Concord, NC 
Vietnam Veterans Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #6
3 / 124ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Good niner, pay your respects when done

1    8/11/2018   2/21/2019
Review By: pmay5
Played: 159  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good baskets, large concrete tees and good tee signs.
Good mix of open, wooded and tight holes, you usually don't find this variety in a niner.
Nice, clean park with other things for the family, picnic shelter, Bball courts, Vball, large playground, pond and the Veterans memorial. Good restrooms on the way to #1.
Even has a good sized walking path that doesn't interfere with the course.
Used about the only elevation on the course pretty well, on #1,#2 and #7.
Cons: #4 and #5 were both very tight with thick rough and a steep stream on the other side. It was already wet the day I was there, so played these pretty conservatively.
Not a lot of turns in the holes, they are either wide open or straight. (#8 turns a little at the end.)
Other Thoughts: Really a quality 9 hole course that I was mostly impressed with. Some better players may come back here because of the chance to air it out and very little interference from non-DGers.
Probably will get some play from families, there for a picnic, but 4 and 5 have pretty high lost disc potential.
Starts out pretty good with 1 and 2 in moderate woods, first uphill, then downhill.
#3 is a wide open bomber hole, #6 is in the woods, but shorter and not as dense as the 2 before it.
#7 is wide open also, first up a hill, then down to the basket on the backside, out of sight from the tee. Fun hole.
#8 is back in the woods although not too dense, then #9 finishes wide open, straight at the Memorial.
I stopped to pay respects on my way out, nicely done Memorial.
Course would challenge most level of players, a nice variety practice round for advanced, and real challenge for lower levels.
It was nice they had this much land to use for the course, all of the holes are by themselves and away from other park users.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Vietnam Veterans Park

1    7/7/2018   7/8/2018
Review By: dndelli
Played: 53  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vietnam Veterans Park is a nice 9 hole course, but don't let its lack of a full 18 fool you into thinking that it's going to be your generic 9 hole pitch and putt golf course. With a decent balance between wooded and open, this course is likely to be a fun challenge for beginners and intermediate players. Three of the holes are wide open, three-to-four of the holes are wooded with somewhat forgiving fairways, and two of the holes are quite technical with narrow gaps to hit.

The course features nine large concrete tees and Innova Baskets, which is always nice. With tee signs that help you navigate the course, signs warning joggers to look out for flying discs, and fairways that seem like they receive some decent TLC, there is a lot to look forward to as you make your way to the course.

The park the course is located in has great amenities, including plenty of parking, restrooms, water fountains, and a scenic pond, it creates a great atmosphere before you even tee off at Hole 1.

Hole 3 is a great place to whip out your brand new piece of plastic and watch how it flies.
Cons: Finding the course is not as easy as I would have liked. Fortunately plenty of people have pointed out that you want to find the Magnolia Shelter and walk around the back of it so you can find the Tee for Hole 1.

While I enjoyed the variety of the hole design here, it did feel a bit jarring to move from one extreme to the other, and felt like the course was a little confused as to who it wanted to cater to. Hole 3 felt like a tweener hole, where it was a little long for a Par 3, but also short for a Par 4. Holes 4 & 5 are really technical, with tight, punishing gaps to hit that could discourage the beginners who are likely to visit this course regularly. Hole 6, was a nice ace run, but felt truly out of place on this course.

Going to mention the obligatory, "Only 9 holes." If this course was a full 18 hole course, with hole design of the rest of the course equal to or better than this, it would have a chance at being my favorite course in Cabbarus County.
Other Thoughts: I am going to rate Vietnam Vetarns Park at a 2.0 - I think its inability to figure out its target audience to be one of its biggest detractors. While I did not personally mind Holes 4 & 5, I can't shrug off others dislike for them. (Actually, I rather liked them, even if I played them a little safer than I usually would because a lot of rain had the creek flowing pretty heavy.)

Favorite Holes: 4, 8

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good, not great

5+    5/3/2017   5/4/2017
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 71  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice addition to this well used neighborhood park.

All 9 Holes have modest tee signs giving a basic layout of the hole, par info and distance, which is a nice touch for a "rec level" 9 hole course.

