Boise, ID 
Ann Morrison Park Share
Uploaded By: Texas2Putts Hole #20 (Taken 6/2018)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2

2-4    11/7/2019   11/7/2019
Review By: wogga
Played: 85  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of shot variety. Short, long; left, right, flex; field, wooded; good use of obstacles and a couple mandos; helpful signage; good concrete pads; discatcher baskets (as it should be); well groomed fairways. Well rounded. Fair number of deuce opps as well as a couple fair par 4s. Really nice park.
Cons: Transitions from 6-7 and 9-10 are a bit unintuitive, but are understandable, considering the land available. Just takes getting used to. A few holes do not have signs (though those that do, have very good signage). OB path is directly in the optimal line on one or two holes - makes luck more useful than skill on a couple shots. Lots of pedestrians and dogs to be mindful of (not really a true con, but worth remembering). No real elevation play to speak of. A couple holes are a little clowny - not really feasible lines off the pad.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very well-rounded course, if not super high scoring. Plenty to keep pros engaged, as well as keep it fun for beginners. Location is great for serving the whole city. Really solid course. Vibrant local scene.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Mo

5+    9/22/2019   10/1/2019
Review By: isualum12
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Solid 18, nice baskets with good tee pads. Combo of open and water crossing.
Cons: Goose poop, lots of people

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Annie You Are OK

1    9/3/2018   11/28/2018
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 441  Reviewed: 336  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ann Morrison Park is a nicely kept city park. The grass on the disc golf course was cut nicely. A few tables and trashcans were around. People were out enjoying the nice weather, all of them friendly and courteous.

The course has concrete tees that are ok, and tee signs on each hole for reference. The baskets are Discatcher models in good condition. It is a 21 hole loop that isn't hard to follow. Every hole is par 3.

The park has a pond, creeks, and bunch of old shade trees that create some hazards. Roads and walking paths also mark OB on several holes. No elevation change in play, except for a low berm near the pond on hole 20, which the pin is on top amongst the trees.

My favorite holes were 12 and 14. 12 has a right to left shape, and crosses over a stream, between a couple of trees in front of the basket area. 14 has more trees that make a thick canopy of leaves, and encourage approaching from a wider window at front end.

A great course for a casual round or teaching the game to newer players. Not too difficult, but something for the established disc golfer too.
Cons: Geese leave droppings everywhere. I didn't get any messy lies, but I could see it happening easily.

Sort of a yawner for the serious disc golfer. The park is nice and well equipped, but lacks in exciting throws, or memorable holes.
Other Thoughts: I played the course one time only, with a friend who is a resident in the area. It was a fun round, but one of the more average courses I visited on the road trip.

It has been refined and well taken care of, and uses the park space nicely. However, I wouldn't call it any kind of a destination course.

I shot a 65, which is two over par. I had 4 birdies and 4 bogeys, as well as a double bogey. Not a killer score, but enough to emerge victorious, and I didn't lose any plastic.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  First impressions...

1    6/21/2016   6/22/2016
Review By: theFRUKE
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great park with a wide variety of basket placements, terrain, and distances.
-Was fairly busy, but everyone was pleasant, patient, and helpful in pointing rookies to the next tee.
Cons: -GEESE!! The first 4 holes were mine fields. Therefore, if you are unfortunate enough to drop a disc in any of the many bodies of water/marshes, it is a stinky mess to get it back (just ask my son)!
Other Thoughts: -DL a map of the course before you go. No maps at the park, and as you can see from the other posts, the course changes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/16/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 40  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of hole lengths and obstacles,
Up to 6 different basket locations on some holes
Well-maintained park setting.
Good alternate set up for the winter months.
Not as crowded as the summer course.
Cons: Grass tees on most holes make for slick footing.
Water hazards will swallow discs (bring your floaters and/or retriever).
Lots of duck/goose poop.
Other Thoughts: This winter course overlaps with holes 9-17 of the summer course. I like to pair this course with Julia Davis Park to make a nice day trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Changes starting Winter 2012

1    11/23/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: NAustin
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: See everyone else's comments
Cons: See everyone else's comments
Other Thoughts: As it was told to me, someone over-threw on holes 1-4 and hit a passerby in the head on the OTHER side of the greenbelt. As a result, they have removed most of the first holes and instead increased the number of overlapping holes from the summer course.
Hole #1 starts near the parking area on the map, but further from the Boise River. Hole 2 is basically where #4 and #5 used to be. Fyi.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Annie Mo'

