Quakertown, PA 
Unami Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: raynger27 Hole #8 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 With some clean-up, it could be great

1    6/8/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: Dupree721
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Elevation adds to the mix of interesting shots at this course.
- Fun course to play on the way to Nockamixon.
- Course is pretty easy to navigate.
Cons: There were plenty here for me.

- The grass on holes 1&2 was too much for me. I ended up losing two discs while playing and spent more time looking for the discs than throwing them on those two holes. Ultimately it's my fault for the shots, but just do whatever you can to stay clear of them. If you want to add more strokes the first two holes, you can easily make them up along the rest of the course.

- As some others have mentioned the destruction from the hurricane is absolutely insane here. Hole 3's basket is damaged from a fallen tree and there were even a few uprooted trees on some of the other holes that were massive. If this was cleaned up I'm sure it would be better.
Other Thoughts: I saw this course featured on disc golf monthly and figured I'd take the drive and give it a shot. I got frustrated quickly from losing two discs, but I could imagine that this course is a lot of fun in the winter when most of the grass and plants die down for the season.

If cleanup efforts are made, I think this course could be fantastic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  High potential is squandered

1    1/2/2013   1/6/2013
Review By: TheBigYelow1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great scenery. The walk down to (from? see below) hole 1 surely is picturesque in spring/summer/fall. A creek runs alongside a few holes, and there are large rock formations that come into play.
Cons: Short. Every hole was under 400 feet after the first, which made the reasonable fairways a little easy.

Sandy's destruction. The hurricane absolutely smashed the woods here, leaving huge trees downed directly in fairways or on top of baskets. It is passable, but you will literally have to throw over or around tons of trees and branches. Mainly affects holes 3 through 8.

Navigation. The hole maps were great, but the course map was off big time early on.
Hole 1 I think starts at the top of the hill, and ends up in the back woods slightly to the right. However that basket said hole #2, which threw us off.
Hole 2 then goes back across the field and ends towards the bottom of the incline, and that basket says #3.
This goes on for the first three or 4 holes, before the tee numbers catch up to the basket numbers. Made for a very confusing first play through, especially when coupled with trees blocking our view/path at every turn.
Other Thoughts: I had a difficult time rating this course, because the opportunity for a 3 star course is there. However, the massive amount of damage from Hurricane Sandy has left much of the course almost unplayable.
If you're the adventurous type, put on some high-ankle boots and hit the woods. Otherwise steer clear until it's cleaned up.

If you do go for a round, pay close attention to the course map in the woods. The tees are pretty accurately placed and you'll need to snoop around a bit through the uprooted trees. Hole 4 or 5 was particularly difficult, as a tree laid parallel to the path, in front of the tee.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Same Again, Please

1    7/28/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 580  Reviewed: 378  Exp: 10.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Rock formations scattered about several of the middle holes pose attractive challenges.
Cons:
Single tee (although they were flat/concrete)/pin position.
Other Thoughts:
There are plenty of challenges to be found on this varied nine set at the back of a small public park. While the first two holes play primarily across a small open space, their baskets are tucked into the woods, and elevation changes (steep down/initially narrow at the start of#1, steep uphill at the end of #2). The next two holes are similar - in the woods, short, straight, tight. Holes 5-8 are where the course really hits stride, as the holes lengthen, the rock formations appear, and subtle turns-n-fades to hit the tough-but-fair optimal windows are needed as the course gently works its way up the wooded slope. A short-but-steep upslope shots finishes the round, where you turn right to head towards the parking lot, or better yet, left, for another go at the baskets.

Navigation: The online map (8/25/08) was not entirely correct the day I played (7/28/12). Hole-1 on the map no longer exists, so you start at map-2. The new hole has been inserted before #5. The only other tip is when finishing hole-3, keep to the lower path, along the creek, as the upper path will take you to tee-9.

Favourite hole: #8 Gentle upslope in its near entirety, with trees defining a fair throwing path, needing a small fade left to head towards the basket. Fade too soon/sharply, and you'll have to see how well you can pitch up-n-over the rock formations looming along the left side before reaching the basket.

