Eddyville, IA 
Sandy Dunes Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #5 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 196ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Ace Run course

1    1/1/2017   1/2/2017
Review By: RussMB
Played: 121  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course
All skill levels can play here
Concrete tees, Basic Signage
Hole #3 Throws from on top of a hill for a nice down hill run
On a school campus, which allows for the school to introduce Disc Golf to students
Mostly easy to navigate, follow the trail to the right after you hole out on 3
Plays quick
The Ace runs, do have a technical approach to them. You'll have a few pinch points to throw through
Cons: Plays around a baseball field, with a couple shots that could end up going into a ball field
Busy days could prevent or hinder a round
#9 plays with a parking lot to the right and and ballfield to the left. An errant throw could leave a dent or asking a left fielder to toss you your disc.
Ace Runs get redundant after a while
School hours could prevent play
Other Thoughts: I don't want to come across as being to hard on this course. It is pretty vanilla and basic, but it has a little spark to it. Someone took the time to install and lay out this course. I can see some thought was given to the layout of the fairways. I believe this course maximized and utilized the area given. Some of the Ace Runs require you to hit a gap. Not that it's difficult, but a deflected shot can sting a little bit.

If I lived in Eddyville, I'd probably be out here quite a bit. I consider this a small town rec course. It's meant for people in the town of Eddyville to play. It's not a course I would drive out of my way to play, but if I found myself in Eddyville, I'd definitely break my discs out and throw here. Despite being small, a good time could still be had here at Sandy Dunes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy Dunes Disc Golf Course

1    4/10/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: Berryiowa
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Nice 9 hole course
* plays quick in under an hour
* Course layout sighn at begining
* Tee sighns at all of the tees
* concrete tee pads
* wide varity of shots (hysers, anhyser and 2 holes that are loger strait shots
* Course flows nicely
* Bathrooms at begining and water. (May not be unlocked if baseball is not playing they where playing when we where there and they where unlocked.
* Consesion Stand during baseball games.
* Great course for beginers and Amiture players
*
Cons: * Couse sighn is a little confusing.
* Basket #4 is missing ( It looks like it may have been taken but we threw 7 in its place.)
Course looks like it may become very over grown
* Hole 1 you are throwing beside the Baseball Field so you need to watch for fans if there is a game.
* Hole 9 you are throwing at the Baseball field and an over throw could land in the field of play
* there is a little bit of a walk from 9 to your car ( Would be nice if they could raise some money to put in two more holes so you end near the start.)
Other Thoughts: We had fun playing this course it has its own challanges but is still a faily easy course with a lot of birdie shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/4/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: jlane
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course isn't just totally straight shots. The first hole there is a tree that makes it difficult to ace. On the second hole the distance can be decieving because of the way the hill is layed out. on holes 4, 5, and 7 there are some dense trees you must navigate through.
Cons: Holes 1, 4,5,6, 7 are moderately short and are almost definite birdies if the trees are avoided. It is easy to lose your disc if you throw it off of the "fairway" when the course hasn't been kept up for awhile. Not too difficult. Short, and no "excitement" factor.
Other Thoughts: I live near this course and I play it often when I get bored. It is a good course for beginners and can be fun for more advanced players because of the birdies that are possible.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not-So Sandy Dunes

1    6/23/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 236  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, there is some sand on the second hole with a hill to go up that has sand on it. However, I would not let the name fool you into thinking you will be playing in real dunes. There is couple of open holes and some in the woods. There are a couple of fun little birdie shots here. There are cement tee pads and simple tee signs. Navigation was fairly simple and the holes were somewhat inventive.
Cons: This course goes around a fenced in baseball field and near a dumpsite for grass trimming and such. So especially on #9, you have to be careful of losing your drive in the ball field. Not a place to play if there has been a big rain. No bathrooms on the course or trashcans available.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor here was fair. Having a birdie run on almost every hole was a bit repetitive but the shots needed were different. When it is all said and done with the land they had to use, I felt it was a smart layout. It is just a real short 9 holes and unless you live near by, it is probably not worth the trip.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.