San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #18 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 106
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Expensive crowded and tight

1    6/8/2020   6/8/2020
Review By: travelsurflive
Played: 34  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is definitely fun with challenging shots.
Cons: 6 bux on the weekend seemed quite pricey for what you get. The course was very crowded with groups of 6 not trying to keep a pace but making everyone slow up. Some vwry tight area where 3 tee pads are theowing over each other gets a bit sketchy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/28/2018   8/6/2019
Review By: Nate32
Played: 61  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Morley Field Disc Golf Course is located just outside of downtown San Diego. This course located is located in Balboa Park and attracts quite a lot of people. Morley plays through somewhat of a hilly terrain.

Pro shop includes quite a few discs that you can rent if you are just starting. You can also purchase some of them as well. Baskets are for sale as well as some other accessories.

I love the two practice baskets that they have just because with that many people stoping by it makes it much easier to practice putting than when your jam packed into one practice basket or none.

It costs 3 dollars to play which I think it is worth it just because it is some what well kept and there are some fun downhill shots.
-Brand new discatcher baskets make it SO much better. The old baskets had extra chains going every which way and they were mach 1s or 2s.

Holes include pretty good tee signs and large concrete tee pads.
My favorite hole is hole 11. This hole plays as a down hill flex shot that just sales down into the valley. Most of this course plays on dirt but hole 11 does not.

There are two sides to this course the first about 14 play on one side of the pro shop and then the last 5 play on the other side.
(Pictures are outdated).
Cons: I was wondering if they had yearly passes just because the monthly passes are a little pricey if you live kind of far away. If you live in the area it is worth it.

This course is very busy. Also there are very large groups ahead of us that we had to wait for.
There are a lot of Fore's going around on this course. It is a little jam packed but its not to bad.

Parking is very hard. The parking lot is so small there are only about 20 spots.
Honestly I don't think there should be about 6 pin locations on each hole. It makes it fun but its not very necessary.
Other Thoughts: I definitely would play here again this course is fun but busy. For $3 its definitely worth it. They definitely made the right decision to switch to Discatcher baskets.

I do like the blind shot holes just because it reminds me of Delaveaga.

Netting around the last hole deffinetly helps that part of the course is so tight. But I did get my disc stuck on top of it woops.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/22/2018   9/22/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 156  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a nice pro shop. Very well maintained, multiple pin locations to keep it fresh. Some really fun technical shots. Great pads and baskets with flags on top, so you can see the pin from pad. Beautiful setting with some cool shots/elevation change. Makes you throw different shots
Cons: No real holes to air it out but great technical course. Main issue I have is some fairways cross and this course gets a ton of player traffic.
Other Thoughts: Most players were very nice and yelling fore is big here as a lot of fairways are close and the place is very crowded with all skill set of players. However a great course and would love to play anyway

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pure Disc Golf Shots

2-4    3/14/2018   3/19/2018
Review By: listentomorejazz
Played: 51  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tee Pads in good shape
-Multiple basket positions which are updated weekly
-Great Variety in shot selection
-Enormous variety in elevation, used effectively
-Terrific community
-Course is in superb shape
-Primarily Disc Golf only
-Minimal Possibility for losing a disc
-Signage is good, navigation was good enough
Cons: -Course plays on top of itself; most holes are interfered with another hole, to the point where safety becomes an issue
-Because of the above, along with the popularity of the course, wait times can be egregious
-Single tee pad/single basket position (make sense for the course, but a 5 start course needs multiple)
Other Thoughts: I played 2 rounds in a single day and was thrilled by the afternoon.
Morley Field has what I like to call "Pure Disc Golf Shots." Those shots where you can blast a Roc and watch its full flight, but with danger abounding if the shot is off.
Previous reviewers comments about blind shots are well merited. If I had not have had a guide, my experience may have been hampered. But a course this crowded, it's hard to not find a guide or meet up with someone who can show you the way.
The course was also very, very well maintained (shout out to Chris who acted as my guide for the first round). The locals and the club really care about this course and it shows- no litter, the lines are clean, the grass is mowed, the trees are in great shape. This is part of the benefit of pay to play (notice that was not in my list of cons).
One thing I found astounding was that a number of the "trees" are simply dead trees or large limbs that have been cemented into place to create the fairway the designer wanted. It was done very tastefully and I never would have known- that CA weather does interesting things to plants...
Very physically demanding for being all par 3s. A lot of up and down hills.
Would recommend playing the course highly, I sincerely enjoyed it and wish I could have seen all the possible pin positions. Would make for a terrific home course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Got to play with Ian from CCDG as a tour guide

2-4    7/20/2017   8/31/2017
Review By: BBB-SoCal
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin Positions (changed each Monday)
Brand new DISCatcher baskets (July 2017)
Manicured grounds
Good mix of challenges over entire course
Great locals
Cons: Some pins are invisible from the tee.
Tee signage is a bit exaggerated in terms of pin locations.
Some holes overlap in terms of opposing throws.
Other Thoughts: I had the pleasure of playing with Ian A. from CCDG on this course and he was a great guide.
The grounds are well-maintained (for the $4 or $5 admission price) and are constantly worked upon. The money does go to a good cause and there is a pro shop and an ace pot available if you need it.
I have been told that this course is insanely busy but I played at 6am and had the course to myself.
This course does require you to have a good amount of shot selection (FH roller, BH roller, forehand, etc.) to really get a good score.
The signage is a little cartoonish in its scale and would make it hard for a first-timer to accurately aim at a hidden/far basket.
I enjoyed this course a lot and I actually managed to get 2 birdies my first time playing (and none the second time I played) which is very good for me. I had great company and I would recommend others visit this course too (preferably early in the morning).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Time