Definitely one of the best niners I've played, and worth a visit if passing by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kudzoo

1    6/4/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: jonhat42
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There was free parking
Cons: The walk to hole 1 was the best part of this course, and it was through a course with screaming kids running around. Hole 1 is a tight shot down a steep downhill, grass on either side is neck high and full of thorn bushes and heavy debris. If you miss by 10ft to the left you may have been better off throwing your disc into a black hole. (if a champion red sidewinder is found please hit me up) the second hole is also terrible, you need a tracking device. The signage is terrible at best and locating the tee boxes (if you can call them that) is a royal pain. I would never play this course again, even in the dead of winter when there is nothing growing at all. For all the great courses the lehigh valley has to offer i guess there had to be one that sucked.
Other Thoughts: this course needs about 1000 man hours of hard labor and another couple grand spent on signage for it to even be considered a DG course

FAIL

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    4/1/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice shoestring shots after first 2 holes
Nice natural obstacles
located in park with open land to practice drives if desired
Cons: No dog leg holes
Only 1 hole more than par 3
no practice basket
Holes 1 and 2 are unplayable. The grass is way too long. Only good to play in winter when grass dies.
Other Thoughts: Lawn needs to be mowed between holes 1 and 2. I wish this course had 18 holes and grass was mowed. There is plenty of room for more holes and if it had a few longer holes this course (and dog legs) would be great as well as over water holes. It is decent after the first 2 holes for a 9 hole and if it were expanded could probably attract more players.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole course

5+    3/28/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course, living five minutes away. I find it is very challenging with its tight, but fair, fairways. With the accuracy required to hit the fairway, the distances of the holes seem longer than they are. Distance is not overpowering mind you, but with the precision necessary to navigate through the trees, a grip it and rip it approach is sure to find a tree or two and lead you to being over par.

The course is a challenge. Par is a good score on most of these holes. The course is very clean.

I have become the main caretaker for the course and put in a lot of work with the Township over the winter of 2013/2014. The course has been cleaned up after Hurricane Sandy absolutely destroyed it. The rubber tee pads are in nice condition and the fairways are all clear of debris.

Overall, I love this course. It is very peaceful and out of the way, and never crowded. It's a quick play if you are passing through the area.

Brief synopsis:
Hole 1: Huge downhill with the basket tucked into the woods to the right. Only par 4 on the course. Tons of fun off the tee (as long as the grass is low).
Hole 2: Straight shot with the basket up a relatively steep hill. Tough par.
Hole 3: Straight fairway with the basket on the side of a small incline to the left, protected by a large boulder.
Hole 4: Fun downhill hyzer over a bog. Don't hit a tree, or you'll end up in the muck.
Hole 5: Super straight hole through a narrow tree gap. Another tough par.
Hole 6: Straight shot with the basket protected behind a large boulder, but reachable from either side.
Hole 7: Small uphill right off the tee leading to a 300' slight anhyzer.
Hole 8: Slight dogleg left to a basket protected by a wood pile in front, and large depression behind.
Hole 9: Straight shot directly up a hill back to the pavilion, with numerous trees limiting your options.
Cons: One small complaint is the holes are all relatively straight once you pass hole #1, but each presents its own challenge nonetheless. With the narrow fairways I mentioned, this course is a challenge. The use of the rocks, trees, and minor elevation changes make the holes just dissimilar enough to be interesting.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the terrain available, while satisfying neighborly desires to avoid the playground and fishing/swim hole. Keep an eye on your drive off the first and second tee, as finding a disc in the grass during the summer is quite a challenge if it hasn't been cut in a while. Use a spotter if you can. This area is off the beaten path of the rest of the park, so the area is infrequently mowed.

Please utilize the walking path to the right of tee 4 to make your way to the basket. The fairway can become a bog.

I have recently updated the scorecard and navigational map (early 2014), so the layout should be a breeze.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole!

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: Sabooo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty course. Lots of "PA Glacial Woods" (huge rocks amidst light canopy.)

