Estes Park, CO 
YMCA of the Rockies Share
Uploaded By: johnkirch Hole #4 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Holy slang in Estes Park

5+    7/5/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: MarkDuper85
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: You're in the Rockies, so.......
Cons: Tee boxes are rugged. Hole one is nearly 3/4 mile from 18.
Other Thoughts: Once you figured out where to start and where you finish, park your vehicle in front of the RAINBOW building lot. This is the closest place to park by 18, so you arrive, walk or jog to 1 getting a little stretched and loose, you will love your parking spot when you complete this hike. So awesome dudes

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Back Nine Is Better But The Rockies Are Impressive!

1    7/3/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays on this giant YMCA complex. This not the YMCA you're thinking about back home! This is one gigantic complex with probably 100 buildings and multitudes of activities going on at all hours during the summer. Then you surround the whole area with the towering, craggy Rocky Mountains and the whole experience is pretty amazing. The scenery really is breathtakingly beautiful.

I really like this course starting with hole # 9. The back nine feature some interesting basket placements, more challenging terrain to play on and is generally more fun. The baskets are great although a little hard to spot on the front nine even with the yellow rims. The signs have just the basic information, nothing too impressive.
I thought # 9 was a fun little throw, about 241' downhill to a basket hidden just behind a small pine tree. It's an ACE run but you gotta have the touch. The back nine features some tricky shot placements through the pines, down the canyons and is generally a lot longer than the front nine.
Cons: Navigation is a little nightmarish. The first tee is difficult to find. The second nine is tricky to navigate. The tee pads could definitely use some work. They're natural. Some are fine but a few are rutted and rough. I thought the first eight holes were a little boring and all seemed a little too similar. All were about the same distance, straight with a few pine trees for obstacles.
And # 18 finishes clear on the other side of the complex from where you started.
Other Thoughts: I'd love to see them put in some concrete patio blocks for tee pads. That would be a simple little way to really spice this course up. It's the only course around and seems to get quite a bit of play. There's some good challenge here. The scenery is second to none. I recommend you try if you're in the area. I also recommend you visit Rocky Mountain National Park while you at it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awsome course

2-4    6/13/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: zowynn12
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: The view is absolutly beautiful and there is a very nice up kept forest. the holes arent very far away and also very clear to see
Cons: some of the holes do get confusing but still can be found in minutes can be a long walk
Other Thoughts: this course will take your breathe away not only for how stunning the course is but also the view and the altitude GO FROLF!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/21/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: dselimovic
Played: 140  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The scenery is amazing.
There are 18 holes, the back 9 gets challenging.
You could get a chance to play by wild game.
The baskets are in great shape.
The park and area is very clean.
Cons: The tees could use some work.
Easy to get confused without a map.
The markings from hole to hole aren't clear.
Could of exposed the course to more dangers that the nature allows for.
Other Thoughts: If there was clear signs from when you enter the park to the start of the course that would be very friendly and convenient for players just stopping by on their vacations. Some of the hole markings could be fixed or replaced but otherwise the park and the scenery was well worth the small detour to play in the middle of the Rocky Mountains.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't let the front 9 fool you

1    8/8/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an absolutely beautiful course in the mountains. 1 through 9 are all shorter holes offering what I would caution is a warmup to the back 9. The front lodge offers a map and not many will make the trip up to this more secluded area on any given day so traffic is rarely a problem.
Cons: a few holes criss cross and the pins in the back 9 are hard to find without a map (they are available). Don't fool yourself, this is a mountain course the back 9 are up and down the hills and on harsher terrain (wear hiking shoes if possible). For a 700 long hole 18 really doesn't take you back to anywhere near 1. There is a looooooooong walk from the end back to your car if you parked near to 1.
Other Thoughts: Come prepared for the mountain disc golf course experience. This means good shoes, WATER, and a camera. There is a lot of good scenery in the area which may include some of the local wildlife (We saw a mountain goat at about 50 yards). If you've never played a full mountain course before this is a great course to start with to get your bearings for what they can offer.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Spectacular

2-4    8/4/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: marteh
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous views of the Rockies and a very challenging back nine. The front nine, while fairly short, has a number of trees to work around and is a good warm- up for the back nine. Not heavily played and not a lot of other activities close to the course unless you go way off line near the roads.
Cons: The tee boxes are a challenge- footing is uneven and some fair erosion problems, but you could usually throw from slightly to the side of the box and get good footing. The posted pars and distances don't match up to the ones on this review. The thistles on #18 are pretty thick and prickly - wear more than ankle socks!
Other Thoughts: Be SURE to get a course map- and it still has a few tricky holes to find. A LONG uphill walk to the parking lot, but overall a great mountain golf experience.
Another thing that proved handy for us - a telescoping golf ball retriever. We got a disc caught 25 feet up a thick evergreen and were able to climb partway up and knock it out with the retriever.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Retarded Monkey

2-4    7/7/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: myaccounts420
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great views in all directions, and if your like me and focused on the course you could forget to step back and enjoy them.

