San Diego, CA 
Morley Field Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #10 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 93
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
The mecca!

2-4    2/21/2017   3/30/2017
Review By: Tan-Vic-Own-Sim-Moon
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Awesome course, fairly short, but great use of trees and bushes
Cons: could use a bit more length, course is packed every single day all day so very very slow rounds. Discs flying everywhere at all times, so heads up!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hot as fuego, in San Diego

1    9/22/2016   10/13/2016
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 194  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 25.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Morley has cemented its status as a legendary course in the San Diego area. I was able to join a few guys on this crowded course about midway through my round, and 2 of the 3 had never played anything BUT Morley Field in their disc golf careers. I will get to that later.

Morley is a rather short, technical course that has a lot of twisty trees everywhere and manicured lawns that makes for a rather beautiful experience for a variety of experience levels. The course is a mix of tight lines and more open shots, with many of the greens offering challenges of slope and trees. I would say if you play there regularly, you would be able to tap into the lines quite easily, except for the fact that there are numerous pin placements (I recall 5 or 6 on many). I suppose part of the appeal is that since there are not many highly rated courses nearby, that having this variety of pins would be a huge attraction for locals that would possible get bored of the place otherwise.

Other attractions include the pro shop onsite, and some friendly locals who don't mind having newcomers play with them. The place is well-maintaned and worth the small greens fee.
Cons: Yes, the crowds are a con if you don't like waiting at nearly every hole. I suggest you try to join a group if you are alone, or combine groups to give yourself some good conversation as you inevitably wait at every tee pad. Somehow I was lucky - I played on a weekday evening alone until I caught a pair on #9, and they offered to let me play with them. They said that it was a rare evening that the course was as "quiet" as it was.

Everything is pretty crammed together, so there was truly a danger factor with discs straying onto other people's fairways. The worst culprit was hole #1. With the pin in the long left position (A), you throw a righty BH hyzer which runs the risk of hitting everyone on tee #2 (I hit that tee pad both times I threw). At least they could put a protective net around tee #2.
Other Thoughts: I got some really good vibes from this course, but it wasn't the epic experience I had expected. A quite enjoyable layout, for sure, but didn't have any signature holes or great variety of length (other than what the alternate pin placements could offer). It had a very old school feel, very similar to Oak Grove in Pasadena - and you could tell that new disc technology has outgrown this type of layout. As I mentioned earlier, some of the local people never play any course but this, and not because it is the greatest course ever, but that it shines a lot brighter based on the lack of great local courses.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Homefield is the best

5+    6/20/2016   8/9/2016
Review By: Dlaxdaddy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great location, lots of diversity in the holes (especially when they change them weekly), good mix of distance and technical shots and an awesome pro shop.

The price ($3 the last time I was there) is definitely worth it. The staff are great, and the food/drink selection is pretty good as well. The course is laid out very nice, so you will not get lost, and the tees/pads are kept up very well.
Cons: Can get very crowded during peak times (i.e. 3-5pm, etc.). When it's packed like this, it makes it hard for people who don't know how to play/want to learn hard. Feeling rushed is a constant on this course. I have had quite a few people throw on top of me when teaching others how to play. Some of the local players can be a bit rude about this as well.

The parking lot in the front could use some work. Most of it is dirt, but would be better off with pavement or concrete.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

busyiest course ever

5+    11/20/2015   11/24/2015
Review By: xaeLen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: the benches on every hole are nice because you have to wait on more than half the course. if you are a new player there are signs to let you know where the basket is. the workers change the baskets every Monday so it does not get boring. the course is very short and technical. the bathrooms are at hole 1. the pro shop is really close to hole 1. the people who work there are really nice.the tee pads are really nice.
Cons: you have to wait forever on more than half the holes. the bathrooms are not that clean. the toilet gets clogged all the time. there is no soap in the bathroom.
Other Thoughts: it is one of my favorite courses. i play it 2 or 3 times a week at least. they give you a little bracelet so they know you paid. it costs 3 dollars on weekdays and 4 dollars on weekends. it is more crowded on weekends than weekdays. try not to go on weekends unless you go there before 6am.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    10/31/2015   11/3/2015
Review By: Adam Tarr
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Pro shop with knowledgable, friendly pros.

- Very well maintained (nice tee boxes and baskets, grass in great shape, clear signage telling you which pin was in play, protection for the tee box in the firing line).

- Lots of good variety of curves and shaped shots needed. Plenty of opportunities to get creative with your shot selection. Lots of blind, technical drives. Despite the lack of distance there was plenty of challenge.
Cons: - Really crowded. My group was pretty slow (several beginners) and we were still waiting a few minutes for each hole until at least halfway through the course.

- Not a ton of distance. Much more of a control shot course with less of a premium on distance. There were a few long pin positions listed but none in play the day I played.

- Lots of potential to get a disc thrown at you. There are plenty of crossed/adjacent fairways. Moreover, with so many blind tee shots on a crowded course, it's easy to hit into someone without realizing it. Lots of people shouting "fore" from all directions.

- Pay course. I don't mind too much, and given how crowded it is there's obviously enough demand to justify it. But it's a mark against it.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, I think this course gets a bit of a pass on some of its weaker features because it's such an institution. I had heard about it long before I played it. I don't regret paying and playing it at all - it was a fun round! - but it doesn't really deserve the hype, IMO.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very popular, quirky, fun course!

