Oak Ridge, TN 
Groves Park - The Mounds Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8 (Taken 12/2008)
3 / 207ft.   3 / 321ft.   3 / 405ft.   3 / 519ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Groves Park DGC - The Mounds

5+    5/15/2019   5/15/2019
Review By: Baysinger
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Other Thoughts: The Mounds at Groves Park is definitely a hidden gem in Tennessee. This course definitely doesn't get the credit it deserves. This could absolutely be a championship level course, and I feel that one day, it will be. There are multiple tees on every hole for all types of skill levels. This is one of those courses where you can go play the shortest layout and have ace runs on nearly every hole, and then you can loop it again and play the longest layout which is an absolute beast and a challenge for any skill level. Beautiful rolling hills, high mounds, water in play on several holes and a great mix of everything you need in a course. From short wooded putter holes to long open bomber holes. This would be an outstanding course to get a hotel near and just play multiple layouts in a two day stretch without ever getting tired of the course. And if the 18 hole layout isn't enough for you, move on to the heavily wooded 9 hole sister course in the same park called The Woods. This course is an absolute must play if you are anywhere near East Tennessee. And if you are the type to drive for DG road trips, this is one you are going to want to stop by! One of my favorite courses in East Tennessee! If you want to see this course on video, check out my crew playing it in the video below...
https://www.youtube.com/watch...ex=2&t=0s

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 NEW TEE PADS!!!

5+    9/18/2018   9/19/2018
Review By: casman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Brand New Tee pads on all White positions!!!!!
Cleaned up and has been mowed!
Mowing as been going very well
Large brier patches have been cleared
Cons: Still a couple rough areas to avoid, but it has never looked better!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

pretty good! needs Tee pads.

5+    1/2/2018   3/11/2018
Review By: seayhorse
Played: 20  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 23 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: large plot; former (ball) golf course
variety of looks- long, short, tight woods, open air
multiple tee per hole
nice quiet spot- there's no other reason to be there, so it's never crowded and feels very private and peaceful.
Cons: no tee pads. that's a big deal.
particularly in summer it's not mowed or groomed nearly enough. grass can get taller than tall man.
poor signage. course map is helpful online, but if you aren't familiar, you might miss a few tees/holes

Other Thoughts: This is almost a really great course. I wish it would be mowed and kept better. Tee pads would go a LONG way- this could be a real gem, but it's hard to throw your best from a mud puddle. +tees=+star

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open Disc Golf Magic

5+    11/5/2016   11/8/2016
Review By: Polecat-Meow
Played: 44  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Biiig open course on an old golf course
-Secluded, beautiful setting
-forgiving, easy to save par, but so long it's not easy to get under all the time.
-nice elevated spots to throw from, nice greens to putt on
-great course for beginners
-this course feels special, it's hard to put a finger on it but the mounds (or the groves, as some locals still call it) is a unique course for several reasons, you need to play it to understand.
-it's just disc golf, no sports fields or parking lots or anything. Just a big ass disc golf park to go throw in.
Cons: -natural tee pads, I don't mind it but most people dock points for it
-the city dumped a bunch of huge ass dirt piles right at the entrance, totally sucks and ruined the experience of walking into such a beautiful park. Once you start the round they don't matter though.
-it's kind of a hangout spot for high school asshats that litter and steal shit. Local disc golfers pick up litter and keep trash bins around but we can only do so much.
Other Thoughts: When this course is finally complete and the city does something with the big heaps of dirt (or if they just grow into grassy mounds) then it will be much closer to perfection than it already is. As is, it's a hoot to play and one of my personal favorites that I have ever thrown.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Paradise, well, soon anyway

5+    7/4/2016   7/14/2016
Review By: murf1087
Played: 251  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Endless possibilities from the multiple tee pads and former hole locations - play with a local out here and you will never get bored.
Beautiful property on an old ball golf course and dump site, hence the nickname Mounds.
This is the kind of course that the locals walk around filling up their bag with other peoples trash to keep the course looking good.
Very active club with regular league nights, glow rounds, and meet ups (search IVDGA on Facebook)
The wooded nine are a perfect compliment to the open holes - rough, rugged, steep and challenging.
Some of the natural tee pads have roots popping out but most are flat, in very good shape, and not an issue.
Cons: Swampy at times, limited shade during the summer heat, the pond is rather disgusting (don't go in it!). Some of the tee pads are difficult to locate but keep an eye out for the colored stumps or find a map. You shouldn't have a problem finding one of the many tee pads. There are vandals that hang out at this course but they stick close to the fire pit. Broken glass bottles are often found near the gathering area at hole one.
Other Thoughts: The local club is very active at The Mounds, donating their time and equipment to keeping up with mother nature. Hard work, money, blood, and sweat go into maintaining this course with not a lot of help from the city (they mow). That being said, the city has limited us in what we can do here, dragging their feet when we mention cement tee pads at meetings, preventing us from cutting trees (dead or standing), and letting the grass grow past a playable length, deterring play. It is frustrating at times but we do all we can and talk has heated up about finally getting some cement in the ground!

