Sabattus, ME 
Sabattus Disc Golf - Owl Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #5 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 167ft.   3 / 167ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Owl , One Of The Better Beginner Courses

1    8/18/2020   8/31/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 714  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 27.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I won't give you the beginnings like the other reviews . Checking in at the pro shop , I think the cost of playing the Owl is $3 per person which is reasonable . The course sits off to the right if you are looking at the property from the parking lot . Nice bathrooms are in the pro shop , beyond the large parking lot . I was playing the Falcon late into the evening , not sure if I was going to get the Owl in or not . I noticed that there were several families just starting out on the Owl Course . I finished the Falcon and had to ask where the Owl started .
The Equipment - The 9 tee pads are all cement , a little short but ,,,, . The signage is just a post with an owl and 2 little lanterns on it , and a kind of large street number identifying the hole # . I had to admit that the sign looked cool , even to an adult big numbers show you the way . . The baskets were thinned out , like those MVP Precision baskets . It is way tougher to putt into it from 10' or more away . There are next tee signs to help you stay on track , but the area is pretty compact , so that you don't need a lot of direction .
The landscape - The course was mowed and trees trimmed and branches cleared from the fairways when I was here . The course was immaculate . The area is pretty flat , but there are some grades here and # 7 has an uphill left to right throw to a level area with a tree line . The trees are used a little since part of this course is in the woods .
The Highlights - No great holes here , but the holes would be fun for the kids .
This is just pure disc golf fun . Whether you jump on the course as an adult , warming up for one of the 18 hole courses , or an excited kid ( I saw lots of those ) or family wanting to spend time together . This might even be a good date course .
Time - at 1592' , this course can be completed in 15-20 minutes . foursomes are only families .

Disc risk - should be at about 0 . No overgrowth to speak of and short holes .
The holes actually range from 132' to 240' and actually force you to throw precise putts .
I will explain why this is such a great family course in other thought .
Cons: Safety - with enthusiastic kids , and some parents throwing casually ( or annually ) , and some fairways close together , there are some chances of getting tattooed by plastic . Be aware that this is mostly a family or kids course .
Equipment - Having tee signs would make the course look more professional ( not a must , though ) .
Some might gripe about the $3 pay to play . I think it's still a bargain .
Other Thoughts: Okay . I figured out why the families were on the course late , since I was right there with them . All of the sudden and it was going to dusk , the little lanterns next to the owl began to slowly light up making the owl more pronounced at the hole signs . It was almost completely dark when I came up to the last hole , and the basket lit up like it was full of light beads , red and white . This was over the top cool to me . I had never seen this before .
I called one of the proprietors at Sabattus , and they explained to me that the next project was to work on the Owl course to make it an even better experience . It's going to be tough to make this course any better .
The Owl is yet another reason for you to stop , get some fresh air and play their course .
I am waiting for them to announce that they are putting a bar & grill here next .

My Recommendation - a good warmup for the better players , especially the putting part . Locals will love goofing around on this course , before or after rounds . This would be a great date course , and of course this is perfect for families .
Travelers will prefer to play the falcon just because this course finishes so quick . but it is just off of I-95 and I-295 . Course collectors will not miss out on the shortest and quickest 9 holes , only to be combined with 3 other courses on this property . 4 total courses , 4 hours of play .
This is what happens when an owner pours major money into a dream and that dream is realized . 100 total acres devoted to nothing but disc golf . You have to see this pro shop and the whole setup here.
Come here , enjoy it , PLAY IT !!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pitch, then Putt

1    8/14/2019   8/14/2019
Review By: markmcc
Played: 272  Reviewed: 249  Exp: 8.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I recently reviewed the Dragonfly putter course at Augusta Disc Golf and stated that it shouldn't be considered a course at all. I would give the nod to Owl and say that this one IS a legitimate 9-hole course, but it is still hard to decide on a review score.

First of all, this is not a putter course, and not even a course that I would expect 9 straight birdie two's on. There is some length to the holes, some twisty lines, and enough trees to jump in front of your disc and make you scramble a little.

