Apex, NC 
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: New013 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 176ft.   3 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Very nice course

2-4    8/28/2020   9/3/2020
Review By: rwgatorfan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is extremely well maintained by the Town of Cary. It winds around a larger park/complex with soccer and softball fields. Most of the holes are wooded, but a few are wide open. The tees and baskets are in great shape. We especially enjoy the huge drop in elevation on the 15th hole.
Cons: A couple of fairways cross on the back nine. No biggie, but you have to be alert. It's a little confusing how the holes are numbered. Does the first hole even count?
Other Thoughts: Love this course. It's both fun and challenging. Very playable for beginners. We've played it twice on Saturday mornings and have not had any problems with pace of play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a let down

1    8/11/2020   8/11/2020
Review By: Rastnav
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 8/14/2020
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I read the generally favorable reviews of this course and was looking forward to a fun round playing with a work friend of mine. See the cons, but I think people who have reviewed this course favorably may not have played when other people were using this park. They were also almost certainly playing from the long tees.

Generally speaking, this is a decently challenging course. The lines are generally not unfair, with fairly wide fairways, but the rough is mostly brutal, being filled with a myriad of small tree trunks that really prevent much other than an attempt at a roller or something overhead.

If you are a lefty or a forehand player, you will love this course. If your favorite shot is a long, RHBH turnover, you will also view this course favorably. Most of the holes require some variation of a left to right shot off the tee. I think I counted three total RHBH hyzer shots off the tee. If this something you need to work on, or just like playing that shot shape, you will have a good time.
Cons: There seems to be a great deal of wooded land in this park, most of which doesn't seem to have been considered when designing the course. It reutilizes existing open space for a great number of its holes, either entirely or in part. Even holes entirely in the woods on dedicated paths frequently cross over each other or have people doubling back to get to the next tee area.

Because this is a busy multi-use park in the evenings, one can see the issue. I remained in perpetual fear I was going to bean someone. I'm talking shots over sidewalks, shots over viewing areas for soccer fields, shots over roads, shots paralleling roads, blind shots using walking paths and stairways as fairways. If you don't get thrown into at some point in your journey, consider yourself lucky to have arrived at an off-peak time.

#8 long was the worst offender with a completely blind uphill shot thrown from a slight tunnel in the woods directly at a sidewalk and a soccer field. The grassy area that was the landing zone had people idly lounging watching the soccer practices. Someone WILL get hurt eventually.

Then there is the problem of the white tees (and the tee signs in general). Nearly every sign (that wasn't stolen or defaced beyond legibility) promised a white tee pad. In the early going of the round, we got a few clear short tee pads. But hole #4 should have been a warning. A rock thrown casually just into the rough off the fairway "marked" the short "pad", which did not exists other than as a mound of gravel, also nearly in the rough.

Things did not get better from there. The short tees basically did not exist and we stopped looking for them. 18 was the true capper, where the tee area should have been just a line painted on the sidewalk, but they couldn't even bring themselves to paint even that single line.

Add in the near complete absence of hyzer routes, or really anything other than some variation of turnover or forehand, and this course grew rapidly very stale and irritating for me.

Perhaps I would have had a completely different experience if I didn't feel rushed and crowded the entire time, but I have a feeling that is a very common experience unless you go during the day on a weekday.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure that there are disc golf layouts that can fit comfortably into a large, busy, multi-use athletic complex, but this wasn't it.

Other reviewers I have a great deal of respect for, and generally agree with, have reviewed this course much more favorably than I have. This is confusing to me and perhaps the course deserves another look, but the experience I had was negative enough that I'm not rushing to go do this.

