Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #3
3 / 227ft.   3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Fun Vacation Course

1    8/20/2017   8/20/2017
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course near beach resorts
Highlights Florida landscape well.
Multiple tee pads allows for varying difficulty.

Good use of natural obstacles (i.e. Low tree canopy, stream, guarded baskets with trees)

Great course to hone your short game (most baskets under 300 ft)
Cons: A little difficult to navigate. Directional arrows would have been helpful
Other Thoughts: This was a great treat while visiting the area. I would highly recommend to anyone in the area. Fun and challenging little course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging short course

2-4    7/10/2016   8/19/2017
Review By: Buckwheat
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course that requires accuracy and the ability to bend it both ways. Fairly easy to navigate and well kept.
Cons: Heavy traffic in the park, some holes a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: Much better than the Destin course, fun vacation course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Actually a fun course.

2-4    6/1/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: Ginganinja
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Good for casual rounds on vacation
*easy to navigate
*2 tee-pads on most holes
*short tee-pads are good for beginners and long are good for *more experienced to have a little challenge
Cons: *trying not to hit people
*its Florida so bugs and humidity
*shorts are so shorts its almost not fun

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

LHBH / RHFH Paradise!

1    5/18/2017   5/18/2017
Review By: YouGotXRAYd
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice tee boxes
- Well maintained
- Multiple pin positions
- Pro / Am tee positions
Cons: - Almost caters to one style of throwing
- You sometimes have to throw over pedestrian paths
- Hole signs have incorrect distances
Other Thoughts: Are you a lefty, favor the RHFH shot, or trying to learn to throw your RHFH? Well then this is the course for you! Almost every hole catered to the LHBH or RHFH player. Which is unfortunate as I am not a Southpaw and have a terrible forehand (Getting better).

However, the course is in a beautiful park and has a decent layout. Hole 3 and 4 kinda cross each other so make sure to look both ways before crossing the fairway.

All-in-all the course is good. Its fun, its challenging, and can allow you to move up once your done with the Am tee boxes for a new set of shots. Go play this course. Its not perfect but it will not disappoint.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

RHBH Purgatory

1    5/2/2017   5/3/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 139  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free to play, free to park
- bathrooms on location
- benches
- intuitive course layout, hole 18 loops back to the parking lot
- multiple concrete tees, multiple pin positions
- decent baskets
- uses creek to create risk/reward scenarios
- a fun mix of open and technical fairways
- clean, well maintained fairways
- family friendly course
Cons:

- signs don't account for multiple pin positions, distances were incorrect
- heavily LHBH favorable
- heavily used park filled with track walking pedestrians, as well as other players
- some fairway overlap
- mostly short holes
- mostly flat fairways
- some drives ran the risk of landing over a fence and in someone's yard
Other Thoughts:

I've been anxious to throw this course from the moment I first learned I'd be moving here 6 months ago. Ferry park is a lightly wooded, slightly longer pitch and putt style course that heavily favors LHBH or RHFH slightly over RHBH dominant players. Fairways tend to have limited, but not necessarily low, ceilings with very little undergrowth. The course was challenging and the fairways had clear lines to the baskets.

I felt like they tried to get a little too cute/cheap with these teepads, as they are a narrow "V" shape. The pads hardly let RHBH players position themselves for the variety of anhyzer throws they'll need to take to play this course. Another con was that the course wraps around and works its' way through a highly trafficked multi-use park that borders neighborhood housing. If your not worried about hitting a random jogger/dog walker then you're trying not to throw into someone's back yard or baseball field. Also, the short tees are so close to the basket that they're not really worth throwing from unless you're a true beginner or trying to pad the olde' ace stats.

Overall, there's a challenging yet simple feel to the course. Ferry Park forces players like me to practice their left to right line proficiency, which I appreciate. There's not too much punishment for errant throws unless you end up in someone's back yard or in the creek in front of 18. This casual course draws in a wide variety of players and skill levels due to Fort Walton Beach's centralized location between Navarre, Niceville, and Destin. Location Rush hour crowds can clog the course up with players and walkers, remember to be patient with both.

There's a charity league on Thursdays at 530. The entry fee is 3$ or three cans, with a dollar CTP and birdie pot for a dollar each. Also, there's a volunteer course maintenance group that meets on Saturdays at 8 am. Contact Gary Hunter in facebook for more information about both groups

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short but amazing course

5+    1/15/2017   1/23/2017
Review By: Cylemmulo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Phenomenal community around it.