1    4/29/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 241  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Northwest course is the one that is only open during the Winter time. I'm not going to go into billions of details on this course because it shares many holes with the Southeast course and I don't want to write two reviews that are exactly the same so I'm going to tell you the difference between the two. Unlike the Southeast the Northwest has more trees involved on its own unique, non sharing holes and some excellent basket locations that really mix it up and add some quality holes.There is another water hazard on this side that is a small creek but the locations of where the baskets were chosen bring this creek into play in a brilliant fashion.
Cons: Again like the SE course I would like to see some longer par four and par five holes that would challenge the more skilled golfers. The biggest con is that this course doesn't get as much play as the SE because it is only open during a time of year when most people aren't disc golfing. It's sad because I think this side is much more interesting and fun.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed myself at Ann Morrison's NW and SE courses and if I am ever in Boise again I plan on stopping by and playing. I really like what they have done here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ann Morrison - Northwest

1    6/19/2004   5/7/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 230  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 19.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Ann Morrison Park NW, similar to the SE course, was established in 1996. Created as a seasonal course, this 20 hole layout although shorter, played very similar to the SE course. Both courses were designed in a mostly flat and moderately wooded park setting, with the Boise River which meanders through both the courses and park. Although the course offers little elevation, it does incorporate water in multiple areas, along with the wind that can have a large impact on a players score.

The course primarily plays on grass and at times dirt, with large beautiful pine and other native trees and bushes that help to protect pins. Most fairways are wide open with large obstacles along the sides of the fairway or in clumps in the middle. However, there were a few holes that were much shorter on the NW course which allowed for more advanced players to quickly improve their score. Some of the tee pads that overlap the SE (summer) course are concrete, although the rest of the tees are dirt. Baskets on the course are all Mach III's , durable, and in good shape. The NW course has multiple tee pads and pin positions, which offers variety for locals and tournaments. Flow works well and even intertwines with the other course making a 27 hole layout.

Both the NW and SE courses have access to several amenities including soccer and baseball fields, picnic shelters and bbq pits, bathrooms, restrooms, playground, tennis courts, and plenty of parking. Ann Morrison Park is also near downtown Boise.
Cons:
The largest difference between the NW and SE besides course length was the tee pads. The majority of the tees were dirt, (with the exception of the cement tees which were used from the SE course), making footing slippery and often times very difficult when trying to drive. In order to avoid large divots the locals use alternate tee pads (and pins) to soften the overall wear on the course. Hopefully, they will eventually install cement or even rubber pads to match what the other course has to offer.

Homeless people sleeping and lurking in the general vicinity can be an issue as well. Although the majority of them seemed harmless and even friendly, I still wouldn't want to have my kid wandering in the bushes for a lost disc. Just beware.

Lost discs could be an issue as well. Although the course is wide open for the most part, it is very possible to lose your disc in the Boise River, some of the tall grass in the wetlands, or over a fence so accuracy can be a big factor at times.
Other Thoughts:
Boise is such a beautiful town, with great disc golf, friendly locals, and great college football! I had the chance to visit this wonderful city to play both the NW and SE courses during a tournament, and although similar, I felt they complemented one another quite nicely. This area is the perfect place to work on form, along with putting and approaching. The local scene seems to have a vision and a focus when it comes to the DG scene, and I wish them much success in their future endeavors.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/3/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: Carl311
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a great change to the summer course to break up the "monotony" of playing the same holes over and over. I like how the tee positions move, varying the approach to the holes. Its less crowded in the winter too, which can be nice.
Cons: My personal gripes with this course are minimal. Natural "teepads" get pretty muddy and slick sometimes, causing "whoops!" drives. No practice target. Lots of bums too.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun course. I was very excited when the pins were moved for the winter. The summer course was getting kind of boring and monotonous and I was getting burnt out on it. The holes are good and challenging, with a nice variety of short and long ones.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

5+    3/6/2008   7/28/2009
Review By: Mopbrothers
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: generally not too bad. all the holes are within plain sight and the distances are not unreasonable. the north half is much more fun than the south half.
Cons: there can be a long wait sometimes. also you can loose your disc over a fence in a certain spot.
Other Thoughts: i lived in the Quads for some time and it was really fun to just walk over and play (even alone)!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.