Cary, NC 
Middle Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: kuhlbeans Hole #16 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 216ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Slight uphill that curves gently to the right as it goes. Very dense evergreen trees along right side that are best avoided.


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Solid Community Course

1    5/22/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in a widely-used community park and sports (baseball/softball, soccer fields) complex.
- The course varies between wooded holes and some open ones - good variety for such a "groomed" park
- Easy to find, ample parking near hole 1, bulletin board/kiosk with helpful, descriptive course map (which I'm finding is too rare for my tastes)
- Restrooms a short walk from the parking lot (also on your way from hole 9 to 10)
- Clean, no trash
- Scorecards with map available
- Nice, new DisCatchers help visibility on the wooded holes
- Mulch/brick circles around some of the baskets as greens/10m circle
- Multiple tee pads on some (most?) holes for variety and/or beginners
- Tee pads are concrete and in excellent shape - they are flush and wider in the back for a nice easy run-up
- First time I've encountered Innova Platinum tee signs - these things are beautiful with an excellent hole map showing accurate features, next tee direction, par and distances for each tee - course map is of similar quality/design
- Good mix of woods as well as open holes and wide fairways
- OB in play on the right side of hole 12, as well as all park roads - water (small creek) barely in play on #3 and #6
- Good elevation changes for an overall flat area - holes 6 and 10 play across small valleys - holes 5 and 11 are downhill tunnels - holes 9 and 18 have baskets up on hills from the fairways down below - hole 15 is a short dogleg shot down a real steep hill (real concrete staircase with railings get you down to the bottom) - the elevation changes are there, but not grueling
- Baskets 9 and 18 bring you right back to the parking lot
- Overall a pretty low chance for lost discs - the woods aren't too thick on the front 9 nine and some of the back 9 holes (although, hole 10 was tight with many trees and hole 16 was a bit overgrown, I felt)
- Professional install - I'm sure the locals were instrumental with the design and they do a great job of upkeep, but it seems the town really poured some money into a quality, uniform installation (tee pads, tee signs, open fairways, etc.) - I even found on the town website that they had an engineered drawing that went out to bid for contractor installation
- A couple of these holes really stuck with me when I was done - hole #2 (although playing alongside a busy park road) was a nice fairly open shot, but some select trees and lightpoles stand in the way, along with the road itself as OB, hole #6 was a cool, short little hole across a little, vegetated valley, hole #10 was a tight window into a wooded fairway, hole #15 was a very unique layout, straight down a steep hill, then hard dogleg left to a blind ace run basket, hole #18 was a nice, open, welcoming finish across the grass with the pin up on a hill as a finale
Cons: - A few holes run very near and alongside fairly busy park roads (#2, 17, 18 - even #6 could be trouble with an overthrown, errant drive) - had to wait a few times for traffic
- Long tee on hole 5 crosses fairway for hole 6 - have to walk across fairway 11 to get from 13 to 14 (careful of drives coming down 11 if your approach goes long on 13 and while teeing off on 14) - not optimal to have these interferences
- Although navigation is easy with the map, there are a few long walks from hole to hole (8 to 9, 9 to 10, 15 to 16, 16 to 17)
- Holes 16 (basket), 17 and 18 play close to one of the softball fields
- No benches or trash cans out on the course
- Scorecard only shows distances for one set of tees
Other Thoughts: - Tee sign for hole #6 was missing when I played (hopefully it's been replaced) - tee location seemed pretty obvious though
- Came across a couple deer behind #15 basket
- When baseball/softball are going, you have the luxury of a concession stand

I found myself very torn on this rating. I was all prepared to give it a 4, as I had a great experience and feel that this is a great course - as you can see above, there are tons of "pros", in my opinion. The variety, tee signs, unique features (hole 15), etc. stuck with me after my visit. However, as I began to itemize my review, some of the cons were significant (frequent proximity to roads and crossing fairways) and have to be factored in. If this course were simply picked up and moved as is to someplace away from roads (and the 2 crossings tweaked a bit), I think my rating would instantly shoot up. I definitely hope to get back to this course sometime.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/1/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 110  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Navigation of course
Upkeep of grounds
Solid concrete pads when there are tees
Baskets are in good shape
Variety of holes (kind of)
Cons: No opportunities to let loose
Throwing from sand or the sidewalk on at least 3 holes
The alternate tee pads are designated by rocks
Location next to the road is extremely inconvenient
Other Thoughts: Having just moved from Iowa which have awesome courses, this course is highly disappointing. I did not use a driver once, the longest hole was like 310ft or something. First time on the course I shot a -5. If this is the most challenging course in the area I am highly disappointed.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: David5017
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mix: bombs away on 8, 17, and 18. Some short placement shots, some tight fairways.15 is a fun blind downhill dogleg left - wow! Nice variety of up and down hills.
Cons: Some fariways are right next to the road so watch for cars before you toss.
Other Thoughts: Easy parking, good signage, easy to follow course. Bathrooms and drinking fountain between 9 and 10. They mow and mulch reguraly so it's always in pretty good condition.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 cool course

1    6/18/2011   5/6/2012
Review By: xb400
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: wonderful course. I brought a first timer there and they had a blast playing. so it is challenging for all skill levels.

