San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #15 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 106
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11
Expensive crowded and tight

1    6/8/2020   6/8/2020
Review By: travelsurflive
Played: 34  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is definitely fun with challenging shots.
Cons: 6 bux on the weekend seemed quite pricey for what you get. The course was very crowded with groups of 6 not trying to keep a pace but making everyone slow up. Some vwry tight area where 3 tee pads are theowing over each other gets a bit sketchy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

So Much History: so Much Fun to Play

1    11/19/2019   11/22/2019
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 129  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 3.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ A classic course with lots of history and a great traditional disc golf vibe: many players carry small bags or just a few discs in their hands. They're serious about the game, but laid back and welcoming to visitors. The guy in the pro shop (more of a "pro shack") speaks with a lot of pride about the course, and has great stories

+ You don't need an especially big arm to play Morley. The game here isn't as much about distance as it is about placement, elevation and slope.

+ Lots of opportunity for both forehand and backhand tee shots

+ The course is really well-kept, and features 4-6 baskets placements on every hole. Excellent scorecard with map. Three of the holes feature "pro" tee placements, but you'll need a local to point them out (the one on #9 is up the hill 75 feet or so back, and you throw through a "V" formed by a couple of trees)

+ Living in the Northeast, this was my first time playing true SoCal foliage: low, scrubby and very grabby trees. They really represent a very particular type of hazard

+ A couple of standout holes: #9 has a beautiful shape to it. It's long down-and-up, with a distant fence of trees to navigate off the tee. I saw rollers, flex shots, and even a few high hyzers watching others on the tee. Hole #11 is a beauty with an elevated tee and a gap that opens up to a wide fairway. When the deepest basket position is guarded by a double mando in front of the green. The trees that cover #17 are pretty spectacular: gnarled, twisted and in your face. If you can keep them out of your head, there's a pretty clear line for a laced BH, FH or even a FH roller

+ The course is very manageable for new players. I brought a coworker who had played only a few times

+ It's pay-for-play but very reasonable ($4), and there are plenty of discs for sale in the pro shack


Cons:
- This "classic" course shows it's age in the tees, baskets and signage: you'll see that most of the concrete teepads seem a little "raised", because of erosion and years of foot traffic around them. Some of the greens have wood chips, but a lot of them are very very hard packed dirt: watch out for bounces and rollaways

- The tight layout creates some really sharp doglegs (hole #10 comes to mind). If you can't see the basket it's worth walking ahead and taking a look. There's a handful of blind tee shots that also benefit from taking a look: but there's so much traffic on the course that you're always risking slowing down play

- "FORE!" Four of the last five holes all cross the same valley. When you're in that valley and you need to keep your head on a swivel - they're firing from all sides!

Other Thoughts:
~ So many great stories about this place. Like the late addition of hole #19: the owner was away for a few weeks and the regular players put it in,so the course could finish at the parking lot. Paul McBeth aced #13 (look it up on YouTube). McBeth, Wysocki and so many other pros have made it to Morley


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/21/2017   10/11/2019
Review By: Itsmeganpost
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is fun and quick. You don't see a layout like this very often, with fairways crossing over each other, which makes it really unique and iconic.
Cons: The close quarters, while endearing and memorable, can make the course feel crowded at certain times.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and think it's a must-see if you are in San Diego.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/28/2018   8/6/2019
Review By: Nate32
Played: 61  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Morley Field Disc Golf Course is located just outside of downtown San Diego. This course located is located in Balboa Park and attracts quite a lot of people. Morley plays through somewhat of a hilly terrain.

Pro shop includes quite a few discs that you can rent if you are just starting. You can also purchase some of them as well. Baskets are for sale as well as some other accessories.

I love the two practice baskets that they have just because with that many people stoping by it makes it much easier to practice putting than when your jam packed into one practice basket or none.

It costs 3 dollars to play which I think it is worth it just because it is some what well kept and there are some fun downhill shots.
-Brand new discatcher baskets make it SO much better. The old baskets had extra chains going every which way and they were mach 1s or 2s.

Holes include pretty good tee signs and large concrete tee pads.
My favorite hole is hole 11. This hole plays as a down hill flex shot that just sales down into the valley. Most of this course plays on dirt but hole 11 does not.

