Brighton, CO 
Benedict Park Share
Uploaded By: AndyJB Hole #5 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Shouldn’t be there

1    7/26/2018   7/26/2018
Review By: RASmith
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park. But it's a family park.

Very short course, many 1's possible. If no one is doing park activities between tee and basket.
Cons: There should not be a disc golf course here. Children have the right to play at a community park without being in danger.

Hole crossover is dangerous. Hole 9's tee is in inline with 8's tee. There were only 5 people playing when I was there and I almost got hit by a decent drive from 8. It's simply poorly placed for no reason and wind pushed the drive onto the tee. Stupid design.

Even if the skatepark is removed, this is still a community park in an area that needs them. The course should not have been built there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice park course

1    4/18/2017   4/18/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee #1 right by parking lot, fairly easy to follow course (sign indicating 3 tee box across bridge was helpful)
Good tee pads, signs, and baskets
Challenging mix of shots
Cons: Could be an issue with park traffic on the weekends
Other Thoughts: I thought the space was used well. Maybe a little forced, but a cool local course for Brighton

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    12/2/2016   12/2/2016
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 151  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - quick play course with easy parking right next to hole 1
- good concrete tee pads
- decent baskets with hole numbers
- as far as 9 holes go, this one is actually pretty challenging, several holes are over 300 feet and there are enough trees in the park to make for some obstacles
- tee signs gave you all the info you need
- navigation of the course is relatively easy
- some interesting baskets placements
Cons: - all though I played the course on a weekday morning, I could see how on the weekends and afternoons this park could get busy and end up being an issue.
- some of the fairways and baskets are some what close together making things confusing and dangerous
- there was also quite a bit of garbage and more than 1 random condom of the ground.
Other Thoughts: This course definitely was a bit of a challenge compared to what I was expecting. Most of the other 9 holes in the area are mostly putter courses. This one will actually make you use most of you bag.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Should not be here in this multiuse park

1    11/12/2015   11/13/2015
Review By: superberry
Played: 262  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you want a quick round in the middle of Brighton, there is a course here.
Baskets are newer Chainstars.
Decent tee signs (the ones that aren't torn, faded, etc)
Plenty of playground area for kids to play while you get a round in.
No poisonous or dangerous plants that I saw.
Cons: Multiuse park area should have NEVER been developed as a course. Holes play over and very near walking paths, skateparks, soccer fields, playgrounds, etc. Prime example of forcing too much into an area and asking for trouble and conflicts.
Tee signs are often faded, torn, etc. And with the proximity of holes to one another, open spaces, tee sign post orientation relative to the tee, it is sometimes unclear at first exactly which basket to throw to.
Concrete tees are a weird size (5' wide, maybe 8' long) especially considering some of the longer holes on the course.
Proximity of holes to one another create a potential for errant shots to overlap, especially holes 2-3-4.
Other Thoughts: Just take a look at the pictures. This course is CRAMMED into a tiny multiuse park in the middle of a residential neighborhood.
I cant even say "'A' for effort" because IMO the use of qualified course designers should become more widely used, and course designers should have the gusto to say no to developing courses like this at this type of park.
Baskets, concrete, and signs for 9 holes probably ran a minimum of $5000-6000. Rather than forcing in more courses, money could be used to install multiple tees and multiple baskets at other local courses to achieve a wide variety of appropriate skill-based design layouts.
Considering 9 holes, lackluster terrain, overcrowded area, this is definitely a passable course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/17/2015   6/24/2015
Review By: COLODISCR
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: -Very well kept park.
-Trees, water hazards and a skate park provide many obstacles to make some holes more of a challenge.
-Concrete tee pads.
-Well marked with signs.
-Free score cards / maps on location.
- 9 holes making it great for a quick round or two. (Also a con)
Cons: -The park is very busy on weekends and people picnic right next to baskets or on the fairway.
- Not much elevation change / fairly flat.
- Only 9 holes makes for very short rounds and leaves me wanting more.
Other Thoughts: This course is my home course being only a few minutes from my front door. It's a great very well kept park with plenty of trees and a lot of shade for these hot summer days. The trees and a little creek running along the east side (holes 2,3 and even 4 if you have an arm and get too far right) provide just enough challenge for more skilled players while not being too much for a beginner. There are also a couple good ace runs here that players of all skill levels can hit with a perfect throw. The course is well designed and easy to navigate around the outside of the park with almost no backtracking to get to the next tee except for the last hole that ends in the middle of the park.