In the spring, look out for one of the most insane unsanctioned disc golf tourneys you will ever play, the annual Chuck Norris Roundhouse Kick to the Face-Off. Four or more hours of massive bombs, miniature disc golf, mando tomahawks, hanging baskets, sunken baskets, and very creative holes that uses the entire course property.

Don't go into the water at the pond or you will regret it. Don't retrieve discs thrown over the ORNL fence at hole 13, they will throw it back over. See Knoxville Disc Golf Lost and Found or IVDGA site on Facebook if you have lost a disc.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  My favorite course thus far

2-4    2/29/2016   3/8/2016
Review By: Rissa019
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Very peaceful, gorgeous landscape
-Perfect split of wooded holes and open ones
-Variation from normal courses in the "mounds"
-Very open, large course
-18 holes "The Mounds", plus 7 wooded ones "The Woods" that just had tee signs added
Cons: A little muddy in spots. That is with any course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open!

2-4    7/19/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: Dickie B
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery.
Well manicured fairways.
I think this used to be a ball golf course which would explain its lay.
One hole, I can't remember which one, the tee box is on top of a 30 ft mound. You get to really huk one from here and watching a disc in flight across this course is a pretty awesome thing.
Another hole that plays across a creek has a blackberry patch that was so loaded, we just stopped and basically had lunch. I know, I know, "careful what you eat from the land in Oak Ridge", but I'm okay, so I think it's safe to eat the black berries :)
A challenge that requires all the shots and discs in your bag as well as all the finess and power in your arm!
The course is easy to find.
Cons: Unless you have someone with you that has played the course a few times, you might need a map.
Need more trash cans. There were a few tee boxes that had left-over containers.
Need concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I only get to play this course when I visit Knoxville, my home town. Unfortunately, this only happens a few times a year,
Be prepared to walk on this course. It is a long one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/26/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: BTPdiscgolfer75
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: -Long Holes
-Good baskets
-Beautiful scenery
-True mix of all shots
-Challenging
-Downhill and uphill shots
Cons: -Poorly marked, played with a friend who had played multiple times and still got confused on where the next tee box is.
-The wooded shot is a total chance shot, since they changed the tee location.
-Toxic sludge but seriously if a disc goes in the water might as well leave it and buy a new one.
Other Thoughts: It would have been an awesome experience if it was well marked but the poor marking made it very frustrating. Takes a while to play which was fun, but you definitely need a couple hours to play the entire course.

 Open with 4 Tee Choices

2-4    3/31/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: Gibbsinator
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 Front holes. 9 Back. Skill can help you choose your tee off color, and move up in the future. Signage is pretty good. Open course with many good Tee offs.
Cons: Can be Muddy in many spots. Dirt Tee Pads. Water Hazard on 10 is the entire hole.
Other Thoughts: The 4 Tee pads make playing scale-able and easier to hit par. Check out maps before going. Great park for Oak Ridgers. Worth trying for other areas.

http://www.ci.oak-ridge.tn.us..._brochure.pdf

http://www.knoxdiscgolf.org/i...moundsmap.jpg

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a work in progress

5+    2/1/2013   2/9/2013
Review By: Impssble
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of distances to throw from on each hole, the challenges are finding them. Usually having one or two clear Tee's marked. It is the biggest course I know of with 27 holes. 9 are in the woods near the pond. The entrance being at basket 8. Which is just awesome, but not marked very well, I am sure due to finances. There are plenty of restaurants near by to grab a bite to eat before or after the game.
Cons: You really need to go with someone who has thrown here before if you have not played it yet.
Course gets muddy due to terrain layout and the Tee's are mostly dirt so if it's rained for a day you might want to wait on this course till it dries out. It's a golf course, easy to lose some discs if you are an aggressive thrower like me, but that's part of the fun. I don't think one can complain about high grass and foliage, this is disk golf. :-)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.