Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #5
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Actually a fun course.

2-4    6/1/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: Ginganinja
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Good for casual rounds on vacation
*easy to navigate
*2 tee-pads on most holes
*short tee-pads are good for beginners and long are good for *more experienced to have a little challenge
Cons: *trying not to hit people
*its Florida so bugs and humidity
*shorts are so shorts its almost not fun

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

LHBH / RHFH Paradise!

1    5/18/2017   5/18/2017
Review By: YouGotXRAYd
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice tee boxes
- Well maintained
- Multiple pin positions
- Pro / Am tee positions
Cons: - Almost caters to one style of throwing
- You sometimes have to throw over pedestrian paths
- Hole signs have incorrect distances
Other Thoughts: Are you a lefty, favor the RHFH shot, or trying to learn to throw your RHFH? Well then this is the course for you! Almost every hole catered to the LHBH or RHFH player. Which is unfortunate as I am not a Southpaw and have a terrible forehand (Getting better).

However, the course is in a beautiful park and has a decent layout. Hole 3 and 4 kinda cross each other so make sure to look both ways before crossing the fairway.

All-in-all the course is good. Its fun, its challenging, and can allow you to move up once your done with the Am tee boxes for a new set of shots. Go play this course. Its not perfect but it will not disappoint.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    3/8/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has both long and short tees on many holes. Tee boxes are marked nicely with yardage. Most baskets are easily seen from tee boxes. Baskets are in good shape. Water is in play on 4 holes, but easy enough to drive over. A Lot of natural obstacles placed strategically. One basket is raised up higher than all others, interesting touch.
Cons: Since the course is placed throughout a park, there is a lot of foot traffic Most holes are reached easily enough by a driver.
Other Thoughts: Although the conditions were windy, the natural surroundings cut the wind quite a bit. I enjoyed this course much more than Morgan Sports Complex and Chain Dragon. I saw a blue heron in the river also. I would play this course again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ferry Park

5+    2/12/2016   2/12/2016
Review By: scotems1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, very well maintained, nice baskets, well marked hole numbers, absolutely beautiful scenery. Short but challenging course. Also challenging because there is lots of water.
Cons: Very heavy traffic. Ferry Park also has a walking/jogging course, baseball fields and children's playground. Just a little rain can cause the course to get very wet and muddy.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice, challenging course. Great for working on your finesse game.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/11/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course was well taken care of! No problem finding our way around! Nice way to spend a couple hours while on vacation! Ace hardware had a great selection of disc.
Cons: Marsh area was kinda sketchy. Some guy was telling me of some baby snakes back there. Hate snakes so i was on the watch lol
Other Thoughts: My son,his friend and myself had a blast at this course. If I ever get back down this way It will be on my play list!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Short & Sweet

2-4    9/1/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: cadillac77jk
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean park, good directionals between baskets, Pro/Am pads, very well taken care of, friendly locals, really NO reason you should lose a disc
Cons: mostly short holes even from the Pro pads, lots of repetition and similar shaping shots (mostly straight), course could be played with only a stable midrange (Roc/Shark/Buzz) and still manage par or better - who doesn't love a good one disc challenge anyways :)
Other Thoughts: Definitely play this course if you are in the area! With a few exceptions, most holes range between 190-250 feet, so leave the distance drivers in the car. Since playing it once will take you about an hour, go ahead and put a few more mid range discs in your bag and play each pad 3 times with different shot shapes. It won't take you more than an extra minute or so and you'll get more bang for your buck without all the extra walking.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/5/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 208  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 very nice baskets in a multi purpose park. There were concrete tee pads at each hole, some holes even had an alternate, longer tee pad for more of a challenge.

This was probably one of the easiest courses to navigate that I have been to. The signs at each hole were clear and the next tee pad was never more than 10' away from the last hole.

The locals out on the course were very nice and helpful. One group of guys were playing an alternate version of the course that is widely accepted among the locals and it makes this course very challenging if you meet the right people.

There were restrooms and water nearby.

This course can be played in about an hour which can be a pro if you are on vacation and only have a limited amount of time to go out and play.

Almost all 18 holes are Ace Runs which can add a bit of excitement here.
Cons: The course is very short. There is nothing over 300' and quite a few holes are under 180', there is no opportunity to rip throws and it is hardly necessary to bring anything faster than a mid range due to the shortness of the course.

Although a creek does run through a few holes it is not a huge problem but if you happen to shank a drive and it lands in the water, getting it back would be a problem as the water smells very bad and there is no visibility.

A few of the first holes play extremely close to the backs of some houses almost to the point where it makes you think twice about going for the ace.
Other Thoughts: I was on vacation at Fort Walton and came to play here and it was very enjoyable. I will look forward to each summer coming back here so I can play at Ferry Park.

If you are in town be sure to go to Key Chains Bike and Disc Store that is about a five minute drive from the close. They have a good selection of discs; they are also very helpful and if you have the time to play, they will invite you to the weekly mini that they have at Ferry Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good for Beginners

5+    2/29/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: Auto4Short
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly course. Has pro and am tee boxes. Nice long concrete tees.
Cons: Longest hole is about 367. More experienced players looking for a challenge may not get as much of a challenge from this course.
Other Thoughts: I began disc golfing 2 years ago and this is my hometown course. This is a good course for beginners to start on because of the short holes and the holes that require accuracy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun

5+    12/20/2011   1/14/2012
Review By: TeeJay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: it is all concrete tee pads
it has a practice basket
it has clear navigation
it has some challenging holes
it has a good club that takes care of the course Playground Disc Golf Club.
it has bamboo poles placed along the edge of holes that have water hazards.
it has bathrooms at the baseball fields by 7 and 17.
has am and pro tee pads
Cons: the holes are short
the water smells
the water is kind of murky so even if you have the pole you still might not be able to see your disc.
The bathrooms are a good distance away.
Other Thoughts: this course all in all is very fun i played my first tournament here and i enjoyed it alot so i would reccommend people play this course at least one time to see if they like it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    11/29/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: MrRob
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Wonderful layout
*Easy to find next tee
*Test your short / med game
*Home of Play Ground Disc Golf Club which takes care of the part. (( i.e. trash, dead fall, ect ect ))
Cons: *Walkers , It's a park. So there are walkers on the walking path that snakes it's way through the course. Also there or some work out stations that if someone is working out on you may either have to wait or just skip the hole and come back to it.

*Only other con I can think of is.. if you played here and only here it will... how do I say this. Not make you realize how far a normal course is. Thus your never really throwing that hard which in turn when you go to another course and your so used to 200-300ft holes when you come across a 350-700ft..
Other Thoughts: Yes the course is short. But it's what we have here in FWB and it's more then enough. This " short " course will test anyone and will help develop your short - mid range game a ton. It's just tight enough to punish you for a miss played shot but just open enough for some exciting ace runs and low scores.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.