Orland Park, IL 
Doogan Park Share
Uploaded By: gsmit Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Play if you are nearby. Don't travel to play.

1    8/6/2017   8/6/2017
Review By: SirSchizzy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice tee pads.
Baskets are all in very good shape.
Well-manicured.
Quick round (about 30 minutes playing alone)
Cons: Not challenging.
Longest hole is 290 feet
Several holes 200 feet or less
Other Thoughts: Nice course overall. I am a LHBH player so many holes are hyzer shots for RHBH players so I had a few more challenges than most. Little chance to lose plastic. If you find yourself in Orland Park, give it a try its not bad if you are there. I live 25 minutes from the course and I won't play it again until I am in Orland Park visiting family but I will go play before visiting. Gazebo with picnic benches that is very nice and permanent "bag" (cornhole) in the park as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice practice for upshots and Ace Runs

5+    8/11/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: illinoisdiscgolf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Course is a nice fun time. Decent mix of shots for the short distances. Just a fun course to play when you are looking to throw and have some fun. A lot of ace runs and easy birdies.

Follow me on instagram @illinoisdiscgolf
Cons: The tee pads are rubber which become slippery and almost unusable after rain. Wish it was more challenging but for what it is, they designed it nicely.
Other Thoughts: Follow the Doogan Park Disc Golf Club's twitter page @DDiscclub

Short And Easy But Draws Plenty Of Players!

1    6/24/2016   6/24/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
Pros: Doogan Park DGC sits in a small city type park. This lovely little park sits on a hillside which helps keep the players involved and interested. There are some fun throws to be had here. With four wholes playing over 220' and two of those are uphill, I wouldn't classify Coogan as a pitch and putt. I see it more as an easy recreational course.

The course has nice large rubber tee pads. Some are engineered and raised up. There is a simple course map at the start. The tee signs are small and basic. There is a nice Disc Golf Rules Sign which explains how the game is played.
Cons: OK, It's short and only nine holes. I think that's fine as this is a small park

The hole design is fairly straightforward. Course designers didn't have much to work with here.
Other Thoughts: Regular players always complain about these simple, short courses. I always defend them. I think they're a great asset to our game. They always seem to have players playing on them. As I was leaving the course today about 4:30, three cars pulled in the lot. And there was already two groups playing.

Beginners, kids, seniors or the players who show up with one disc, this is a perfect course for you. You'll embrace it.

Doogan Park

5+    6/7/2016   6/8/2016
Review By: discvalet
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design shows efficient use of the land, mature oaks, nice neighborhood, good course signs
Cons: Rubber tee pads slippery when wet, course is often muddy/soggy except during prolonged dry spells
Other Thoughts: For skilled players almost every hole is an easy deuce opportunity with a putter/midrange off the tee. The longest holes are #4 and #6 and they are both righty back hand holes where skilled players would probably still use a midrange disc, perhaps a fairway driver on #4 (290' but uphill).

I play this course a lot because it's close to home. I keep a log and my average is -6 (all par 3). Doogan is certainly not the greatest challenge but I enjoy DGing regardless of where I am so if you're the same then you'll have fun here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home Court Doog

5+    5/8/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: Bruddy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Small Course so it is perfect for newer players and multiple rounds. Perfect for working on skills.
Cons: Small Course with little variation to the holes making each hole repetitive. Course does not handle water well and the tee pads and whole holes become extremely wet and annoying to play on.
Other Thoughts: It is my home court and I love it dearly and would recommend to any player I could.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good practice course

2-4    8/28/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: DrewbieDoobieDoo
Played: 121  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained and manicured, clean
-easy to navigate
-great beginner course
-good teepads and hole maps on posts at each tee
-most holes make for good ace runs
Cons: -very short couse with little variety of throws and discs
-feels cramped into the area between houses and baseball fields
-little excitement, no driver holes
Other Thoughts: This is a decent 9 hole course. If you go here expecting stunning holes and wanting to throw all your discs, you will be disappointed. Doogan park is great to work on the midrange and short game. If you are looking for a quick easy round, grab your mids and putters and give it a shot