Good teepads and baskets are all that you need out here, but the plastic owl mounted on the sign posts are a cool add-on.
Cons: It is a short, easy course without much else to say. I used it as a warmup for the longer courses on the complex, and even then I didn't feel warmed up enough to throw a full power drive.

Oddly the tee signs are very basic with no distance. Out of character for the complex.
Other Thoughts: This course is the icing on the cake that is Sabattus. Not a reason to come and play the complex, but a little something extra when you do.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/2/2019   7/29/2019
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 327  Reviewed: 316  Exp: 24.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Owl is the intro level 9-hole course at the spectacular family friendly disc golf complex at Sabattus. For experienced players this serves as a great warm-up round (and/or end of day round) where only putters and maybe a mid is necessary and where every hole is deuceable. For beginners, Owl offers a great way to expose new players to the game.

Great hole variety for a short 9 hole course. Each hole was unique featuring some straight, left, and right shaped holes through mostly wooded land with obvious fairways. Many holes incorporate a little up/down to it. And no hole is a boring gimmee 2 either. Crossing the bridge over the brook is a great entrance and adds to the scenic experience, however the brook (for good reason) is not in play on this course.

Scorecard lists two sets of par- one for kids, one for adults.

I love the plastic owls ornamenting the tee posts on every hole staring at you while teeing off. That also made it so I could remember the name of this course and not get confused like I do with the other 3 course names.
Cons: On #7 (I think) being a sharp cut to the left, it is easy to accidentally play to the wrong basket straight ahead.

If I am remembering correctly, I don't think hole distances were posted on the tee signs, only on the scorecard. Not sure the reason for this, just that seemingly no detail was left out at Sabattus, except for this.
Other Thoughts: My rating of 2.0 may seem a bit low because I think Sabattus is a wonderful place as a whole, and as far as short 9-hole intro "putter" courses go, this is one of the best around, but measured on its own against the other 300+ courses I've played it is just a really nice warmup/short game/practice course (for most players). Would be near a 4.0+ for kids and its intended purpose however.

Supposedly lit up at night. I would love to play a round under the lights- sounds cool!

Sabattus DG's mission is to make disc golf available for all skill levels and the Owl course plays its roll in fulfilling that mission. The day we played a bus load of kids at summer camp came and played it for a few hours- very cool of Sabattus to be on board with spreading the love and benefits of disc golf to the youngsters!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/18/2013   8/18/2016
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 75  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 18.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Given that the goal of The Owl is the novice player, it's fulfills that responsibility relatively well. The holes are short, approach-length holes--a great place to learn to throw putters and mid-ranges with accuracy. Aside from the golf, Sabattus has a wonderful Pro-Shop with helpful staff and tons of discs and merch. Truly a mecca of disc golf.
Cons: There is somewhat of an oxymoron between novice disc golfers and wooded course design. It's not east to learn to throw a disc properly when shot shaping through trees comes into play. I'd like to see a beginner course focus more on open shot with protected baskets to give new players a wider path to learn to throw properly. As a local Philadelphia pro, I try to bring those new to the sport somewhere a little more open so as not to discourage them. Shot shaping comes into play with Rec players, not novice players.
Other Thoughts: I have nothing but great things to say to people about Sabattus. it's easily one of my favorite places to travel and play disc golf.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Who?

1    7/31/2015   8/6/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 196  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course at Sabattus you use to introduce someone to the sport. The holes are generally short, but they aren't boring soccer field holes. They are all wooded, and you will learn to throw around trees and hit different lines. There is a good mix of righty and lefty holes, and there is a little bit of elevation.

Like the other courses, there are concrete tees and woodchips everywhere to sop up any moisture. The course is lit for night play.
Cons: I didn't understand some of the lines that were required. Hole 3 is a 240-foot hole that is trivially easy to get a 3 on and really tough to get a 2 on (this makes for a boring hole). Other than a crazy turnover forehand roller, no realistic shot that I could see would put you within the circle. There were a few other holes like this.
Other Thoughts: This was the only course on the property I didn't find very interesting. It's not the short distance; I don't mind a having some fun ace runs and birdie runs. The design felt kind of ordinary. That said, it's good to have a course here for the beginners, and this will show them a very well-groomed property that will show what disc golf has to offer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beginner niner that pretty much achieves what it is meant to do. It is part of a premier complex that takes pride in its presentation and Owl does not disappoint in that regard. They have constructed a nice chain of player development. This course appeals to true beginners. Red-level players will love Hawk and graduates of that course will move on to Eagle. It's a really well thought-out complex and the whole experienced is enhanced by amenities such as the basket fountain and the impressively-stocked clubhouse. Really a great place to begin playing the sport for those of any age and athletic ability.

