Dunedin, FL 
Hammock Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 134ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Simple Course In A Busy Park

1    10/16/2019   11/12/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 556  Reviewed: 181  Exp: 27.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hammock Park is a 9 hole course in a small neighborhood park . The parking lot is okay sized for a small local park You want to print a map .There is however a nice shlter near hole 1, tee pad , and a bathroom down near hole #3 tee pad . There are short cement tee pads here with numbered Chainstar baskets . The signage consists of gray poles with what looked like a metal house number on them .Hammock Park seemed mowed and well cared for when I was there , and the park was clean .The neighborhood is nice and the park patrons seemed friendly . The course is flat and can be a fast play , depending on how busy the park is . Course design tried to take away some of the busiest parts of the park and put holes on the edges and woods . Water is in play on holes 7 & 8 on the right , and an elevated basket that sits on a mound on 7 . #6 has a hole you can open up some on ( or 4B ) with a large wide tree in the middle of the fairway No signature holes .
Cons: #1 Safety . This course is Landlocked . I am pretty sure that there is no way to expand or replace holes . The park must see a lot of local park goers , even on the weekdays . I was here before dusk on a Wednesday , and the park was packed . There were families on a photo shoot with their baby ( right on the side of hole #5 ) , Several dog walkers ( in #6 fairway ) , kids tossing ball near 8 , path walkers near holes 1,2 & 3 . Be careful if you are playing here . You might have a neighborhood riot if you hit a kid with one of your midranges . Hole 9 throws over the parking lot ! Explain that ding to one of the locals ( See riot ) #2 The course itself . I don't think a 9 hole course fits into this scheme , just not enough room . It seemed that everywhere I turned , there were people , and none of them disc golfers . Don't get me wrong . It's a nice little neighborhood park , just not suited for us . #3 Disc Risk : Can be high in places . The high rough on the first few holes and on the sides on the middle holes , coupled with both rough and water on 7 & 8 can lead to some long search and rescue missions for discs .#4 Navigation . I was all over this course trying to find alternate tees , and the basket for 9 . For a short course , it almost a Where's Waldo to find what you are looking for . Also , don't forget to spray down . The bugs can be bad here . Other than climbing up the small mound to retrieve your putt from the basket on #8 , the course is very flat . When you drive into the park , be sure to park on your far right . The left side parked cars are for newbie and local target practice .
Other Thoughts: Take out or redesign hole 9 , and you have an okay practice course , I guess . I don't understand what type of player this course wants to target . The fairways are so tight in spots , and adding the rough and water , can make for a bad day for the newbie or casual . The course sits away from most travelers , so it is an inconvenient play for them , and seasoned player will not take the drive to play here . I just want to make clear that I like the park , just not as much the course . My Recommendation : Maybe for a family after dinner , or a group of 4 locals that can spot for each other , but other than that , this is a course you can miss .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Quirky Neighborhood Course

1    6/24/2017   6/24/2017
Review By: thrembo
Played: 195  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 45 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A quirky nine-hole course with decent concrete "A" tees and natural "B" tees. The "A" tees are the main attraction here and offer a variety of lengths and hole types. The "B" tees seem to be strewn about randomly and didn't add much to the overall experience. There are tee marker poles with hole #'s on them but no other information. There is a little water to avoid also.
Cons: There are a lot of dog walkers, hikers, and bicyclists meandering about the course.

There was a powerful odor emanating from the swamp on the perimeter of the course. This may be seasonal though (rainy season).
Other Thoughts: A quirky fun neighborhood course with enough variety to keep it interesting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fairway goes over Parking Lot. That's a new one.

