Murfreesboro, TN 
Barfield Crescent Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #18
4 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Wheelchair Roll-out

1    9/3/2018   10/25/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.453 Rating) A well executed city park course with an even mix of heavily wooded and open holes. 9 holes of which are wheelchair accessible.
- RAW BEAUTY - The wooded portion of this course is just plain gorgeous. I wasn't planning on snapping photos as this course is well documented, buy my gosh. Holes (4), (6), (16) and (17) are stunning, and a few others are also near that description. This course would be right up there with the best looking courses in Nashville if it wasn't for all the open well manicured holes lagging it down a touch. Don't get me wrong, the open holes are nice too, but they'd only score a touch above average in my book as wooded holes are just generally better looking in my opinion. Overall I scored the course a 3.5 for beauty, with the wooded portion at a 4.25 and the open portion a 2.75.
- CHALLENGING - I found the course to be Intermediate level difficult overall, but there are no doubt some Advanced level lines out here. Hole (12) must have been in an unmarked position, cause there was no way it was at the 320 foot listing. More like 430 feet and it felt like a par 4 with the basket tucked way back into a pocket. The back placement on (15) is a twisting 25 foot wide line for nearly 400 feet. A par 3 listing seems a bit harsh for everyone but the +950 rated players. On the difficultly flipside, the open portion of the layout has several generous par listings that will have Advanced players carding eagles every few rounds.
- UNIQUENESS - An excellent mix of tight technical holes and lightly wooded shots. I enjoyed the fact that this wasn't one of those courses that starts with 9 open holes and finishes with 9 wooded holes. The designer was wise to break up the mix a bit. Also, I admire the use of rock features and elevation. There are a couple par 4s and a couple water features as well. If I had to point out a missing feature it would be hole management. Only hole (12) requires a placed shot before running an approach to the basket. This is for the unmarked far basket placement only.
- NAVIGATION AND SIGNAGE - Not flawless but better than most courses with this type of terrain. Too start, there's a course map at the parking area. Other than getting a general idea of the flow from this map, it's too diagrammatic to be of much use. The tee signage is nice and it clearly defines the two layouts. Red numbers are for the full course and black numbers are for the open forgiving 9 hole layout. The typical big number placard is on top of the Mach baskets. The only two times I struggled between holes was the transition between (11) and (12) where I walked to (18), and also between (16) and (17). There are also pin placement markers at the tees, but its usage was in disarray on my appearance.
- TEES - Awesome tees on the open portion of the layout. 8 feet wide by 15 feet long. The number of courses I've played with larger tees is equal to one. Roy G in Austin. The size of the tees in the woods are adequate.
- CHARACTER - I could tell that this course is well cared for and it's appears to be getting a lot of financial support. Not my favorite style of basket, MachIIIs, but in immaculate condition. There are a lot of benches in the hilly portion of the course. There's a really cool tee backstop protection on (14). There's a practice basket near (1) and several alternate basket placements are in the woods. Shelters and restrooms are in the park. All stated, the most impressive thing I found, was that the 9 hole layout was built to be accessible for wheelchairs. Major props park's department.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This course should work for a wide swath of players considering the two layouts. I could see Beginners through lower end Recreational players enjoying the 9 hole layout and Upper end Recreational through Advanced players enjoying full course.

Cons: It's hard to find much of substance to complain about here.
- WATER HAZARDS - There are a couple of manmade ponds on (3) and (7). I could tell that player's may struggle to fish discs out of these waters as they were extremely murky on my play. The pond shoreline on (3) was littered with sticks as the pond well guards the basket placement. Despite the downside of the possibility of having fish a disc out, the ponds IMO make Barfield a better course compared to their omission.
- FORGIVENESS - I enjoyed the wooded half of the layout... for the most part. Unfortunately, a couple of these holes border on the line of fairness and one hole crosses it. Hole (13) is without question a poorly designed hole. I walked the line back forth twice and couldn't pick up a defined line en route to the basket. I'm sure players have parked this holes before, but its more luck than skill. There might be a 3 or 4 foot line in there somewhere, but that's it. (14) also has a weakly defined line, as well as (16) and (17). I have a feeling that (12) through (17) are rarely played bogey free.
- TERRAIN - As noted above, players can choose to skip the wooded portion of the course. Players that choose to play the whole thing are going to get eaten up a bit by the terrain. Lots of rocks and a few cut tree stumps to avoid. The walk between (16) and (17) requires a good 60 foot hike up in elevation grade. It's a good thing a bench was there waiting for me on (17) tee. Poison Ivy is also likely here, but I don't recall seeing any.
- LAYOUT FLOW - Using the two layouts in one format is going to cause some bottlenecks and group flow issues. Really though, a very minor issue.
- SPACING - The open portion of the layout has a few fairways that border each other without a buffer. I'd keep my head on a swivel if the course were full.
- TIME PLAY - Longer than I had expected as the woods portion will require a little search and recovering and extra shots. I spent 75 minutes on the course as a solo. Figure 2 1/2 hours in a foursome.

