Shelbyville, TN 
HV Griffin Park Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #6 (Taken 3/2018)
3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Ace Hunting Grounds

1    3/11/2018   5/9/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.215 Rating) A nice city park course that's beginner friendly.
- ACEABILITY - This course is stacked with somewhat fun and highly aceable shots. You are probably 5 times more likely to ace here, than at a normal course. I'm sure the locals are racking them up.
- RAW BEAUTY - I pulled out my camera a couple times to snap pictures. Several holes with field stones thrown about which adds a different touch than throwing over dirt and grass time and time again. Hole (13) was my favorite hole being a 10 foot up shot over some rocks and having the basket framed by some cedars.
- CHARACTER - The course has a real easy going unassuming feel to it. Nice tee signs and an adequate course map near tee (1). The tees are adequate for this short course being 4 feet by 10 feet. There's a shelter with picnic tables and a restroom building between (6) and (7). This shelter is also not too far from (18), at about 350 feet away. Missing items are definitely benches, I don't recall seeing any. Not multi tees, practice basket or alternate basket locations. The baskets I think are Mach Vs, so satisfactory in that department.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Although not an ideal beginners course per say, due to the heavily wooded nature of several holes. Beginners however should enjoy it regardless due to the short length. The fairway widths are fair and should challenge newer rec and novice level players. Intermediate and advanced players will not be challenged at all, see cons.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues as a quick photo of the course map clears them all up in most instances. There are some directional cues along the course layout as well. The one tricky spot is probably the transition from (16 to 17), in which a small path splits a baseball fence and a small shallow swale.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 18 in under 45 minutes. Groups of 4 would probably finish in under an hour and 30 minutes.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly. The park was very clean with several garbage cans along the layout. I didn't notice any areas that had significant overgrowth.

Cons: Other than the lack of difficulty and variety, no major issues with HV Griffin.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Novice level challenges. Recreation players should have no problem being under course par. Intermediate and advanced players should routinely be 10 down and should no doubt play the course all par 3s. There are a few challenging lines in the ten foot width range, but all the challenging lines are short enough to clean up a miss with a par for veteran players.
- UNIQUENESS - HV just doesn't have the course variety that I crave. The most appealing aspect of the course is the cedar tunnel shots and there are lot of them. A few have already blended together in my memory months later. Four tee shots are obstacle free and there is no water in play or to look at other than dry washes. Elevation is light, maybe 15 feet on (18). For what little elevation that is here, it's generally the eye appealing valley shots that don't impact the play of the hole.
- LOCATION - The course is a trek to get to from any city of size and a good 30 minute drive from the interstate. Unless you live in Shelbyville or have relatives here it will be hard to check this one off your list. If you what to find a comprehensive list of course baggers, check out this course's played list.
- TERRAIN - lots of rocks, some cart difficulty is to be expected but dragging one out here should be doable.
- HOLE 7 - Not sure what happened for the design on this. A well defined lane thru cedar trees halfway to basket. Then, poke and hope with a dozen 2 foot wide lanes to the basket.
- DISCONTINUITY - A couple long walks between a couple holes. The first occurs after (12) and requires a 350 foot hike east. After (16) there a 550 foot gap heading to the southwest.

Other Thoughts: I think novice level players (sub 850 rated players) are really going to enjoy it here. It's a really fun, feel good course. There will be some higher skilled player that like it too but for me, my putter came out for the tee shot way too many times. If I lived in town, I'd probably mark off a longer layout.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Short But Fun Course

5+    6/10/2016   6/14/2016
Review By: ericraybrown
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a good mix of open and wooded shots. The tee pads and baskets are in excellent condition. This course can be played in less than an hour making it a short but fun course.
Cons: This course is in a public park and there is quite a bit of litter present. Also, there is a lot of people walking through the course either not knowing or it not caring that they are on disc golf fairway.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Small but Creative

1    11/2/2015   11/2/2015
Review By: Tailwalker00
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Typical setup for a disc golf course in a multi use park. Well thought out though for the amount of land they had to work with here. Short holes with many medium trees to contend with.
Cons: Multi use park so there are (hazards) people everywhere which is fine considering the main use for the park is a walking trail. Too short for any one not a Beginner but has a decent short game course
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course but more like a get out and stretch your legs course while travelling.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First Hole In ONE!

