Concord, NC 
Dorton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 276ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Would be nice to have in your neighborhood

1    8/11/2018   2/18/2019
Review By: pmay5
Played: 160  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 16.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course to have in your neighborhood.
Short, quick play course.
Good concrete tee pads and nice DISCatchers.
Interesting mix of short, long, left and right holes.
Cons: Course follows and crosses walking path several times. Could be a lot of interference on busy days.
Does have one Par 4, which is followed by a 113' hole. What?? (The short hole, #4, goes straight across the path, to minimize interference, I'm guessing.)
Since its located in the back part of the park, it took me a few minutes to find it.
Of course, I don't know if the walking path was there when HD designed it, but 6 of the 9 holes cross or play along the path. Including #5 with a blind tee shot right up the path.
Other Thoughts: This is the kind of course that would be nice to have in your neighborhood. In fact, it is build right next to a neighborhood of good sized homes. You could step out here for a quick round, just about any time of day, or just for putting practice. Would also be convenient if your kids are there for soccer practice on one of the many fields.
Its probably used mostly by beginners and families there for other things, even though interactions with other park users, underbrush and a creek, could make it a rough experience.
There are some fun holes, #2 is a short ace run, #5 the blind tee shot hyzer bomb and finishes fun with #9, a gap to hit, then finishes to the right.
I'm glad we have these short, quick round courses, I just hope everyone throws safe and no one gets hurt.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dorton Park DGC

1    7/7/2018   7/8/2018
Review By: dndelli
Played: 53  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to navigate, with nice sized concrete pads and Innova Baskets in good condition. Dorton Park DGC is located in a beautiful neighborhood park with plenty of extras that some courses do not feature. There is a nice, large field near the start of the course where you can air some plastic out and practice your form.

Course was definitely not crowded when I played here. There was only one other person out there chucking discs around. This is an incredible course to bring beginners to so that they can learn the basics of the game, without being overly punishing.
Cons: The course is not challenging. If you are above a beginner, you will probably find it hard to find a reason to visit this course. Only 2 holes break the 300ft mark, and most don't even make significant distance past the 200 mark.With it being on 9 holes, this makes it even less desirable as a destination course.

There is a walking path that weaves throughout the course, that you have to throw over multiple times. On Hole 3 you are throwing a blind shot around a turn right next to said path and it could lead to potentially unfavorable conditions if you are playing on a busier day than I did (it was super overcast). Even with as overcast as it was, I had to wait on a few parties to move out of the way in case I threw an errant shot.

Parking is super limited at the park. If you are playing on a busy day, you might not even be able to find parking. Be sure to carpool to this one.

A nicely placed tree, with a tight gap to the left, makes the most desirable line on Hole 5 a truly spectacular place for beginners to have a disc bounce into the creek to the left.
Other Thoughts: I am rating Dorton at a 1.5. It really is an okay beginner course, but because of the weaving path throughout the course it is hard to give it anything higher. Other than a handful of holes it feels like there are a bunch of filler holes, nice for ace runs, but not great for fun rounds.

Favorite Holes: 6, 9

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/12/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 155  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're able to play when there aren't many joggers and walkers -- and I don't know when that would be -- Dorton Park offers 9 mostly short (some exceptionally short) holes for some basic putt and approach practice.

+ Very pretty park
+ Good baskets
+ Lots of ace runs
Cons: This is a very short beginner course, so it's not going to get a high rating from me, but the reason it only gets a 0.5, below many courses that are much rougher, older, or beat-in, is SAFETY.

- Safety is a major concern here. The course follows a walking trail through a very popular park. 95% of the people in that section of the park are walking on the trails, not throwing discs. You literally have to wait at the tee until all the walkers have cleared out in the vicinity before you throw. And some of the holes are blind shots, so you have to walk around, check for walkers, then scoot back to the tee to throw before other walkers come by. This course is clearly designed for beginners, and that's great, but I'd be afraid to bring a beginner here during peak hours for fear of an errant shot hitting a walker. There are other more minor reasons to dock points from Dorton, but safety is far and away the biggest problem here. Be careful and yield to walkers!

- One hole is literally an 84-foot, wide open, par...3?

- There are about 3-4 decently long holes, but I was so worried about hitting other park goers on the blind shots, that I just threw putters into open areas and took some pars that probably should've been easy birdies.
Other Thoughts: It's right off 85 and easy to get to, but don't make a trip just to play it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good warmup or newbie course

2-4    8/29/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: sc2sick
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short course great for introducing new people to the sport with ease
Clean and pretty easy to navigate
Good warm up/putter round course
Can be played through very fast
Cons: If you've played more than a week you may find this too easy
Parking was non existent unless I missed a sign
Other Thoughts: I played this when I was visiting Charlotte and ended up playing it twice more.. I was looking for something easy to zip through since I'm an early riser and people I traveled with weren't..

I took my dad here so that he could try playing disc golf for the first time and it worked out really well.. yes it's a super, super simple course.. but that makes for a great intro to beginners.. it's not like there aren't more full sized courses around that this is detracting from.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course With an Identity Crisis

1    5/8/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 59  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course, as mentioned by some earlier reviewers, would be a great warmup course for some of the other local offerings. It is also a pretty nice area to work on the short game. The course plays much like a put-putt.