Other Thoughts: I've hit about half of the Nashville Metro courses as of this review and Barfield would be among one my favorites. Currently I have it behind only Cane Ridge, Cedar Hill and Seven Oaks, but I have yet to play notables Naval Hill and Sharp Springs. If I lived in the Murfreesboro's area, I would be on the course all the time. It has everything I personally want in a course as the longest holes out here will constantly have me reaching for my driving. I loved the even mix of wooded technical and open-ish park style. Most towns the size of Murfreesboro would be ecstatic to have a course this nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/24/2018   6/27/2018
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Barfield mixes some longer, open park style holes with low trees (gah, I miss Alabama pines) with woods holes about 50/50. There are some shot shaping considerations on the open holes, and some longer par 3s, plus some good should be 3s (which are not). Some of the woods holes offer really neat technical plays, with hard doglegs and straight tunnels, and there's a really beautiful fairway of pretty much solid rock on hole 5.

There is a nine-hole (mostly open) loop which runs close to a paved walking trail, which goes up to tees and baskets in an attempt to make the course accessible to the differently abled - I cannot state with certainty that this is effective, but I believe it could be.

Tees are concrete, and baskets are in sound condition. Tee signs indicate hole numbers for both full course and the accessible loop.
Cons: Two or three of the woods holes were just ridiculous, exceeding my pinball tolerance, and most were forgettable, aside from hole 5's stone fairway. Of the open holes, there were none at the 400'+ range, despite seeming opportunities to lengthen some; even the supposed par 4s topped out at 378 feet.

Tee signs are kinda unhelpful on showing hole shapes, especially in the woods; additionally, the sign for hole 12 was all kinds of wrong about the distance.

Visually fairly unappealing, except for a few spots in the woods; the evident artificial, angular landscaping on the front may be part of what I found so offputting.

Mach II baskets catch about as well as I do.
Other Thoughts: I do not consider this a con, given the intention, but concrete around the baskets chews putters.

I am told the Barfield Open layout adds some cool temp stuff. Cannot comment, having not seen it. I am also told that there's a store in the park which sells discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Am/black tees only.

1    8/9/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: RyKimDG
Played: 57  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.6 Years
Pros: Well marked. Beautiful park. Great for beginners or intermediate players. Landscaping maintenance was near perfect! The Wilderness Station gift shop had discs and accessories. The woman working there was delightfully friendly, in spite of a hand injury she was dealing with. Thank you dear!
Cons: I would have loved to have played the whole course, the Am/black 9 hole is almost perfectly flat and pretty open. We were on a road trip and had various considerations to bear in mind. Thats really the only con. I want to go back and play the wooded portion as well.
Other Thoughts: Great park! Great gift shop! Check it out.

 

5+    7/9/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: fidei defensor3
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained
-good signage
-trash cans located at almost every hole
-benches at every other hole
-good mix of open and wooded areas
-warm up hole located right by parking lot
-course begins and ends at the parking lot
-18 advanced holes and 9 beginner holes
Cons: -some holes have very dense trees
-holes don't have clear paths to next hole
-water hazards eat plastic
-crowded most of the time
-hole 16 and 17 are the exact same with a hike in between
-some tee offs are very small
-pea field
Other Thoughts: for some reason the park has decided to grow peas in the middle of the course and you lose plastics in there for about 30 minutes each time

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A True review: no whining here!

5+    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: The Uncle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Holes with a Front 9 beginners option and a Practice Putting green.
Benches, trash barrels, and signage with very accurate hole info and pin placement at every tee pad.
50/50 mix of open and wooded holes.
Dual purpose paved walking path set up for handicap access to front 9 from pad to pin.
With the tourneys and monthly's' held on a regular basis by MTDGA (local club) the course is decently maintained by them on top of the already constant upkeep of the City Parks Department.
Parking, restrooms, and water fountains are available in the park.
Park Wilderness center has a small "Pro" shop with a variety of Innova discs available for purchase.
Cons: Most of the cons I list are agreed upon across the board so I will list them but follow up with my after thoughts:
50/50 open to wooded ratio is good but not split up enough.
From the pin at #15 to the pin at #17 there is a very bad flaw in the design. Most people don't include the long walk to the #16 tee pad in this complaint but that's where it starts. Then of course the uphill walk to the #17 tee pad to throw virtually the same hole as #16.
Not enough variety or shot selection.
Aside from basic obstacles that don't usually come into play allot of the holes are just straight shots with varying distances.
The handicap access more often than not is a plastic eater.
My #1 con: The little (a lot of times grown men) gremlins that swim in the 2 water hazards at #3 and #7 for your lost plastic while you are in the middle of a round. Keep an eye open I have good aim!!
Lastly, the back 9 has a trash issue and its mostly after monthly's I noticed.
Other Thoughts: Even though I haven't dealt with them, it seems MTDGA does a decent job of getting info out regarding events and tourneys. Back to the cons I have listed, Just be happy to have a course to play at that is free. The idea is too promote the sport of disc golf. We are lucky to have it here in MT.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Training Wheels