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Walk in the Park

2-4    1/18/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 72  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - All tee boxes are well-built, with rubber mats and wooden posts with a picture of the hole and distance.
- A few holes (1, 6 and 8) offer a decent challenge for beginners and show some good design choices.
- Course is in an area of the park that is dedicated to disc golf, except for walking / bike trails.
Cons: The course is not well-designed and contains many unusual / annoying features:
-- Hole 1's tee is not located near the parking lot, so you need to walk past at least one other tee to get to Hole 1.
-- The tees for many holes are not close to the previous hole and/or require you to backtrack. I completely missed Hole 6 on my first play through because the tee was so far from basket 5.
-- Many of the holes are too short or too open to offer a decent challenge for even an intermediate level player.
-- Rubber tees get uneven with use and are VERY slippery when wet or in cold weather. I'd say this course is mostly unplayable in the Winter due to the slick tees.
-- Hole 9 finishes far from the parking lot and farther from Hole 1's tee, so it's not convenient to play two consecutive rounds.
Other Thoughts: If you're someone who lives close to this course and want to try the sport, it's not a bad place to throw some discs. But if this was your only exposure to disc golf, I don't think you'd be inspired to go buy more discs. It's a good course to work on up shots and midrange/putter drives and would probably be a fun place to jog through on a warm day. But if you want to play a challenging round of disc golf, I'd suggest a drive to The Oaks or one of the better courses in the Joliet area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun place to get some time on the course

1    8/24/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: brewstermusic
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Good facilities
- Very easy to navigate
- Great signage
- Good rubber tees
Cons: - Pretty basic
Other Thoughts: Other reviews are detailed enough to get you the idea. I can't add anything so instead I'll compliment the nice park. It's got it's share of long and short drives with good use of the trees. Not a particularly tough course but a real good practice/recreational outing.


1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

2-4    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a moderately hilly park that has some trees here and there. Kind of close to a walking path at times, but there shouldn't be much else going on here.
- Although there aren't a lot of trees here, they are used pretty well. #1 forces a hyzer, other holes take away any sort of hyzer route (short of a spike hyzer); there is some thought required at the very least. #8 has a tree right in the middle, forcing a left or right curve. A forest borders one hole to snag RHBH shots that hyzer too much as well.
- Elevation is a constant factor here, in some way. The longest hole has the biggest uphill slope, to make it tougher. #8 is also noticeable uphill, with a sloping green by the woods. Other holes are slightly downhill which makes running the aces all the easier. #9 has a sloping fairway that will let high hyzers scoot pretty far from the basket.
- Good teepads (When dry at least), good baskets, and great signs. Map in front, navigation is a breeze.
Cons: - Apart from a handful of trees, there is really nothing to any of the holes. True beginners may have a tough time getting a deuce with a blocked hyzer route, but that is about the extent of it. Part of the challenge is not overthrowing the holes for most players.
- Very short hole lengths overall; people breaking 300' will have no chance to air one out unless it's a putter.
Other Thoughts: - An awesome course for beginners to learn the ropes on shaping basic lines and dealing with some elevation changes. More experienced players can work on the basics, too, with slower discs of course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Doogan

1    8/30/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For a 9 hole course this was pretty good. The holes are well groomed and easy to locate the next tee when you finish a hole. The anxiety level while playing there is low because of the ease of the course. Granted, it was only 9 holes and short, but good for a quick game or two.
Cons: Only 9 holes is a negative thing about Doogan, so I found myself playing it through again. Also there is very little variety in each hole - throw it straight at the hole that is open and in front of you about 250 feet. Most of the holes were much shorter and I found myself tossing a Buzzz (mid range disc) on many of the holes and being just fine for distance.
Other Thoughts: It is a nice course to visit and I will surely play there again. It's one of those courses that you really enjoy despite the lack of need for trick shots and pressure putts too often.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.