Holes 3,5,and 6 actually have decent length. 6 is actually a very nice hole that plays as a slight dogleg right into the trees. It looks like it was cut and pasted here from a much nicer course.

Nice kiosk and map at the parking lot directs golfers easily to the start of the course. Without that map, finding the start would be a bit difficult. Hole signs also appear new and well kept. Concrete tee pads are more than ample.
Cons: Too many of the holes are in the 100-150 ft range. With the first 2 holes ~125 ft and without much trouble, I found it hard to get really interested in this course.

The raised manholes that are in play on hole 5 were letting out a really foul smell.

There is a ton of opportunity for interference on this course. A nice walkway/jogging path makes its way through the whole course, and everyone seemed pretty oblivious to the disc golf. It is really up to the player to make sure he is throwing in a safe direction.

Navigation in the course could be a bit better. The hole signs post length, but not direction. Having a map on the signs, especially on holes 3 and 5, would have saved me a little bit of wandering.

There was evidently a second set of tees for one or 2 of the holes at some point in time, but I could not find them when I played.
Other Thoughts: This 9 hole loop is the tale of 2 courses. The first is a set of ridiculously easy putt/approach shots. The second is holes 3,5,and 6 which are perfectly serviecable. The boring nature of the short holes, however, far overcomes the excitement of the few good ones.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Warm Up

5+    3/10/2015   4/5/2015
Review By: Pirate35
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete pads

Good baskets

Great beginner course.

I would only go to this course as a new player or with a player that is just getting in the game. This is a good course though as a warm up before playing Rotary or other courses in the area. Its a good time to try and add some aces to your total. (if you even want to count them). One hole is marked as 114 feet but realistically I think it is more along the lines of 90 to 100 feet.

Still a fun course overall.
Cons: Short.

Not challenging.

A lot of foot traffic

A lot of people are using walking trail that many of the hole cross over...which forces you to wait for a number of people to pass before you get to shoot.

Other Thoughts: Not much else they could do to upgrade.

Very limited space.

They have done the best with the space available though.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not much to see here

1    12/18/2013   12/21/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 196  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are concrete pads and baskets.

It is a good place to work on your ace totals, particularly on hole 4, which is listed at 113 feet and is probably not even that.
Cons:
If you ace #4 (I did!), you start to wonder how short a hole has to be for you to not even count it in your ace totals. I paced the hole off, and it was 28 paces, so 113 feet probably isn't right. I was putting from the tee.

Design is not good. The course plays around and over a walking path that gets a lot of use. Hole 9 has a narrow alley with a dogleg, a shot that even a skilled player will have trouble with. Another hole (7?) plays along a murky, wide creek, where a beginner LHBH or RHFH shot could easily end up.

Flow is a little weird in some spots. Most of the shots are pretty open and uninteresting.
Other Thoughts: I played here because I had an hour of daylight left on the way back from Bradford. If you are introducing someone to the game, this works fine, but otherwise there just isn't much here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bad course

1    5/11/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i got my first hole in one here its on the first basket. It is updated trash is picked up. The walkers are actually very nice but it doesnt have the distances so i have to print it out. It is a very easy nice going course. bring a putter its good for practicing 110 ft approach shots and 275 run at it par 4's which should easly be a par 3.
Cons: It is a little short and it is only 9 holes. The baskets have names of people who wrote if they got a ''ace'' , ''double eagle'',''eagle'' so it is not to good and some of the baskets are short. need double chains so many in and out hole in ones but still easy. Cant ace hole number 2 i always go through both sets of chains. not a fan
Other Thoughts: It is the first place i started playing disc golf and that was the start of me now playing at other courses. I would not go out of my way to get here but if your here its a good warm up course. The field is perfect for testing out new discs.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a beginner!!

1    7/22/2011   3/31/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners to learn how to play disc golf.
Copious amount of ace runs, although, none for me :(.
Course is not very busy, so the chance for practice on your approach / short game is there without others waiting.
Beside the course is a huge field that I use to practice techniques for distance. Even times where I'll take my disc catcher to practice putting.
Course is in a nice park and is safe.
Slim to none potential of losing a disc.
Plenty of shade around.
Cons: Walkers/joggers can sometimes get in the way. Course is built around a walking path.
Course is by no means for the big arm.
Only 9 holes.
The suggested par could be shortened on some holes.
Didn't notice the amenities other than bathrooms and a few tennis courts that you see at other area parks and courses.
Course could flow a little better.
No elevation change at all.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course to warm up on for the day. Having said that, North Cabarrus is close and presents more of a challenge for a 9 hole course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course.

5+    12/14/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Commish
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Makes you practice a variety of shots. From wide open, to some wooded holes. From 400ft to 112ft. You usually can throw several discs and dont have a line of people waiting behind you. And, I played 54 holes in about 2 and a half hours!
Cons: You have to wait on joggers way too much!! The jogging path is directly in your way on most of the holes. And distance. A rather short course, but like I said, good for beginner practice.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.