Concord, NC 
Dorton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 quick round

1    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 3 really short holes of just over 100 ft. and a couple 400 ft. shots. The course is bigger than it seems.
-detailed tee signs
-nearby benches
-beautiful and safe park
-mostly easy to navigate and helpful locals for some confusing spots
-beginer friendly as long as they stay on the fairway for the longer holes
-many shaded spots to stay cool from the NC sun
Cons: -be aware of the walking paths (just look before you throw and it shouldn't be an issue)
-you will sometimes need to cross other hole's fairways to go to the next tee
Other Thoughts: From the parking lot walk over the bridge and go straight past the tennis courts and you will run into the first tee. The short holes are begging you to Ace them. Dorton is a nice quick round and a great practice course for the bigger courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Quick and Easy

5+    5/25/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: SirWalter
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick Hole by Hole layout
Hole 1: Wide Open watch for trail users. Short Ace opportunity.
Hole 2: Short shot between two trees. Ace Opp.
Hole 3: Longest hole. Should be no more then a par 4. Watch for trail users.
Hole 4: Shortest Hole. Hanging limbs block easy ace but still way to easy of a hole. Ace Opp.
Hole 5: Big RHBH Hyzer drive sets up for a eagle chance or an easy birdie at the very least. Watch for trail users.
Hole 6: Favorite hole on the course. Tight fairway needing a very slight left to right shot to set up for an eagle 2.
Hole 7: Sharp (RHBH) Hyzer shot or take the unconventional rh flick shot through the small opening by the trail and skip up towards the basket. Watch for trail users if taking the flick approach.
Hole 8: Nice slight hyzer shot into a tightly guarded basket. Watch for trail users. Ace Opp.
Hole 9: I use a flick shot here to set it up high and fall off to the right over cedar trees towards the pin. Tight fairway. Basket has been broke and is now a little shorter then all the others. Can mess up putts to end the round if not aware. Discs will get stuck in cedar trees or lost in the mess on the left. Watch your disc carefully.
PROS
Nice and easy, beginner friendly course. Concrete tee pads and signs. Great course to fine tune skills and a wide open soccer field to practice drives if the field is open. Great course to go out with a group of friends to play a few rounds no matter the experience level. Ace opportunities.
Cons: Very short and crowded due to walkers and joggers. All the holes should be par 3s with maybe hole 3 being a par 4. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Park has playgrounds, and tennis courts for non-disc players and kids.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't bring the big arms.

5+    5/12/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: cvlngnir
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are in good shape and tee pads are plenty big.

Some variety on the types of shots required. There are mostly straight fairways but #3 bends right, #5 bends left. Holes #6 and 7 give you practice with a canopy. Hole #9 give newbies experience with blind shots.

Always seems to be plenty of helpful players around so if are alone you can probably play a round with one and make a new friend.
Cons: This is a VERY short course. Holes 1 and 4 should be par 2's seriously.

As previously stated there are a lot of walkers/runners to watch out for.
Other Thoughts: This is my "home" course. I take the family there about once a week. The ladies don't mind playing here and the flat terrain allows us to push our baby in the stroller.

A friend and I have played this course as speed golf once. We basically ran the entire course. We both had like 3 over for the round. A neat way to play these easy courses.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 straddle putt from the tee

1    2/1/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The big field at this park before you get to the disc golf course is huge.So, you practice drives there and work on your short game in the course.Very easy walk to play 9 holes.You could play 36 holes here in the time it takes you to play a round at Renny.
Cons: Multi-use park means YELLING FOOOUR a lot. Someone has been hit with a disc here before I am sure of it.Be safe and courteous to the walkers by yelling loud.The famous "113" foot hole is hilarious.
I am not going to measure it, but, it is actually about fifty feet or less.I straddle put from the tee without moving my feet.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Concord play the north cabaruss park and this one.Every course is worth playing once.I would have scored this lower if it wasn't for the huge flat field.In fields like that is where your driving game takes off.Hard to learn a disc when you are in the woods trying to hit the pin.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice beginers course

1    10/18/2009   1/17/2010
Review By: badmofo27
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: for new disc golfers this course will give you confidence, very nice park clean and pleasant.
Cons: to easy for anyone who has shot for more than a few times, quite a few people walking throught the park so u have to watch u dont hit a walker
Other Thoughts: nice place to play if u only have a half hour

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good for practice...

