Great Meadows, NJ 
Fields of Dreams DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Better than the reviews

1    8/6/2017   8/6/2017
Review By: Scotty346
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of hole length and elevation change. Some wide open bomber holes and some short holes with tree laden fairways. Quite a few unique holes I've never encountered on a course. Many of the reviews state overgrown fairways and poor tees and I was pleasantly surprised to find nice concrete tees and short grass on the fairways.
Cons: Somewhat confusing even though I had a map. "Next tee" signs are badly needed.

The rough is very rough at times but that also adds some risk/reward.

Some of the tee signs were wrong as far as the A /B pad placement. I also was confused as to what tee I was on most of the time.
Other Thoughts: Pleasantly surprised by this course. Can't wait to come back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Epic Holes!

1    4/14/2015   7/20/2017
Review By: DeedleDisc
Played: 94  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played this 2 years ago, but felt I needed to review how much I loved it. I am from New England and was working in PA, so I decided to stop by. Loved alot of the holes. Long holes, short holes, downhill shots and uphill shots. It had lots of variety.
Cons: The only con was fields being used. Some of the course is next to soccerfields, which can have people on them.
Other Thoughts: Loved the grass fairways in the woods! Hole 2 was also a hole I have never seen! Placement shot out there and then a crazy downhill shot to the basket with a little stream behind it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected, a nice course

2-4    2/4/2017   2/24/2017
Review By: hawk12
Played: 233  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 27.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall the course surprised me a bit, read reviews of years ago and thought "Field of Thorns" as I had heard that what is was. That actually kept me from visiting earlier... Well that is no longer the case and the course is very well groomed and taken care of by the local crew. Thank you!

On to the design, a very nice variety and mix of pretty much everything. Good use of elevation changes, shot shapes, tight vs. open drives, greens with various grade and challenges.
There was enough water to keep you playing smart and make a well executed shot several times, but not so deep or bad that discs could not be retrieved. And the water in play was fair, nothing 5 ft. from a pin and bringing in pure random OB strokes that are undeserved. If you get wet, its your fault, and I did a few times and was not unhappy.

Nice concrete tees, two sets of tees to allow for different skill sets to play and add variety for a longer feel from the back tees. Signage is accurate, baskets are in good shape, benches on several holes, bathrooms and amenities on site.
Cons: Some of the greens/lanes are a bit tight for some people. I prefer wooded golf, and liked the variety, but I can see some players having trouble making a few lanes and thus not being a fan.

Some of the holes might be less than favorites for some players, I usually do not like "horseshoe shaped" holes, but found the one here fair enough and have ample scoring separation, and not terrible rough as is often the case on horseshoe holes. I looked at the map ahead of time, and was dreading this hole, turned out I felt it fair and very playable. Might need a tree dropped off the drive to allow for less random results, but that is nit-picking. Shots are there, but I saw some very similar shots have very different results on that hole. Again, nit-picking...

Not too much else I can think of, I really liked my visit.
Other Thoughts: I drove 90 minutes to play here, and was pleasantly met with a peaceful park, in a wonderful setting. Love that you can hear very little and feel tucked into nature while there. I'll be back.

I could see evidence of the recent clearing of underbrush, and understand this place will continue to be upgraded and improved along the way, as they have some plans in the works for modifications. I wish the crew well, and thank them for the efforts. NJ disc golf continue to grow, and courses continue improve.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love my home course

5+    12/22/2013   1/1/2014
Review By: Cpatire
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2015
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Several par 4's, and even a par 5. Great course, very challenging. Fun all year round! Wooded holes are tough in summer months. Fun open field holes as well. Excellent mixture of holes. First hanging hole in New Jersey!
Cons: Trees, trees, trees are tough in summer. First hole is steep to walk down and if raining or snowing is dangerous.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 More Disc Golf in NJ

2-4    8/26/2014   12/31/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 78  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2015
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The baskets are in perfect shape
- Yardages aren't too short
- Great elevation changes
- Kind of reasonable pars set
- Fun yet challenging from both Am and Pro tees.
- All types of players and levels of experience will find something to like here.
- Picnic area with a roof at hole 17 (old hole one)
- Decent signage
- Random Doubles held every Monday @ 5:30 PM throughout the summer
Cons: - Hole 10 is awfully close to soccer fields
- The back nine could be a little bit more interesting
- Long walks on some holes
- The tee boxes could use a little more care


3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 FOD in the Summer?!?!