1    8/24/2016   9/1/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 428  Reviewed: 418  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/1/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.223 Rating) A mostly short and technical layout.
- CHALLENGING - Above average due to the amount of tight lines, Most advanced players should be a couple under. Intermediate players should typically finish a few over.
- RAW BEAUTY - The course in my opinion, is above average when compared to the other courses I've played. (However only average among the Pinellas County courses I've hit as I find the natural beauty of nearby Cliff, Taylor and Tocobaga to all be more picturesque.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly. The park was very clean during my visit.
- SHELTER - There are several great shelters with picnic tables located within the middle of the layout. It's perfect for the end of round gathering point and perfect for the summer pop-up thunderstorm.
- QUICK PLAY - A single can easily complete a full 18 in under 75 minutes. Groups of four should finish in under two hours in normal conditions.
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes are aceable, You will have great opportunities starting with 1 thru 3 and there are several more ace runs as well.
Cons: Hammock takes a backseat to nearby courses Cliff Stevens and NE Coachman
- 9 BASKETS - Although listed as 18 holes on DGCR, there are only 9 baskets in play. Two tees go to each basket. Most of the back 9 tees are at different angles in addition to a modified distance. The back 9 is generally longer than the front and probably plays two or three throws more difficult.
- SPACING - Below average. The first 9 is spaced out pretty good, however when the second 9 is laid in, it results in many crossing holes. For this reason, several of the fairways feel shared and discs will likely end in other fairways on several holes. In addition, with the additional 9 tee layout, several tee boxes and baskets will be in the path of other holes.
- DUEL USE HAZARD - The park is home to more than disc golf. There are numerous walking paths that the course winds threw. In addition, holes (9/18) are a head scratcher. The path to this basket plays over the parking lot. when I arrived at hole (9) I realized I had to move my car. (9/18) is a fun hole if it can be played, but it probably has to be skipped on occasion when other patrons park their car there.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms variety are slightly below average. Most shots are thru a thick canopy with lanes less than 10 feet wide. Really the only hole to let one rip a bit is (6/15). There are however a few great pocket shots in opposite directions on holes (4/13) and (9/18).
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. No more than 10 feet elevation change throughout the entire course layout with most it being on 7/16 which has its basket on a mound element.
- TEES AREAS - the course tees are a mix. much of the front is paved but the back is generally dirt/grass. holes are marked by a numbered post only.
- NAVIGATION - There's an adequate map and community board near the first tee. However after this, the pleasantries for navigation ends. Lacking in hole signage and lacking in directional ques to direct you to the next tee. I took a picture of the map and still got turned around a few times.
- OVERGROWTH - Its among the most dense in all of Tampa Bay. Couple that with tight fairways, that you can assume that you'll be doing some search and recovery at some point.
- LOCATION - Course is a trek to get to from the interstate highway system. A good 45 minutes from I275 and the course it tucked deep into a residential neighborhood. GPS directions is a must.
Other Thoughts: A good course for rec and intermediate players living within 5 miles. Not recommended to out of region players looking to play one or two area courses. In that scenario, consider these area courses instead; Taylor, Picnic, Cliff and Cypress.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice course

1    9/14/2015   9/16/2015
Review By: Modelle
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty course, especially first three holes.
- easy to follow despite a lack of sighnage
- not crowded, only one other player
- tree's provide a challenge
- difficult to lose discs
- A and B tee pads make it an 18 holer
Cons: - pretty darn short only a couple of holes have any sort of distance
- no sighnage
- watch out for bicyclists and walkers, they exist
- though there's A and B tee pads some B pads are difficult to locate
Other Thoughts: Good practice course thus the 3 rating. Had to work around a few people enjoying the park, not many players which is good. Played three 9 hole rounds and it only took an hour and a half. It's close enough for me to make it worth it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    12/7/2014   12/8/2014
Review By: domromer
Played: 88  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 17.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a sleeper course. It's got some woods shots, some field shots, and some elevation.
It now has concrete pads.

It's less crowded than some of the areas more popular courses.

Good course for improving accuracy
Cons: only 9 baskets.
Following the layout is difficult. I can't imagine playing this course for the first time without a map. If you come here and you don't have a map. Take a pic of the map at pad one with your cell phone....you'll need it.

Not much course signage.
Other Thoughts: Better than most people give it credit for.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/10/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some cool shots here when the course veers away from the field and into the trees. Essentially this means 7 and 8. At under two hundred feet, they are among the shorter holes on the course but they sport cool little lines through the trees and 8 has a nicely raised pins. The narrow tunnel from the alternate pad on 2 is also very cool, and the respite from throwing across the open field and areas populated by park-goers is quite welcome.

There is also a good amount of variety, with the aforementioned tosses through the woods and the long, open shots across the central field of the park. The park seems to be well-kept and the course should appeal greatly to beginners since every hole is either short or open. Really not a bad place for a round, if not one worth traveling to.
Cons:
However, a bunch of holes are fairly boring and unmemorable. With only nine holes, that's unfortunate and, yes, there are really only nine holes. The back nine are just alternate pads. They don't play exactly the same, but I've seen just as much and more variation from eighteen-basket courses that have multiple tee pads without calling them additional holes.

You might even say that there are eight holes, as nine barely counts unless you fancy throwing over people's cars. My car was the only one in the lot so I took the risk, but I wouldn't want to play it if any other cars were there. It's too bad, as it could have been a cool hole with some water to the right and then the basket in a nook that can be reached only with a perfect left-to-right drive. "Other stuff is a problem on some of the other holes too, with buildings in several fairways and paths across most of them. It's not a course that would play well with others using the park.

It's also really hard to find some of the tees. Bring a map or be prepared to download one, because otherwise you probably won't find all nine. Even with a map, the posts can be hard to spot.
Other Thoughts: This could be a fun course, especially once you know where the tees are, where to park and at what times it will be most playable. But with only a few holes of interest, it's not one I would recommend to visitors looking for a challenging round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best bud's home turf

1    7/9/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: nitron2097
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well, it isn't Cliff Stephens, but that doesn't mean it's not a challenge.

Hammock Park is one of those courses where, if you haven't played there, you're probably thinking it's your typical small park course.
Truthfully, you'll be fine with a mid and a putter here, but there are plenty of challenges. The extra nine tees make this an incredible play. A couple holes are wide open, a few offer one or two simple obstacles that need a line to miss, some are wooded, and others are flat out sadistic; something for everyone! Though it's tighter than Youth Park and about as short as Azalea, it's nowhere near as repetitive.

It's attached to Hammock Park, so there's plenty to do. And the neighborhood is nice; my best buddy lives up this way and we play here a lot.