I enjoyed the challenge of the tight shots through the woods. Fairways were well defined, and even if the baskets were not visible from the tee, it was easy to determine the layout of the hole.

Tee signs were fairly accurate and very nice (with the noted exception of the renumbering other reviewers have mentioned.)
Cons: Navigation is a bit screwy on the first few holes. Once you get through number 5, the flow is straightforward and easy to figure out.

The field that #1 and #2 play over is in serious need of cutting. It took me 10 minutes to find a blue disc in the open grass if that gives an indication of the size of the foilage.

Rocks! Wear hikers or at least an over the ankle shoe.
Other Thoughts: With the exception of the tall grass, I loved this course. I was pleasantly surprised by the challenge of it, the use of the natural terrain to enhance play, and the beauty of the course.

Lots of birdie opportunities if you can snake your drive through the trees.

I'll definitely play this one again!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Nocky

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 256  Reviewed: 226  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course with good use of elevation and trees.

2 tees, main tee is a rubber flypad, alternate tees are gravel.

Lots of character: Starts with a challenge, a 600 foot downhill shot with rough on the right and the basket tucked 70 feet in the woods. 2 is relatively open but the basket is uphill tucked into the woods. 3 is very rocky and wooded, 4 is very scenic, but no longer uses the water. The course continues to feature large rock formations, drop offs, and natural obstacles to finish out a solid 9 hole course.
Cons: Low course maintnence. Rubber tee pads were covered in a brown slippery slime and were nearly unusable. Grass was becoming overgrown in area.

Little local support, due to complaints from the neighborhood the signature hole (old #4) over the water is gone and the first 4 signs are all out of order due to changes. Previous hole 1 is gone.

Terrain is rough with large roots and sharp rocks. Just 9 holes tore holes in my shoes, do not try to play in sandals, course terrain is tougher than Nockamixon on your feet.
Other Thoughts: Course is my top ten for 9 holers.

Hole 2's sign is crossed out, all tee signs are screwy until hole 5. This course is like a smaller, less brutal Nockamixon State Park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice quick round

2-4    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: itsthedaubs
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an above average little 9 hole course. Hole 1 is the perfect way to start a round of disc golf, you can just rip it down the long downhill fairway into a wide open field, then layup to the basket which is tucked into the woods. After hole 2, another field hole that's basket is tucked into the treeline, you head into the woods for the last 7 holes. The courses baskets are in great shape and we had the course to ourselves. The flypads are in great shape and seemed longer than most (in my mind this was a positive). Finally the tee signs are adequate and there are next tee signs after most holes.
Cons: As others have stated the grass on holes 1 and 2 needed to be cut and obviously isn't the priority of the parks landscapers. There are no trash cans or benches throughout the course. The fairways on some of the wooded holes lacked definition, it seemed like these holes required more luck than skill. There were a couple random hikers who cut across fairways.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course. We played through it twice in a relatively short time (about an hour and a half). If your in the area, play Nockamixon first, If you still want more disc golf, then go play these nine.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Someone bring the machete

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: Mystic1027
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing variety and challenge compared to a run of the mill 9 hole course in a township park

Most teepads are rubber pads and in great shape, though a few were missing when I played.

Close proximity to several other courses including Nockamixon make this a great warmup course for early in the day.
Cons: When I played this course, the grass on hole #1 and 2 (old 2 and 3) was pushing 3 feet tall and very thick. This wasn't tall grass out in the rough, this was in the _fairways_. It really made the holes border on being unplayable.

Finding the first hole is somewhat tricky without knowing as previously mentioned that the course now starts on what was tee #2.

Ground gets VERY soggy after a bit of rain. Bring some waterproof boots!
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was very impressed with this course compared to the smaller courses in township parks that I'm used to seeing. My group almost turned around and left after trudging through the first hole. I'm very glad we pushed on, because the later parts of the course were quite a little gem. That said, I find it very hard to rate this course much more than a 3 because 2/9 of the course was bordering on unplayable.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.