admission 4 dollars I believe. Restrooms are very nice as well as a big course map of all 3 courses. They also have some peacock's on the loose around the barn or some sort of building. There are quite a variety of shots on this course ranging from very wide open on hole #18 to very wooded like hole number 5.

Some of the holes play really far in the woods with steep cliff where it is very possible to loose your disc if you throw to long. Most of the baskets are blind in the woods. Some you have to walk far up to see where the basket is.

Hole 13 is a beast straight uphill not very fun I just laid up and took a par. Reminds me of one hole on the tournament layout at Riverbend DGC. Although that hole is was less steeper. The finishing hole here is a big crush top of the world downhill. In the winter there is standing water in the fairway. I would recommend playing in the summer.

Hole 14 is one of my favorites. This hole plays very short but is very tricky. Some guardian trees keep it from being ace able. Hole 15 is also a fun downhill shot that plays straight but with a few trees in the way.

This course is quite a drive from highway 26. You terrain yourself through a bunch of farms and a forest. Once you get there, there is a long gravel road that leads to the gravel parking lot and admission is $5.
Cons: I like the basket's on this course but they are loud as if you just missed a long put or a short put. Although the basket's are really loud they are the best homemade basket's I have seen so far. Some holes need some clearing.

Some trees are in the way and does not make it very fun if there are a lot of guardian trees. Some of the holes make it hard with the canyon drop off. These holes are easy to loose a disc if you throw long.

If you live in the city it is a little ways to get here. The entrance is a gravel rode that is kind of long. But it is worth the drive.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is beautiful I love looking at the great views of this amazing piece of property. Bob Horning did a great job providing 3 courses right in the middle of a great piece of land.

Although this course is a beast it is worth checking out and to do all 3 if you feel ambitious. I did the Highland course and the Canyon course in one day. It was a challenge but it was very fun and awesome.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Favorite course in Portland

5+    6/28/2019   6/28/2019
Review By: DarkRye
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Best of the best when it comes to navigating interesting fairways in the Portland area. Absolutely gorgeous area. Good signage, well maintained. Peacocks roam the grounds which could be a pro or a con, but they are gorgeous birds.
Cons: that one hole that makes me feel like im 700 lbs. Haha there is a par 4 that has like 100' elevation gain and its pretty gnarly. I guess make sure you're physically capable before tackling this one.
Other Thoughts: This is my absolute favorite course in the Portland area. You ready to test every shot in your arsenal? Downhill shots, sidehill shots, uphill shots, gaps, this has it all. If you are an intermediate player, and live in Portland area, you're missing out if you skip the chance to play here. The other courses on the property are lots of fun as well. Sure it costs $4 but imagine if this was ball golf. Totally worth the money.

 

5+    12/6/2018   12/19/2018
Review By: MNDiscgolfTransplant
Played: 48  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well kept course. Have played it during the summer and in the winter. There's maps for a 3 courses. Good mix of left and right doglegs.
Cons: Don't know if they move baskets on a schedule, but there are a few holes that have alternate positions. (5,11,12)
Other Thoughts: Homemade baskets are on the Meadow Ridge(Has homemade and actual baskets so you can play alternate holes without having to have the baskets moved) and Highland course (Only homemade baskets on this par 3 course)

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Happy Canyon Camper

1    8/30/2018   11/20/2018
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 459  Reviewed: 352  Exp: 17.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Canyon course begins with a hole that is less than impressive, the tee right beside the course maps and pay station. It is open, and plays next to the road that enters the grounds. There is a slight dip between the tee and pin, which are roughly at the same elevation. It is a good warmup toss and chance to grab an early birdie. As you progress towards the wooded areas that are home to the bulk of the layout, quality of the holes increases rapidly.

Hole 2 is a fun drive that is left to right downhill, and is longer than most of the holes on the course. There is a mando early and plenty of room to fly once you clear it. 3 is similar in shape to hole 2, but short and protected by a stand of trees in front of the pin. At the fourth tee you get the first fairway that is pinched to a narrow gap in the trees about halfway to the basket. As long as you get through, a nice shot with a midrange can get you near the pin that sits slightly downhill and left of center.

Hole 5 is framed beautifully by trees, and funnels to a pin that has more trees around it as you approach. 6 will require a pretty tight line to split trees and slide past a couple standing right in front of the target. Several holes in the middle portion of the course are fairly short distance, and mix doglegs left or right, uphill or down, with pins tucked into very woodsy locations. 9 is an exaggeration of this, longer and having a big arc to the left through many trees.

