Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #1
3 / 172ft.   3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 f/m Tee Box



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Actually a fun course.

2-4    6/1/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: Ginganinja
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Good for casual rounds on vacation
*easy to navigate
*2 tee-pads on most holes
*short tee-pads are good for beginners and long are good for *more experienced to have a little challenge
Cons: *trying not to hit people
*its Florida so bugs and humidity
*shorts are so shorts its almost not fun

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

LHBH / RHFH Paradise!

1    5/18/2017   5/18/2017
Review By: YouGotXRAYd
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice tee boxes
- Well maintained
- Multiple pin positions
- Pro / Am tee positions
Cons: - Almost caters to one style of throwing
- You sometimes have to throw over pedestrian paths
- Hole signs have incorrect distances
Other Thoughts: Are you a lefty, favor the RHFH shot, or trying to learn to throw your RHFH? Well then this is the course for you! Almost every hole catered to the LHBH or RHFH player. Which is unfortunate as I am not a Southpaw and have a terrible forehand (Getting better).

However, the course is in a beautiful park and has a decent layout. Hole 3 and 4 kinda cross each other so make sure to look both ways before crossing the fairway.

All-in-all the course is good. Its fun, its challenging, and can allow you to move up once your done with the Am tee boxes for a new set of shots. Go play this course. Its not perfect but it will not disappoint.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

RHBH Purgatory

1    5/2/2017   5/3/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 123  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free to play, free to park
- bathrooms on location
- benches
- intuitive course layout, hole 18 loops back to the parking lot
- multiple concrete tees, multiple pin positions
- decent baskets
- uses creek to create risk/reward scenarios
- a fun mix of open and technical fairways
- clean, well maintained fairways
- family friendly course
Cons:

- signs don't account for multiple pin positions, distances were incorrect
- heavily LHBH favorable
- heavily used park filled with track walking pedestrians, as well as other players
- some fairway overlap
- mostly short holes
- mostly flat fairways
- some drives ran the risk of landing over a fence and in someone's yard
Other Thoughts:

I've been anxious to throw this course from the moment I first learned I'd be moving here 6 months ago. Ferry park is a lightly wooded, slightly longer pitch and putt style course that heavily favors LHBH or RHFH slightly over RHBH dominant players. Fairways tend to have limited, but not necessarily low, ceilings with very little undergrowth. The course was challenging and the fairways had clear lines to the baskets.

I felt like they tried to get a little too cute/cheap with these teepads, as they are a narrow "V" shape. The pads hardly let RHBH players position themselves for the variety of anhyzer throws they'll need to take to play this course. Another con was that the course wraps around and works its' way through a highly trafficked multi-use park that borders neighborhood housing. If your not worried about hitting a random jogger/dog walker then you're trying not to throw into someone's back yard or baseball field. Also, the short tees are so close to the basket that they're not really worth throwing from unless you're a true beginner or trying to pad the olde' ace stats.

Overall, there's a challenging yet simple feel to the course. Ferry Park forces players like me to practice their left to right line proficiency, which I appreciate. There's not too much punishment for errant throws unless you end up in someone's back yard or in the creek in front of 18. This casual course draws in a wide variety of players and skill levels due to Fort Walton Beach's centralized location between Navarre, Niceville, and Destin. Location Rush hour crowds can clog the course up with players and walkers, remember to be patient with both.

There's a charity league on Thursdays at 530. The entry fee is 3$ or three cans, with a dollar CTP and birdie pot for a dollar each. Also, there's a volunteer course maintenance group that meets on Saturdays at 8 am. Contact Gary Hunter in facebook for more information about both groups

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short but amazing course

5+    1/15/2017   1/23/2017
Review By: Cylemmulo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Phenomenal community around it.

The course is easily accessible. Great variety of shots that aren't too ridiculous or too likely to lose you a disc. Well upkept, in a great part of town.
Cons: Some holes are pretty short (though great for me because i'm a terrible driver)

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Favorite Course Among The Locals With Some Nice Features

1    11/1/2016   11/1/2016
Review By: Majshark
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes are typically short that favors finesse over power. Narrow fairways between tees with the occasional water hazard provides some solid variety between the 18 holes.
Adequate signage for tee direction and location.
Although there is a lot of people traffic on and through the park (joggers, walkers, other players) the course is pretty clean.
Concrete tees. Nice, concrete paths between holes.
Cons: As mentioned above, this course is VERY busy with other park visitors, and thus patience is a virtue.
Missing the fairway on several holes could mean landing a disc in someone's backyard or in the drink.
Other Thoughts: This course is geared for those patient players who seek accuracy over slinging bombs. If you don't kind a crowded park with a nice variety of holes, this course is for you.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Half sandy/Half wet

