Bakersfield, CA 
Hart Park - Shark Tooth Mtn. Share
Uploaded By: bigrocc01 Hole #18
3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Elevation to Spare

1    2/15/2017   2/15/2017
Review By: markmcc
Played: 174  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After playing the flat green holes of Suicide Flats, Shark Tooth Mountains is a complete change of pace.

The lower holes (1-3, 15-18) play over grass and through trees on mostly flat ground. It is holes 4 - 14 that really define this course. These holes feature extreme uphill, downhill, and sidehill alignments that will really test your game.

Hole distances vary a good bit, with uphill shots being shorter and the downhill shots stretching things out.

Good concrete teepads and excellent baskets.

Holes 4 and 5 are steeply uphill, and depending on where your drive lands you may have trouble getting to your disc, let alone getting stable footing for your next drive. This isn't rocky ground like Diamond X, but rather very steep soil covered with wet grass. There were times that I was taking two steps up and sliding back one as I approached my lie. It is amazing how much distance you lose when trying to throw upward at those angles.

Hole 7 turns the tables with a "top of the world" shot where you get to see how your disc flies as it drops about 100 feet. Watch where you land as it looks different once you're down there!

Hole 10 is a great shot around a large water tank mando, and Hole 12 drives up to a basket set into a drainage with ground sloping up on either side of the basket.

Hole 13 is the other crazy uphill hole, with the basket on a steep ridge. Good luck landing this one without a big rollaway!! It is followed by the other "top of the world" shot which is Hole 14.

There is no woody vegetation or trees on any of the mountain holes, but when I played it in mid-February the tall thick grass provided all of the disc finding mystery that I needed.
Cons: The mountain holes (4-14) test mainly your ability to drive steeply up or down. With no trees or obstacles in play the challenge is one-dimensional. This is not to say that the challenge isn't extreme, because it is.

There are no tee signs at all. There are metal frames for signs so they may be in the works, but the frames are empty. Navigation is also a bit tricky in spots. With the map I was able to locate all of the tees, but without the map it would have been tough to know where to look.
Other Thoughts: This is an unusual and challenging course. With good tee signs and perhaps some navigational aids it would be a solid 4.

I played on a calm day. I'll bet the wind would really put the teeth into Shark Tooth Mountain.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 HPCC

5+    1/5/2016   1/22/2016
Review By: hudzerflip
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Amazing course. Grew up playing this course and am currently missing it a lot.Last time I played it, it was one of the toughest layouts I've seen in a long time. All around great course.
Cons: Absolutely nothing wrong. All previous issues are being attended to.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Course Will Test Your Manhood!

1    6/19/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1009  Reviewed: 959  Exp: 38.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of those rugged, mountainous courses that will really test your resolve. I played it at 1 PM on a 100 degree day and probably the only thing that saved me was 2-3 times I was able to drench myself with water. The sprinklers were on in the park. there is a hose available when you get to # 8 and then back to the sprinklers on the final couple of holes.

Luckily, I was guided by two locals, the course pro/designer/maintenance Scooby Dew and Andy. So I didn't have to worry about navigation.
The course starts and ends in the park down below but then quickly starts up the mountain. The terrain is extreme featuring steeps uphills, tricky throws across ravines and two "top of the world" shots. There are numerous places for rollaways on either your putt or approach.

Awesome views of the surrounding area from up high on the mountainside.

# 7 is a 600' downhill with the basket set on a small hill way down at the bottom. It's wide open all the way here. But then # 12 is another "top of the world" type shot only there is a large grove of nasty, prickly trees to clear and then other tree down surrounding the basket.
# 10 features the worlds largest Mando target. Probably 100' from the tee pad sits this giant 40 foot high water tower. The tee shot requires you to throw a anhyzer shot up high over this extremely steep hillside to get around the tower. if your disc stays up on the hillside, it takes mountain goat type climbing skills to climb up and retrieve it. The basket is set around to the rear of the tower. Very unique hole but scary!
Cons: Rugged course is not for the faint of heart.
Hot, dry, dusty, no shade, wicked rollaways,
possibility of lost discs.
Would be hard to navigate first time.
Other Thoughts: I was really thankful for having local guides on my round here. I was also really thankful for the sprinklers and hose and # 8. It was that hot and the mountain is quite the workout.
Not a course that I would care to play on a regular basis but one that has more than enough unique and challenging holes to keep you coming back for more punishment. Next time, I'll get here EARLY in the morning!

Bakersfield has this nice range of courses stair stepping up in nice increments, from the very easy Pitch & Putt beginner course at San Laurel to the brutally hard physical challenge of Shark Tooth Mountain.

From Easy to Hard:

San Laurel Park
City In The Hills
Silver Creek Park
Kern River Park
Riverview Park
Suicide Flats
Shark Tooth Mountain

Bakersfield disc golfers have a nice variety of courses to choose from, with two easy beginner courses, one slightly harder beginner course, two intermediate courses and then two courses that will challenge anyone.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/16/2014   4/16/2014
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 90  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 13.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moving here from flat Florida made this course amazing to play. I haven't ever thrown around elevation like this at all and it is spectacular. Not only are the shots beautiful to watch but the view from the tees on the hillside are amazing. This course has multiple holes that would be "top of the world" holes anywhere else. I can't stress enough how spectacular and fun that is. The course is really well laid out and in pretty good shape. Locals are friendly and helpful and can help you figure out how to play the elevation if that is new to you.
Cons: The tees need a little work, which I am sure is hard to maintain that high up the hill. You just have to watch your step at the end of a few of them as some drop off and some are cracking.

Pedestrians/walkers and bikers can sometimes get in the way and make you wait. The real thing that is lacking here is good signage.

