Quakertown, PA 
Unami Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: raynger27 Hole #7 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Unami Park DGC

1    5/7/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 52  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9-hole course that plays mostly in the woods with tight fairways that require good technical shots.
Cool elevation changes; especially hole 1 with its epic downhill drive. Holes 2 and 9 provide interesting uphill shots.
The baskets are all in good condition as are most of the tee pads; accurate maps on each hole are also a plus. Definitely worth playing if you are in the area; even with a plethra of great courses nearby.
Cons: The removal of hole 1 and the change to hole 4 (used to be a signature drive over the water) are very dissapointing. This course would easily be a 3.5 or 4 in my book if those changes did not take place.
Navigation can be difficult if you are not familiar with the course, especially since hole #2 is now the new hole #1 and there is nothing at the park that I am aware of to alert you of that change.
I know from experience that holes 2 and 3 can get very overgrown if not maintained regularly (over the summer you can expect long searches through the thick stuff for your disc)
Other Thoughts: This course took a big step down in my opinion after the aformentioned changes to several of the holes. It is still a high quality 9-hole course that I will play on my way to the Allentown courses or Nockamixon.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 High grass

5+    5/12/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: Kunztown
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety of shots. Hole one is challenging and starts with a nice downslope, across a field. Then the course is a basic par 3 that runs through the woods with most holes being approx. 300 ft. One of the better par 3 courses in the area.
Cons: The grass was extremely high when I played, and looks like it hasn't been mowed in over 6 months. Holes 1 and 2 therefore were a challenge finding your disc across a field of extreme high grass. The signs are nice, but holes 1 thru 4 are written over the other signs? Hole 4 is missing a tee!
Other Thoughts: If in the area, definitely worth checking out. A good compliment on the drive up to nockamixon. Also, the course in sellersville is worth checking out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Cool Nine Holer

1    3/20/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: riversol
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall, well crafted course with fun elevation changes and scenic geology along the way.
Cons: Only reason I don't give this a course a 5 is because some of the Next Hole and Tee placards are in disrepair. Even so, with the somewhat outdated online map in hand we were able to navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: This review was made before Spring had made its debut, so I look forward to how the increased greenery changes the play of the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: jstranere
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge elevation changes, tight technical shots thru woods, long holes and well placed pins over rocks and all sorts of obstructions. I did two loops today and this course was a fun workout, bring some comfortable shoes
Cons: This is probably a transition but be prepared to start on #2 as hole #1 was taken down and nothing alerts you of this upon arrival

Par is a great score on #2 so don't let this new starting hole get you frustrated
Other Thoughts: Since #2 is now the starting hole.....nice if there was one or two fairway markers alerting you of the basket location as down on the right the wooden foot bridge is the entry point to basket and it was tough to know where I was headed the first time.....but after one time its easy to follow.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Slice of Heaven in My Backyard

5+    6/30/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: PhantomGreen
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very diverse course for being tucked away. I love to throw this course a few times in a row. Unami has something for everyone, beginners will enjoy the compactness, and advanced players will enjoy shooting the more technical lines.
Cons: Course is a bit disorganized right now, but not terribly. I loved the hole over the creek, I wish that would come back, also the old first hole was a nice lead in to the big downhill on the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I live ten minutes from this course and I feel lucky to have such a nice little slice of disc heaven in my own backyard. Very nice break from Nocky.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet 9 Hole Course

2-4    6/26/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 28.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First...HOLE #2 IS THE FIRST HOLE.
A sweet down hill slalom drive to land in a open grass meadow with a second hard drive into the tree line with a up-shot to get you near the basket and putt to finish with a par 4.
This is a your first taste of this well designed course. This park has it all for a fun and challenging play on a 9 hole course. If it leaves you wanting more, play it again? You won't be disappointed and will enjoy every hole.
This park has a little of everything to give you a intro to playing Disc golf. The designer was lucky to have such great features for a 9 hole course.

