Miltonvale, KS 
Tootleville Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChaserDoug Hole #11 (Taken 3/2015)
3 / 168ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Cute Toot

1    3/25/2018   3/25/2018
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 464  Reviewed: 359  Exp: 17.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tootleville. It is fun to read, fun to say and fun to play. There are 18 holes, and some of them are very good. The park has a nice blend from wide open to dense woods, short and long, and water in play often. There are tee signs, and the baskets are in pretty good shape.

The first hole is a nice opener. It is kind of long, with water the length on the left, and the parking lot on the right. Hole 5 also plays along the creek, with the fairway turning left as the creek bends right. Where they intersect, there is a window to the basket. My Destroyer cut at just the right moment and skipped to within 5 feet of the pin. If you are too short or long, branches can knock down a disc and leave it in the bottom of a soggy, brushy trench.

Hole 6 tees across the water the other way, downhill this time. There is open airspace once you get through the window crossing the creek, but if the drive fades left too hard you can be right back in it. Hole 9 is a fun run over the ravine and through the woods to Innova's chains you go. The 18th hole is an unnerving drive to a blind pin right in front of the creek. It is not too long, but the approach is on a slippery slope, so overshooting a drive or putt may skip or roll you right into the water.
Cons: Layout is navigating around a small park with other things to do. Plays near the playground, baseball field, and amphitheater. A course map and some additional signage would be great to take the guesswork out of navigation.

The tee sign was gone on hole 2, but the green metal post is still there. It is across the bridge from the basket for the first hole. Crossing the creek on hole 5 and 6 is a steep climb up and down the banks of the creek, unless you walk all the way back to the bridge. Would be treacherous after rain.

Some of the wooded holes between 7 and 12 are borderline impossible drives. Hole 10 is a par 4 that is only 187'. There is no line, I think that the 187 posted on the sign is because the tree branches murder any drive you throw. 12 is a really narrow gap as well.

Hole 13 and hole 16 share a basket I think. It was the only basket with no number, and I couldn't find another target. 16 plays directly across the field, so it won't be playable if others are using it.

There was horse manure practically everywhere in the open portion of the park.
Other Thoughts: I liked a lot of what Tootleville Park has to offer. It could use some TLC, like a little trimming and a couple of arrows pointing the way here and there. I would like to see concrete tees, and maybe a few more steps to help when crossing the creek. Park in the gravel lot next to the ball fields to be nearest the first tee sign.

It is a fun little course, and is likely not to busy most days. If there are busy days, you may have to be patient or maybe skip a hole or two.

I made it through with a 2 over par (58), with 4 birdies and 6 bogies. I would play it regularly if I lived in the area, but a few additions could improve my rating to a 3.5/5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Well worth the trip

2-4    12/23/2017   12/24/2017
Review By: KevinN
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros: all kinds of different layouts on this course; open, wooded, water hazards. For the most part, the entire course is protected from the wind.



Cons: Cons; no concrete tee pads
Other Thoughts: Overall; the layout is really challenging however I took Someone on their 2nd round ever and they did just fine. A must play if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 What a Great Time!

1    3/19/2015   6/29/2015
Review By: DiscChaserDoug
Played: 231  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Park is right along the road
helpful tee signs
course is mapped in UDisc app
new bridges to navigate the creek from holes 6 through 9
Cons:
Could use a little more clarification on OB for the course
Have to walk back through part of hole 2 fairway to get to tee 3
Holes 9 through 12 could use some trimming for a bit more defined path from tee to basket
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was very happy with this course. It was a lot of fun and a real challenge as well. I think it could be made a bit better if just a little tree trimming happened back in holes 9-12. There were a lot of short holes, but all of them made me think, especially back in the trees. I would definitely come back and play this course. It would be a great combo trip with the Concordia Airport course. This is definitely a destination course!

