Mesquite, TX 
DeBusk Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #5 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
On A Slow Decline

1    3/6/2018   6/1/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.703 Rating) A small footprint city park 9, not getting the love it probably once did.
- TEES - DeBusk Park starts off on the right foot. Large 6 foot by 12 foot concrete tees that are on every hole, except hole (8). Hole (8) tee I would assume use to have a tee, but it has been temporarily removed due to utility work. Who knows if the park will pour it back after the utility work is complete.
- CHAINS - Hooray for DISCatchers. A few were showing some rust, but I'd take a bit of rust over new baskets from a bunch of other brands.
- QUICK PLAY - I did my round in 35 minutes. It should have been quicker, but I didn't download the course map and I walked and threw hole (7) after finishing (2) by mistake. With a download of the course map, a first timer should have this one done in 30 minutes. Groups of four should be complete in 50 minutes.

Cons: This course needs some attention.
- MISSING SIGNAGE - The pictures of the tee signage on DGCR no longer exist on location. The only remnants are the yellow posts. Someone has sharpied a hole # on the posts. Hole (7) was mislabeled as (3) on my play, but I have corrected it with a sharpie of my own for future travelers. No course map on site either but the one online on DGCR is accurate as of spring 2018.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - At first glance on my arrival, I thought "How nice" only to start traversing the course and realize all the glaring eyesores. The creek is great and awful depending on where you stand. The creek is 20 feet wide and gouges 10 feet down into the landscape. At the base is a bunch of dirty sand, concrete chunks and gravel stones. There are concrete flood control structures in view. Trash is everywhere along the edges and the water looks polluted as well. In addition, on my play there was a 3 foot wide black rubber looking pipe strewn on the ground along the entire length of Hole (8) and (9).
- WATER HAZARDS - A legit water hazard on (2), (3), (7), (8) and (9). The creek level was fairly low, but from experience I know this is not the type of course to go throw right after a heavy rain.
- CHARACTER - Other than adequate baskets and nice tees, the course related extras and amenities are mostly absent. No multi tees, practice basket or alternate basket locations. Only one tee had seating and as mentioned above, no signage. There are however nice park related amenities, such as shelters, restrooms and picnic tables.
- UNIQUENESS - Well below average across all courses but just above average among 9 hole courses. As mentioned, there's a creek in play on many holes. It's the perfect size IMO, as its large enough to affect my game plan but small enough to reel in a disc with a retriever. There are a couple of moderately wooded plays but its generally lightly wooded or open. Elevation is minor. Maybe 10 feet of change on a couple holes. Holes (8) and (9) both play parallel along the sloping elevation of the creek's valley. All par 3s, but three holes play around 350 to 400 feet long.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - I'm not really sure who this course appeals too. Too small of footprint for skilled veterans and too much water for novice and beginning players.

Other Thoughts: What was once probably a very serviceable 9 holer, has now downgraded a bit due to signage, construction and pollution. If I lived in the neighborhood I might be here on a weekly basis, but I just can't image anyone else in the DWF area coming to play here more than once, and only if they are a serious course bagger.
- CHALLENGING - About average compared to 274 courses I've played as of this review. I have that the average difficulty of a course will have 900 rated players averaging 2 down over 18 holes. Thus at DeBusk, I think a 900 rated player will average 1 down.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A good entry level course

1    5/23/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 480  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads are super big and offer the player the proper run up. The course flows logically and rounds should play quickly here. There are directional arrows to assist your navigation. This is a nice beginner level course with a good mix of short and moderate length holes.
There is a nice bridge to assist in the crossing of the ditch/creek between 2 and 3. The course was well maintained and there were other amenities on both sides of the course.
Hole observations:
1-short with a low ceiling-ACE RUN FUN
2-moderate length and has a ditch on the right hand side to throw over with the basket on a bit of an island
3-moderate length with a grove of trees on the right hand side
4-basket is out in the open
5-uphill shot with moderate length and a few trees on the left hand side of the fairway upon approach
6-downhill shorter length shot
7-9 were basically the same shots being moderate in length and open with the ditch/creek on the right hand side of the fairway
Cons: Some of the walks between holes are a bit lengthy-see holes 2 to 3, and 7to 8, and 9 to the parking lot.
Grass was thick and needing a mowing on holes 8 and 9.
The hard pack can get slick around the baskets, possibly some wood chips might help with grip here.
The walking paths could come into play so be aware before you throw.
No signage-just poles with numbers on some. Looks like the signage has been stolen??
Some fairways, like 3 and 4, can hold water.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty good 9 hole course that has some fun shots and some moderate length. Its a good entry level course that will challenge new players and will give them a good look at birdies or possible an ACE on a few holes. Its not a technical course by any means so if you are looking for that you will have to move on down the road. It is however a decent park style 9 that most players will enjoy. If you are needing a warm up before you go to Paschall or you just want to get in a quick 9 then hit this one up.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great little 9 hole course

1    8/2/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: Withinoz
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the land available in a well maintained city park. Hole 1 gives an awesome 130ft Ace opportunity/ almost guaranteed birdie to boost your confidence before the complete change up on number 2's 400+ ft pin location!

Good tees and baskets all throughout. Great use of what terrain is available in the park.
Cons: Vandals have stolen all the tee signs. So it was a little confusing trying to find 3.

There is a great jungle gym, and wooden castle play area that will undoubtedly attract a lot of small children. One of the baskets, I believe it was 5, sits near the bathroom and I found myself a little worried about hitting kids as they kept running in and out of my field if view around the basket.