This isn't a give-me ace run course you can play with putters and mids. This course plays like the big boys. Great terrain changes, tight wooded fairways, blind holes, dog legs and 2 open long field drives (holes 1&2). Giant boulders guarding some baskets and some on slopes, for death roll putts. Eliminating hole #1 was a smart move due to it's proximity to pedestrian walks and general park use. Elevated boxes with fly pads on tees and good baskets are the norm here.
Cons: Not much to complain about really on this 9 hole course. Errant throws on hole 1&2 can put you in some nasty thick. Changing hole #4 from a over the creek shot was a little disappointing. Seems people hang at this deep pool and let their dogs go for a swim here. So maybe it had to be done for a safety factor.
Park map, photos, scorecard and tee signs need to be updated to reflect changes to the layout.
Other Thoughts: Let me say, this is the first 9 hole course that I have ever played and I wasn't disappointed. It deserves it's rating. I wish it was across the street from my house and I could play it over and over again.
It's a close hop off PA-476 and well worth the detour for a few quick rounds on this challenging course. Don't pass it by, think of it as Nocky's little brother only 9 miles up the road. If only all neighborhoods and a 9 holer like this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Right on Par

1    6/6/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: beast
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique obstacles like the rock wall guarding a hole. A few straight holes, and a variety of other holes. Very challenging course for newcomers and experienced players alike.
Cons: Grass in play on the first two holes is way too tall, even for disc golf. Course just recently redesigned, which is why the numbering is off. The course now begins with hole #2. I'm sure this will be addressed and corrected in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/18/2009   3/18/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: well maintained. well marked. interesting holes.
all holes that arent 4 and 5 are very fun
Cons: holes 4 and 5 suck. they just go across and open field. that is overgrown and difficult to walk on and often flooded.
Other Thoughts: i like

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Unami Creek Park

1    3/11/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: ClovvnDust
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great little 9 hole course. It's within the park, but off on its own. Park patrons keep their distance. This course is a very beautiful place to play the game. Excellent use of the elevation. I really enjoyed teeing off of hole #2. The hill off the tee pad is rather steep.
It is set up well, utilizing the surrounding area. Some of the fairways are through open fields, but most are through the wooded area. Hole number 4 requires to tee off over a stream; keeps the game interesting.
All the tee pads are in excellent condition and are bordered with 2x4 planks. Each tee has a map with landmarks, pars, and distances. They appear well maintained. (Hole 9 was the exception, the map was missing).
The course is easy to navigate. Markers on trees pointed to the next tee.
Cons: I really enjoyed playing this course. There were some minor things that I could see causing some difficulty.
First off, the fairway area within hole 2 and 3 acts as a reservoir for the stream overflow. The stream runs right on the border of this particular fairway. Definitely would want to avoid playing after a good rain fall.
Second thing is just hypothetical, I will have to update more towards the summer. This fairway has the potential, if not maintained and regularly groomed to become rather overgrown. Because of the natural moisture in the soil from the stream, the grass is thick and will grow at a fast rate.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was please with this beautiful course. It encompasses every aspect of a top notch course. It definately is a fun course. Not only is it a nice quick course that you can hit on the way home from work, but also is worth the drive to come and see the area. If I drove 45min to come play here, I would be satisfied with the experience.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Nine-Hole Course

1    9/1/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The old, tall grove of hardwood trees creates a high-ceiling canopy for the bulk of the course. This results in fairly open wooded holes with limited brush and undergrowth, even in the height of summer. Despite the feeling of being in large outdoor rooms, the course still provides its fair share of challenges for players of all skill levels.

For a course located in a township park, Unami is in better shape than other similar courses. The baskets at this course are fairly new and are still in good condition. As are the tee pads. The tee-based signs are also in good shape and helpful.

There are several holes that are pretty fun including the 2nd hole where you have to stand on top of a hill and drive a few hundred feet over a feild before turning sharply to the right over a bridge and into a grove of trees to the basket. The 4th hole is a great water hole where you can play it safe or launch a glory throw over the creek. The 6th hole includes a giant boulder that protects the basket. While a lot of players aren't fond of blind baskets, this one creates a unique situation not seen in most other courses.
Cons: The course can get muddy, especially on the 2nd and 3rd holes. These holes can also be overgrown with tall grass.

While tee signs at the tee pads are great, getting to the tee pads can be a bit tricky, especially going to the 4th tee.
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons, Unami creek is a fun course. I'm not a big fan of largely wooded courses, but Unami is an exception. The course could easily be played back-to-back in two hours or less and makes a nice stop on the way to Nockamixon or the other world-class courses of the Lehigh Valley.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.