Springfield, MI 
Begg Park Share
Uploaded By: jonesydesign Hole #7 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
I Beg You To Give Begg A Chance!

1    8/27/2017   8/29/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think there's a lot to like about this course. The course designer and I think alike. We both appreciate a nice downhill hole and don't mind walking up a hill to get to that juicy downhill. The designer really utilized the big hill by having you firing away from the top on holes 6, 8 and 17, so much that a double tee pad was constructed for 8 and 17. I doubt that this course ever gets so busy that this double tee pad ever becomes anything more than a minor wait and even then, you'd be checking out other player's throws here.

The course begins by the indoor farmer's market. What would traffic be like on marketing days? The course has nice sized concrete pads and older baskets, some with rusting chains, other than being kinda unattractive, they're fine. Currently, there are no signs. We were fine with the on-line map, DGCR ap to give us the distances, some basic disc golf course intuitiveness and at one point (after # 8) asking someone. Wow, maybe course signs would be easier.

The course starts you off with about 1200' of holes 1 and 2. Right about now, I was thinking old noodle armed me is about in trouble but from then on Begg returned to some semblance of normalcy. This course really gives you a little but if everything. My playing partner longed for a steep uphill hole or two while I was satisfied with 16's slight uphill. In fact, I found this hole to be a fun hole to throw a roller on. The creek comes into play on a few holes. # 3 is interesting with the basket placement near the big grey wall and the creek seemingly everywhere around it. Makes for some interesting approach shots.

The back nine is more wooded and has it's share of Ace Runs. # 9 (295') and 10 (185') are both shorter Ace Runs where you need to stay right or risk getting wet in the creek.
Cons: No signs. I hope this is just a temporary thing.

Parking on market days must be a problem.

I think the early part of the course would be very boggy after rains.

Rusty chains a big deal for sime players, not so for me.
Other Thoughts: Interesting. As we were finishing on # 10, a disc landed on the uphill side. Not knowing the course, we weren't sure where it had came from. It had a name but no #. We tried shouting when no-one came looking for it and just left it. When we came back close, my partner went over and picked it up. And we did ask other groups if it was their discs. So if you write your name on your disc but without ant phone #, you might have some trouble getting it back.

We found Begg DGC to be a most enjoyable round. It's a comfortable, low stress play. I might be mistaken but I think players of many levels might enjoy it here. It was a great throw for a player of my basic recreational level. Along longish, at the start, I think more beginning entry players would enjoy it and I think intermediate to advanced players would enjoy posting some impressive low scores.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rusty Chains don't catch too bad actually...

1    11/27/2016   11/27/2016
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 68  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - No idea what kind of baskets are here but they catch pretty good. I know this sounds whacko but the super duper rusty chains seem to catch a little better. They are double layered chains and with one exception all of the baskets are plumb and in good shape. #1 was just a touch off plumb but eh...not going to affect my score.
- Well constructed tee pads with nicely finished surface and seem to be an appropriate size for the course.
- Course set in a nice little multiuse park. The holes seem to make use of underutilized areas.
- While there are no tee signs ANYWHERE there are fence posts and trash bins at EVERY SINGLE TEE BOX which is a rare sight indeed. Therefore, all you huckers out there have NO excuse to leave your empty 40 oz can of Natty Ice (or whatever carbonated swill it happens to be) out anywhere on the course. EVER. Seriously.
- Really like how #9 runs parallel to the small creek with a cool little left to right dogleg. Number 10 is rather similar but with a much sharper dog leg.
- Also enjoyed the pin placement of #13. Even a good tee shot leaves the second shot a death putt with the water behind.
- #3 is supposedly the signature hole. I don't know, the island tee placement is pretty cool but it didn't seem terribly difficult.
-
Cons: - There are several verty bland and uninteresting tee shots here like number 8 and 11.
- Not a single tee sign is up. Any first time visitors will definitely need a course map otherwise you will have no idea what is what. Especially going through the 5, 6, 7 area.
- While this course is definitely fun to play it is pretty pedestrian in challenge.
- Not a fan of the 2 in 1 tee pad that is shared by #8 and #17. That's got to be annoying if the park is ever busy.
- Also not a big fan of how much the holes play near and over the paved walking path here. Now, if the pathways are not well used then this isn't a big issue. Either way, DG'ers are going to have to be careful and pay attention to the oblivious walkers-by.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to be sure and I could see myself coming here and playing a couple of rounds in a row. It appears there is a serious issue with vandalism and the signage which is a shame since looking over pictures on this web site it appears the signage used to be really nice. Its definitely not a destination course by any stretch but certainly worth stopping by if in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    5/14/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: FB6Ryan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement pads
-Easy navigation once you learn it since the signs are no longer there
-Good hole design
-Good mix of wooded and open holes
-Shots for players of all styles and skill
-Grass is well maintained
Cons: -Signs have all but been stolen or destroyed
-Group of local people like to set up a volleyball net in the middle of one of the fairways and park their cars on a cement pad in the middle of another fairway
-Many sidewalks come into play so you have to keep a eye out for pedestrians walking through the park
-Water has a fast moving current when the water is high so your disc gets washed away quickly! (Can't really hold that against it though as that cannot be helped)
Other Thoughts: All and all this course is very fun to play, it holds a sweet spot in my heart since it was the first course I ever played disc golf on. Hole 1 is a heck of a way to start off a course and requires a cannon of a arm to hit par on, not exactly the way you to start off a round...warmed up or not....