The trends break at hole 13, which is the first of two par four holes. It is open, and climbs a steep, grassy hill out of the tee box. There's a hard left corner around the edge of the woods as you reach the crest of the hill. and flat stretch approaching the bucket. 14 gives you one more dive into the shadows, with a fairly flat hole that has a strong left to right with dense trees defining the line. 15 is a nice downhiller, slightly right to left with the trees allowing more airspace.

16 and 17 are nice holes that emerge from the forrest using the trees on the fringe nicely to shape throws that use grassy areas before diving into nice pockets that nestle the basket amongst the trees. 16 turns left, and 17 turns right. Hole 17 does have more length and the trees form a tougher barrier. Hole 18 is a long par 4 to finish it off. 700' long to be exact. Two mature trees in front of the tee create a mando that you have to go left of. Just past the mando elevation falls downhill quickly, with a big right to left bend around the woods lining the left side. A pretty good final hole, that will steal a stroke or two if you're not careful.

The equipment here is all good. Concrete pads, and nice tee signs. The bright yellow homemade baskets are consistently good quality, and treated me well all day long. Bathrooms near the first tee are nice and clean. I think I remember seeing vending machines and a source for drinking water.
Cons: The layout is kind of kinky, so pay attention to the hole sequence. I turned the wrong direction after hole 11, and nearly played hole 8 a second time.

There are a few patches of heavy rough and low areas you want to avoid throwing a disc into. Course was dry at the time of my visit, but could be messy in areas after rainfall.
Other Thoughts: I loved the Canyon course at Horning's Hideout. It has all of the magnificent forrest tranquility of the Meadow Ridge course, but the layout is scaled back slightly. Not quite as much elevation, shorter holes, and the gnomes and pixies only move your disc closer to the pin while you're not watching.

Still, it is one of the best courses I played on my road trip, and I earned my best score on this one. At the end of the round I was 4 under (52), and only took 1 bogey at hole 4. Had chances at more birdies, I would love to get in a few more rounds on this one to see if I could go a little lower.

The Hideout is a disc golf destination that you should absolutely add to the wish list. I only played 2 of the 3 courses, and they were both fantastic. The fee is only $4 per day, and the facility is incredible.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    11/10/2018   11/10/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 141  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super fun course, hornings is a destination disc golf place without question. From the peacocks you see around and the deer. There's arguably no better place for disc golf in Oregon. Canyon is the middle difficulty course. It has a great variety of backhand/forehand with fun elevation shots. There's some birdies to be had for sure but a couple par 4s and holes that can test advance players as well. Great tee signs and not to bad navigation. Some holes that have cliffs behind them really make you think about drive placement.
Cons: Some may say the homemade baskets are cons, and you can defiantly get dead center putts to pole kick out but I didn't have much of a problem with them. Honestly not to many cons besides the baskets, and might not super test open players.
Other Thoughts: The road here could get sketchy in bad weather conditions as you go down the gravel road turnoff for around a half mile. This is a must visit site for all disc golf and thanks bob for this amazing place of land

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great mix of short and long

2-4    8/12/2017   8/14/2017
Review By: handwasher
Played: 68  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You get a mixture of short shots you can probably throw a putter or mid on, and big bomber holes where you can really cut loose.
Cons: If you don't like trees, the trees are everywhere. Also lots of natural OOB with thick woods and drop-offs in several places.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    10/1/2016   10/9/2016
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 64  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2018
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Horning's Hideout is a beautiful 54 hole disc golf complex located way off the beaten path near North Plains, Oregon. In addition to this course, the original one (medium difficulty), there is also the Highland course, with short throws <250 feet, and the monster Meadow Ridge championship level course. There's something for everyone.

-To reach this place, you have to drive 25 minutes along a pretty country road, before making the turnoff to Horning's Hideout. It's another five minutes on the narrow, twisty gravel road that takes you down through the woods and to the main area. A very friendly woman came up to us, collected our fee, and told us where each of the three disc golf courses were, where to park, and where the course map signs are.

-The woods that most of the course plays through are absolutely stunning and serene. There are plenty of hills to add to the beauty.

-The bathrooms at the start are really nice. Make sure to use them. There are some port-a-potties on the course but they look old and they stink.

-The tee signs were made by John Houck design(!) They were the best I'd ever seen. They are in full color, and show every tree in the fairway, plus the elevation for the hole. Also they show all the possible routes you can take and the route to the next tee.