Of the 9 holes, there is a great variety of shots, a few narrow tunnel shots, a few wide open, and a few hyzer/anhyzer lines. Overall a nice mix which keeps it from feeling monotonous.

The course plays pretty fast, so if you're trying to sneak in another round before sunset, or just short on time, you should be able to breeze through this one.
Cons: A lack of maintenance/pride in this course makes it feel rough around the edges. It doesn't get much foot traffic like some of the other bigger Charlotte area courses, and I assume not much Club support, so the upkeep could be better.

The layout of the holes often conflicts with the popular walking trails around the park. You'll find yourself waiting for walkers/joggers to be clear before throwing. Potentially a safety concern, and somewhat annoying...But, a good thing I suppose that there are so many people out taking advantage of this park space.

Some of the holes are just boring... For the most part, there are some obstacles or shot shaping required, but there are several holes that are just wide open field shots. A few shots on an 18 hole course may not be terrible, but this many on a 9 hole course takes away from the potential here.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a decent 9 hole course if you're in the area. Potentially a good course for introducing a newer player to the game as there isn't a whole lot of challenge here.

With a bit more maintenance, this course could be significantly better.

I'll stop by and play this course if i'm in the area, but wouldn't go out of my way to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9 Holer

5+    2/23/2016   2/23/2016
Review By: BaileyBell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Perfect mixture of woods, open fields, cautious water shots, & easy birdies! This is a solid beginners or easy warm up for experienced players. Hole 1 and 2 are slightly wooded but open, Hole 3 is wide open par 4, 440. Hole 7 another wide open bomb, Hole 8 tight and slightly wooded. Hole 9 another open one.
Cons: Hole 4 pad is too far back from the woods you have to get into, Challenging for even a experienced player. Hole 5 is very tight and right next too running water, so for a beginners course like this it surprises me they'd add such a hole. Hole 6 is literally 87 feet. Nearly pointless if you ask me, They have the land to add more holes, lost on why they have such a short hole.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad warm up course, for more experienced players, a fun course for beginners, and would recommend if you're just trying to get a quick round in!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/5/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I stopped at this course because I had several times seen discs in the air while driving past on the freeway and finally had a little extra time to stop. I was pleasantly surprised at this niner. I had expected a completely open snorefest but found a nice mix of open and wooded holes that offered both chances to air out a drive and opportunities to thread a disc between two treelines.
This is really an excellent beginner course. While later holes are either open or wooded, we start out with two holes that are in between. Open holes with one or two narrow gaps each, they force straight throws, but aren't overly difficult. 3 and 7 are open bombs of 350 and 440 feet respectively. Nice chances to watch the flight of the disc. 5 and 8 are wooded but overly tight. They sport distances in the 200s and variety to the course. No thick underbrush, a new player will likely add strokes but not frustration to his round on these.
Overall the course provides a nice introduction to various aspects of the game and for nine holes, boasts incredible variety.
Cons: 4 and 6. There is so much space at the park and there are only nine holes. Does one of them(6) need to be 80 feet? Does one of them need to be them need to feature a weird layup to get to the mouth of the woods? Why couldn't the 4 tee be right at the opening to the woods? That first stretch exposes beginners to the only really nasty piece of shule on the course and must confuse them about where they are trying to throw.
Other Thoughts: For an experienced player, it isn't going to be memorable but it will be a quick round and the location is so accessible that it's tempting to stop and warm up for another course or just get a break during a long day of travel.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good utilization of land

2-4    8/28/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: sc2sick
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Made good use of the space
Variety of holes in and out of the woods
Made me focus on my lines and not on power
Cons: Hole 5 had a drop off to the right that I didn't see when I went for my drive.. yes I made a bad shot but had I known about the 6 food cliff type drop I'd have played it short and straight for safety.. while looking for my disc I came across a few sections of unmarked barbed wire.. not thrilled about that.
Other Thoughts: I lost my disc my first time playing on hole 5.. I ended up finding it when playing through another round later that day.. I'm not a fan of that barbed wire being there at all.. it should be dealt with for safety.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 Hole Loop

1    5/8/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 59  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well kept 9 hole course in the middle of a nice recreational park. As far as 9 hole courses go, I realy had a lot of fun here.