Perhaps if I was expecting it to be as crowded as it was, I would have had an entirely different experience. As it is, I remain deeply disappointed in this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

1    5/15/2020   5/16/2020
Review By: TheBigKahunaNC
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great neighborhood course if you live nearby. Decent variety of wooded and open holes. The overall park is nice and well suited for families.
Cons: Parking will be brutal during baseball season. Traffic in and out of the park on the roads surrounding and crossing the course is nonstop. No tee pads on several holes. I've seen a lot of comments here about the course being well marked. Maybe it was at one time, but now it's not. Several tees are hidden or really far from the last basket, with no signs to be found. We had to ask several times which way to go. I'm sure once you've played it a few times it's not an issue but for new players, you have to do a LOT of walking and guessing. There are no tee pads on several holes, and no signs for that hole either. We had to guess where the tee was supposed to be. The signage has either been vandalized or stolen on several holes. Too high a percentage of the holes turn right. but I guess this is a course standby feature these days. The road comes into play too many times for my liking. It doesn't help that the road was super busy. If I lived nearby I'd play it more, but for me, it's not worth a drive. There are way better options in the Triangle.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Little Course

5+    6/8/2019   6/11/2019
Review By: krhampton
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really like this course. It forces you to play a variety of shots. This course dries up from rain much faster than other courses in the area.
It is typically not crowded at all.
Very unlikely to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: Some of the walks between holes can be long and might be difficult if to figure out where the next hole is if you haven't played.
No big open 400+ foot bomber holes. So if you really want that, this is not the course for you.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Variety

1    3/29/2019   3/31/2019
Review By: zfish102
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots open vs. wooded
Wooded holes are forgiving if you get off the fairway
Good signs for the most part
Cons: Couple of the tee signs were just scratches on a wooden post.
Long/short tees hard to distinguish
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a great course to play. I wouldn't consider it a destination course but also would try to play it if I were close by again. Some of the tee pads were hard to distinguish for short/long tees but easy to navigate. I really appreciated that the wooded holes did not have thick underbrush that made you want to give up if you got off the fairway. Overall a great course!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

1    9/5/2017   9/5/2017
Review By: tyrothchild
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course, very spread out. Other amenities such as the park for kids and astro turf fields are awesome. A couple of nice open shots along a well maintained field. Starts and ends at parking lot.
Cons: Signage is in need of update, I had to ask a couple people were hole 9 and 10 were located. Painted tee boxes are barely visible and some of the bushes need to be cut back.
Other Thoughts: Had fun and will be going back.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/24/2016   9/24/2016
Review By: rvanderpool3
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not a high precision course. It is nice to play a course like this with all the tight courses in the area.

Well marked except for the transition from hole 7 to 9.

Good use of elevation. One of the tee pads is 30 feet (i think hole 15).

9 and 18 are close to the parking lot.

Beautiful course, fun to walk.
Cons: Gets really busy during baseball games.

A few of the holes border sidewalks and roads. if you throw rhbh you will be throwing a hyzer over the road on 2.

No warning about fairways 4/5 crossing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

1    9/30/2015   9/30/2015
Review By: Cripes
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a really nice park and is well maintained. All the wooded fairways are mulched and the area is very clean. The signage is nice and helpful for finding your way around.

The course designer did a lot with the space available. All the holes are short but they have found ways to make them interesting. They have made good use the features available especially elevation changes.

Cons: Several of the holes use the sidewalk as a tee pad. A few holes play right next to roads. There are a lot of right finishing holes which is good for adding difficulty but a little frustrating for RHBH players.

The transitions between holes tend to be fairly long with several being really long. I wouldn't always call this a con, but for a fun little short course like this it would be nice if it was easier to play multiple rounds back to back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Hike, Tough Course

5+    9/21/2019   5/22/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 170  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2019
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Middle Creek is a solid course located in Southern Wake County. It's one of the most-played courses in the area in terms of organized league play. I have it at 3.0 for now, but once the next round of updates and additional holes goes through, making Middle Creek a 27-hole complex, I could easily see it jumping up to a 3.5 or even higher.

+ This is a mixed course, open and wooded, and one of the few that does both well.

+ There's a good variety of elevation, long and short holes, dogleg left and right, tunnels, open holes, and technical holes.

+ While very challenging and tightly wooded in spots, Middle Creek is a fair course. Errant shots can be punished with "natural OB" (including roads and public park areas, as well as tree jail).

+ Begin your round with "hole 0," the practice hole. Currently, holes 7 and 8 are pulled, so you're down to 16 holes. But hole 0 is a regular distance hole and fits in with the flow and character of the course. There's no reason not to play it. So, this gives you 17 holes, for now. Hopefully 7 and 8 and a new 9 holes will be added soon.