The course pretty much hits its marks. The holes are short, but they provide a good illustration of what the sport is like on a smaller scale. There are some elevation changes. The fairways are clearly defined and cut through woods. They are more than generous in their width, so new players shouldn't become frustrated. At the same time, they feature some shape to the hole design. It's fairly simple: most holes require a straight-ish shot with a fade in a given direction at the end. It will require hyzers and players will have to pick up an anny or a forehand to master the course.

And oh, yeah, it's lit. That's a really nice touch for a small course like this. I can imagine playing Eagle as the sun is going down, and as the lights come on, there is suddenly time for another nine easy holes. Even experienced players could enjoy the course in that situation as it feel like a bonus. After that experience, it has to be fun to kick back and run aces and a short course with some solid variety in terms of directions, not just right and left but up and down, as well.
Cons:
But I think I'd appreciate the course more if there weren't already two relatively easy courses on site. Playing it under the lights would be fun, especially for relief after Eagle. But playing it after Hawk, it's an overload of easy tosses.

There are also a couple places where baskets aren't quite safe from the tosses of other holes. But the course is mostly well-done. It's just not striving for much.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great little 9

1    8/26/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 831  Reviewed: 777  Exp: 18.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an excellent warmup for the two tougher courses onsite, and is perfect for introducing newer players to the sport. The lengths are short, so beginners won't be too frustrated. The lines are technical, but not terribly punitive. You have to hit your lines but it's not a miserable experience for an inaccurate player who misses the fairways. There is a nice mix of left, right and straight shots to test different lines.

The course is maintained perfectly for the intended audience. The fairways are leveled and smooth, and there isn't much rough or dead sticks. That makes it accessible for families with strollers. The concrete tees are in nice shape. The hole markers are basic, but there are arrows on trees pointing the way to the basket and then to the next tee. The onsite pro shop is well stocked with discs, accessories and snacks, and there's a great warmup area with putting baskets and a driving net.
Cons: There are some safety issues with fairways near one another and some places where players walk along the fairway on the way to the next tee. These issues are worse when the majority of the players are newer and don't always know where their disc is going to end up. Obviously this course doesn't have a whole lot of challenge, and doesn't have a whole lot of replay value for better players.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a great time here, the holes are reasonable lengths with interesting but fair lines. I saw a lot of kids with families out playing and having a great time on this course, I love seeing a course that really caters to the people who can be the future of the sport. Experienced players will enjoy a putter round here to warm up, but won't find a lot of challenge.

This complex is a great example of pay to play working. The local community has embraced the sport, and the owners clearly use a good amount of the proceeds to keep the place in beautiful shape. The three different levels of courses make this a great stop for any level of player.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Warmup

1    8/13/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 92  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The fairways, baskets, teepads, and signs are all in perfect shape.
-Great as a warm-up for the 18 hole courses on site.
-Lit at night
-Short enough for your young children but technical enough for you.
Cons: The only cons this course potentially has come from it's intended use not being taken into account. The course is primarily for children (in case the happy owls on each tee sign were not a clue) and as such is short with no water hazards and a massive par. An adult player looking for a challenge will be very disappointed but a mom or dad with their kids will be happy to have a great way to introduce the kids to the sport.