-My favorite holes:
3, 5, 6, 8, 14, were all fun downhill shots through the woods. There are a lot of trees but always a line.
Hole 18 is a 700 foot par four demanding a long left-to-right drive to get around the mando tree, then a long downhill crush hyzer to the basket.
Cons: -The baskets aren't the greatest. The chains are too close to the cage, so if you throw one low or weak side, it'll likely skip out. Bounce outs off the center pole are also common. If you hit one off the solid iron cage, it sounds like you just rang the Liberty Bell. On the flip side, they are bright yellow and easy to spot.

-There were a few silly holes. Hole 2 is such a hard dogleg right, it's next to impossible to reach the pin. Hole 13 is a 450 foot par four with a 90 degree dogleg right. The tee shot on this hole is unbelievably uphill.

-It is the Canyon course, and there most definitely is a canyon. Make sure not to overshoot the basket on holes 6, 8, and 10. There's a pretty steep drop off.

-There's a drop off immediately in front of some of the teepads (5 and 6 especially). If it's raining, make sure not to slip.
Other Thoughts: -It costs $4 per person to enter Horning's Hideout. I think this is completely worth it. This course is one of the best I've played. I can't wait to go back, hopefully when it isn't raining, and play the other two courses here.

-It is quite the drive, about half an hour from highway 26. Being an hour away from Portland, this is a place to come only if you have all day.

-The sheer beauty of this course is not something you find every day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

2-4    5/20/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: JerichoBronco
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2018
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenery
Great signage
Cons: LOTS of brush and undergrowth. You are going to be looking for a disc or two before you are done. Lots of stinging nettles, pants are a plus!
Other Thoughts: 2018
I left my original review on here to show as a comparison. I had been playing for 1 year when I first went here. Now in year 4 my thoughts are very different. I agree with my first statement that the course does have a mix of shots, non of them overly challenging, just lots of little trees to miss. The first time I played this I used my driver... a lot. Now, I used my putter on the majority of the holes off the tee. There is a lot of elevation changes on the course and I had one of those days where I hit the cage and would have LONG roll-aways due to the terrain. I didn't find the course very challenging, I would have been several strokes under par if it weren't for the bad luck and one bag hole. There were at least 2-3 holes that just felt very poorly laid out to me too. The course was ok, but it didn't feel like it was professionally laid out if that makes sense. The scenery is nice (except for the nettle), but you wouldn't want to be there on a wet day, footing is nuts in certain spots. This course is good for a Nov or Rec player, maybe and Intermediate player (my rating is that of an int). I have to say I was disappointed in the course, I guess I remember it being longer and harder. This isn't a course I plan on playing again very soon, once a year would be sufficient.

5/20/15 This course has a great mix of being challenging but not overly frustrating. You are going to use most of your discs by the time you are done here, do to the variety of shots needed and that's one of the positives of this course. Every hole feels very different.

This is one of my favorite courses. I don't know what they could do to make it better other than eliminate some of the brush and those darn stinging nettles, I always seem to find those.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet!!!

1    10/10/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: Scott64a
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is fantastic. Lots of grassy fairways to bomb down, and many lefts and rights to work out your shot repertoire. The setting is gorgeous as well. Lots of tall conifers and some rather stunning landscape to play in and on. Bob's disc catchers are groovy... they make a gong sound when you hit them right. Then again, if you REALLY make them gong, you've missed the chains! Doh!
Cons: Not many, except in the middle of the course, (holes 9 -14 I think,) get sort of repetitive. Back and forth through a piece of woods. I guess this is inevitable when planning a course though, as space can be limited and this has to happen sometimes. It's not a deal breaker.
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course to finish a 54 hole run on.

Play all three: Highlands, the Meadow Ridge and Canyon. You'll love it. I met Bob Horning and he's a great guy. Cheers, Bob!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great intermediate course

1    8/2/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: volklaero
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2015
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great signage, tees and fun hole design
Difficult shots, with some tricky basket locations.
Challenging but satisfying.
Nice drive out/scenary
Mix of long and short holes, open and wooded.
Cons: 4 Bucks (I dont mind paying for this, but its not a pro)
Closed for tournaments at times.
Other Thoughts: Bring a flick shot.

The intermediate course out of the three, canyon is my favorite. Its a course I can play through twice in a day and love every hole. Meadow is a one and done course and Highlands is just too short for my liking. Canyon is the Goldilocks course IMO.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.