Bethlehem, PA 
South Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #6 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 236ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Wooded Wonder

2-4    1/24/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This primarily wooded course will test your technical game (be prepared to drive with mids, hit your gaps, and be able to have good long upshots from a standstill)
2 Basket locations per hole, and some holes are mutliple tee pads.
Course is for Dg'ers only
Bathrooms
A pavilion to use for relaxing, lunch, tourney
Cons: Lack of signs is the major downfall here, print out a map to have any shot. There are paths to baskets, but no "next tee" signs.
Wooded Post signs are old and sometimes show a distance to the two baskets (only one in at a time, you may see two baskets nearby, but they would be different holes, please refer to map)
Natural tee pads can be uneven
Other Thoughts: There are a lot of rocks on this mountain. While it is fairly short having 18 par 3's, it is a good workout. Bring appropriate shoes. You can get a quick round in with a buddy in just over an hour. Plenty of parking availaible and you won't have long waits on holes.

This course is very shaded, so consider this a nice alternate on hot, sunny days to a more open Little Lehigh. Hole 7 has a pro tee, and an AM marking that you might miss if you aren't looking for it that is on the pavement.
Open holes on 14, 17, and 18. 18 is a great downhill hole (I prefer the long basket) with two tee pads. It has a OB road behind the basket. Great hole to finish on (when in long). Many people play from the lot up to the Practice basket as an onofficial "19", but be careful with cars.
This course is a great compliment to the open Little Lehigh located nearby. It should be included as part of a great day of DG with Little Lehigh and Jordan Creek. If you can only play one, it shouldn't be this one (unless you really prefer wooded courses, but even than I'd suggest Jordan). If you can play several, this course goes well with all the Lehigh Valley has to offer.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I Miss This Course

5+    4/11/2003   1/1/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 86  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.8 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Elevation Changes
Lots of Trees
Wild Deer and Chipmunks
Variety of Shots
Cons: Dirt Tee Pads
Rocky Terrain
Telephone Poles in Play
Other Thoughts: I use to live in this area and this was my favorite course to play. It really improved my game. If you can make it to the pin in one shot it feels truly satisfying. I currently live in central Texas and I still contemplate driving all the way up there to play this course once more. Before I die I will throw South Mountain DGC again.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Round in the Woods

5+    12/2/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: South Mountain is easy to get to from two major highways, I-78 and US-22 and is right off of PA-378. Like so many of the other Lehigh Valley courses, South Mountain is a DG oasis within the urban sprawl.

Although the course is almost entirely wooded, there is enough variety to the different holes to make the course interesting. This includes some significant elevation changes as well as numerous fairway shapes.

South Mountain can be technically challenging. With the exception of two holes (maybe three), you won't be able to rip a monster drive, but you will need to use some well-thought technique to get to or under par. Once you can chase the dust bunnies out of your head and see the lines you need to throw, there are several birdie and ace runs.

Each hole averages around 300' and is a par 3 which makes South Mountain a quick play.

The concrete tee pads are in fantastic shape (with one exception) and the baskets are still holding up well. Freshly-painted tee markers help to spot the tee pads.
Cons: There are several holes where you may find yourself putting into the wrong basket or having difficulty finding the next tee box.

Although I did indicate a variety of wooded holes, and a quick play, because the hole length is roughly the the same for each hole, there is a spot of tedium by the time you get to the back nine.
Other Thoughts: If you have a big arm and like throwing for distance, this course isn't for you. If you play with finesse or you want to hone your midrange and approach game, come to South Mountain. The rugged course is a nice compliment to some of the longer courses in the Lehigh Valley and is great for fast, technically-oriented play.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Another tech woods pa course

5+    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: risk is almost non existant once you learn the lines you need to play to get birdies, there are some alternate tees on some holes which provide completely different lines you need to play.
Cons: you need a fair amount of luck to get real close as some of the holes are about a 50/50 even if you are on your game there are to many trees on some holes but some like it some dont.
Other Thoughts: not alot of fun for starters you will spend alot of time hacking trees or sliping on rocks if you arent wearing good shoes

