Cary, NC 
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: New013 Hole #15 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 229ft.   3 / 229ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: Basket is down and then 100 feet left.


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Good course

1    9/5/2017   9/5/2017
Review By: tyrothchild
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course, very spread out. Other amenities such as the park for kids and astro turf fields are awesome. A couple of nice open shots along a well maintained field. Starts and ends at parking lot.
Cons: Signage is in need of update, I had to ask a couple people were hole 9 and 10 were located. Painted tee boxes are barely visible and some of the bushes need to be cut back.
Other Thoughts: Had fun and will be going back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    9/24/2016   9/24/2016
Review By: rvanderpool3
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not a high precision course. It is nice to play a course like this with all the tight courses in the area.

Well marked except for the transition from hole 7 to 9.

Good use of elevation. One of the tee pads is 30 feet (i think hole 15).

9 and 18 are close to the parking lot.

Beautiful course, fun to walk.
Cons: Gets really busy during baseball games.

A few of the holes border sidewalks and roads. if you throw rhbh you will be throwing a hyzer over the road on 2.

No warning about fairways 4/5 crossing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

1    9/30/2015   9/30/2015
Review By: Cripes
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a really nice park and is well maintained. All the wooded fairways are mulched and the area is very clean. The signage is nice and helpful for finding your way around.

The course designer did a lot with the space available. All the holes are short but they have found ways to make them interesting. They have made good use the features available especially elevation changes.

Cons: Several of the holes use the sidewalk as a tee pad. A few holes play right next to roads. There are a lot of right finishing holes which is good for adding difficulty but a little frustrating for RHBH players.

The transitions between holes tend to be fairly long with several being really long. I wouldn't always call this a con, but for a fun little short course like this it would be nice if it was easier to play multiple rounds back to back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Hike, Tough Course

1    5/22/2015   5/22/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 103  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course. The fairways are immaculate. Most have a layer of mulch. There's a good variety of elevation, long and short holes, right curves, left curves, straight tunnels, and wide open fields. I really liked #18, which is a wide open 300' hole with the basket on a hill. It's a fun, easy way to end a pretty challenging course. #15 is really unique. You tee off at the top of a steep flight of stairs, sharp hyzer to a blind basket. I've never played a hole like that anywhere else.
Cons: Veeeery long walks in between several holes. The signage is good, so you don't get lost, but it feels like you're walking 36 holes to play 18. The fairways are very fair, but I thought it skewed too much towards right curve fairways vs left curves. There are a couple of crossing fairways and a few fairways that parallel somewhat busy streets. A few tees are off sidewalks, including the one at the top of the stairs.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one I will play again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Not Great

1    5/8/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: imnotgood
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is in great condition. Grass is well cut and the paths are beaten down nicely. The tee pads are large. Nice variety of wood holes (most of the course) and open shots that still require skill (i.e. 18). 15 is a unique and memorable hole.
Cons: Not a long course. 3-4 of the tee pads are sidewalk and not a complete tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Two tee pads on some of the holes. Sometimes a closer tee pad was marked on the signage, but didn't exist on the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Brought along some new folks

2-4    4/11/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Aceman53nc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, great short game shots on front nine, back nine has longer shits to mix it up a bit. Good place to bring wife with woodchipped fairways through woods and lots of concrete walkways. Well marked. Beautiful facility with restroom between 9~10.
Cons: Need rubber mats or concrete pads for secondary tees. Some fairways cross as stated in prior reviews.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Too Easy for Intermediate Players

1    11/23/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: ncgamedog
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nice, clean, safe, uncrowded, well maintained, well equipped (benches, pads, baskets, signs), disc golf course. For beginners, this would be an outstanding place to cut your teeth, and I'm sure thats the intent of the layout after playing here.
Cons: Basically a pitch-&-putt if you're an intermediate player. Could have left my bag in the car and played the whole course with a Roc and Ryhno.
The facilities are excellent, so the monotony of each hole was disappointing. But I suppose it could be worse, and if you need a confidence booster, there are about 10 ace runs on this course if not more.
Other Thoughts: I hate to be too hard on this course, because obviously, some folks have put a lot of work into it to have a nice place to play. From a pure amenities standpoint, one of the best I've played!
But at the end of the day, I'd still prefer more of a challenge or some variety of shots.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I Like This Course

1    6/26/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 47.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2013
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well placed, numerous directional signs are very helpful, especially for first time players of the course. Great John Houck tee signs. Beautifully manicured, fairly wide fairways through the forest with wood chip mulch covering the dirt on many holes. All that mulch does make me wonder how many trees were felled for the course, though.
Cons: My negatives include the one pair of cross over fairways and the couple of holes that tee off on sidewalks. Also, I hope that there are plans to lay pads where only rocks with red numbered tags are now.
Other Thoughts: Though I've always been more of a fan of open courses, this is wooded course with well defined, fairly wide fairways which I will enjoy playing again. And I do wonder why the course description lists three tee positions.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    6/4/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Middle Creek winds around a new, clean city park. There are holes that follow wide fairways through light forest and holes that open up onto nice-looking fields. The signs read two sets of tees, though the close tees are marked only by a numbered rock. The close tees are fun, but they won't provide much challenge. For the most part, golfers will be using the standard, far tees that are permanent, and placed by the signs. (The signs by the way, are some of the best around, showing the distance and par(though all are threes I think) and giving an excellent layout of the hole.)

For an easier course, there is a surprising amount of variety. Not only in coming in and out of the woods, but in the types of shots you will be looking to throw.

There's even a pretty awesome signature hole. 15 tees off from the top of a staircase. The green is directly below you, then to the left of the staircase. For many, this will be the furthest they will ever throw their putter. Because of the severe elevation change, it may be hard to judge when to hook left, but once you get it right, a birdie is very possible.
Cons: A few times, holes run near/along roads and parking lots but they aren't busy streets. It also leans to the easy side and doesn't require the precision that a lot of triangle-area courses do.

It also can be crowded with some pretty large groups.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good all-around course

5+    4/18/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: Bgoulette
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * Close to my house :)
* Decent facilities
* Reasonably well-marked
* Multiple tees*
* Free to play
Cons: * Close to roads on some holes
* Poor drainage, often "swampy" after even moderate rain
* Somewhat repetitive hole design
* Alternate tees are painted rocks that may or may not be where they should
* Bottles and cans strewn about
Other Thoughts: This is course is really close by, so sometimes during lunch I'll just pop on over and throw some plastic. I definitely appreciate the convenience!

The cons I've listed are just to provide a better-rounded description, but I think this is a great course, and would be better if jerks would be considerate enough to pack out their wrappers and cans and bottles. I can understand occasionally forgetting your drink on the tee pad or something, but there are crushed cans and overturned bottles all over the place! And there are a handful of garbage cans located throughout the course (hole 14, in particular, stands out). There is now a practice basket just before entering the lane for hole 1, and they've added benches to a few holes (1 and 9 stand out, though I think there are more). As an added bonus, someone was kind enough to trace around their discs and create "disc chargers" on the benches :D

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.