Concord, NC 
Dorton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Simple but convenient

2-4    8/2/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: mlondon89
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you're like me in the Concord area it's close to home. Very open for the most part. Nice for practicing shot shaping etc... Usually not busy so you can take your time throw a few on each hole to maximize practice time.
Cons: It is extremely short! It's a par three nine holer but a few of these holes border ridiculous short!
Other Thoughts: If you live close it's a great warm up or practice course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Where it began

5+    5/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 457  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2013
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its in a really nice park and with several holes shorter than 200' is a perfect course for beginners or kids.

You can play it in a matter of min.

Nice teepads and teesigns

The "Par 4s" are not to bad of holes and can be challenging if you play them as 3s

This was the first course I played YYYYAAAAAYYYY

The course flows pretty well.
Cons: THis is a busy park and the course is in a walking area with paths running all through it. All it takes is a griplock and someone can get hit.

anyone who is an expereinced player will find this course to be a joke with several holes amounting to nothing more than a long putt.

Every basket is so tagged up with "Ace" or "eagle bitches!" its rediculas.

Chuckers paradise
Other Thoughts: Dorton is where it all began for me so it still has a soft place for me but it is what it is. A beginer course with very little challenge. I mean there are very few courses that you walk off disappointed that you didnt get an ace. Unless youre a course played junky this course is not worth going out of your way to play

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Meh. Solidly Meh.

1    7/22/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 36  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great place to work on your short game or play a quick round while your family is off shopping at Concord Mills (5 miles away).

Decent warm-up course (though North Cabarrus is better -- see my review of that one).
Cons: Short. I don't mind short courses at all -- I do NOT have a big arm, and I don't throw high-speed drivers. That said, I got up to the pad on #4 and looked at the basket and said "Really?!" #3 is the only really long hole on the course, but there's no way it should be a par five (as is listed here). Wide open hole that's barely over 400 feet is reachable (and makeable) in three by anyone who can throw 200 feet semi-accurately. I was embarrassed at taking a 4 on it (missed a VERY easy putt).

Navigation is horrendous. You have to walk across #8's fairway to get to the tee pad for #3.
Other Thoughts: Dorton Park is a VERY nice park. There is a lot to do for everyone in the family. And there is a lot of potential in this course, if they fix the layout/navigation issues and make some of the too short holes a bit longer (there is room, if you tweak the layout).

If there wasn't a good 9 hole course just a few miles away, this would be a great warmup course. With North Cabarrus just 3 miles away, though, this isn't really a destination course. If you're close and you're bored, go for it. But it's Charlotte -- there are plenty of options out there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, local course

1    4/11/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: ENSAFEKNOXVILLE
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a beautiful, clean park. Well manicured lawns and trails. Quality baskets and no water hazards for those who do not like the potential of losing discs : ) You can warm up/practice drives and distance throws in a large open field next to the course if you like.
Cons: Several short holes ~100 feet with little/no obstacles. The walking trail weaves throughout the course which can become an issue on a crowded, warm day. Watch out for the stoners!
Other Thoughts: Holes are a bit hard to find at times, but tee markers are nice once you find them. Overall, not a bad little 9-holer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginner course.

1    3/7/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: chefjeff315
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained and clean. Map of the course in the parking lot. Mostly open, short holes, but some are still challenging for beginners. #3 is the longest at 401, lots of chanes for aces and ego boosts for beginners. Nice teepads.
Cons: I had a little trouble finding pin 9, but other than that it's marked and laid out pretty well. Next time I will print out the course map.
Other Thoughts: My gf and i will be back as we continue to play and use this course as a practice and skill development/ disc knowledge course. I think experienced players will not be challenged very much on this course but beginners will probably like at for the reasons mentioned above.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    6/20/2011   1/31/2012
Review By: Baldzillabill
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A couple ace opportunities, though I did not make one....in a nice well maintained park. Nice blend of easy and challenging holes.
Great for beginners.
navigation is easy to figure out.
Beautiful surroundings
Great a leisurely round or two.
Cons: I almost lost a disc.
course built around a walkway.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course with good replay potential if want to play 18 holes. Would like to play this one more. .......and as always, play more discgolf!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 simple 9

1    7/1/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: Benttreedg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice quite park- -everyone was friendly and helpful when needed to be- -bathrooms at the parking lot are nice and clean- -Nice short course to work on midrange and your putting- -Nice clean concrete tee boxes- - most holes are marked with a sign showing the hole-
Cons: Very easy course. At least 2 holes are ace holes Number 4 might not even be 100 feet straight ahead of you. Watch out for snakes along the wood lines.
Other Thoughts: From the parking lot the first tee is across the bridge going toward the tennis courts. Continue past the courts and the kiddie play ground and you will run into hole 1 tee box.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Coarse

5+    6/4/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: Rythum55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great for practice, or a quick game. Great for biginners.
Cons: Very easy. 3 of the baskets should be par 2 when par 3, there's a par 5 that would be a 3 anywhere else. Way too easy to loose a disc of hole 9!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good course.

5+    6/4/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: Hawk99TA
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for short game practice. Great for beginners. Great for making you feel good...easy to get a low score. It's well kept. People are nice and respectful.
Cons: There are par 5's that would be par 3's anywhere else. Pretty easy course for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: Not too crowded. You can have a large group of people without holding people up. Clean bathrooms.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 North Cabarrus Park's neglected stepbrother

1    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 256  Reviewed: 226  Exp: 12.4 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good beginner course or quiet place for family to play.
- Could be a fun place for an ace run.
- Discatchers and concrete tee pads.
- some decent tee signs.
- hole 6 has dual tees (I did not see the other tee while I was there)
Cons: 1 missing sign, but it is a 121 feet ace run., so there is no mystery for where the basket location is.
Odd flow, after 2 holes with >125 ft ace runs you hit hole 3 which is a 401 foot which is marked a par 5, which gets to my next point: Graffiti all over the baskets. People signing "EAGLE" every time they get a 3 on what should be a par 3, but then their friends sign the baskets as "witnesses"
For hole 4 you come back to a 113 foot ace run.
Hole 5 has a vague OB. It throws over a circular trail
Hole 6 has a mando that is a clump of trees, but no one tree is designated, so it could be confusing.
The walk from 6 to 7 is another break in course flow and the course has you walk across several fairways.
Hole 8 is a 185 foot shot with a broken basket.
Other Thoughts: This course is like North Cabarrus's troubled stepbrother . It is lacking the flow, maintanence, and variety of it's counterpart which is only 3 miles away.

Break down: 3 holes under 125, 3 holes between 200-225, a 276, a 276/351, and a 401

One day of course work would improve this course to a 2 disc course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.