+ Hole 1 is a technical, wooded shot that you need to keep straight or finish slightly right.

+ Hole 2 is a fun one that tempts you to hyzer out over an OB park road. Obviously, you have to yield to cars and wait for an opening before you throw. It's a lot of fun to play the hyzer skip off the road, over the curb (hopefully), and right up to the pin.

+ Hole 4 is a short, sharp dogleg right. It's tough to do better than land just at the mouth of the dogleg. That will give you a circle's edge putt. If you get it any further into the mouth via skip or air, you're parked for birdie.

+ Hole 5 is uphill, straight to slightly right finishing. It's short, but plays longer due to the elevation.

+ Hole 6 is downhill, straight, and very narrow. If you miss the line, you can be punished with a tough kick.

+ Hole 7 plays from the sidewalk of a busy road, through a very narrow gap, finishing at an open green on the corner of the park road. If you make the gap and finish straight or to the right, you're parked for 2.

+ Hole 9 is a very challenging, long, wooded hole with the basket perched on a steep, grassy hill. Lots of risk/reward elements on this one.

+ Hole 10 might be the toughest hole on the course. After the long walk from hole 9, the #10 tee is on the sidewalk looking down on a very long and tightly wooded fairway. Getting it close to the green requires a accurate power. Off-the-fairway shots can be severely punished with bad kicks.

+ Hole 11 is a fairly easy, downhill hole. You just have to throw it straight. The fairway is pretty wide on this one, but miss your line left or right and you could end up in tree jail.

+ Hole 12 is more open than most of the back 9, but still tree-lined and technical. If you have an anhyzer shot in your arsenal, you'll love this hole.

+ Hole 13 is back in the thick of the woods. It's uphill and very technical. It's a fun hole unless you end up in jail.

+ Hole 14 is a short, dogleg right. Another technical one.

+ #15 is really unique. You tee off at the top of a steep flight of stairs, sharp hyzer to a blind basket. I've never played a hole like that anywhere else.

+ Hole 16 is similar to hole 14. It's pretty short, dogleg right and technical.

+ Hole 17 is a contender for signature hole. It's pretty open, but trees and mandos on the right force you to play the hole from left to right. But on the left is an OB road and street lights. If you have an accurate flick in the 250-300-foot range, that's the play. The green area is surrounded by OB roads and paths. Nice risk/reward hole.

+ I really like #18, which is a wide open 300' hole with the basket on a hill. It's a fun, easy way to end a pretty challenging course.
Cons: While Middle Creek is solid course, for some reason I tend to skip it for Jones Park or other options in the area. I think this is more personal preference and the fact that I've played poorly here many of the times I've played.

- Very long walks in between several holes. The signage is good, so you don't get lost, but it feels like you're walking 36 holes to play 18. This is especially true right now with holes 7 and 8 missing. There's a long walk from 6 to 9 and another really long walk from 9 to 10. Lots of walking in between 6 and 10 with only one hole of golf.

- The fairways are very fair, but I think it skewed too much towards dogleg right fairways versus hyzer holes. (Hence why I get frustrated playing here as a RHBH player.)

- Crossing fairways for holes 4 and 5. And it's somewhat of a blind cross too. If you're teeing off on 4, make sure there's no one walking across the fairway from the 5th tee to the 5th fairway.

- This is an extremely busy multi-use park. Several holes are near busy roads (0, 2, 6, 17, and 18) and paths/pedestrians (the former #7 and #8, hole 15, plus holes 17 and 18).
Other Thoughts: A solid Triangle-area course. Can't wait to see how the expansion turns out. Middle Creek could be a gem at that point.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Not Great

1    5/8/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: imnotgood
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is in great condition. Grass is well cut and the paths are beaten down nicely. The tee pads are large. Nice variety of wood holes (most of the course) and open shots that still require skill (i.e. 18). 15 is a unique and memorable hole.
Cons: Not a long course. 3-4 of the tee pads are sidewalk and not a complete tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Two tee pads on some of the holes. Sometimes a closer tee pad was marked on the signage, but didn't exist on the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.