The baskets are surrounded in brick and mulch witch makes this course have a bit of flair. very cool
Cons: Not much bad I can say about the course although down in the woods we almost got lost but soon found our way.
Other Thoughts: the complex that the course is on is very cool and very well taken care of.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 pretty nice place

2-4    4/15/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 32  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful forest.
Well-defined fairways.
Good signs. Easy to find holes.
Challenging distance, but no extremely long holes.
Not much litter.
Friendly people at the park.
Some interesting elevation.
Cons: Too close to the roads on some holes.
Basket 18 was on a hilltop right next to a road! My disc rolled all the way down the hill into the road.
Crowded park, with the baseball and stuff. The DG area was not very crowded, though.
Some blind holes, in the springtime.
Some rocks in the fairway, causing funny bounces and disc wear.
Some tees were just an unmarked spot in the dirt.
Hardly any holes had two tee pads, even though the signs indicated alternate tees and distances.
Other Thoughts: This was an enjoyable round for me today. Some of my putts didn't go in, but it was such a nice environment that it didn't really bother me. A very relaxing place. Except for the holes right next to the roads.There were several of those. There is a long walk between 9 and 10. Go up past the baseball fields and to the edge of the woods, and tee off from the top of the hill. There were a few empty bottles laying around the fairways and I just picked them up. Found a putter belonging to Jason somebody, and the phone # on the disc was a "wrong number".

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: RyanA4
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Maintenance People very nice and courteous. They do good Job Keeping Course up to shape. There are Alot of different types of holes on this course. Fun for players of ALL skill. I have brought some friends out there for their first rounds and it wasn't too intimidating like Cedar Hills might be.
Cons: High Schoolers litter everywhere. Jackass' break beer bottles so I no longer walk my dog out there!
Other Thoughts: Overall very fun. Hoperfully the stupid people won't ruin course. Oh and someone recently broke the basket on hole 15!! Please be VERY CAREFUL with this basket! Hopefully will be fixed by someone soon.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 typical park style course

1    9/25/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 62  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads that are angled wide to narrow from back to front
fairways are plenty wide and fair enough, although they are not overly challenging you can still find the rough and when you do just take your punishment and punch out because many holes you are not able to advance toward the basket from the rough
great bathrooms and water fountains
good signage so if amenities are really important to you this course will be one of your favorite
good use of elevation as many holes play over small ravines or have you throwing downhill, not to many uphillers which is always nice
the layout is decent with a fair amount of left turners, right turners, but the strait downhill shots are a bit repeating
hole 6 is a great thumber hole next to the entrance, and I loved hole 15 a itty-bitty downhill hyzer ace run (aim almost at the corner of the woods on the left side)
Cons: As I previously mentioned there are several holes with the same tunnel shot holes 5, and 11 are downhill tunnel shots and 7 is a flat one
hole ten is by far the most challenging here and I almost dont like it, the tee box is atop a hill and you are looking almost even with the top limbs of the trees lining the fairway (which is really the only unfair one here its not wide at all)
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my experience here overall, and its worth the trip from raleigh
While theyre wasnt any epic holes(and this is the reason Im changing from a 3.5 to a 3), several holes are challenging enough to make it worthwhile

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Egg sandwiches.

1    8/20/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 7.4 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played really horrible,but this course is pretty simple,you don't really have to throw any shots that any rec player couldn't perform,some basic hyzers,some straight shots down hills,and a few annys round out the bunch.

All of the fairways are very well defined,you always knew the route that needed to be taken off the tee.

Discatchers were in good shape,and that's always a plus for me.
Cons: I will reiterate that there is quite a bit of walking,but I didn't find anything overly strenuous.

I feel like my main pro is also a con,this is definitely a rec course,i wouldn't advise going here if you're looking for the ultimate challenge sent by the disc golf gods,but if you're just starting out,or are bringing someone new,this would be a good place.
Other Thoughts: This was a very clean park as far as I can remember,there were restrooms not too far away from the first tee and you have to walk back in front of them at one point,so that's something to keep in mind.