Be sure and read NCK1990's review. I think he did a great job and I abbreviated mine so I wouldn't just repeat what he wrote.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I thought it was well worth the 50 mile drive

1    4/11/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: NCK1990
Played: 31  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wasn't expecting much when I drove down to try this one out but WOW! What a sleeper course!
-A variety of shots and well placed targets will make you second guess your disc selection and shot choice on every hole.
-It starts out as a regular yet challenging recreational park course, then runs into some thick timber with some TIGHT fairways to give you a little bit of change from the run of the mill, rual-Kansas park courses.
-Elevation varies a little and the layout uses it nicely.
-Well maintained.
-Pro quality Innova Discatchers on every hole!
-Fairly easy to follow, especially back in the trees because there are pathways edged with fallen trees and rocks.
-After one round, I could feel it in my legs. Bring some good shoes and you'll get a workout once you get back into the creek and the thicker wooded part of the course
-Plenty of room to park
-Low traffic so you'll probably have the course to yourself
-Nice tee signs with hole info and sponsors
-Several holes back in the trees have benches set up at the tee pads (a 2X8 laid across two big logs
This is definitely one you should stop by if you're in the area and have time to play a couple rounds.
Cons: -If you like a hard tee box, there isn't any installed here yet but I wouldn't be surprised if they install some in the near future.
-It wasn't a big issue here but after #1 the course does a loop out and around the park area and comes back to the bridge to meet up with #5. I don't know why that bothers me but it shouldn't be that big of problem with the low traffic.
-There are a few crossings in the creek that could use a bridge or something a little more stable. The creek was dry when I was there so it wasn't so bad but if there was a good charge of water flowing, it might be inconvenient to cross. Someone has placed cinder blocks/rip-rap/stepping stones in the creek bed so watch your footing when climbing up the creek banks.
-The tee signs could be a little more detailed.
-The wooded park of this course was challenging to play without leaves on the trees but once they green up and fill out, some of these holes might be nearly impossible to clear. Could take the saw out and open up some of these fairways(JUST A LITTLE) to give you a recognizable line to throw on.
-Bathrooms were locked but they are next to hole 1 & 18
-Hole #2 shoots up past the tennis courts and you have to walk the fairway back to #3 tee which is right next to the #2 tee. Could be a problem during a tournament or heavy traffic.
-The water in the creek looks like it hasn't moved since the last big rain and it has a funky smell to it. There isn't much anybody can do about that unless there's a good rain.
Other Thoughts: I only had enough daylight to play one round here so there could be more problems or good things that I missed but I really had fun playing this course and the only problems I could find were not that big of deal to me. I can see mosquitoes and bugs being thick here in the warmer months so bring some bug spray.
Also I will really stress wearing a solid pair of shoes. I throw in trail-running shoes and they seemed to grip the dirt and rocks nicely but it does get a little rough back in those trees so leave the flip-flops at home.
Solid course. A variety of shots. One of those "diamond in the rough" courses that I will definitely be returning to, to play another day.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/24/2013   1/24/2013
Review By: DakotaBeals
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots almost every kind of hole from long and open to short and very technical. Theres a creek that runs through the park and comes into play on over half the holes.
Cons: No concrete teepads yet
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in the area not many courses have this much variety of shots.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for a small town course

1    9/1/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 360  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 17.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun, varied and relatively challenging design for a recreation level course. Unlike so many small town courses I see, they actually went out and bought some professional quality baskets. The creek is used quite well as a hazard and on Hole 1 can be a disc eater if you get too much hyzer (RHBH) on your shot. Flip it over and you're on the baaeball diamond.
Cons: Fairways are too close to other amenties in the park. This is a fundamental flaw that I see in so many of these small town parks where they try to cram everything and anything into the little amount of space they have. If the park isn't being used, it won't be a problem. If there's baseball, football or some other function going on, the course may be unplayable. Paver stone tee markers can be difficult to find if you don't know where to look. Thankfully, there had been a recent tournament and there were some flags out.
Other Thoughts: Take the K-189 spur highway and Tootleville is easy to find as its the first thing you'll see on the right as you enter town. No need to get your whole bag out of the car. A midrange and a putter will be fine here. I wouldn't go out of the way for this one, but good for a quick nine if you're passing through.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.