Hole 3 is probably the "signature" hole of this course and the one everyone who plays this course will remember. It is set up just like the beautiful state of Michigan, with the pin sitting on it's own peninsula surrounded by water.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could be fun

1    5/29/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: My arm hurts
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice layout , I like the long throws and the water , the parks dept. does a nice job keeping it mowed and picked up.
Cons: Some low life scum sucking dirt bag messed up and or stole almost all the signs , jerks .

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Like a zen garden, well balanced

1    4/2/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 305  Reviewed: 288  Exp: 7.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- this course, on the outskirts of Battle Creek and very near to the ANG base is multipurpose and is centered around a indoor farm market. the disc golf areas are relatively isolated from the other activities. there is a shallow stream running through the course.

Teepads--BIG level and in great repair. 8/17 share a teepad at the top of the hill. 8 shoots to the basket on the right across the path, 17 shoots to the left across the path. either way, cross the stream (ray) after you throw from this pad.

Baskets-- baskets are in decent repair but they are rusted in a few places. there is a practice basket near the first tee.

Varity/Challenge-- This course starts you out with a mammoth sized 600' hole followed by a 500+ footer. the front half is mostly open and the back half is mostly tight woods holes. all in all a very well balanced course.

Signs-- Nice, big, accurate distances. Present and accounted for on all holes.

Uniqueness-- I think this is a big plus here. #3 throwing onto a tiny island in the stream (that is what we are), #13 perched inches from the stream after a downhill putter throw. #8/17 sharing a teepad and on and on. Very Very Unique course.

Bridges-- Three bridges come into play here and are all in nice repair, this place wouldn't be what it is without the convenience of the bridges..
Cons: Navigation-- Tricky at times to be sure. I will post a map to aide in navigation.

Safety-- Throws across numerous paths, roadways and near apartment buildings. Also, many fairways are relatively close together, the chances of hitting someone are relatively decent if you don't watch.

Other Thoughts: Thoroughly enjoyed my round here. this course is a true gem. the farmers market has bathrooms if they are open, along with food.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Course That Hooked Me

5+    8/4/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: mhardish308
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Something For Everyone: Begg is a great course that offers a little bit of everything. Several holes feature long bombs where distance and power is key, other holes feature very carefully placed shots through trees and narrow openings, while still others are just interesting and memorable holes.

-Great Place to Start: This isn't to say that this course is easy by any means, it's actually far from it. Getting a good score at Begg can be a challenge. However, the course is laid out in a manner which is approachable for a beginner to get a taste of what Disc Golf is all about. Long holes with wide fairways which transition to holes which incorporate the river, then into tight wooded holes that are intimidating enough to warrant respect, while still being approachable.

