Rawlins, WY 
Deer Field DGC Share
Uploaded By: DerekTonn Hole #4 (Taken 7/2017)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Mid Flights at the Oasis

2-4    8/21/2017   8/31/2017
Review By: nightwing
Played: 166  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 9.4 Years
Pros: -Beautiful little grassy oasis with mature trees
-Some surprisingly challenging lines.
-Serves a huge area without other courses!
-Very fast 'sunset rounds'. But not pitch and putt.
-Easy to navigate and good use of available land.
Cons: -Deer poo and MANY park facilities on course.
-Can only do so much with the small park footprint.
-2 holes could cause some problems. See below.
Other Thoughts: Full Disclosure: As I did with 'Whistlestop' in Raton, I am giving this course a 1/2 point bump up for location. It is the ONLY course in south central Wyoming and so it serves us well just by being there.

Deer Field is your classic 'Park Course'. There are picnic, playground, and other features right ON the course. In reality, the course is right ON the local family park. The toughest drive throws right over the main picnic and gathering grounds and downhill totally blind. YIKES. Can you say lawsuit?

That said, for my 3 rounds on 2 visits I had no trouble at all throwing safely around a few locals out strolling. Do notice that a standard RHBH Hyzer on Hole 2 could easily land in someone's yard or even break a window.

There is parking right at the practice basket, near hole 1. The layout is tight and flows pretty well. On my 2nd visit I played the course in 27 minutes flat without rushing much and had time for several mulligans.

Tee-pads are a minimal mix of grass, dirt and sidewalk, but they work for the shots required. A big arm could bring a couple putters and mids. But there are some 325'+ holes.

The course is a nice compromise: very am friendly but just enough tricky lines to keep a pro interested. There are super easy par 4s that can be eagled and I would guess that shooting a 27 would be rated about 860 or so.

I have stopped twice now to play Deer Field and would stop again anytime I am stuck on this long stretch of I-80 that has little to see but this little peach of a course.

 Deer is right

2-4    4/7/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 365  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very long for park type disc golf course. Not many short holes.
-A good amount of trees to add some challenge. Some of them take a bit of thinking to craft your line.
-Some elevation changes which creates blind holes and even more variation.
-Tees are marked with number and distance.
-This course probably isn't going to be very crowded.
-Lots of other things to do here and good amenities: horseshoes, grills, garbages, benches, playground, shelter.
-The park appears to be upkept and the grass was already greening in April, good for Wyo.
-Easy to find off I-80.
Cons: -Deer poo everywhere, better than dog or human I guess
-Homemade or just plain old baskets. They are single chained and the bottom bucket seems to be especially big and tall. Putting wasn't the best on these.
-Lots of streets cut through the course and that makes the flow not as good and hard to follow, they couldn't have made this course as long and good without this. Not only do they cut through the course but some of them are quite close to pins. It would be easy to throw on the road and hit a car, moving or not.
-Tees are natural, they are fine but still, natural.
-Wyoming = wind.
-Hole 6's basket is right next to 7's tee boxes. This could be dangerous. I would move hole 7's tee box west to that corner of that area. It would improve both safety and hole 7.
Other Thoughts: Wyoming is sparsely populated, windy, and not too into disc golf. That makes the few courses that are there more valuable. This course has a quality layout and decent distance. The reasons that it didn't get a high rating are the wind, proximity to streets, and quality of baskets and tees. That being said, it is 98 miles to Laramie and over 100 to Rock Springs which are the next courses on I-80. I would recommend stopping here for a travel break. You won't be disappointed if you expect an average course.
-There is a course map on here and I would recommend looking it over a few times. I skipped 3 and 4 on my first time through this course. 5's tee box is close to 2's basket and I must have overlooked the number on the tee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 135  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good park course, has good signage and a course map by hole one. Good mix of easy to technical shots.
Cons: Plays through a playground so you need to watch out where you throw.
Other Thoughts: One of the better small city park courses if played. Its too bad its not a 18 hole.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The crown jewel of Rawlins!

5+    7/2/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: vanguard
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Grass. If you have ever been to Wyoming, you know how beautiful grass can be!!
-Well maintained course.
-Offers some technical holes due to elevation change, blind shots, wooded areas, length, or a combination of these.
Cons: -Rather short course.
-People [who are using the park for other reasons] like to congregate right in the way, and seem not to realize there are people playing disc golf (even after numerous whistles, yells, etc.)
-Can be rather tough to navigate your first time, so it would be best to spin this course with someone who can help you with the layout.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a public park, so there are often many people around for purposes other than frolfing. The Rawlins police department also likes to patrol this area heavily, but if you obey the rules they shouldn't give you any hype.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Deer! at Deer Field

1    6/5/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 14.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even without pinpoint directions it was still very easy to hop on and figure out the flow of the course. (I'll add more information to the directions....now) Deer Field is a very apt name! Many of the immature trees and bushes have some pretty hardcore fencing protecting them from being devoured by the wildlife. At one point I was able to throw about twenty feet from a deer who found the neighbors vegetation more interesting than my disc selection. Despite being a park course there is still some interesting terrain, gentle rolling hills throughout and a rocky hill with a star on top of it towering over the finishing holes. Tee locations are marked off well and the basket locations are set up for a slight challenge.
Cons: There were tons of people at the park when I played here and I was forced to adjust the layout to accommodate to the masses of people who I assume did not want to be thrown at. There are facilities if needed, but I cannot put my seal of approval on them. The course has a couple of street crossings and the street plays OB. Some of the baskets are only about ten feet from the street and nearby parked cars, for me this made it more fun but I think its just asking for trouble.

Some of the baskets are broken. The practice basket and a few others had broken welding points at the center contacts of the basket and the pole. This caused the broken baskets to be crooked or cockeyed, I found that they could be adjusted to sit straight for a moment, a little bit of TLC will take care of this. If I wasn't just traveling through, I would have gone to the hardware store and did a very quick fix myself. Someone local or with the parks needs to step up.
Other Thoughts: Between one and two this park has one of the most serious horseshoe pits I have ever seen, if this was a horseshoe pit review site it may be a destination place. The course is simply a shortish nine hole park course with deer. Considering how far away a player is to another course when playing here, its safe to say that its worth the stop.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Travel Break

7/14/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: macilsoul
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 30.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice grassy course with many tight shots between a variety of trees. Design and layout is relatively intuitive. Tee pads are grass or dirt and the baskets are good. Some elevation changes and a blind shot.
Cons: Seems I always find the sprinklers on at this course, although on this day it was refreshing. Relatively short course with some baskets that are tight to other park elements like picnic tables. No epic holes, just a good collection of nice holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to stop for a break when traveling across I-80. Bathrooms on site and plenty of shade.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.