5+    6/16/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: HumDyn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1. Easy travel time to get to course.
2. Trees make it challenging
3. A sidewalk for walkers winds thru the course
Cons: 1. Heavy use has rendered the first six holes very sandy which makes walking difficult.
2. The second half of the course is swampy. If you go after a recent rain, you will have to hop from dry spot to dry spot.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Relaxing Ace Runs

1    8/14/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 141  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.068 Rating) Scenic and relaxing, Ferry is the perfect vacation course.
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes are highly aceable. You are probably 5 time more likely to ace here than at a normal course so I'm sure the locals are racking them up.
- CHARACTER - The course definitely has the feel that it has been taken care of well and has a good club presence. There is some seating, and several holes have a place to stow your bag. There's a restroom and a shelter with picnic tables, which is perfect for end of round relaxing. There are multiple pin placements as well. If I could add a few things, I'd add a few more seats and a few more trash cans.
- TEEING EXPERIENCE - Two sets of tees, and both are with their own hole signage. Pads are all concrete and are adequately long and wide for what anyone will need. Most tee areas are shaded as well. In all, the teeing experience was well above average.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues as a quick photo of the course map clears up most issues. There are some directional ques along the course layout as well. The one tricky spot is probably the transition from 16 to 17, in which a small path splits a baseball fence and the creek.
- CHILL AREAS - There are several partially secluded areas that have a greater than normal zen feel to them.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly. The park is very clean despite just a couple garbage cans along the layout. I didn't notice any areas that had significant overgrowth.
- RAW BEAUTY - The course in my opinion, is one of the more scenic short course I've played. It definitely added to the course experience.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 18 in under an hour. Groups of 4 probably would finish in under an hour and 45 minutes.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - This really is not a beginners course per say but beginners should enjoy is regardless due to the short length. The fairways width are moderately spaced and should challenge rec and perhaps lower end intermediate players. Advanced and pros may come away less than challenged however.
Cons: No major issues with Ferry.
- DIFFICULTY - Too short and not a challenge to advanced/pro level players. Advanced players should have no problem being well under course par. Intermediate and Recreational players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish below par.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. no more than 10' elevation change throughout the entire course layout. There is one elevated basket.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. If the course was full, there would be a few tees that could be reached by an errant throw because of little tree protection. A few fairways also feel partially shared.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves are lacking the uniqueness that you'd see on your average 18 hole course. The course is quite short with only a few holes over 300 feet in length from the back tee. There aren't any doglegs, par 4s or 5s. No hole twists very much, perhaps one is 10 degrees. There is one blind basket, there are a few windows to hit. and a few holes that are guarded by trees. There is water in play, but I didn't really feel tested by it as a 900 rated played.
- CREEK - Although as stated above that the creek really doesn't come into play. Errant throws do happen and this creek looks extra nasty. I'm glad I didn't go in.
Other Thoughts: I'm pretty sure I'd play this course a lot if I lived nearby. This course is perfect for rec and intermediate players or for those that prefer to throw shorter courses or to throw ace runs. Pro and advanced players will come away untested and wish they only brought a putter.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    3/8/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has both long and short tees on many holes. Tee boxes are marked nicely with yardage. Most baskets are easily seen from tee boxes. Baskets are in good shape. Water is in play on 4 holes, but easy enough to drive over. A Lot of natural obstacles placed strategically. One basket is raised up higher than all others, interesting touch.
Cons: Since the course is placed throughout a park, there is a lot of foot traffic Most holes are reached easily enough by a driver.
Other Thoughts: Although the conditions were windy, the natural surroundings cut the wind quite a bit. I enjoyed this course much more than Morgan Sports Complex and Chain Dragon. I saw a blue heron in the river also. I would play this course again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ferry Park

5+    2/12/2016   2/12/2016
Review By: scotems1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, very well maintained, nice baskets, well marked hole numbers, absolutely beautiful scenery. Short but challenging course. Also challenging because there is lots of water.
Cons: Very heavy traffic. Ferry Park also has a walking/jogging course, baseball fields and children's playground. Just a little rain can cause the course to get very wet and muddy.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice, challenging course. Great for working on your finesse game.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ferry Park Disc Golf Course

2-4    10/4/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: calebwilliams507
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well-maintained
- Concrete tees (pro and ameteur tees)
- Multiple pins
- Innova DisCatcher baskets
- Beautiful scenery
- Not an extremely long course
Cons: - adjacent to fenced backyards
- Lots of walkers, runners, etc
- Often many other disc golfers, leading to waiting to tee off
Other Thoughts: The Ferry Park disc golf course is a well-maintained disc golf course, however its location in a heavily-used park means that players often must wait to tee off to to walkers and other pedestrians. It is all too easy to throw a disc into someone's backyard with all of the trees, especially when playing from the red tees. There is a great variety of holes, and the course is never boring. If it weren't for the risk of losing a disc in a backyard, I would rate the course at a 3.5. I would rather lose a disc in a lake and not be able to see it then be able to see a disc in a someone's yard, but not able to reach it . . .

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center