5+    8/20/2012   1/12/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place for beginners to get their feet wet, pun intended! The openness of the course will draw out the big arms. A good portion of the course is tightly wooded up & downhill so get ready to pull out that Roc or favorite midrange too. A wilderness station (accessible by car) sells factory 2nds & an assortment of discs. The course provides a neat, well kept place for beginners to do well w/o getting too frustrated & seasoned players will show off. Many rest spots, benches & privacy holes allow for leisurely play.
Cons: The course goes from too open to too tight for my liking. There's no in between or transitioning. The wooded holes are thick & tight with nicked up trees, and it'd be prudent if they took out some to give the holes a theme. The open holes are too open & flat. Paved concrete & sidewalks around each basket will rip up your discs if the rocks in the woods don't, and you may get pissed when your park job skips from under the basket into the road scuffed to hell.
Other Thoughts: The course is a work in progress. Trees are being added on the open holes. Don't be a pansy by going by the (although clear) outdated signage designating many of these open 400ft holes par 4. The Annual Barfield Crescent Open offers an awesome temp course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Barfield

5+    4/3/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: tyler90wm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course

Decent variety of holes with a good mix of wooded and open holes

Great signage / not too confusing to find your way through the course

Throughout my years of going here they are constantly makes changes to the course for the better

There are paved walkways that mark OBs

Great course for both new and experienced players
Cons: The baskets have a circle of concrete around the baskets which can cause a drive that would have been parked to skip away

The course can be a little bit crowded during the weekends or after work during the weekdays. Due to the amount of people, there are a lot of players who don't know common disc golf etiquette; I've had many people who will still start to throw before I've finished.

A couple of the wooded holes have absolutely no fairway at all.

The walk-up to hole 17 (man that is tiring)
Other Thoughts: Barfield Crescent is definitely a course that can offer some fun for all players, regardless of experience. I would recommend to anyone who was in the area; there are a lot of ace opportunities out there as well.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Exciting for new comers and pro's

5+    3/24/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: TNDiscGolfer
Played: 54  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are paved walkways to each of the front 9 (with exception of 2 I believe that go to the woods) and even paved all the way up to the chains itself. Nice transition from the open holes to the wooded holes, pretty much wide open on front 9 and all wooded on back 9 (few exceptions). The course is located in a beautiful park with baseball park, kid play areas, covered picnic areas, etc.The tee signs are nice and is pretty informative with which holes are front 9 and back 9. For the most part its easy to find the next hole (only big exception is #16 to #17) The tee boxes are very also nice. The course is located a few miles off the highway and there are plenty of places to grab some food with a good variety. The nature center in the back of the park has discs and bags for sale at a good price.
Cons: The weekends are pretty much always crowded during spring and summer months so kind of a bummer when you pull up and see a full parking lot. Expect to wait a few minutes each hole if this is the case. Some of the wooded holes are way too tight in some areas and seem impossible but definitely not just frustrating for the new comer or newbie to the game. Trust me I know the locals "secret" lines and I still hit hardwood on a regular basis. This place is crazy infested with bee's in bushes and tree's on the open holes during warm months. Some bushes that are real bad with bee's are right beside tees and also in fairways and beside chains where your disc may land so this will frustrate you. Walk from 16 to 17 to me and many people is very pointless. You end 16 just to walk right up a killer hill/mini-mountain to 17 just to throw back down. I will say both holes are nice just will wear you out. Luckily its the end of the course but if you play more than 1 round expect to be tired. Some of the tee's could be a tad longer and when they get wet man are they slippery. People sometimes hangout and picnic to the left of #18's fairway mainly because there is a kiddie area about 150-200 feet left of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Have spotted several small snakes but that's expected in woods. And newbies will hate water holes on #3 and #7 but #7 has a optional hole with no water. If you decide to play it bring your float-able discs or get ready to go diving in dirty brown water. Overall not a bad course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 2 for 1!