2-4    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. Set at a real nice park with good parking. New 2013 concrete pads on many holes. Project underway to complete AM and PRO tees in concrete. PRO tees are insane and will challenge you even on the shorter wooded holes. Fairways on all wooded holes are maintained. Par is forgiving but still keeping under 60 can be tough for an AM player. Good signage. Great variety. One super long par 5 that can easily become a six or 7. Tunnel shots. Elevation changes. Bathrooms! You start right off into the woods to sharpen your finesse shots, then some challenging long holes to stretch your arm out, play along side a field, back into the woods to finish with 2 short birdie runs.
Cons: New players may find the tight wooded holes to be pretty hard. Rough is still very rough on some holes. Keep in on the fairway!
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to this place growing in popularity. Great crew working hard. James Lindeman leading the way. He has some great ideas. Check out North Jersey Disc Golf Club. On Facebook.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome addition to NJ DG scene

1    4/4/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 73  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good combination of wooded holes to start (1-8), open holes in the middle(9-13) then back to the woods (14-18). All shots in your arsenal needed for success here. Several standout holes- #1 (dogleg right and pronounced drop into the woods) and #8 (uphill hyzer) . Dual tee boxes at most holes. Great signage showing the hole, suggested flight path and distance. Little yellow "next hole" arrows make navigation easy. Baskets new and of high quality. Nice board located by practice basket with map, course rules and the names of each hole. OB areas (pathways, road) exist but aren't overly ridiculous in nature. Very nice park in a quiet area of NJ.
Cons: Many tee boxes made out of stone and still a work in progress. The rough is oppressive in spots and is most certainly God-awful in the summer to the novice or recreational player. Several open holes play near soccer fields and aren't particularly interesting. Some areas of junk/trash strewn about in the woods. Hole 16 (hanging basket) flat out stinks, a "throw and hope" shot with no true landing area.
Other Thoughts: Many people aspire to designing a course, but few hold that same passion for the massive work it takes to maintain it once it's built. And therein lies a big problem with Field of Dreams. The two primary builders designed a nice course, worked hard to see its completion then seemingly disappeared from the planet, leaving its care in the hands of others. This course is a bear to maintain with its dense rough and high fairway grass, and without that constant level of care, playing here has its warts. Hidden drop-offs in the woods are potentially treacherous, and a couple of holes are out of commission if soccer or field hockey games are being played. Field of Dreams is worth your while but has its risks if it hasn't been groomed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I move away from nj then they make this gem of a course lol!!!!

2-4    10/26/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Alot of time effort and love went into this course, This was a course built by disc golfers and it shows. #2 and 16 will keep you on your toes.
Cons: The wooded holes could use some more time and effort into cleaning the t boxes or to cut down some shrubbery to make it easier to see them. The thorns that infest the entire course should be removed entirely from the area completely. Hole #17 is housed on a sandpit which is infested by ground bees. The wide open holes in the back are easy birdies by those with big enough arm to cut the distance which the holes in the front are somewhat manageable to squeeze in a birdy with playing a tight lane.
Other Thoughts: this course is very long alot of walking and is not for beginners or those with poor shot selection. There was only 1 hole which stood out to me as no clear line to play #15. I could not imagine having to play this during the summer months. The par 4's here are really par 4.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of Jersey's Best

1    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Top notch baskets and signs, and decent gravel pits to tee off from. A great variety of short wooded holes, and wide-open fields - including an extremely long 1000 footer. The downhill shots are especially fun, and there are at least a couple holes that could potentially be aced.
Cons: Way too many blind drives. This is partially mitigated by the excellent color maps at each tee, but still very hard to locate your disc after throwing down a hill, around a corner, etc. I lost a disc and had another two or three close calls - I'm sure this gets easier on repeated visits as you grow more familiar with the layout.

No soccer games on the day of my visit, but they could most certainly prevent you from playing one or two of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I bet the course would be more fun in the fall, when the narrow wooded fairways open up a little more, and the thick brush subsides.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets
Great use of elevation changes
Mix of short holes and par 4's
Two tee pads for every hole
Signs are real good in terms of distance, and where to find the next tee, but some of the long "B" tee pads were tough to find.
Cons: Gravel tee pads, some of which are uneven and tough to through from. We threw from the grass on a few holes.
Plenty of bugs.
The rough is very rough, sometimes it can be hard to get into the rough to look for a disc.
Other Thoughts: This course has plenty of holes that are extremely fun to play. mainly set in the woods, it is a techincal course that demands accuracy over power. There are a few field holes that have you walking around a soccer field and are a bit tedious. We played the entire course and only had trouble finding the tee for #9. you have to follow the tree line on the left and than actually cross a street and walk up towards the fence. The course could use a weed wackin and a mower in some points. We were the only people on the course so no waits.
We did lose two discs (the 1000 foot hole into the rough on the right) and two holes later it might have rolled down a hill. You can tell a lot of work was put into this course and it really is worth playing. I'm sure it will only get better as more people play it and more landscaping work is done. Some down hill holes. Hole 1 is one of my favorite holes - about 250 feet lefty hyzer to set up an approach probably 150 feet downhill to a basekt with some trees in the fairway and some brush around the basket. It's definitley worth playing this course, which will only get better with perhaps a new layout (or upgrade or removal of field holes) and some of the underbrush removed. Be careful with tics, as we did see Deer (not only on the course, but while driving to it, so be careful when driving)

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.