The course is easily accessible. Great variety of shots that aren't too ridiculous or too likely to lose you a disc. Well upkept, in a great part of town.
Cons: Some holes are pretty short (though great for me because i'm a terrible driver)

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Favorite Course Among The Locals With Some Nice Features

1    11/1/2016   11/1/2016
Review By: Majshark
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes are typically short that favors finesse over power. Narrow fairways between tees with the occasional water hazard provides some solid variety between the 18 holes.
Adequate signage for tee direction and location.
Although there is a lot of people traffic on and through the park (joggers, walkers, other players) the course is pretty clean.
Concrete tees. Nice, concrete paths between holes.
Cons: As mentioned above, this course is VERY busy with other park visitors, and thus patience is a virtue.
Missing the fairway on several holes could mean landing a disc in someone's backyard or in the drink.
Other Thoughts: This course is geared for those patient players who seek accuracy over slinging bombs. If you don't kind a crowded park with a nice variety of holes, this course is for you.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Half sandy/Half wet

5+    8/5/2017   8/17/2016
Review By: HumDyn
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 8/5/2017
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. Easy travel time to get to course.
2. Trees make it challenging
3. A sidewalk for walkers winds thru the course
Cons: 1. Heavy use has rendered the first six holes very sandy which makes walking difficult.
2. The second half of the course is swampy. If you go after a recent rain, you will have to hop from dry spot to dry spot.
Other Thoughts: I wish the city of Fort Walton Beach would bring in several dump trucks of fill dirt for holes 12-15. That would help playability a lot. Great job by Robert Duck and other volunteers on moving baskets frequently.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Relaxing Ace Runs

2-4    8/5/2017   8/14/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 175  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.996 Rating) (REVISED - replayed August 2017) Scenic and relaxing, Ferry is the perfect vacation course.
- ACEABILITY - This course is stacked with fun and highly aceable shots. You are probably 5 times more likely to ace here, than at a normal course. I'm sure the locals are racking them up.
- CHARACTER - The course definitely feels like it has been taken care of well by a good local club presence. There is seating at a majority of the holes, and several holes have a place to stow your bag. There's a restroom building with drinking fountain. There's a shelter with picnic tables that provides a perfect end of round gathering point. There are also many alternate basket placements. If I could add a few things, I'd add a practice basket and seats at the last few holes without them.
- TEEING EXPERIENCE - Two sets of tees at many holes, and both are with their own hole signage. Pads are all concrete and are adequately long and wide for what anyone will need. Most of the tee areas are shaded as well. In all, I find the teeing experience to be well above average.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues as a quick photo of the course map clears them all up in most instances. There are some directional cues along the course layout as well. The one tricky spot is probably the transition from (16 to 17), in which a small path splits a baseball fence and a creek.
- CHILL AREAS - There are several partially secluded areas that have a greater than normal Zen feel to them.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly. The park is very clean with several garbage cans along the layout. I didn't notice any areas that had significant overgrowth.
- RAW BEAUTY - IMO, Ferry is the second most scenic course in the area behind nearby Anderson Pond. A nice gentle creek meanders thru the layout. For the most part, lush vegetation throughout. The nearby baseball diamond fences are probably the only blemish. In all, the sum of the parts added to my personal course experience.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 18 in under an hour. Groups of 4 would probably finish in under an hour and 45 minutes.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - This really is not a beginners course per say, but beginners should enjoy it regardless due to the short length. The fairways widths are moderately spaced and should challenge rec and perhaps lower end intermediate players. Advanced and pros may come away less than challenged however.
Cons: Other than the lack of difficulty, no major issues with Ferry.
- TOO EASY - Too short and not a challenge to advanced/pro level players. Advanced players should have no problem being well under course par. Intermediate and Recreational players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish below par.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. No more than 5 feet of elevation change throughout the entire course layout. There is one elevated basket on (5) when the placement is in the short position.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. If the course were full, there would be a few tees that could be reached by an errant throw because of little tee protection. A few fairways also feel partially shared.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves are lacking the uniqueness that you'd see on your average 18 hole course. The layout is very short with only a few holes over 300 feet in length from the back tee. There aren't any doglegs, par 4s or 5s. No hole twists very much, perhaps one is 10 degrees. There are only a couple blind basket placements, there are a few windows to hit, and a few holes are guarded by trees. There is water in play, but I didn't really feel tested by it as a 900ish rated player.
- CREEK - Although as stated above, the creek really doesn't come into play too much. Errant throws do happen and this creek looks extra painful to try and recover one. I'm glad I didn't go in it.
Other Thoughts: I'm pretty sure I'd play this course a lot if I lived nearby. This course is perfect for rec and intermediate players or for those that prefer to throw shorter courses or to throw ace runs. Pro and advanced players will come away untested and wish they had only brought a putter.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    3/8/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has both long and short tees on many holes. Tee boxes are marked nicely with yardage. Most baskets are easily seen from tee boxes. Baskets are in good shape. Water is in play on 4 holes, but easy enough to drive over. A Lot of natural obstacles placed strategically. One basket is raised up higher than all others, interesting touch.
Cons: Since the course is placed throughout a park, there is a lot of foot traffic Most holes are reached easily enough by a driver.
Other Thoughts: Although the conditions were windy, the natural surroundings cut the wind quite a bit. I enjoyed this course much more than Morgan Sports Complex and Chain Dragon. I saw a blue heron in the river also. I would play this course again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.