5+    7/31/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: chain-addicted
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2012
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great spot to bring one of your newbie friends. Big field adjacent to the course to practice your long drives on when it isnt filled with soccer players. EASY ace opportunity here. Nice, big concrete tee-pads.

Clean park/great atmosphere.
Cons: It can become pretty crowded in the afternoon. Walkers/joggers can get in your way when trying to throw a long drive on this course. Caveat: BE WARY OF THE PATH WALKERS ON THIS COURSE! I have heard of several people being hit here.

Water hazard possibility on hole #7, if you let loose with an errant throw.

Stepping in dog crap on this course is a possibility as well: be warned!

No elevation change: its pretty flat.

Every now and then, this course STINKS!...literally! It is right next to a creek that floods quite often and sometimes it holds a faint smell of raw sewage/animal death.

UPDATE: Basket on hole #2 is gone. I have no idea if it was stolen or if the park is trying to replace it.
Other Thoughts: If you are new to the sport of DG and/or you have other folks wanting to play/learn, then Dorton Park is everywhere you want to be. Its just a good, short walk in the park where you get to "people watch" as well. Its a good place to meet fellow disc-throwers.

I changed up my play on this one, meaning on the hole #1 tee-pad I ignore basket #1 and shoot for basket #2 as long as no-one is playing that hole at the moment. Other folks saw me doing that and they picked up on it as well. Even though its relatively short and easy, I like this little course!

This is a straight-up 3-disc-course for sure. You only need a fairway driver, a mid-range and a putter and you will do just fine.

UPDATE: This park has all but been taken over by illegal 3rd world aliens that play soccer and drink cervezas all day. I would advise just skipping this park all together unless you want a peep into the future of what America is going to become once she opens up her borders to the hordes of those that drain the welfare system, as well as putting a burden on the courts system as well. I saw plenty of "anchor babies" out there as well.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Was The Designer Trying For A Pitch And Putt Course?

1    7/18/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1026  Reviewed: 974  Exp: 39.2 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course kinda confused me. Is it a pitch and putt? Is it a beginner level course? Or was the course designer trying to squeeze a normal (recreational level) course into a very small land area. The course sets on a small area of land with a creek running down the left side. Some of holes are incredibly easy and short like # 1 (121 ft. with nothing in the way), # 2 (114 ft. with just a couple of trees) and # 4 (113 ft. putt with nothing in the way. Then you have a 400 ft. hole # 3 and # 9 is a fairly difficult hole due to trees and thick underbrush on the left. This course has nice oversized concrete tee pads, very informative tee signs and single chain baskets. There are no next tee signs but they're really not needed.
Cons: Some very short holes coupled with a 400 footer. In some ways, it's a perfect place to take a beginner. In other ways there are some chances for lost discs and maybe a little frustration factor for the newbie.
Other Thoughts: The day I played, a 11 year old kid ACED # 4, the short 113 ft. shot. He was thrilled as he should be. So was his father! I'm just not sure who exactly this course designer had in mind when he designed Dorton Park?

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 reedy creek

1    6/8/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Avenger4ThaAce
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: if your looking for an easy ace this your course.(basicly glorified putting) great course for practicing putting and midrange shots.
Cons: LEAVE YOUR DRIVER IN THE CAR!!! very short holes,way to high pars.the first time i played i went 5 under and ive been playing 2 months so yeah...not braging in any way just pointing out the easyness of the course.
Other Thoughts: not a terrible course but very very entry level.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Easy course

2-4    5/12/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 88  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great course for beginners. I've played this twice with my girlfriend, who isn't a big disc golfer, and it's short enough to not frustrate her.

- Perfect for a quick round or for some midrange/putting practice. As mentioned before, the early holes provide ace opportunities.

- There's a soccer field that you pass on the way to the first tee that is perfect to practice some drives, when empty of course.

- I feel like the course does about as good a job as any of fitting nine fairly distinctive holes into a small amount of space. It's a tiny park compared to many in the area, but the course plays longer than its size.
Cons: - That said, the course is short. They could only do so much with the park size restraints, and that is obvious on holes like #1 and #4 that are woefully short.

- As others have mentioned, many holes cross over walking trails, and you almost always have to wait for walkers to pass by on those holes. Even if the course is fairly empty of players, it will still play slower if there are a lot of walkers.
Other Thoughts: I would have given this a 1.5, but I felt like the course designers really did a great job of squeezing a playable course into the tight space. They could have easily just passed on putting a course here, and that would have been a shame.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 D = Dis Course Needs Help!

5+    10/27/2006   4/20/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 383  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 23.2 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- D
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.