The course, though only 9 holes, actually asks for a lot of different shots. It is fun to see true variety, and even a deccent par 4, on a 9 hole loop. About half of the holes are straight away in long, wide open fields. The others are (mostly) well designed wooded tunnel shots that give ample opportunity for birdie but fairly punish a wayward throw.

Very nice concrete tee pads. Baskets are DISCatchers that appear well worn but in good shape.

Hole 4 is a great hole that starts off in an open field by the creek and cuts into the old oaks. The basket is in a really pretty clearing. It is a technically demanding but really fun hole.

The baskets in the trees are really nice. The brush and trees are trimmed perfectly to let light in and keep the area from looking cluttered.

This is a really nice park course. Tons of amenities, restroom facilities, vending, etc. and a lot of recreational area which would make this a great family park.
Cons: The obvious - only 9 holes.

Basket for hole 2 is a little bent.

Navigation to the course is a bit difficult as there really isn't any clear guidance to the course from the park entrance. Luckily one of the locals guided me. Go to the Magnolia pavilion and follow the path around it to the left. There you will find the kiosk/hole 1 tee.

I think 5 could be redesigned a bit. The fence/creek is really close to the basket and given the S shape of the hole, it is a very very difficult shot demanded off of that tee.

Hole 6 tee sign is missing and i walked straight past the tee because it was covered in a light coating of dirt.
Other Thoughts: For such a nice park it is a shame that this course hasn't been flushed out into a full 18 holer.

Overall this course isn't too friendly to RHFH or LHBH throwers.

Park itself is a nice reminder to thank the people that have sacrificed to let us live our lives the way we do. This town has dedicated a park to thanking our veterans, which is something we all do far too infrequently.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9 hole course

5+    6/3/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: Khilty
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good course to just run through and brush up, it offers a few long shots 3,7&9 and the rest of the course is in the woods. Good sinage easy to navigate. Ace hole on 6, easy ace if you throw right. Usually not crowded
Cons: No benches at tee pads, not a lot of variation. The jogging trail runs through the dg course and can sometimes be a factor.
Other Thoughts: Like the title says its a decent 9 hole course that plays well and you can run through it fast.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent little course

1    8/16/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 53  Reviewed: 40
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Within 5 minutes of I-85
- For being a beginner course, decent lengths on a majority of the holes. (It averages 294').
- Mix of open and wooded holes.
- Nice, clean park
- Decent signs (distance and next hole location - but park isn't that difficult to navigate).
Cons: - Some of the open holes are boring
- only 1 tee pad (so you can't turn into 18 different tee shots - although if you played it enough, I'm sure you could find/make "pro" pads).
- Minimal disc golf amenities (benches, etc).
- Some holes in close proximity to other park amenities.
- Times - park doesn't open early.
Other Thoughts: So - I wouldn't necessarily recommend this, BUT, *EDITED OUT*

I was itching to play, so I checked this course out. I had minimal expectations. There are so many other courses to choose from - definitely not a destination course. I liked holes 1, 5 and 8. I would have liked 4, except I was thinking "don't throw right, there's water, don't throw right" and guess where I threw my first shot (since I started play on 4). 7 and 9 are open field shots (boring, IMO). 3 at least has some distance for being an open field shot. Convenient enough to be a warm-up course (or to play it to mark it off the list). If I lived in one of the houses across the street, I would play it often. If I had beginners, I would recommend they try to course - otherwise check out other, better courses. Additional tees, and 9 "quality" holes would have gained another half point each. For what it was, it's reasonable.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good warm up course

1    6/3/2012   3/31/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners to learn the game of disc golf.
There is one ace hole.
Also, there's one big bomber hole over 400 ft.
Course is quick to play if you don't have much time.
Mix of wide open and wooded holes.
Course is easy to navigate.
Course is well maintained at all times.
Course is in a safe area.
Course has restrooms. Playgrounds, vending machines, and other amenities.
Cons: Joggers can get in the way at times.
Only 9 holes.
Not much of a variety of shots needed.
No elevation change.
Course can get muddy after rain.
Other Thoughts: If you live nearby, its a good course to play as a warm up or if you are short on time. One of the better 9 hole courses in the area. It's a step up from Dorton in my opinion. Course is most suited for RHBH players.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.