-Unique Holes: Begg has several holes that will always stick out to me as either favorites, or holes that i dispise. Holes that can incorporate elevation changes, a dogleg, heavy brush and a river are hard to find and dispite their difficulty they always make for a good laugh. There's never a dull moment at Begg.
Cons: -Less than Scenic: This course is located deep within the town of Springfield, so as you might expect, the background is mostly older appartment complexes and other random buildings. Although they don't necessarily interfere with the course itself, they do detract from the course considerably in my oppinion.

-Foot Traffic: Due to the fact that there is a park and somewhat of a community center located at Begg, there can be a considerable amount of people walking around on the fairways and other outlying areas. Although not always a concern, some people lack common courtisey and may take some time to move...

-Difficult Course Flow: The course is somewhat difficult to navigate. Some baskets may be misleading in their placement, making it difficult to differentiate which hole you're going for on your first time through. Although not impossible to navigate for first timers, i've been asked several times while playing: "Where's the next tee?".
Other Thoughts: As mentioned in the title, Begg is the course where i was first introduced to the sport. It's a great course for beginners and experts alike; a course everyone can enjoy.

As far as my rating is concerned, the only reason i didn't rate this any higher is because of the foot traffic which tends to frequent Begg Park. Most of them are decent, but the majority don't respect the disc golfers or the park. The course design is excellent, and is only held back by the people who use the park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Begging to be a little better

1    5/27/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 90  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: City park course that has a lot more to offer than meets the eye.

Front 9 plays like a typical city park course. Stand-out holes are a nice bomber to start out your round and #3 has a nice peninsula shot betwixt two branches of the small river that runs through the middle of Begg.

Back 9 is where this course starts to shine: first two holes along the bank of the river force you to throw RHFH or risk lost plastic (we had a few go in but fished 'em out) then out and over to the main street with a nice tunnel shot and an open-fielder, then a wicked downhill with the pin sitting inches from the brook.

Concrete tees for all holes are a plus, and there is considerable shade for a hot summer day. Basket bottoms were angled in a funnel shape so your disc fell to the bottom and out of the way for the other players in your group. Also made for easy plucking when moving on.
Cons: Front 9 is S O G G Y when wet. A few fairways under water. Not much variation on the first half; mostly throwing open with a few aged trunks as obstacles. Back-and forth design to the front 9 makes you feel like you've been there before.

80% of tee signs have been obliterated, which does not help on the front 9, as there are several chainstars in a single field.

Park clientele less than desirable.
Other Thoughts: Jekyll and Hyde feel to this one, folks. They made the best out of what they had; good use of the different parts of the park. I had some fun here, and came away impressed once I hit the back nine. Challenging without being daunting. I'd give it another whirl once the rain subsides.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Not the Greatest, But it will do.

1    5/27/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: Imwideaw4ke
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement Tees, Well Marked, Good Variation of Holes, Easy to find, Didnt deal with any bugs, Every hole was in okay condition.
Cons: Not Maintained the greatest, Gets flooded easily, A few holes need some redesigning, Other people are walking around in the park so you may have to yell "Fore!" alot.
Other Thoughts: A pretty easy course, wouldnt be bad if it was in your back yard, but i wouldnt drive far to play it. Also on hole three, be careful, or be prepared to take a swim in the creek. :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice

2-4    12/11/2010   12/11/2010
Review By: discdude86
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads .
wasn't very busy when I played there.
some water holes .
hole 4 (i think )was a cool island hole
liked the short wooded technical holes
some long holes to really let it rip
Cons: course plays mostly open and has little tree are obstacles on most of the holes .
To easy score well despite some long hole lengths .
The trash cans were over flowing and thrash was all over the place on the wooded holes .
some wooded holes were above others and a bad drive could easily hit other in a different fairway
Other Thoughts: really enjoyed playing here .

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Scenery

1    8/2/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: nabaah
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement Tees, Nice views, open fairways, easy to find discs, Nice scenery with large trees and nice clean streams running along the fairways, some tight wooded holes too a little mix of everything, lots of holes to really open it up on.
Cons: The signs need to be replaced most are unreadable, hard to navigate without the signs pretty easy to figure out still,
Other Thoughts: The water is very shallow easy to get your disc out of if you go in. #3 is cool with the basket on a little island and nice backstop so you can go after it. Great course worth the play I will definitely be back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center