This isn't the best NC has to offer,but it's definitely not the worst either,worth checking out if you're in the area.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A MUST play!

1    8/17/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: chucker10
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful area, beautiful park. Clean course and well maintained, not crowded. Hole 1 has a little mail box on the tee sign with a score card which has the course layout on the back of it. Great tee pads (I thought it was neat how some tee pads got narrower, from back to front, almost gave you the illusion that you were gaining speed as you were teeing off), great signage and easy to get around from hole to hole. Just a fun course to play. Great mix of left and right handed holes, elevation change. It is not a long course and each hole seems easy when you get on the tee pad but the lack in distance on most holes is made up by having to be accurate and stay on the fairway, otherwise your second shots will likely be lay ups to give you a chance at a 3rd shot. Great course to hone your accuracy while having fun at the same time.
Cons: Could use benches and I suppose if you're the type of player that can toss a driver a long ways the course could be longer, but aside from that I think it's nearly perfect. The biggest con for me is that it's not a course near my house.
Other Thoughts: A MUST play course in my opinion especially if you're a beginner or intermediate level player. I live in Charlotte NC and played while headed to the Raleigh area. I would make the 3 hour trip to play this course even if I wasn't going up that way for another reason. Loved it!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: pfpro
Played: 53  Reviewed: 40
This review was updated on 10/16/2014
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The setting is great - a beautiful park.
- They now have a practice basket!
- You get decent amenities on your walk from hole 9 - 10 (toilets, water fountain).
- The signs are good.
- Pretty decent elevation changes for a NC course - where things are relatively flat.
- I have played several times, and it is not crowded (which surprises me because of the beauty of the course, the setting in the park, all of the neighborhoods in close proximity) during the week. Weekends can be crowded.
Cons: - A few of the holes criss-cross.
- A few of the holes are "boring" - relatively short, straight, unchallenging holes, but I guess every hole cannot be an epic hole. These are challening but makeable ace runs.
- I do wish they would put in "pro" tees. They have it on hole 8, and that's about it. The long tees are good and challenging, but the extra set of tees would add to some good variation and challenge, since the pins do not move.
Other Thoughts: - Maybe more (hole-by-hole breakdown) later, but I consider this a home course, and a great on to play. If you hustle, you can get through it in 45-50 minutes by yourself. The short tees allow my young daughters a chance to play and feel decent about trying to get to a par, and challenge me to get a par from the regulars).
Favorite holes: 2 (don't hit the on-coming traffic), 6 (great blind shot), 8 (thumb from the regular tee), 10 (toughest hole on the course), 11 (hopefully my first ace in the near future), 15 (signature blind ace-run)
Most-challenging holes (for me):
5, 10, 13
Hole 1: wooded hole - make sure you warm up a little walking from the parking lot. There are a few strategically placed trees that make it just challening enough. (edit on this, one of the trees, guarding the left side of the fairway has been taken down, so mentally, it's a little easier to throw now).
Hole 2: open, straight shot, looks more intimidating then it is. You are between the woods and a road, with on-coming traffic, can be busy around school start and finish.
Hole 3: wide, wooded, simple dog-leg right, the only hole with water, not really in play, but the drainage creek is deep (my favorite disc went off a tree, rolled across the fairway and into the ditch). If it goes in, you wade or it's gone
Hole4: wide, wooded, straight, slight uphill.
Hole 5: wooded, straight downhill tunnel.
Hole 6: blind, high thumber shot over a wooded gulley - once you get the shot, should be a simple birdie. (during summer months, the trees have grown, making this up and over a tougher line)
Hole 7: wooded, straight, short ace-run. Ghetto pro tee pad, play from the crosswalk in the median of the street.
Hole 8: open, straight shot, basket with slight tree protection (firebird thumber gives the perfect path)
Hole 9: wooded, straight hole, basket on a hill
Hole 10: Long, straight downhill into a wooded tunnel. Hardest hole on the course IMO. RHBH with a slight hyzer will set you up for a hyzer lay-up shot, and then Par!
Hole 11: Short, downhill, straight ace run.
Hole 12: Slight right-turning shot, (relatively) long.
Hole 13: Uphill, tunnel shot
Hole 14: Right-turning shot, slight uphill (money LHBH shot)
Hole 15: Signature hole, left-turning downhill blind ace-run (I have been experimenting with a thumber directly at the pin - more consistent for me)
Hole 16: Short, sharp right-turning uphill
Hole 17: Wide open (not counting the line of evergreens) You can RHBH hyzer out over the softball fields -watch the mando, but don't do it during a game.....
Hole 18: Wide open, straight, basket on top of the hill

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.