Close to the Pinellas Trail, so it's accessible by bike or feet.

Restrooms in Hammock Park and a few picnic shelters, along with nature trails and a playground, so something for the whole family.

Very close to St. Andrews (just north up Alt. 19) if you're a ball golfer and a "frolfer."
Cons: No concrete pads. I could care less, but others may care more.

Navigation is difficult; no signage. The map is helpful but you have to know where north is.

Distances are written on the concrete tee markers but I'm not sure of the accuracy; some seem way off.

A couple tees force you to throw over the parking lot. Don't like this a whole lot; park near the picnic shelter if you can.

There's stagnant water around with the canals and ditches so bugs can be a problem, especially in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Declaring mando's here can be a lot of fun with the variety of lines and obstacles available (my favorite is through the picnic shelters so long as they're empty).

Not a course I'd go out of my way to play, but if you're tooling by on Alt. 19, definitely give it a throw. It's worth it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Packed With Fun!

1    3/10/2013   3/10/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * Good variety of hole lengths from half putter shots to regular drives...
* Has some holes inside the forest/trees that offer great technical lines...
* Two sets of tees offer an effective "back nine" for the course.
* good challenge on basket placement with some on hills or close to water.
* Very good "fun factor" with each shot requiring thought and placement.
* Holes go from open, partially wooded, to extremely wooded, so your brain is always engaged.
Cons: * Pads are natural, which could be a con to some.
* Holes don't have actual signage, so some of the baskets are hard to find. (just ask a local)
* One shot (9) carries over the parking lot which makes for an interesting hole yes...But can potentially have issues of property or personal damage.
* Many walkers and bikers.
Other Thoughts: This is a multi use park with hiking, fishing, biking, and a nice playground. As a note, hole one is located in the youth guild area to the left, not in Hammock park proper. When you enter just head to the left parking lot instead of the right. It could be a great day for a DG family with kids. I found the park itself to be very lovely, and am personally enticed to come back for a full day including the other things the park offers. The above "cons" really aren't so bad, and the course itself really is for the thinking person. If you have already played some of the more known courses in the area, why not come here for some fun? The locals were very helpful, and overall it was a very good experience.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Simple, but surprising!

1    11/11/2012   1/13/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 130  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 15.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice, well maintained neighborhood park rec course.
-Great for beginners, casual, and regular players
-Designed to be a small course, but the layout provides a fun course
-Dual tee's provide an 18 hole round, or a quick 9
-Tee's are natural with a sign posts
-Map available at bulletin board and this site
-Offers a nice variety of tight wooded shots to open field throws
FWIW
-Shelter house
-Biking trail nearby
Cons: -It's a small rec course, so there's not a lot to complain about
-without a map, it can be difficult to navigate
-One hole is a parking lot carry. (I was praying the group in front of me didn't hit my truck. I wasn't aware I parked in the 9th fairway)
-The other group playing was well in front of me, but if there was more people out it could become a cluster bunch.
-Birthday Parties and Family gatherings are quite common in parks on the weekends. I can see a park like this being unusable if they use the field for a spontaneous softball game.
-In the wooded area: A walking trail in the woods intersects with the DG course, plus there was some sort of Scout sitting area as well. I doubt paths cross all that often, but you may want to look before you throw
Other Thoughts: This is a small rec course in a neighborhood park. It's not one I would drive out of my way to play, but I found myself having a good time! It is small, but it can have a decent fun factor if you let it. If you have a map, navigation shouldn't be too difficult. If this park was close to where I lived, I'd probably frequent it often. This is not Cliff Stevens, so if you come here just keep that in mind. Some of the holes are very short, so you should walk away with a decent score. I think I played 9 holes here in about 25 minutes by myself, but I found myself enjoying the walk through the park as well.

This is the kind of course where you could take your non-playing friends to play a few rounds. It's not a destination course, so keep that in mind before you drive out here to play. The people that play here are typically the locals that live nearby. I met some players on the course, and they were super nice. They told me when their doubles rounds were, as well as some meetup times at the other bigger courses. So in retro, its small, it's short, and it's a long drive from Tampa. If you are okay with that, then check it out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great course!

2-4    5/10/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: Docta
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun; and even though I have played every other course in the county, this has become one of my favorites. Although some of the holes are on wide open fields, most are in tight technical woods. Playing here is a bit cerebral... you have to examine the tight woods and look for a window that you can slip your disc through. To pull a good game you will need to pull out all kinds of throws... you will need a highly controlled front and back hand throw to get your disc near the pin as there are some sharp turns left and right. On some holes there is really no other good choice than to throw a big hyzer spike or tomohawk over the tree tops to get close. The natural landscape that some of the holes are located on is almost magical and totally Floridian.
Cons: At first its hard to get used to no established tee pads; but thats really no big deal; you just play from near the marker. Two holes play over the parking lot; I think thats a bad idea.
Other Thoughts: Check out this course. Keep an open mind. If your a big arm with no finesse game this course will frustrate you... that's no reason not to play it; there are lessons to be learned here. If you think it out and use the force you will have a great time here.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.