I played the course twice with a buddy of mine, we figured since we drove all the way up there, lets make a day of it so we ate a small lunch after the first round of 18 and played again.

We saw maybe 8 other disc golfers on the whole course throughout the 5 hours we spent up there and at no point we were waiting on anyone or had anyone waiting on us.
Cons: Tee boxes definitely need some help, but for the most part didn't have any issues.

The first hole was difficult to find (mainly because it was our first time there and we didn't know our way around the HUGE YMCA complex) however after that a blind and retarded monkey could find his way around. I don't understand why others are saying the course is hard to navigate, most all tee boxes are visible from the previous basket except for 14, We actually had a guy ask us where the back 9 started because he couldn't find it, no joke the 10th tee box and basket are visible from the 7th basket and all of the 8th and 9th holes.
Other Thoughts: I would actually rate this course a 3.75 if that was an option. Also this course played as a par 61 not 54 or 57 like this website says, the front 9 is all par 3's and the back nine has 7 pars 4's

The measurement seemed to be a bit off on the 10th hole but it makes for several birdie opportunities on the back 9.

Long course made for a great workout as you are in the mountains and dealing with elevation change.

Bring good shoes its a bit rugged which should be expected on a mountain course.

The only other thing is that the 18th basket is a good 10 minute walk back to the car (if you parked near 1) I understand that this is not ideal, however I cant believe how many reviews I've read here and people are complaining about walking back to the car. Walking is good exercise and if you don't like to walk you probably shouldn't be playing disc golf.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 High altitude, Nice views

1    5/13/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course with gorgeous views of Rocky Mountain National Park. This is a long course, and you are more than likely not going to see any other disc players throughout the entire day. This is an 18 hole mountain course with minimal elevation drops/gains. The course does provide a quality amount of trees and obstacles on every hole. The course also provides users with a map, which is necessary to find your way around. This course has a wide variety in the distance-range of shots and many long holes, but does not require too many technical shots. Almost all of the technical aspects of the course come from trees which are random placed throughout a straight fairway. Certainly a couple hole in one opportunities.
Cons: DO NOT EVEN ATTEMPT THIS COURSE WITHOUT THE MAP!! Even with the map, my friend and I had a very hard time navigating the course. It weaves through a summer camp and has a very unintuitive setup. The course also ends about as far as one could get from their car (and hole one) and requires a 10 minute walk back to the car. The only real issue with the holes is that almost every hole was a straight shot. Instead of having fairways requiring certain skills, fairways were straight and simply had trees in the way to create the variety of shots. This got boring after a bit, as the back 9 (besides 16) requires the same exact long and straight shot.
Other Thoughts: A great course to get out there and play if you're in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 YMCA of The Rockies

1    5/13/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: discmoe.
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Colorado scenery. Lots of trees makes for tough shots/decisions. Back 9 are very long and challenging (lots of 400+ foot baskets). All tee boxes have the hole number and par for that particular hole (except 18).
Cons: Very poorly marked; it is imperative that you go to the check-in desk and get a map. With the map the course was tough to navigate, without it it'd be nearly impossible. Some of the dirt tee-boxes were dug out and odd shaped, but it wasn't too big of an issue.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play, although I was a bit let down by the lack of creativity on a lot of the holes. Virtually every hole except 15 or 16 was a straight shot from the tee with trees in the way to make for a more difficult shot. Glad we decided to go, but this was my least favorite of Colorado's "Mountain Courses"

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: starmace
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Spectacular views playing through a fairly challenging course. This course has actual lines for the golfer to analyze and conquer. Elevation changes make for a fun round.
Cons: Both times on the course the wind has been a factor. Fairly confusing navigating around between certain holes. The last hole ends about as far away from your car as possible.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.