Springfield, MI 
Begg Park Share
Uploaded By: ferrisginger54 Hole #12
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
I Beg You To Give Begg A Chance!

1    8/27/2017   8/29/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1107  Reviewed: 1057  Exp: 39.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think there's a lot to like about this course. The course designer and I think alike. We both appreciate a nice downhill hole and don't mind walking up a hill to get to that juicy downhill. The designer really utilized the big hill by having you firing away from the top on holes 6, 8 and 17, so much that a double tee pad was constructed for 8 and 17. I doubt that this course ever gets so busy that this double tee pad ever becomes anything more than a minor wait and even then, you'd be checking out other player's throws here.

The course begins by the indoor farmer's market. What would traffic be like on marketing days? The course has nice sized concrete pads and older baskets, some with rusting chains, other than being kinda unattractive, they're fine. Currently, there are no signs. We were fine with the on-line map, DGCR ap to give us the distances, some basic disc golf course intuitiveness and at one point (after # 8) asking someone. Wow, maybe course signs would be easier.

The course starts you off with about 1200' of holes 1 and 2. Right about now, I was thinking old noodle armed me is about in trouble but from then on Begg returned to some semblance of normalcy. This course really gives you a little but if everything. My playing partner longed for a steep uphill hole or two while I was satisfied with 16's slight uphill. In fact, I found this hole to be a fun hole to throw a roller on. The creek comes into play on a few holes. # 3 is interesting with the basket placement near the big grey wall and the creek seemingly everywhere around it. Makes for some interesting approach shots.

The back nine is more wooded and has it's share of Ace Runs. # 9 (295') and 10 (185') are both shorter Ace Runs where you need to stay right or risk getting wet in the creek.
Cons: No signs. I hope this is just a temporary thing.

Parking on market days must be a problem.

I think the early part of the course would be very boggy after rains.

Rusty chains a big deal for sime players, not so for me.
Other Thoughts: Interesting. As we were finishing on # 10, a disc landed on the uphill side. Not knowing the course, we weren't sure where it had came from. It had a name but no #. We tried shouting when no-one came looking for it and just left it. When we came back close, my partner went over and picked it up. And we did ask other groups if it was their discs. So if you write your name on your disc but without ant phone #, you might have some trouble getting it back.

We found Begg DGC to be a most enjoyable round. It's a comfortable, low stress play. I might be mistaken but I think players of many levels might enjoy it here. It was a great throw for a player of my basic recreational level. Along longish, at the start, I think more beginning entry players would enjoy it and I think intermediate to advanced players would enjoy posting some impressive low scores.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice

2-4    12/11/2010   12/11/2010
Review By: discdude86
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads .
wasn't very busy when I played there.
some water holes .
hole 4 (i think )was a cool island hole
liked the short wooded technical holes
some long holes to really let it rip
Cons: course plays mostly open and has little tree are obstacles on most of the holes .
To easy score well despite some long hole lengths .
The trash cans were over flowing and thrash was all over the place on the wooded holes .
some wooded holes were above others and a bad drive could easily hit other in a different fairway
Other Thoughts: really enjoyed playing here .

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 BP

2-4    6/5/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 112  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
--This is a fun city park with most disc golf amenities. Concrete tees along with nice signs is always a huge plus. I respect the upkeep at this park very much. For how many people play here and use the park, it isn't even close to being "dirty".

--The layout here is pretty nice as well. It definitely has a handful of your typical city park type holes (wide open, slightly hilly, and somewhat repetitive.), but it does also have some unique holes. Hole #3 is what you could call a signature hole, with the basket on a peninsula surrounded by two little creeks. Hole #13 is another cool hole that sticks out in my mind.
Cons:
--Even with nice tee signs, there are still surprisingly a couple holes where you may be unsure which basket to throw to. Theres a few times where multiple baskets are in sight from tee pads, and the descriptions on the signs look like they could be either one.

