Haltom City, TX 
North Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #17 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 352ft.   3 / 352ft.   3 / 352ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach: Creek right behind the basket.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >
 Neat Course

6/3/2008   6/3/2008
Review By: DiscGolfJunkie
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I thought this course was neat because of some of the tougher shots in the forest and the elevated shot where the hole is like 10 feet off the ground. Kind of an easier course to make ace runs at. Easy to birdie too....
Cons: A little too easy even for the semi-serious players. A little hard to navigate at times..... Sometimes it was too easy throw an errant throw and still get an easy 3.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play but the metroplex offers better options.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 George, George, Look Out For That Tree

5+    3/3/2010   5/19/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some really tough shots to maneuver your disc around this somewhat dense forest of trees. There are a few holes that you can release the big throw on, but most of your shots need to be calculated. Many of the targets were hidden behind trees and were fun to figure out a way to get your disc in a position to even get a shot a birdie or par. Take note on which discs you take, because I can't imagine a round here without a good chop at a tree at some point. ;o) There are some good holes where some tough aces are possible. This was fun. I noticed that the neighboring ballpark does have restrooms open most of the time, so add this to the positives. There are 2 really cool holes to mention. #11 is a shot off a small cliff into the woods to a basket built up on a large wooden box with some large trees growing up around it. #15 is called the Fortress. IT is another shot off a high point long to a wall of trees. The basket is behind those trees. A huge hyzer can get there if your distance and heigth is on.
Cons: As mentioned in other reviews, you will need the map or pair up with someone who has played this course before. Finding hole and target is about as tough as playing it. Many of the signs and tee lines have been torn up. However, after 1 or 2 times through, it should obviously get easier. Beware the bordering homes and their fences. If your disc goes over a fence, just be careful going after them, there are some big dogs that will take ownership of your disc BIG TIME! Originally, I could not find the multiple tees, I did eventually find that these are marked by a blue post further behind the regular ones. Also, as mentioned before dirt tees can be a problem after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: The person managing the course takes pride in making this course challenging and I agree that he has done that. Everything was mowed and cleaned up well. Once you understand the course layout and the specific mandos,"Out of Bounds" in the middle of the course, I think you will agree. This is lots of fun, because you will need just about all your bag of tricks to manage even one round out here. This is a fun technical adventure. **This is also one of my home courses.

Update: Cement Tee Pads & benches are being installed and it is really helping with the days that follow a rain.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but Dirty

5/19/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: bcross822
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of Challenging Shots. Anhyzer and Hyzer shots are required in a number of holes.
Cons: Dirt Tee pads that can be muddy. They really hurt this course.
Other Thoughts: It is a very fun course. Might be in my top two if it had concrete tee pads.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Cool course

5/17/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: abrooks
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thought this course was very cool. Plenty of trees that make you plan your drives differently. Good mix of long and short holes. The course is, for the most part, separated from the rest of the park. The other park goers will rarely be in your way.
Cons: Tee signs are somewhat lacking (some are on the gound and some do not show the correct hole number), Dirt/grass tee pads are not preferred.
Other Thoughts: The pros outweigh the cons, in my opinion. This is one of my favorite courses. Bring the linked map, til you get used to the layout.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 odd course

4/24/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: myoung
Played: 41  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: this course has some pretty neat challenges. hole 11 is treat.
Cons: course has a weird out of bounds in the middle of the course. the grass was at least knee high.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.