Other Thoughts: As I mentioned in the cons section, this is primarily a children's course, but it actually makes for a great way to warm up and practice your putt and approach game. There are two other courses on site and both require some powerful bombs and tight control shots, so it's good to start here and get psyched for the challenges ahead. While the course was very easy for an adult player, I was surprised to find that there were some slightly tricky shots set up using both elevation and tighter spots on the fairway, so even the experienced player will find entertainment. You can't just point and shoot on every shot and expect to be 2ft from the basket. As mentioned, the course has a very high par but an adult can simply play all the holes as 3s and have a challenge they at least have the potential to fail. If you've made the trek to Sabbatus Maine, you have no reason not to at least try this out. The most you have to lose is half an hour of your time and you have so much more to gain. I give this course a 4 rating for what it is, though in all fairness it is really in it's own category.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One and Done

1    6/19/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 634  Reviewed: 392  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
On same site with two 18=hole courses and well-stocked clubhouse. Nicely groomed.
Cons:
Some fairways fairly near each other. Lack of replay appeal.
Other Thoughts:
The distances on this course are very suitable for beginners, there is minimal chance to lose a disc, and the course is easy to navigate. Additionally, instead of being a mere, straight-throw wide-open pitch-n-putt, there are challenging lines through the collection of mid-sized trees to each basket, so experienced players can work on their touch shots, both left or right sharp turns needed near the basket to have any chance at an ace or have a decent birdy opportunity.

However, after playing this course once or twice, using only a mid/putter or two, and merely throwing from a standstill at the end of the teepad, players beyond the novice-level will (probably) quickly grow bored, only bothering to play this course when introducing people to the game.

This course is very difficult to rate. It serves its target audience well (beginners) while also providing some challenging practice to experienced players - but is likely not to be (re)played by visitors to Sabattus.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the pros and the kids

2-4    6/16/2010   2/28/2011
Review By: dsm767
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing course, if you have half an hour to spend while your visiting Sabbatus Disc Golf for the day, why not switch it up for a bit and play their fantastic par 3, nine hole course? Why not start with it to warm up, the great layout of The Owl will really give you a feel for the rest of the course.

LAYOUT-
The course starts out with a few wooded holes then on the 3rd hole you tee off from the woods and approach through an open green to the basket. From there you throw back into the woods parallel to hole 3 and finish the end of the nine on (holes 5-9) in the trees.



PLAYED AS PAR 3 (TOTAL PAR 27)
Ive hard people say they don't usually play The Owl thinking its a kids course only and that there is not a lot of skill involved, however, this course (when played as the par 3 adult par) can be challanging and even make it troubling at times to save par, since you have so little room for error.

One the other hand, have a good shot and any hole can be an ace. In fact you can play the course as an ace race course if you'd like, no hole is longer than 250ft.

Like the rest of Sabbatus Disc Golf, they do a good job making this course equal for RHBH throwers and Flickers as well. Last time I played here with a buddy (him flicking, and me RHBH) we wound up even with one another the whole game.

AS A KIDS COURSE ( TOTAL PAR 40)
If this course somehow does not find a way to please you there another way to find joy in this course. Do have kids? this course is easy enough for your children to enjoy with you if they're not quite old enough to make it through a round of the 18hole courses. Do you have a friend who loves disc golf and has a little one but can never seem to find a babysitter? If they're old enough def bring them out they'll have fun hanging out with the big guys, while you spend quality time with the kids.

KEEP IN MIND: There is only one tee for every hole, so you can play the par 3's on every hole while the kids can play them as the par 4 or 5 that it is for them.
Cons: I would really have to stretch here to find something wrong with this 9 hole course.

Signage is good and easy to follow, to promote caution I will say that there are a lot of overlapping holes in the trees and you should always check for the fairways to be cleared before throwing.
Other Thoughts: About This Course As A Whole-

Where to begin. This outstanding course that is not a far drive at all from Enman Field in Brunswick or Dragan field or Campbell Highlands in Auburn if your in the area Definitely make this your first stop.

Overall this place has it together a truly amazing pro shop the biggest I have seen in Maine and NH and they have hundreds of discs to choose from in many different weights and sizes they offer food and beverages in the pro shop and offer a microwave as well to heat things up. This place is the next best thing than buying discs online. A pretty good lost disc record as well with players names, make, and model of discs lost.

Least I forget to mention the giant disc golf basket fountain made of brick, which is located right when you pull in near the road, truly amazing and gives a great first impression to anyone.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.