The only bad things about this course are the fact it's so short with only 9 holes and the fact it's a very busy multi use park. I've had to skip multiple holes on weekends due to people setting up right on the fairway or even next to the basket. Still, I try to make it there as much as I can on week days as its a very fun, very clean and we'll kept park.

 A fun round of 9 holes

1    4/15/2015   4/15/2015
Review By: AdamBarnard
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.2 Years
Pros: - pretty solid course layout
- concrete tees
- this course has signage, wayfinding, and free course maps!
- easy to medium course difficulty
Cons: - only 9 holes fit onsite here
- avoid peak park hours - this park can get very busy with lots of activities/people around
- there's a par 2 hole, which I always think is stupid
Other Thoughts: I'll start by saying that I love a good manicured park course, nothing against the good old Colorado native courses, but park courses are my favorite. Most of the holes are intelligently designed with average difficulty and different strategies/approaches in mind, however with one or two holes you risk losing a disk due to water and private property fence hazards, and I personally think the holes play a little too close too them, but as long as you are smart with your shot, you should be fine. The course is only 9 holes so it's tough to decide whether to penalize a course for that or not - I would summarize by saying that it does make use of the park land that is available and only 9 holes fit comfortably here so it does makes sense. Overall, I had a good time playing here and worth a visit - just try to avoid peak park hours as kids soccer/baseball/skateboard/badmitton/bocce/ practice is everywhere as well as dog walking through the course, people taking naps on the course, etc. - your typical park activities so just take note of that possibility.

 Good for a 9 hole course

5+    10/15/2014   12/5/2014
Review By: Brian McFarlane
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 41.2 Years
Pros: All grass with cement tees (I prefer cement) and decent signage. Baskets are in great condition. Has a variety distances with some water in play on holes 2-3. Nice park.
Cons: Park has a lot of activity besides disc golf at times weekends can get very busy and sometimes picnickers will be in the way... not a huge problem. It is only a 9 hole course.
Other Thoughts: Has some big trees that can come into play, has a practice basket and is a nice park.

 Fun, short, park course!

5+    9/29/2013   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: I used to play this course a lot and it is fun! Not much elevation but good length variety. Placement among trees is brilliant and makes it challenging, even on the short holes. Good park for families and pets. One of the better 9 holes in the metro area.
Cons: No elevation changes. A lot of park visitors and school kids, so make sure shot paths are clear before you throw. Wish it would expand down the creek to get to 15 or 18. Only two holes with length enough to air out.
Other Thoughts: Fun 9 hole for quick plays or going out with the family. Novice friendly, but also has some challenging lines for more advanced players. Watch out for park visitors, though. They can get in the way and are not what I would call friendly. BE CAREFUL if school is in session.

 Nice Course, Worth a stop

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Trrasico
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.4 Years
Pros: Nice longer tees than other courses in the area. Go early in the morning (before 11) to avoid crowds. Course layout easy to follow, with nice variety of open and obstacle areas. Cement tees and well groomed park.
Cons: By skate park where no skateboarders can actually do anything.
Other Thoughts: Potential water hazard on two of your shots. This isn't really a problem at all as you have plenty of room/air-space to avoid water.

 

5+    5/17/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: thaboss44
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.8 Years
Pros: Fun short course. Good for any level of player. Introduced a few players to the sport at this course. Layout is good and easy to follow.
Cons: Park can be very cramped at times. A wild throw can be dangerous to other park patrons.
Other Thoughts: Like others have said, course doesn't wrap up back at 1. However, I am going to start playing back to the practice basket at the recommendation of others. Could be fun.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.