San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #15 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 102
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    9/22/2018   9/22/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 93  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a nice pro shop. Very well maintained, multiple pin locations to keep it fresh. Some really fun technical shots. Great pads and baskets with flags on top, so you can see the pin from pad. Beautiful setting with some cool shots/elevation change. Makes you throw different shots
Cons: No real holes to air it out but great technical course. Main issue I have is some fairways cross and this course gets a ton of player traffic.
Other Thoughts: Most players were very nice and yelling fore is big here as a lot of fairways are close and the place is very crowded with all skill set of players. However a great course and would love to play anyway

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pure Disc Golf Shots

2-4    3/14/2018   3/19/2018
Review By: listentomorejazz
Played: 50  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tee Pads in good shape
-Multiple basket positions which are updated weekly
-Great Variety in shot selection
-Enormous variety in elevation, used effectively
-Terrific community
-Course is in superb shape
-Primarily Disc Golf only
-Minimal Possibility for losing a disc
-Signage is good, navigation was good enough
Cons: -Course plays on top of itself; most holes are interfered with another hole, to the point where safety becomes an issue
-Because of the above, along with the popularity of the course, wait times can be egregious
-Single tee pad/single basket position (make sense for the course, but a 5 start course needs multiple)
Other Thoughts: I played 2 rounds in a single day and was thrilled by the afternoon.
Morley Field has what I like to call "Pure Disc Golf Shots." Those shots where you can blast a Roc and watch its full flight, but with danger abounding if the shot is off.
Previous reviewers comments about blind shots are well merited. If I had not have had a guide, my experience may have been hampered. But a course this crowded, it's hard to not find a guide or meet up with someone who can show you the way.
The course was also very, very well maintained (shout out to Chris who acted as my guide for the first round). The locals and the club really care about this course and it shows- no litter, the lines are clean, the grass is mowed, the trees are in great shape. This is part of the benefit of pay to play (notice that was not in my list of cons).
One thing I found astounding was that a number of the "trees" are simply dead trees or large limbs that have been cemented into place to create the fairway the designer wanted. It was done very tastefully and I never would have known- that CA weather does interesting things to plants...
Very physically demanding for being all par 3s. A lot of up and down hills.
Would recommend playing the course highly, I sincerely enjoyed it and wish I could have seen all the possible pin positions. Would make for a terrific home course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Got to play with Ian from CCDG as a tour guide

2-4    7/20/2017   8/31/2017
Review By: BBB-SoCal
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin Positions (changed each Monday)
Brand new DISCatcher baskets (July 2017)
Manicured grounds
Good mix of challenges over entire course
Great locals
Cons: Some pins are invisible from the tee.
Tee signage is a bit exaggerated in terms of pin locations.
Some holes overlap in terms of opposing throws.
Other Thoughts: I had the pleasure of playing with Ian A. from CCDG on this course and he was a great guide.
The grounds are well-maintained (for the $4 or $5 admission price) and are constantly worked upon. The money does go to a good cause and there is a pro shop and an ace pot available if you need it.
I have been told that this course is insanely busy but I played at 6am and had the course to myself.
This course does require you to have a good amount of shot selection (FH roller, BH roller, forehand, etc.) to really get a good score.
The signage is a little cartoonish in its scale and would make it hard for a first-timer to accurately aim at a hidden/far basket.
I enjoyed this course a lot and I actually managed to get 2 birdies my first time playing (and none the second time I played) which is very good for me. I had great company and I would recommend others visit this course too (preferably early in the morning).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Time

1    7/17/2017   7/29/2017
Review By: Prost
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Outstanding staff that is courteous and helpful
-Great variety of shots needed
-Great us of elevation in a small space
-Well thought out placement of protective netting to keep throwers safe (a couple of holes throw near the tee pads to other holes)
-Well maintained course
-Benches at every hole
-Great signage and layout
Cons: -Because of the limited space, you need to look around and duck when people are yelling
-I didn't run into this problem, but there can be some waits (the line was stacking up a bit as I left)
-Can be difficult to locate baskets even with the outstanding signage
-If you show up early be aware that they could be changing baskets as you're playing (at least on a Monday morning) and the sprinklers can add a new element to your throw
Other Thoughts: -The earlier you show up, the more open the course is. I can't speak to how early they start letting people play, I got there at 7:15 and never waited at all for a whole.
-If you have questions, the staff is great but the people on the course are super helpful as well.
-I didn't run into any parking problems (and was driving a full-size SUV), but I could see if it could be more difficult to park

Great course, with some minor inconveniences. I can't recommend to get up as early as you can to not run into the crowding issues at this beauty of a course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The mecca!