There is not a ton of challenge here. I finished -3 first time here. Although, there are plenty of courses nearby to make this a destination location.
Other Thoughts: Since Paschall Park is about 4 minutes away, you might as well play this course when you head into town to throw out at Paschall. I enjoyed it, as an additional destination on my Paschall trip.

There are another 3 courses within 15 minutes as well. So you shouldn't have any trouble getting your DG fill.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 DeBusk

1    8/16/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Len Averyt
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: Nice mix of open, woods and hills. Access is good and easy to get around on.
Cons: Tees are not marked well. 1&2 can get mixed up. 6 looks like 3 cause 3 is kind of hidden.
Other Thoughts: Porter, Pascal and debusk made a great day of disc golfing all in a short distance.

 

1    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 123  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 15.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete teepads. Nice maintained course and park. Grass kept cut during summer. Nice baskets. Restrooms on site. Course flows pretty well.
Cons: The only cons I really have about the course is little to no hole signage and the water hazard didn't really have much water.
Other Thoughts: Nice kept course would play again if in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good and Bad

5+    3/5/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 8/7/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole course
Park is kept clean
Bathrooms
Concrete Tees
Water Fountains

Cons: Course can get crowded with park goers making it unplayable and have actually seen people try to use baskets as BBQ's.

Open holes not much to avoid, straight forward.

Giant deep creek that runs through it eats new players lol.
Other Thoughts: This is a good fast 9 holes course that is kept nice and clean, on the weekends don't even think about playing it though park goers make a game impossible.

Hole 1 - Very short ace-able hole requiring a slight anhyzer to avoid a tree to the right of the tee.

Hole 2 - Huge open shot next to the creek that runs through the course and over a ditch, by far best hole of the course.

Hole 3 - Nice open shot with a drop off to the creek to the left and a big cluster of trees to the right near the basket. On a side note beware of picnickers, seems like a popular spot.

Hole 4 - More or less a open straight shot with one big tree to the right that will block most hyzers.

Hole 5 - Just a big open field throw, careful of kids playing in the park though, they tend to play around this basket a lot.

Hole 6 - This is a cool hole, the tee is at the top of a hill that give you tons of free glide for a good ace run at the basket.

Hole 7 - Big open straight shot with creek on the right of you.

Hole 8 - Big open straight shot with the basket a little bit to the left on a hill, creek runs along the right side.

Hole 9 - Same as 8, big straight open shot.

Cool course, if you are in the area stop by and play around its worth the time! And when you are done here Paschall is right down the road.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a try

2-4    12/20/2011   2/7/2012
Review By: texassidearm
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained park/course. Offers decent variety of hole distance with hardly any trees. Seems to play more favorable for right-handed backhanders.
Cons: The course mostly meanders along a giant canyon of a creek in the middle of the park which was busy with players retreiving their discs both times I played. Not real challenging in terms of hole creativity as it lacks the occasional enjoyed obstacle that trees sometimes create.
Other Thoughts: Located within a few miles of 3 or 4 other nice courses, so if you want to make a day of playing DG at different places... definitely include this one!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I wish all courses were this nice

1    10/20/2011   10/20/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 34  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is extremely nice, and although only 9 holes, the layout makes use of the available space well. Holes are short but fun, which makes for quick, enjoyable play. Bathrooms at both ends of the park and plenty of pavilion space and playground if you wanted to bring the whole family. It's also right off the freeway so it's a convenient stop.
Cons: There were no signs. The layout is simple enough to learn after one play through, but mistaking 7 for 3 would be pretty easy to do for first timers. At least a course map online would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Additional footbridges after 7 and 9 would be nice, but the sidewalk along the roads are easily accessible.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice easy play.

2-4    7/12/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: pfluegel
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee pads are great, grounds are great, nice markers, beautiful park,
Cons: Hole one. Pretty much the whole thing. The pad is 90% covered in dirt and is an easy birdie. I had a couple of rollers that got me in trouble. I was able to recover all disc but it did slow us way down.
Other Thoughts: Great park near by so bring the family! We usually just play this twice to make our 18, hole 3 is a perfect example of what a hole should be.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All around good.

1    2/15/2011   2/15/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: overall a nice 9 hole course... see my complete review in the other thoughts box. Easy layout to follow. Nice tee pads. clean park.
Cons: Tee and hole optons might be nice.
Other Thoughts: This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth disc for a total of 10, disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat... even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

DeBusk park, Mesquite, TX

1. Yes. Good tee pads.
2. Yes. Good signage on posts. No main map. Next tee indicators on baskets. Easy to navigate course. Transition from 2 to 3 was easy to mess up... went to pad for 6, but was corrected fast
3. No. Park amenities are good, but course specific amenities are absent.
4. Yes. Overall nice clean park. Benches, BBQ grills, playground equipment, bathrooms, water fountain.
5. Yes. Quite well done here. Nice use of the creek and tree areas. All water plays on the right ('cept 3 but water is quite far left) which is ideal for classic RHBH throwers. I get the water willies easy and this course's water was not intimidating.
6. Yes. Existing elevation and terrain is incorporated well into course layout.
7. Yes. Some longer, some shorter. No real "big arm" stuff here, but a good mix is offered.
8. No. No tee or basket choices are offered.
9. Yes. I would designate #2 as a signature hole here... it has it all. Water, elevation, lay-up options, overall view of the park. Just a nicely done DG hole.
10. Yes. I had fun. This was my first course of the day and was a nice way to kick off a 3 course day
11.
Rating = 8 yes, 2 no = 4 disc rating

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.