1    5/3/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 126  Reviewed: 40
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park setting so there are other things for members of the family that do not play DG to do while you play a round. Holes 2-10 are in the woods/trees and most technical on the course. Other holes are pretty open; however the course designer did try and put baskets near trees to add difficulty. Course is all under 300 ft holes, so it is good for all levels of player.
Cons: In the park with people not paying attention getting in the way.
Other Thoughts: Shot my first hole in one on hole #10, 224 feet. What an awesome feeling! Only took me 8 years of recreational play of an average of playing 2-3 times a month.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/22/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: fidei defensor3
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: -good signs
-good blend of open and wooded areas
-good tee offs
-nice practice hole
Cons: -public park so people can get in your way
-loud with the play place and skate park located along the course
-children walk aimlessly through the course while you are trying to throw
Other Thoughts: watch out for the children seriously i have almost hit one before
it is also located by a walking trail that is used almost every day so if you overthrow a hole then you risk the chance of hitting a random person

 Reminds me of the Originals from the late 70's

1    5/22/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: The Uncle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent short course in a public park. Good signage at the tee boxes and baskets are in decent condition. There are enough obstacles to keep you honest.
Cons: A couple long walks from pin to tee.
At any given time a birthday party or sports team may be taking up the course given it is in a public park and the course criss-crosses almost the whole thing.
Other Thoughts: Being a newer course it is still a nostalgic throw back to the originals @ Brahan in Huntsville and @ Cedars of Lebanon in Nashville because the park is very old.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 After thought

1    5/25/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: jsbatte
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: Plenty of space. Variety of wooded and open holes. Well kept. Challenging tree lines on most open holes. No crowd. Signs are awesome.
Cons: Right next to a small skate park (nothing against skaters, it's just loud). Long walk to 1st/ or from last hole. I think some of the open holes could have been extended towards the next tee to make it more worth the long walks.
Other Thoughts: Not in an easy location to get to, unless you live around Shelbyville. There was plenty of people around, but no one playing DG. Pretty easy to play, if you don't mind walking.

 

5+    3/12/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: Oneshotonekil8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm new and this course has made me a better technical thrower and I enjoy the organized layout they have it's perfect for beginners and still decent for ams to.
Cons: Don't go on busy weekends it gets to packed sometimes you got to shout our fore on hole 6 fairway cause children like walking in the woods. The walks from 16 to 17 is a little long

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 HV Griffin

1    8/23/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: eng2joe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was quick and fun to play as a newbie. I tossed 2 birdies today. Best game I have played to date. Final 1 over par. Good course for beginners. A decent mix of open baskets and semi-technical baskets. The signs were very helpful and accurate.
Cons: Very, very crowded. Basket 1- soccer practice, Basket 11- cheerleading practice, Basket 17 and 18- football practice. People everywhere. So much room yet they practice in the fairways and use the baskets as water cooler holders. Play at the wrong time and you will have to pass up a few baskets.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a fun place to play. I will play there again. I would not want to have driven a long way to play this course and find 4 baskets unplayable. Timing is everything on this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great trainer course

1    11/26/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: 2naphish
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 37.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: short accurate shots in the woods and a couple of real crunchers for the big arms. i love it! quick and easy to play a couple of rounds. nice baskets signs and tee pads. bathrooms, drink machines with gatorade and other various sodas.
Cons: could usea a few pro pads on a few of the back 9. there are a few "stupid" walks to the next tee on the back. hole #1 is poorly designed since i never know if there is going to be carnival,a soccer game or some other function going on directly in the "fairway"
Other Thoughts: since most people in this area didn't know this sport exists, this is a fantastic starter course to expose the locals to. i like to play this course as a warm up and go to Henry Horton for a second round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.