1    12/18/2011   12/19/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 74  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course plays through a nice park setting and has a mix of open and wooded holes. (50% wooded & 50% open). The course, for the most part flows quite nicely and loops back for 9 or 18 holes. The 9 hole loop is all open and has paved pathways all the way up to the basket making this the first wheelchair accessible course that I have played. The 18 hole loop breaks off of the 9 in various spots and enters the woods.

Baskets show a bit of weathering but nothing that is out of the ordinary. All are cemented firmly in the ground and none are jankety. Concrete tee pads are all quite large with the exception of a few smaller ones in the woods.

Tee signs are spectacular and show the hole number for the easy 9 and the advanced 18 on each sign. They show obstacles nicely including trees and water hazards where applicable. Benches were available every 2-3 holes and trash cans were plentiful as well. Course was extremely clean, fairways well defended, either by trees or paths and the locals were friendly as well.

Elevation mainly comes into play in the wooded holes but number 9/18 is one of the best uses. 370' downhill wide open. Wooded holes have a strong emphasis on accuracy over distance with some holes forcing you to be very meticulous with your shot placement. Also, the wooded holes play on top of large flat rocks which is a nice feature that is not found on every course. Straight, open, wooded, hyzer and anhyzer shots are all needed to excel on this course.

Water comes into play on 2 holes and are fair. Hole 3Easy/3Advanced has a small pond right before the well defined green forcing a layup or go for it approach off the tee. Hole 7 Advanced has a tee shot over a small pond. Not too large, maybe 70' to the far edge, but just knowing it is there is enough to throw someone off.

This is a large multi use park and there are many other things to do here with playgrounds, ball fields, pavilions, rest rooms, drinking fountains and appear to be dog friendly. Easy directions with signs to Barfield Park from a few miles away really helped and within the park, signs for disc golf were easy to spot. The parking lot was large and could accommodate maybe 20+ cars. With other lots around as well, shortage of parking should be no issue.
Cons: There is not much that is bad about this course that I can say but there are two things that stick out in my mind.

1. From 16's pin, you have to walk back up the hill you just threw down to get to 17's tee pad. I did not see a direct route so we ended walking up 17's fairway, just to throw down it again. Seems like an easy fix would be for arrows nailed to the trees to direct you to the next pin.

2. There were a few holes that were too wooded for my liking. I enjoy playing on wooded courses but some were just too much. Only 2-3 holes were like this so it was not a huge deal but a few holes could be trimmed up and still have a nice wooded course.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I would love to play again. Only 5 minutes off the highway, it was a good stopping point during a small road trip to stretch for a few hours. Not much variety is offered for restaurants except for asian food. A bit more offered on the other side of the highway.

If you do not like my review, let me know why before rating.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  My home course

5+    10/3/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Icculus
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This a pretty good course for beginners and more experienced players. It is extremely easy to navigate after a quick look over the map. The entire course pretty much makes a big M.
-There are concrete paths between all the holes on the front 9 which make it wheelchair friendly and clearly defines OB.
-The fairways are maintained weekly and the woods aren't too bad.
-There are two restroom facilities near the parking lot and a water pump by the pavilion. ---Every hole has excellent signage, a trashcan, and usually a bench.
-The course offers a wide variety of shots from long, straight and wide open to short, dog leg shots with a low ceiling.
-Most of the wooded holes have multiple pin placements.
-MTDGA, the local club, is very active at this course and Sharp Springs (north) and has either singles or doubles matches going every weekend.
Cons: -Everyone says the water trap on hole #3 is terrible but as long as you lay up it shouldn't be a problem. The real problem with three is the lack of space around the pin for going straight for it. If you go short you're in the water and if you go long or right you're in the woods. The water trap on hole #7 is about 30ft in front of the tee and the overhanging trees tend to toss your discs in the water if you don't get through the gap just right. Not much of a problem for experienced players but beginners usually skip this one or throw from the left of the pond.
-The concrete around the pins is nice and all but has chewed into many of my discs and makes a good shot skip right past the basket. -Some of the holes have ridiculous lines for rhbh players so having a decent forehand drive helps.
-Tee pads are super slick when wet.
-The pins don't get changed to the alternate placement often enough.
-There is a bit of a hike back up the hill from 16 to 17 but you are rewarded with a nice bench and a fun hole.
-The only downside to the course being located in a rather crowded park is that people will picnic or throw football in the middle of #18's fairway. If it's a couple of ignorant teenagers just yell heads up but sometimes parents will let their children run around out there.

Other Thoughts: This has proven to be a good home course for me due to the wide variety of shots and a good local club. This is by no means my favorite course in the area but is one you should try if you're in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.