There are two sides to this course the first about 14 play on one side of the pro shop and then the last 5 play on the other side.
(Pictures are outdated).
Cons: I was wondering if they had yearly passes just because the monthly passes are a little pricey if you live kind of far away. If you live in the area it is worth it.

This course is very busy. Also there are very large groups ahead of us that we had to wait for.
There are a lot of Fore's going around on this course. It is a little jam packed but its not to bad.

Parking is very hard. The parking lot is so small there are only about 20 spots.
Honestly I don't think there should be about 6 pin locations on each hole. It makes it fun but its not very necessary.
Other Thoughts: I definitely would play here again this course is fun but busy. For $3 its definitely worth it. They definitely made the right decision to switch to Discatcher baskets.

I do like the blind shot holes just because it reminds me of Delaveaga.

Netting around the last hole deffinetly helps that part of the course is so tight. But I did get my disc stuck on top of it woops.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/22/2018   9/22/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 156  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a nice pro shop. Very well maintained, multiple pin locations to keep it fresh. Some really fun technical shots. Great pads and baskets with flags on top, so you can see the pin from pad. Beautiful setting with some cool shots/elevation change. Makes you throw different shots
Cons: No real holes to air it out but great technical course. Main issue I have is some fairways cross and this course gets a ton of player traffic.
Other Thoughts: Most players were very nice and yelling fore is big here as a lot of fairways are close and the place is very crowded with all skill set of players. However a great course and would love to play anyway

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

California Knows How to Party

1    9/11/2018   9/21/2018
Review By: DonJuanDeLaNooch
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: On Site Pro Shop
Cool California Foliage--Palm Trees!!
Great community feel
Great mix of holes
Sense of Nostalgia
Cons: Small space overall be prepared to dodge errant shots and to yell Fore!!!
Other Thoughts: I arrived at the course about 6:15 and was still not the first one there on a Tuesday. The reports about the course getting crowded are spot on. The people I met while playing there were all very cool just like the course itself. This was the first time I had played a course quite like this. Being from Texas our courses even when tight and technical have enough space between fairways that you don't really have to worry about errant shots. If you are in the San Diego area its a must do. Very highly recommended. I loved it. I will play it again the next time I'm in the area without a doubt.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Old School Golf!

1    2/24/2018   9/11/2018
Review By: armiller
Played: 197  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- fun shots (predominantly "hit your line for two" golf but those lines are a blast)
- good disc golf amenities (tees, signs, baskets, multiple pin locations, pro shop) and impeccable course maintenance (including rotation among many pin locations)
- although busy, it's dedicated disc golf property
Cons:
- busy busy busy! (i.e. wait times unless you're here off peak hours, higher than average chance of hitting or being hit by errant discs, crowded parking)
- holes are fairly short, though this is forgivable with the technicality
- holes are generally crowded together, with overlap to some fairways and several baskets located relatively close to other tees
Other Thoughts:
This is a disc golf only property on the northeast edge of San Diego's famous Balboa Park. The property itself, and the experience, is pretty unique. The land is crowded both in terms of the holes (cuz they've really maximized this space) and the people (I got here around 8am on a Saturday and it was jam-packed). There's a very nice pro shop where you pay an entrance fee and can fill any lacks in your bag (I bought a nice Z Undertaker here).

Overall, I found the atmosphere very casual. There were tons of disc golfers, and about half appeared very new, alongside some more experienced players. Everyone was having a good time, and the relaxed atmosphere may have contributed to wait times. I had planned to get here earlier and play twice, but I ended up taking off after one round. No regrets, but I left to hit up some other good (and less busy) courses in the area. From CCDG Ian Anderson's Google review: "... really busy on the weekends. Get there before 8:30 am if you can." I agree.

The golf is extremely fun. Some hole locations are very short, and it's "old school" disc golf -- there's almost always a good line that can get you a two. The golf is done well, and there's enough challenge and variation that it's a lot of fun. Terrain and vegetation wise, it's similar to most courses in area. There are slight changes in elevation with California desert-type trees that are big enough to create good disc golf holes. Fairways are grassy and/or dusty. I ended up tagging along with two different groups of locals, and it helped tremendously that they knew the pin locations. As a side note, this would be a great home course because there are so many pin locations that it can be a very different course on different days given many different pin configurations.