2-4    3/24/2016   10/6/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 37  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Morley Field is a popular, well-loved course not too far from downtown San Diego. It winds through hilly terrain with a good mix of open, wooded, uphill and downhill holes. Plus, with all the different types of trees and bushes, you'll find yourself throwing a multitude of shots.

-To have a pro shop is great, but to have a pro shop this well-stocked is amazing. Food and a great selection of discs are available. Bathrooms, too.

-Each hole had a ton (3-10) of pin locations, far enough away to completely change each hole from one week to the next. It would never get boring. The tee signs very accurately showed where that weeks' location is, however some local knowledge is useful on the blind holes.

-Two practice baskets near the parking lot.

-Each hole had a large concrete tee pad, a bench and a trash can.
Cons: -Morley Field is a very popular and crowded course, even on weekdays, as there aren't an ample amount of disc golf courses in San Diego. Large groups of novice players are common and will make for a slow round.

-The property is not very big, so the holes are very close together and in many instances, cross over one another. FORE!

-There are far too many blind shots. You can only see the basket from the tee on about 1/3 of the holes. If you're a local and are familiar with all the pin locations, that wouldn't be a problem, but someone visiting the course will find themselves walking halfway up the fairway on most every hole to figure out where the basket is.

-The old Mach 3 baskets are worn-in and don't catch very well anymore. I appreciate their efforts to reinforce them, as some new chains intertwined into the old ones were visible, but some brand-new baskets would be visually appealing and very much appreciated.

-The terrain is very rough. Rocks, roots, and loose dirt are common. Be careful or you'll twist an ankle.

-Parking was not sufficient. A popular course like this should have ample parking.
Other Thoughts: -There are many short trees that are very thick and great at catching a disc. If you get one stuck, ask at the pro shop for the pole.

-Many holes have low, tight routes, but since most of the trees here are short, a higher option is often available and easier. I just wish I had a Schwebby thumber!

-Morley is a great course, with so much variety. I've played three times, and each time the pin locations were so different it almost felt like a new course! It can be crowded, but I think it is worth it for only $3.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A tad over rated

1    8/3/2015   8/7/2015
Review By: garywlafreniere
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Busy with new players. Like seeing new players playing!
Cons: Pay to play at a completely average course! Over crowded! Parking is horrible! Understand. It's a small piece of land but too many crossing tees. Heard "FOUR" way too much! Esp around holes 14,15,16,17,18 and 19....shared fairways and nets on teepads to protect.
Other Thoughts: I have heard that Morley is a bucket list course...the hype was too great! Playing other CA courses and being from the KC area, this course is way to small, took the driver out once. Had to wait around 5 mins per hole. Took around 3 hours to play! We played around 4p on a Monday...may have been a better impression during a non busy time.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    1/20/2015   2/11/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 94  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course layout. Easy to find tees and baskets. Tees are very good. Good distance. Alternate baskets. Some par 4's. Nicely wooded. Elevation changes. Grass is well kept. Pro shop. Seating on every hole. Variety of holes. Hole signs are easy to follow.
Cons: Tons of people with a ten minute wait time at the first tee. Pay to play. A couple holes get close to the road.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Fun yet challenging. Any level player can enjoy it. If you are in San Diego it is a must play. The quality of course makes up for the $3. Make sure you start early enough to finish before dusk.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Busy, but a must play

1    12/26/2014   1/3/2015
Review By: NSDallin
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Seating on every single tee pad.
- I used every type of shot i had. BH, FH, OH, everything.
- Friendly Locals who let me join their 3some as i was a single and didnt know the layout of the course.
- PERFECTLY manicured fairways and greens. This course is is top shape.
- Well stocked pro shop.
- Bathrooms right next to the practice area and tee 1.
- Huge practice area with 3 basket to putt on.
- Well utilized piece of land for what they were dealt.
Cons: - LOTS of people and crowds.
- Small piece of land, although the course was very very well oriented to utilize all the land.
- Pro shop is not visible from the parking lot and can be confusing where to go to pay for first timers if they dont ask the locals around the practice basket.
Other Thoughts: All i can say about morley is wow. For the good and for the bad. As soon as i pulled into the morley parking lot it was a rat race to find a park. Very Very crowded course. They claim its the busiest course in the world, and it very well may be. The pro shop is not visible form the parking lot making it a bit difficult for non locals to find where to pay. Luckly the locals around the practice area were nice to point out where the pro shop is. The course was beautiful. Wonderfully manicured. Everything from long left turning hyzers, to thumbers up a hill through a gap. This course demands every type of shot! The only cons i can really say are that you are gonna be waiting on every teepad for the previous group to clear the green. Its a very busy course. Worth it? YES. The other con is that the piece of property they are situated on is fairly small, Although they utilize it to its fullest extent and really get the most out of the property, id like a few longer holes. Id highly recommend this course to out of towners looking to get in a round at a new course. Im very happy i played here and braved the crowds. I will definitely be playing morley again next time im in San Deigo.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Away from home paradise.

1    8/29/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: Richie T
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The very first thing we came across was friendly folks. Customers excited that some old Texans were there to play the course. Staff was very friendly as well. Very helpful with course suggestions and disc selections. Started the first tee to find manicured fairways wow! Have never played a course that was this nice.
Cons: Have only played it once.
Other Thoughts: Would love to play this course again. Maybe next year!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.