Bring a couple of discs you don't care about because your discs can really get beat up out there on the harsh terrain. Also, your shoes can take a thrashing on the hillside. You may not want to play this course in the middle of the day during the summer as it would be scorching hot and far from water.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course, easily a 4 star course with a second course just as good at the bottom of the hill. This is worth the drive if you are anywhere close. I can't wait to get back out there and play!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Unique and fun

1    5/17/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course begins and ends in the same park setting as the other course on site, but it's the middle 2/3 of the course that really shines. I normally don't find open courses without many trees all that rewarding and fun, but this one has such cool terrain that it manages to make up for it. Many of the holes play up or down steep hillsides. The shots up the hill are shorter, but you still end up pulling out a faster disc to try to get up the hill. A couple long downhill shots are a great payoff for hiking up the hills.

The elevation is used well around the pins, too. Many of the holes have serious roll away potential if you're not careful how you place your shot. The water tank hole is a bit gimmicky but ends up being a fun shot (with a really cool noise if you hit the tank).

The tees and baskets were in fine shape, and the longer grass rough was all mowed down when I played.
Cons: There are a few holes that cross. The lack of traffic and the elevation difference mitigates that somewhat, but it's still not something I really like seeing in course design. Though the course is really creative, it still feels a bit repetitive at times. A few of the uphill holes felt really similar, I would have liked to see some different ways of using the uphill elevation and some different lengths on those shots.

Navigation is a bit tough, especially with no tee signs. I was able to follow the course with the map, but it wasn't always obvious. Signage would go a long way here, especially in the spots where holes cross or there are multiple baskets in view. The beginning and end of the course are pretty unremarkable, and take away from the adventure style feeling of the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: I had a really hard time rating this course. The actual golf shots aren't top notch, but the fun factor is still very high and this is definitely a course I'd play again. I settled on a rating between where I'd rate the shots (3) and where I'd rate the overall experience and uniqueness (4).

Beginners will find the course a bit daunting. It's not technical, but missed shot placement can lead to big walks down the hill to find a disc or nasty rollaways. More experienced players will enjoy a different kind of test than most courses provide.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 big ups and downs like nothing else ive played

1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 78  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 fun holes on the side of a mountain. Excellent thoughtful layout. Good concrete tee pads. Not too much traffic and i was there on memorial weekend. Cool locals. Theres another 18 hole course across the street. Good variety of shots including 3 of the coolest uphill shots ive played and 2 HUGE top of the world shots (i parked #7 for one of my all-time favorite birds) theres plenty of parking and its all free.
Cons: Signs leave something to be desired. Theres a blue post and placard at every tee but instead of hole info, theyre covered in bird poop. I dont know if you've ever tried to decipher the length of a hole based solely on the black to white ratio of sparrow shit but i dont recomend it. I was able to find my way around by following the coors light can trail left by a considerate player who came before me. There are tons of foxtails. They were so bad that i would've worn those gay sock protector things if i wasnt so embarassed about buying them. Theres almost no shade and i imagine it gets really hot in the middle of summer. Bathrooms are a hike away and too gross to use anyways. There are at least 2 law enforcement agancies on site that patrol regularly.
Other Thoughts: I played half of suicide flats across the street with some locals i ran into and then had them point me in the direction of the 1st tee of shark tooth. I didnt have ant difficulty navigating the course despite the lack of signs. I had a lot of fun today and ill play here again. The big risk/return uphil shots were a highlight. The park is an oasis in the desert of east bakersfield with a pond a creek and the kern riverin view from most of the course. I never would have guessed b-field had such a well designed unique pair of courses hidden in its hills.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course, great hike

5+    3/9/2013   3/13/2013
Review By: Endocador
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/11/2014
Pros: This is a great course with a lot of elevation change and a lot of variation in hole type.
Cons: The tumbleweeds here can be a pain in the ass. I recommend bringing a glove to pull discs out of the weeds as the can get pretty thorny
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, maybe not the best for beginners.

 Challenging Mountain 18

1    12/13/2012   12/13/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 162  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tees on every hole besides 14. Lots of distance and elevation change. Nice views of the park and surrounding hills and mountains. Some nice uphill shorter holes (they don't play short!). The holes that did play flatter were long and/or technical shots. 2 long "top of the world" shots. Nice tunnel shot on hole 15. The entire course is very difficult and physically demanding to play. Very nice, well maintained course and park with facilities on site. Water fountain and trash can near hole 18. Low traffic. Its right next to Suicide Flats.
Cons: All signs are missing or removed, so the course map is essential the 1st time you play. Some of the baskets were also missing numbers. No garbage cans besides near 18's basket. Bathrooms are a long walk. Hole 14 only had a rubber tee and it was half covered with dirt.
Other Thoughts: This is a very challenging course and definitely NOT FOR BEGINNERS!!! There is some rugged mountain hiking involved so where proper foot ware and come with lots of energy. There is thorny brush throughout holes 4-14 so I would recommend wearing pants. There is a gas station and mini-mart just outside the park near the south east entrance should you need to stock up on essentials. Great course with a very good design and fantastic terrain for intense disc golf. With completed signs and a few finishing touches I would rate it a 4. This course is a real gem and I can't wait to play again!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Very good/difficult course

1    2/26/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: mercenarygrip
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 34.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Overall, a very well thought out course, with lots of elevation changes.
Cons: Not always marked well, can be difficult to follow. Definitely take a course map with you. They are available at the first tee box for the Suicide Flats course, which is just across the street from the start of the Shark Tooth Mtn. course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 shark tooth

1    2/28/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: DESTRO
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: different elevations and amazing basket locations.
Cons: none - you'd better be in decent shape!
Other Thoughts: loved it! you get a great mountain, tough terrain workout with great sights and sounds. This is the type of course that will keep you coming back as it is not an easy course to conquer. bring your skills and your luck and go for it.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center