2-4    2/21/2017   3/30/2017
Review By: Tan-Vic-Own-Sim-Moon
Played: 72  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Awesome course, fairly short, but great use of trees and bushes
Cons: could use a bit more length, course is packed every single day all day so very very slow rounds. Discs flying everywhere at all times, so heads up!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 busyiest course ever

5+    11/20/2015   11/24/2015
Review By: xaeLen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: the benches on every hole are nice because you have to wait on more than half the course. if you are a new player there are signs to let you know where the basket is. the workers change the baskets every Monday so it does not get boring. the course is very short and technical. the bathrooms are at hole 1. the pro shop is really close to hole 1. the people who work there are really nice.the tee pads are really nice.
Cons: you have to wait forever on more than half the holes. the bathrooms are not that clean. the toilet gets clogged all the time. there is no soap in the bathroom.
Other Thoughts: it is one of my favorite courses. i play it 2 or 3 times a week at least. they give you a little bracelet so they know you paid. it costs 3 dollars on weekdays and 4 dollars on weekends. it is more crowded on weekends than weekdays. try not to go on weekends unless you go there before 6am.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very popular, quirky, fun course!

2-4    3/24/2016   10/6/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 56  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2018
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Morley Field is a popular, well-loved course not too far from downtown San Diego. It winds through hilly terrain with a good mix of open, wooded, uphill and downhill holes. Plus, with all the different types of trees and bushes, you'll find yourself throwing a multitude of shots.

-To have a pro shop is great, but to have a pro shop this well-stocked is amazing. Food and a great selection of discs are available. Bathrooms, too.

-Each hole had a ton (3-10) of pin locations, far enough away to completely change each hole from one week to the next. It would never get boring. The tee signs very accurately showed where that weeks' location is, however some local knowledge is useful on the blind holes.

-Two practice baskets near the parking lot.

-Each hole had a large concrete tee pad, a bench and a trash can.

-Brand new Discatcher baskets.
Cons: -Morley Field is a very popular and crowded course, even on weekdays, as there aren't an ample amount of disc golf courses in San Diego. Large groups of novice players are common and will make for a slow round.

-The property is not very big, so the holes are very close together and in many instances, cross over one another. FORE!

-There are too many blind shots. You can only see the basket from the tee on about 1/3 of the holes. If you're a local and are familiar with all the pin locations, that wouldn't be a problem, but someone visiting the course will find themselves walking halfway up the fairway on most every hole to figure out where the basket is.

-The terrain is very rough. Rocks, roots, and loose dirt are common. Be careful or you'll twist an ankle.

-Parking was not sufficient. A popular course like this should have ample parking.
Other Thoughts: -There are many short trees that are very thick and great at catching a disc. If you get one stuck, ask at the pro shop for the pole.

-Many holes have low, tight routes, but since most of the trees here are short, a higher option is often available and easier. I just wish I had a Schwebby thumber!

-Morley is a great course, with so much variety. I've played three times, and each time the pin locations were so different it almost felt like a new course! It can be crowded, but I think it is worth it for only $3.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short with variety

5+    7/17/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: joecross98
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The location in Balboa Park can't be beat for urban outdoors. The holes are short, but well-placed obstacles make every hole challenging. Even after playing dozens of times, I find new ways to play holes. Especially since they move the baskets every week (at least).
Cons: It is consistently crowded, but most groups will let fast players play through.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    3/18/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: bykergus
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course. Fun Course. Lots of things in the way, and a ton of basket placements. Baskets get moved EVERY Monday. Well cared for. There must have been 10 guys out there taking care of stuff on this course on a Tuesday Morning.
Cons: Little tricky to find your way on your first time, and, crowded because it's sooooooo fun.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Got it all

5+    1/18/2014   1/24/2014
Review By: EastCountyPride
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Coolest basket locations in SD
Variety of shots
Beautiful atmosphere
Awesome pro shop
Cons: The CROWDS!
Other Thoughts: This is the course to test all of your disc golf abilities. Love playing Morley Morley Morley Offers everything you would want in a course except waiting at every hole :/

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.