Labolt, SD 
LaBolt Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiSCRoCKeR Hole #4 (Taken 6/2011)
5 / 368ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Stop if in the Area

1    4/17/2017   4/29/2017
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 80  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -In general the land out here is a fairly nice/scenic stretch of land. -There is a park with a porto potty and a few other camping amenities.
-There are some short holes and a couple longer holes allowing you to open it up a bit.
-Great basket on #8 overlooking the dam between a window of woods. Definitely the most memorable basket location of the course.
-Very scenic walk around the lake, elevated approximately 100 feet above it but feeling like you are walking the shores. Steep drop down if you trip or a disc goes rolling off the side, may as well kiss it goodbye unless its one of your favorites you may pull out the climbing gear to go get it.
Cons: On some of the open holes this course does a great job of surrounding the lake, requiring you to throw along side it with a great view. However, this is a park with a trail going through some great woods.....This course utilizes almost none of that land for disc. Instead, they have you walk quarter miles to the next hole which simply has you at best throwing out of the woods, not through it. I was very disappointed with this as i love technical woods holes and there were at least 2 spots on this course that if they would have thrown in 2 solid woods holes, this could have easily been one of the best 9 hole courses i have played. Instead of utilizing that land, they have 1 super short hole throwing into the woods...if i had anything less than a putter i could have pulled that out. The other hole is a slightly longer up hill shot which is a decent hole but really doesn't capture the park trails by the dam. Opportunity majorly missed on this course design.
-Hole 3 is a complete disappointment. Mega short straight shot that you picture 8 year old learners getting bored with. Once again, if they would have stretched that hole another 100 ft or so around the upper lake, requirign you to throw around the tree while being concerned about over throwing down the hill to the lake, this hole would have went from terrible to a solid hole.
Other Thoughts: I summation, if in the area stop by and play this course. I wouldn't drive much further than a half hour out of my way to play it again. It was worth a throw just to know what it was but although i drive from mn to watertown SD alot and pass 10 miles south of the course every time, I don't see myself making the effort to go here much if at all anymore. Throw it once for sure, but don't expect to be blown away as much as you will be disappointed by missed opportunities on sweet hole designs. The park may have had some requirements but its enough to bum a guy out that like what he was seeing in the woods.. and had to walk through but not throw.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly Surprised

1    7/2/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 365  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice views of the lake.
+Map at start of course.
+Good elevation usage, hole 2 really comes to mind as you throw straight up a hill.
+Good mix of long holes and a few short ace chances in there too.
+Long walks; usually a con for me but these ones were enjoyable and intentional it seemed. Through the woods, along a stream.
+Shouldn't be overly busy, ever. Is located outside a town of 300 in rural SD.
+Nice baskets
+Course isn't all that wooded but there are nice trees here and there. The main obstacles are the long grass rough.
Cons: -Improved tees would be nice, they are just gravel.
-Can be very windy in SD and too much wind can ruin a disc golf round.
-This town is really out of the way, I was passing within 20ish miles so I stopped, I would say it was worth it though.
-Could maybe lose a disc in the rough.
Other Thoughts: If this course was 18 holes it would have been at least half disc better rating. One of my favorite 9 hole courses played to date. It is a pay to play course with an honors system donation at the start.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Small Town Gem

1    6/16/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 138  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 17.4 Years
Pros: Very fun and technical course located in a tiny South Dakota town. This course has just about everything. Tight wooded holes, some good elevation change, and a couple of bomb holes. This course really puts a demand on accuracy as a bad throw could put your disc in the lake or buried in some dense foliage in the woods. This course has a good flow to it and a course map posted at hole 1 really helps with the navigation. The park is well maintained and offers restrooms, camping, walking trails, a playground, and a small lake. I had a very good time playing this course and was suprised at how well it was designed being located in such a small town. If you are ever traveling through SD on I-29 it is well worth the 20 mile detour off the interstate to check out this course, you won't be disappointed.
Cons: No cement tees and only 1 tee and pin placement per hole. There are a few long walks between a couple of holes but the scenery makes up for it. Mosquitos a plenty during summer, so bring bug spray. Slightly difficult to find the course first time around, but as long as you have the directions off of this site and a road map to find LaBolt then you should be alright.
Other Thoughts: With the addition of cement tees and multiple tee and pin placements this course would be a 4 rating for sure. There is also plenty of room for some added holes as well, especially on the long paths between a couple of the holes. There is a $3 donation box at the first hole so be sure to donate! all of the money is put back in to the course for improvements.

 great course

1    3/28/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: jimdrum2000
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its in a small town so i wouldn't think there would ever be a large number of people playing. Its a 40 min drive for me but worth it. LaBolt should be proud of the park and pond. well mowed and a challenge even for a pro.
Cons: its a city park and the gate was locked. after parking the car and walking down the path i relized why...the gravel road was pretty wet and soft. so if you go this time a year plan on a short walk and a bit of mud....still worth it...
Other Thoughts: Somewhat hard to find....not marked well. its on the west side of town and is in the city park...so look carefully...and make the drive...they ask for $3 per day to play. we paid it and it was worth it....

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: justindfpr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a well maintained out in the middle or what seems like nowhere. LaBolt is a small town and I didn't expect this course to be what it is. Every hole is fun. The scenery is great. Easy to figure out where you're going on some of the longer walks to the next tees. Quiet, fun, relaxing course to play. I'm giving this a 3.5 because for being only 9 holes it is worth the drive to avoid playing the course in Watertown.
Cons: The tees could use some work. A few of em weren't very level. But thats the problem you run into with natural tees. The long walks between some of the holes could be made into new holes. It's a small towns course so they don't really need an 18 hole course even though it would be rad.
Other Thoughts: I will never assume a small town course is going to be mediocre ever again. We couldn't even find the town, shoulda taken us half an hour to get there and it took us over an hour to find it. But it was well worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.