San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #9 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 95
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Got to play with Ian from CCDG as a tour guide

2-4    7/20/2017   8/31/2017
Review By: BBB-SoCal
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin Positions (changed each Monday)
Brand new DISCatcher baskets (July 2017)
Manicured grounds
Good mix of challenges over entire course
Great locals
Cons: Some pins are invisible from the tee.
Tee signage is a bit exaggerated in terms of pin locations.
Some holes overlap in terms of opposing throws.
Other Thoughts: I had the pleasure of playing with Ian A. from CCDG on this course and he was a great guide.
The grounds are well-maintained (for the $4 or $5 admission price) and are constantly worked upon. The money does go to a good cause and there is a pro shop and an ace pot available if you need it.
I have been told that this course is insanely busy but I played at 6am and had the course to myself.
This course does require you to have a good amount of shot selection (FH roller, BH roller, forehand, etc.) to really get a good score.
The signage is a little cartoonish in its scale and would make it hard for a first-timer to accurately aim at a hidden/far basket.
I enjoyed this course a lot and I actually managed to get 2 birdies my first time playing (and none the second time I played) which is very good for me. I had great company and I would recommend others visit this course too (preferably early in the morning).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Time

1    7/17/2017   7/29/2017
Review By: Prost
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Outstanding staff that is courteous and helpful
-Great variety of shots needed
-Great us of elevation in a small space
-Well thought out placement of protective netting to keep throwers safe (a couple of holes throw near the tee pads to other holes)
-Well maintained course
-Benches at every hole
-Great signage and layout
Cons: -Because of the limited space, you need to look around and duck when people are yelling
-I didn't run into this problem, but there can be some waits (the line was stacking up a bit as I left)
-Can be difficult to locate baskets even with the outstanding signage
-If you show up early be aware that they could be changing baskets as you're playing (at least on a Monday morning) and the sprinklers can add a new element to your throw
Other Thoughts: -The earlier you show up, the more open the course is. I can't speak to how early they start letting people play, I got there at 7:15 and never waited at all for a whole.
-If you have questions, the staff is great but the people on the course are super helpful as well.
-I didn't run into any parking problems (and was driving a full-size SUV), but I could see if it could be more difficult to park

Great course, with some minor inconveniences. I can't recommend to get up as early as you can to not run into the crowding issues at this beauty of a course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The mecca!

2-4    2/21/2017   3/30/2017
Review By: Tan-Vic-Own-Sim-Moon
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Awesome course, fairly short, but great use of trees and bushes
Cons: could use a bit more length, course is packed every single day all day so very very slow rounds. Discs flying everywhere at all times, so heads up!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

busyiest course ever

5+    11/20/2015   11/24/2015
Review By: xaeLen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: the benches on every hole are nice because you have to wait on more than half the course. if you are a new player there are signs to let you know where the basket is. the workers change the baskets every Monday so it does not get boring. the course is very short and technical. the bathrooms are at hole 1. the pro shop is really close to hole 1. the people who work there are really nice.the tee pads are really nice.
Cons: you have to wait forever on more than half the holes. the bathrooms are not that clean. the toilet gets clogged all the time. there is no soap in the bathroom.
Other Thoughts: it is one of my favorite courses. i play it 2 or 3 times a week at least. they give you a little bracelet so they know you paid. it costs 3 dollars on weekdays and 4 dollars on weekends. it is more crowded on weekends than weekdays. try not to go on weekends unless you go there before 6am.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short with variety

5+    7/17/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: joecross98
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The location in Balboa Park can't be beat for urban outdoors. The holes are short, but well-placed obstacles make every hole challenging. Even after playing dozens of times, I find new ways to play holes. Especially since they move the baskets every week (at least).
Cons: It is consistently crowded, but most groups will let fast players play through.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    3/18/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: gusisfishin@gmail.co
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course. Fun Course. Lots of things in the way, and a ton of basket placements. Baskets get moved EVERY Monday. Well cared for. There must have been 10 guys out there taking care of stuff on this course on a Tuesday Morning.
Cons: Little tricky to find your way on your first time, and, crowded because it's sooooooo fun.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Got it all

5+    1/18/2014   1/24/2014
Review By: EastCountyPride
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Coolest basket locations in SD
Variety of shots
Beautiful atmosphere
Awesome pro shop
Cons: The CROWDS!
Other Thoughts: This is the course to test all of your disc golf abilities. Love playing Morley Morley Morley Offers everything you would want in a course except waiting at every hole :/

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Design/Layout/Maintenance, but longest waits in SD

5+    4/25/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Every hole has multiple positions, ranging from 3 to 7 basket positions rotated weekly.
-The course is very well maintained.
-Exceptional variety of holes with regard to drives required
-Tree density variation is exceptional
-Weekly doubles
-19 holes (weird but unique)
Cons: -VERY LONG wait times unless you go before 8am
-Little terrain change (mostly grass, some dirt/wood chips)
-Parking can be difficult
Other Thoughts: The course itself is a 5.0 without a doubt, but with rounds typically taking 3 to 3.5hrs for this pay-to-play course (although it's an all-day fee) and the difficulty in parking at times, unfortunately that makes the Morley Field experience somewhat less enjoyable.
Honestly have no problem with the pay-to-play aspect because it's well maintained. Really, it's the wait.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but crowded!!

1    9/11/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Homemedics
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging shots and different basket placements to change it up. Pro shop had a good selection of discs and food and beverage. Overall a great course!
Cons: Crowded!! We showed up on a weekday at 8:30 and had to wait through 3 groups just to start! Also, lots of holes cross paths and you hear fore like every ten seconds!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc golf...shady people

5+    11/13/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course offers:
1) Multiple Pin positions changed weekly
2) Short and long pins
3) Variety of natural hazards
4) Challenges for both FHBH and LHBH players
It is also just a beautiful course
Cons: This course costs money ($3 on weekdays and $4 on weekends)
It can also get very busy. Sometimes the wait to play a basket is too long to bear. I have played on more than one occasion where someone I was playing with got fed up with the wait that they did not finish their round.
Some of the people who play at Morley are just down right shady. Drinking and smoking pot! I can stand the pot smoking that goes on at Morley. In additon, there have been a lot of complaints of people not returning lost and found plastic. This bugs me to no end, but it is getting even worse. People have been complaining of discs being stolen right out of their bag.
I recommend playing Morley because it is a fun disc golf course, but beware of stoners and thieves.

8 of 18 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.