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Rock Tree Park

5+    8/24/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2009
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I live close to it. It doesn't take long to play. It's a convenient place to get a round in when you are pressed for time.
Low scores are possible. There are one or two very good holes. The long one down the powerline is very nice, as is hole #2. #16 is a fun downhiller with OB long, and #17 is a short, hard turning uphiller where a good righty two finger with something overstable works well.
Cons: Too tight for my liking. Birdies are there, but the element of luck is too predominant. Horribly rocky and very tough on plastic. That's no body's fault- It's on the top of a rocky mountain.
On the whole, either of the other two major Lehigh Valley courses, Parkway and Jordan, are a lot better.
Footing is treacherous- footwear offering ankle support is recommended.
The course was designed by newbie players, and it shows.
Other Thoughts: Not likely to make any experienced player's favorite list. But I still play here, and it's better than nothing. On further reflection, I've downgraded my rating. It's really not a very "good" course at all.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 a very solid course

5+    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: tony14k
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: lots of elevation changes and challenging shots through the trees. most holes have a decent tee--cinders surrounded by wood (and most have both a red and yellow tee). peaceful settings atop South Mountain and close proximity to Lehigh Univ. great locations for enhancing your experience, as well...
Cons: sometimes the underbrush makes it easy to lose discs and lack of upkeep can lead to trash in the woods. heavy use can mean backlogs in play.
Other Thoughts: this is the course where i learned to play. ive played here many dozen times and it is my benchmark to which i compare all other courses. whenever im back in bethlehem, i play a round because it is an excellent course.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Playing in the Woods

5+    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: gwackr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Trees allow for some great and creative shots. Some of the views in the woods are just spectacular. It's a quick 18. I usually play it in about an hour and a half.
Cons: Easy to lose discs. Holes are not well marked, you can get lost easy. Trees eat your discs alive!
Other Thoughts: Love this course forever, so much fun to play every time.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    2/8/2010   5/9/2009
Review By: jtcline
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: God bless the people who shovel the 3 feet of snow off the tee pads.This is a great winter course becuase it is short. Also great for beginners to get accuracy down.
Cons: Do you like trees?
Other Thoughts: This is the only course I play when there is a ton of wind and snow.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting

5+    7/1/2008   4/21/2009
Review By: justinvt
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Set in an interesting spot on South Mountain. Easy to get to. Some elevation changes and a variety of short and long holes. Usually pretty empty. Has a practice basket.
Cons: Poorly marked, its easy to get off-track. Tee boxes in rough shape. So many trees everywhere, lots of "thwack" sounds.
Other Thoughts: Expect to wear out some discs here.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Whack

1    3/24/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 237  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 39.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in a well shaded, separate part of a park, this course has multiple tees and basket locations on most holes. Many holes offer an elevation challenge, either up or down hill. Most of these holes are moderately to tightly wooded and are quite difficult. This requires very accurate and precise throws and will challenge your mental game.

For the most part, navigation of the course is fairly easy without a map, even for first timers like me. Holes 6 - 9 are a little tricky, so you'll need the map for them. Tee signs at every hole.

There are bathrooms on site, as well as a nice pavilion for tournament central. Plenty of parking spaces too.
Cons: The terrain is very rugged, and can be difficult to traverse in spots. Very hard on your plastic, so premium plastic is recommended. Tee signs are only located on one set of pads, so the other set may be hard to find.

As mentioned before, holes 6 - 9 are a little confusing to locate without a map. Baskets 6 and 8 are too close together and can potentially have you throw to the wrong basket.
Other Thoughts: This isn't an overly long course, but the well placed trees add a lot more difficulty. If you like wooded courses, then you will really like this course, if you are like me, and are a tree magnet, this course will be not as much fun.

With the rocky, rough terrain of this park and course, I would be surprised if many non disc golfers use the park, so I think pedestrian traffic would be minimal. The terrain might be too difficult for young children or people with mobility issues. Also, a cart might be near impossible to use on some of the holes.

The course is very convenient to both Allentown and Bethlehem, and is easy access off I78 or Rte 22. Just make sure you bring your hiking boots.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.