--The con I listed above also leads to another con. Some of those baskets and tees that are close together can make it possible to hit people with stray discs on busier days.

--Like I said before, a few of the holes are a little repetitive, and don't have too much challenge besides distance itself.
Other Thoughts:
--Overall this was a pretty fun course. Not exactly what I expected from a city park, I really like how the wooded area was utilized to add variety. If the course wasn't so cluttered in the field area, and they had a few navigation signs, I could give this course a better rating.

--I have played here a couple times and it was busy both times. But one thing that was very smartly made in the design of this course was a big hole #1 (630 ft.). The first hole on the course being so long definitely helps in spreading the traffic out. After the first couple holes there was no more waiting because of the hole spacing.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A river runs through it

2-4    6/14/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 78  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 19.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice variety of long and open holes mixed with challenging short, tight and technical holes makes this park great for seasoned players as well as rookies. No real rough to lose discs in, the river is barely three feet deep in most places. Nice cement tees, garbage cans at most holes. Uses elevation nicely. Some uphill shots and quite few downhill ace runs.
Cons: Its in a very busy city/apartment complex park. Every time we have been here volleyball games were being played on one of the fairways. Yell 'fore' and rip away. Be aware of people on the bike path. It is a no-alcohol allowed park that shares its parking with a Fraternal Order of Police hall. Hard to follow at times. Hole four has you throwing over the road, uphill and at the apartments and almost always towards people watching volleyball. Hole six has you throwing downhill, right at the volleyball players. The tee to hole eight is at the top of the hill. You must then cross the bridge after hole eight, then back over it again to get to eighteen.
Other Thoughts: Without all of the locals running around the park, this place would rate higher. Not many other players though. Clean and very well maintained. It goes perfect after a round at Coldbrook. Gas station with a Subway and beer right across main road.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Clean-Fun-Affordable

5+    12/14/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: landon77
Played: 63  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dog Friendly, Free, Good Variety of course play with water holes, elevation changes, and wooded holes. Cement tee pads for the holes. Overall good layout of course with max utilization of land. Hole 3 is a nice challenge and the signature hole on the course. It is located about 340 feet on an island surrounded by semi rapid water from a drainage creek.
Cons: Surrounded by residential apt buildings and playground. Some holes are a walk from each other. Also be careful when you tee off on some of the holes. They are right next to walking paths and can easily stray next to unsuspecting people. Watch out for Rabbit droppings and gopher tunnels.
Other Thoughts: One of the 'funner' courses in the Kalamazoo/Battle Creek area, and one of my personal favorites. Lot's of variety on this course. You have wide open fields to really rip it, closed wooded holes that test your accuracy, holes with a little bit of openness and accuracy needed, and water holes to beware. Golfers seem to be very friendly in the area, I have taken my dog every time with no problems. Course is close to Ft. Custer (a must play) and Kimball Pines (a harder challenge). This course is not the most challenging around. An intermediate golfer should score close to par (all par 3) and score some really nice birdies.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/6/2010   10/27/2008
Review By: Mark R
Played: 97  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes fall into one of two categories; wide open grassy urban park holes and moderately to tightly wooded shorter holes. Nice cement tees and signs. Hole 1 is long (670 feet) and wide open, perfect for crush drives. Free admission, easy to locate from nearby roads. Wide-open hilltop tees (6, 8 and 17) are fun to drive off of. Overall, a well designed urban-style course that effectively utilizes limited area. Tends to be one of the first courses in the area for snow melt in spring.
Cons: Doesn't offer the sights of Flip City or Fort Custer, with some apartment buildings and a road encroaching the front nine holes. Mostly intermediate level play, with Holes 1 and 6 being the only longer holes. There are many others in park not playing disc golf, as well as golfers, so privacy isn't a strong suit. Hole 4 is an unsatisfying road hole that could use a redesign.
Other Thoughts: Nice job with the course design, and extra points for the cement tee pads.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.