I find only 10 courses on DGCR with 100 or more reviews and this is Morley Field's 100th. The others are a Who's Who of longstanding, popular and even legendary courses, e.g. Flip City, Idlewild, Blue Ribbon Pines, Mt. Airy, and Beaver Ranch. In other words, this is one of disc golf's popular and beloved courses. It's a classic in a populated area, and it's likely one of the most played courses in the world. Of those other 10, only Golden Gate Park and Idlewild have been played by more people (at least according to DGCR). Whether you're a bagger, disc golf history buff, or just a fan of fun courses, you too should get out here.

Rating: I'm going 3.5 for "very good." The golf itself may be a bit better, but it's just a little bit too crowded (both in terms of population and space) for me to go much higher. Nevertheless, if I'm back in San Diego this will be the first course I play (during off peak hours, if possible).

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Morley Field

2-4    6/28/2018   7/1/2018
Review By: wolito
Played: 87  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great location and setting! This park is incredibility maintained! The trees and brush definately come into play on most of the holes. Enough shot variety from big hyzers to low ceiling shots. There is slight hills throughout the course which add some character. Most holes are easy enough to get a par 3 on each. Tee signage was great, with stickers indicating basket location of which are moved weekly. Most holes have 4+ locations. Tee pads are a mix of cement with mats on top and worked well. Discatcher baskets in great shape with flags on top to indicate location and hole number. Pro shop on site with disc and snacks to sale. Nice scorecard provided with daily tag.
Cons: Knowing that land value is at a premium in Cali, I would like to see a longer/bigger course. Most holes are on the shorter side, about 300 feet. Not much chances to really let your distance drivers to fly. A fairway driver would probably be sufficient for this course i.e. Leopard or even midranges. This place gets packed! I got there right at 700am and was first on the course but by the time I was done, the small parking lots was already full with about 20 cars at 830 in the morning on a Wednesday! A good course for sure, but also because there is a lack of good alternatives in the area. I think pay to play may keep some of the traffic down.
Other Thoughts: Such a beautiful looking and maintained course! Everything was in great shape and well taken care of. I certainly enjoyed my time on the course and would love to play it again sometime. It has stuff to offer both a beginner and seasoned player alike. Longer length holes would help it out a bit. A really good course that gets used a lot for good reason.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  home course

5+    6/2/2018   6/2/2018
Review By: quillan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: .short holes
.good baskets
.trashcans on each hole
.fun holes
.challenging holes
Cons: .slippery tee pads
.no brooms on every hole
.crowded all the time
.no parking
Other Thoughts: some people at morely are staying at the benches without paying for a play band. (especially on hole 9)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pure Disc Golf Shots

2-4    3/14/2018   3/19/2018
Review By: listentomorejazz
Played: 51  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tee Pads in good shape
-Multiple basket positions which are updated weekly
-Great Variety in shot selection
-Enormous variety in elevation, used effectively
-Terrific community
-Course is in superb shape
-Primarily Disc Golf only
-Minimal Possibility for losing a disc
-Signage is good, navigation was good enough
Cons: -Course plays on top of itself; most holes are interfered with another hole, to the point where safety becomes an issue
-Because of the above, along with the popularity of the course, wait times can be egregious
-Single tee pad/single basket position (make sense for the course, but a 5 start course needs multiple)
Other Thoughts: I played 2 rounds in a single day and was thrilled by the afternoon.
Morley Field has what I like to call "Pure Disc Golf Shots." Those shots where you can blast a Roc and watch its full flight, but with danger abounding if the shot is off.
Previous reviewers comments about blind shots are well merited. If I had not have had a guide, my experience may have been hampered. But a course this crowded, it's hard to not find a guide or meet up with someone who can show you the way.
The course was also very, very well maintained (shout out to Chris who acted as my guide for the first round). The locals and the club really care about this course and it shows- no litter, the lines are clean, the grass is mowed, the trees are in great shape. This is part of the benefit of pay to play (notice that was not in my list of cons).
One thing I found astounding was that a number of the "trees" are simply dead trees or large limbs that have been cemented into place to create the fairway the designer wanted. It was done very tastefully and I never would have known- that CA weather does interesting things to plants...
Very physically demanding for being all par 3s. A lot of up and down hills.
Would recommend playing the course highly, I sincerely enjoyed it and wish I could have seen all the possible pin positions. Would make for a terrific home course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.