1    7/17/2017   7/29/2017
Review By: Prost
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Outstanding staff that is courteous and helpful
-Great variety of shots needed
-Great us of elevation in a small space
-Well thought out placement of protective netting to keep throwers safe (a couple of holes throw near the tee pads to other holes)
-Well maintained course
-Benches at every hole
-Great signage and layout
Cons: -Because of the limited space, you need to look around and duck when people are yelling
-I didn't run into this problem, but there can be some waits (the line was stacking up a bit as I left)
-Can be difficult to locate baskets even with the outstanding signage
-If you show up early be aware that they could be changing baskets as you're playing (at least on a Monday morning) and the sprinklers can add a new element to your throw
Other Thoughts: -The earlier you show up, the more open the course is. I can't speak to how early they start letting people play, I got there at 7:15 and never waited at all for a whole.
-If you have questions, the staff is great but the people on the course are super helpful as well.
-I didn't run into any parking problems (and was driving a full-size SUV), but I could see if it could be more difficult to park

Great course, with some minor inconveniences. I can't recommend to get up as early as you can to not run into the crowding issues at this beauty of a course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The mecca!

2-4    2/21/2017   3/30/2017
Review By: Tan-Vic-Own-Sim-Moon
Played: 73  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Awesome course, fairly short, but great use of trees and bushes
Cons: could use a bit more length, course is packed every single day all day so very very slow rounds. Discs flying everywhere at all times, so heads up!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 busyiest course ever

5+    11/20/2015   11/24/2015
Review By: xaeLen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: the benches on every hole are nice because you have to wait on more than half the course. if you are a new player there are signs to let you know where the basket is. the workers change the baskets every Monday so it does not get boring. the course is very short and technical. the bathrooms are at hole 1. the pro shop is really close to hole 1. the people who work there are really nice.the tee pads are really nice.
Cons: you have to wait forever on more than half the holes. the bathrooms are not that clean. the toilet gets clogged all the time. there is no soap in the bathroom.
Other Thoughts: it is one of my favorite courses. i play it 2 or 3 times a week at least. they give you a little bracelet so they know you paid. it costs 3 dollars on weekdays and 4 dollars on weekends. it is more crowded on weekends than weekdays. try not to go on weekends unless you go there before 6am.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/10/2019   10/6/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 64  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2019
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Morley Field is a popular, well-loved course just a short drive from downtown San Diego. It is the perfect terrain for a disc golf course. Parts of the course have a green-grass park feel, while other parts are hillier and more rugged. All sizes and shapes of trees create a wonderful mix of holes.

-To have a pro shop is great, but to have a pro shop this well-stocked is amazing. Food and a great selection of discs are available, including rentals. Bathrooms are present as well.

-Each hole has 3-10 pin locations, more than enough to completely change each hole from one week to the next. I say more than enough because some of the locations are borderline silly and don't add value to the course.

-The two signature holes at Morley have to be #5 and #11. Hole 5 plays from an elevated tee, gently downhill, and can be stretched to 425 feet. However, the longest position is a potential safety issue as good shots often travel over the obscured #6 tee. Hole #11 also plays from an elevated tee, around two large palm trees, and to a basket tucked in a small valley.

-Each hole has a large concrete tee pad, a large bench and a trash can, as well as brand-new Innova Discatcher baskets. The two practice baskets are original Mach 3s.

-The course has recently received some new, full-color tee signs that make it much easier to locate the basket for first-time players. An orange sticker marks the current basket placement. Most holes here have at least one or two blind basket positions, so this is a great improvement to the course.
Cons: -Morley Field is a very popular and crowded course, even on weekdays, as there aren't an ample amount of disc golf courses in San Diego, and this is the city's best. Large groups of novice players are common and will make for a slow round. This is the only course I have ever witnessed a four group backup on a tee box.

-Holes are very close together and in many instances, cross over one another. FORE is a most popular remark. One suggestion to alleviate a bit of the congestion would be to simply remove hole #19, as it crosses the fairways of holes #16 and #18.

-The parking lot capacity is only approximately 25 cars. I believe people park on the back side of the course, near hole 15, when it fills up.
Other Thoughts: -Much care must be taken to route the course every week to make sure adjacent holes do not have baskets in very close proximity and to limit congestion points.

-The fee is $4 for week-days and $5 for weekends, with monthly passes available. It may not be popular to say so, but I believe the price could be doubled and the course would still attract large crowds.

-The course definitely has the old-style California feel. Many holes have fun, unique lines that force creative shot making. Thumbers, rollers, and vertical spike shots are all stroke savers here. The course was definitely designed in the era of mid-ranges and putters and being able to take short-cut lines with drivers is a guilty pleasure.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short with variety

5+    7/17/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: joecross98
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The location in Balboa Park can't be beat for urban outdoors. The holes are short, but well-placed obstacles make every hole challenging. Even after playing dozens of times, I find new ways to play holes. Especially since they move the baskets every week (at least).
Cons: It is consistently crowded, but most groups will let fast players play through.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.